Banner

By Bob Duncan

The anti-independence ‘Better Together’ campaign is facing claims that it has ‘lifted’ its official launch tune from a track originally composed by Scottish rock band Big Country.

The launch of the NO campaign on Monday featured a background track which was remarkably similar to “One Great Thing” which was a hit for the late Stuart Adamson’s band in the eighties.

The No campaign song, ‘Down Under’, was created by Scottish DJ/producer Munroso and used for the official launch of ‘Better Together’.

The row has wider significance due to the use of ‘One Great Thing’ as the official anthem for the pro-independence campaign, Yes Scotland.  Many journalists present at the No Campaign launch on Monday were startled to hear what sounded like the Yes Scotland anthem being played as Alistair Darling and other Unionists took to the stage.

A spokesman for the Yes campaign, which was launched last month, explained that their song was a re-write of the original hit single, and confirmed that they had obtained copyright permission to use a new version, saying:

"One Great Thing is a composition by Stuart Adamson and Tony Butler and is published by EMI Music.  EMI Music has licensed the Yes Campaign to use this composition for the duration of the campaign." he said.

According to the Yes Scotland web site: "The song was chosen, because becoming independent is one great thing we can do for the future of Scotland.  It is a song that gives a sense of the importance, excitement and potential of becoming independent."

SNP MP and constitutional spokesman Pete Wishart was a member of Big Country, before going on to find fame in Celtic folk rock group Runrig in 1986.  He played keyboards with the Skye-based band until he became an MP in 2001.

The Better Together campaign, which was launched on Monday to make the case for voting NO in the independence referendum, said the composition used in its launch film "was categorically not the same tune" as One Great Thing.

A campaign spokesman said the piece of music was a new track called Down Under, by Scottish DJ/Producer Munroso, which "neither samples, nor uses, nor is inspired by Big Country".

The 'copy' row follows revelations, originally reported by Newsnet Scotland, that the anti-independence slogan ‘Better Together’ was actually already in use, having been adopted by the Scottish NHS over four years ago.

On the NHS Scotland website the slogan sits proudly at the top of the page, beneath which it says:

“Better Together is Scotland's Patient Experience Programme.   It supports NHS Boards, frontline staff and patients in driving forward service improvement.”

The patient scheme was originally announced in March 2007 by the last Labour/Lib Dem administration, before being officially launched by Health Secretary Nicola Sturgeon 11 months later in February 2008.

The launch of the anti-independence campaign featured no Union flags, no politicians from outwith Scotland and a reluctance to use the words ‘No’ and ‘Union’.

Some observers have suggested that ‘Better Together’ may in fact be an attempt by Unionists to blur the lines of distinction between themselves and the Yes campaign, and thus sow seeds of confusion in the minds of the Scottish electorate.

Many BBC broadcasts have also erroneously presented ‘Better Together’ as a campaign to save the United Kingdom, and not, more accurately the political Union created over 100 years later.

Big Country or not - Judge for yourself:

The Yes Scotland 'Big Country' anthem

The No campaign 'Munroso' song

Comments  

# naemairleesplease 2012-06-26 23:36
Thanks for writing this Bob.
I commented on this on another thread yesterday and on other sites but nobody took me on.
I thought I was maybe going a bit daft (maybe I am).

Anyway, if they think this is going to confuse Scots between Yes and No, Independence or Union, then they're a lot thicker than they think we are.

Edit.

I commented on this on the bettertogether website. 2 people liked it, one of them commented but the comment must have been deleted. My comment still seems to be there but maybe I'm seeing it because of cookies or something.

Comments are allowed here

bettertogether.net/.../...

(sorry for the amount of times I wrote the word "comment" in that comment.

# Marian 2012-06-26 23:38
The BBC Scotland website item at bbc.co.uk/.../... is adding further confusion by being incomprehensibl e on what is actually at stake on this issue.

# Aucheorn 2012-06-27 00:04
There is a similarity, but the BBC editing team have been very selective with the sections shown.

Bitter Together's "anthem" sounds like an instrumental bit of One Good Thing.

Mind you I'm tone deaf !

# Hirta 2012-06-26 23:42
Isn't it a shame we still can't comment on this (BBC)..

# johnp 2012-06-27 14:30
Dinnea worry, soon you'll no be able to comment here too. :)

# naemairleesplease 2012-06-26 23:59
Quote:
# Marian 2012-06-26 23:38 The BBC Scotland website item at bbc.co.uk/.../... is adding further confusion by being incomprehensibl e on what is actually at stake on this issue.

"The Better Together campaign, which got under way on Monday to make the case for keeping Scotland in the union, said the composition used in its launch film "was categorically not the same tune" as One Great Thing.

A campaign spokesman said the piece of music was a new track called Down Under, by Scottish DJ/Producer Munroso, which "neither samples, nor uses, nor is inspired by Big Country"" (my bolding)

That's just a blatant lie!

# K Mackay 2012-06-27 03:10
I can't believe they're claiming their soundtrack is just coincidentally extraordinarily similar to our big country one. All this makes me pretty confident for a YES vote though. As I see it, if they were confident of winning they wouldn't be pissing about with bizzare, childlike efforts to cause confusion. First they try to be a 'yes' campaign for a 'no' vote, then loads of Saltires, no union flags, now mimicking the soundtrack of the YES campaign. They've really lost it. Nothing new, nothing positive from them.... I don't want to get complacent but I think we might be doing a lot better than we realize, they're getting pretty desperate I reckon.

# cuckooshoe 2012-06-27 01:19
the bitter together theme is a speeded up version

# Old Smokey 2012-06-27 01:19
'Many BBC broadcasts have also erroneously presented ‘Better Together’ as a campaign to save the United Kingdom, and not, more accurately the political Union created over 100 years later'
I'm slightly confused with this last paragraph.
1603 Union of the Crowns, was in effect 1 Monarch, but 2 Kingdoms, which were seen as seperate. It was only the whim of King James VI and his vanity, that saw himself as 'King of Great Brittaine, France and Ireland, defender of the faith ' etc. Sir Francis Bacon advised him to drop the idea. The English Parliament were hostile to the idea as was the Scottish Parliament.

But the media and specifically the BBC, still play the on ignorance and are happy to muddy the waters concerning which union is the subject of debate. The Unionists are happy to continue this confusion by repeatedly stating that 'Scotland would be leaving the United kingdom' as apposed to in reality, that it is the ending of the political union with England and in turn the ending of the United Kingdom. As the United Kingdom IS the political union. It makes it plain in the actual Act and treaty of Union 1707. Great Britain (as borne from King James VI) means England and Scotland. The United Kingdom of Great Britain therefore is the union politic of Great Britain.
Clause 1 of the Act and treaty states 'That the two kingdoms of Scotland and England shall, upon the Ist day of May next ensuing the date hereof, and for ever after, be united into one kingdom by the name of Great Britain, and that the ensigns armorial of the said United Kingdom '
www.cranntara.org.uk/.../

# Old Smokey 2012-06-27 01:44
Slighty O/T, but thought you may be interested in an article in the Scotsman (of all papers) written by Paul Scott concerning the History re-write by Johann Lamont 'On 1 June The Scotsman quoted verbatim a passage from a speech in the Scottish Parliament by the Scottish Labour leader, Johann Lamont. She said: “We, as a nation, were never conquered. The United Kingdom has not been imposed upon us. It is the choice of Scots”. She made the same point again in the BBC Question Time programme on a week later.
This distorts the facts so drastically that Johann Lamont is either completely ignorant of the history of the Union or she is trying to deceive us

scotsman.com/.../...

# K Mackay 2012-06-27 15:07
Thanks for the link, I can't believe this article was allowed into the Scotsman. Was this in the print version too or just online?

Are they testing the water? I wouldn't be too surprised to see some papers jumping to our side as we get closer to the referendum, not wanting to be on the losing side.

As I see it, the YES campaign is unstoppable because once someone has turned from unionist to wanting independence I don't see how they could be turned back, so we should constantly gain ground and the unionists should always be on the back foot. I think this is what we're seeing with their campaign launch, running scared even of the union jack they thinks so great, can't even choose a tune themselves. It's hard to put my finger on why I think this but I feel we're at a turning point just now.

# redcliffe 2012-06-27 02:19
It is a speeded up version with very few note changes.
It cannot be an accident surely, and after all Pete wishart would know!

# redcliffe 2012-06-27 03:34
better together at football..
2 women who are at least nominally Scottish, one is an American really in my view, have been picked for Team GB.
That adds leverage to the idea that the Scottish team will be pulled from FIFA/UEFA and made part of the British Team, which Westminster would love as it would remove the argument Scotland has a right to have its own opion or team for that matter.
Some players said they would not play but others were happy to and damn the consequences.
I feel that a statement should be made by the SFA that the decision is deplorable and a decision will be made as to whether they play for Scotland again after the event.
If the SFA do not stand up for themselves I can see Scotland losing its right to play within the next 5 years, particulalrly if 2014 is lost.
Many people care more about fottbal than politics, and losing the Sctland team would be important for many West coast of Scotlanders.
This matter should be followed and used for political gain, that unless Scptland is independent UEFA.FIFA will make Scotland play as part of the UK as a precedent has been set.
The politics of who plays for the men seems to have been put off, perhaps as some Rangers players have other things on their mind?
The SFA need to be as strong as the women as the men on thiss matter, as both can be a catalyst for the 4 historical votes to become one, effectively.

# H Scott 2012-06-27 20:45
If 2014 is lost we won't deserve to have a separate national team.

# Alibi 2012-06-27 07:34
"Down Under"? You mean as in Australia, that INDEPENDENT nation? Bit of an own goal there then...

# Suomi 2012-06-27 07:42
I think this slogan offers a gift to the Yes campaign because being together can mean many different things.There is a need to define what is meant by being together.It could mean being together in an unequal relationship,or it could mean being together in a relationship of equal parliaments that collaborate with each other on issues of mutual interest.If that point is made strongly and clearly,the unionist fox called seperation is shot.Thus the No campaign slogan can be turned around in this way:

''Better together as equals."

or

''Better together with independent and equal parliaments."

Something like that would expose the limitations of the No campaign's slogan.

# Angus 2012-06-27 07:51
I thought God Save the Queen was the NO campaign anthem?

# naemairleesplease 2012-06-27 08:06
Aye.
And instead of flipping the Saltire 45 degrees to make it look like a plus sign, they should've just used the English flag.

# Scotlandsaysyes 2012-06-27 08:02
Another thing missing from the No to Scotland's Future campaign...

scotlandsaysyes.com/.../...

# snowthistle 2012-06-27 08:13
Perhaps they felt the song could win a few votes for the Yes camp and sought to neutralise the effect.

# mealer 2012-06-27 08:45
Well,well.The NO campaign are clearly using underhand tactics from the outset.

# gadzy 2012-06-27 09:13
Better Together
FOR
MORE OF THE SAME

# maxstafford 2012-06-27 09:16
So, in addition to lies, deceit and scaremongering, we can now add plagiarism to the Londonist's attributes. In any case, am I then only one who thinks that their logo looks more like some kind of four-sided vice?

# naemairleesplease 2012-06-27 16:10
Quoting maxstafford:
So, in addition to lies, deceit and scaremongering, we can now add plagiarism to the Londonist's attributes. In any case, am I then only one who thinks that their logo looks more like some kind of four-sided vice?

Or maybe it looks like Alistair Darling

postimage.org/image/5aepjpjtz/

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-06-27 10:27
This reminds me of when my Dad and his pal used to get together with their chanters and compose new pipe tunes - all would be going well until one of them would announce, 'sorry, great tune, but it's actually 'Scotland the Brave' (or whatever!)
No way this is a 'new' tune.

# 1820 2012-06-27 10:27
C'mon Newsnet Scotland! This is surely scraping the barrel! Pathetic, and petty.
If you really want to be pedantic Microsoft and many others use the same tagline.
advertising.microsoft.com/.../...
windows.microsoft.com/.../...
www.plymouthbettertogether.org.uk/
www.ifyc.org/better-together
bettertogether.org/about.htm
www.wearebettertogether.co.uk/

# 1scot4scotland 2012-06-27 10:46
Nobody in the yes camp should be worrying about this. Remember Labour in the run up to the election; Stealing/copying SNP policy?

All this shows is that we are the dominant force and it exposes what little creativity and the lack of support these dinosaurs in the no camp actually have.

# johnp 2012-06-27 11:32
Confusing themselves with the NHS with Better Together now confusing themselves with their opposition with the same song. Are there infiltrators in the unionist camp? 'Gone Alistair, just stand up there and call everyone a subsidy junkie, that'll really eat into the Yes vote.'

# Infirtaris 2012-06-27 11:37
I noticed something at the launch of the no campaign, that highlights the bias of the BBC once again.

After Darlings speech we saw the video of all those "regular" people saying why they are saying no and blah blah blah.

The promotional video at the launch of the referendum was not shown live. They panned off to the studio for us to hear mindless rhetoric of London based reporters. Then returned the live feed after the promotional video.

# Buddyh 2012-06-27 11:38
Just played both to my wife without her knowing anything, then asked what she thought,the answer was it is the same song without words, so in a blind hearing it obviously is much the same.
So the NO campaign now copies the YES campaign to become a YES campaign, and now also copies the Anthem, is there a pattern here, they have no ideas of there own.

# ituna semea 2012-06-27 11:41
"Controversy over anti-independence campaign official anthem" The "controversy" is all in Mr Duncan's fevered imagination.

# Barbazenzero 2012-06-27 11:55
If you wrote that after listening to both tracks then you really should get your hearing tested.

Being a natural cynic, I checked out both tunes on the Yes and No websites and can confide that the downloads provided at the bottom of the articles text are genuine.

Neither is especially hard on the ear.

# creag an tuirc 2012-06-27 14:47
I agree I S, but if it was the other way round, I'm sure we wouldn't have heard a peep from the BBC and MSM, not. :-)

# flyingscotsman 2012-06-27 11:43
Well at least they travelled a good 2 miles from Westminster to find a web developer to build their bettertogether site

www.bluestatedigital.com/.../

# Mac 2012-06-27 12:06
Expect a very expensive copyright lawsuit. There is pots of money to be extracted from the No Campaign coffers in court over this. Instead of Better Together in could end up Broke Together.

# X_Sticks 2012-06-27 12:46
Mac,
"Instead of Better Together in could end up Broke Together."

Isn't that the reality of where we are now anyway?

# ButeHouse 2012-06-27 14:04
This is a silly and unnecessary blunder by the NO Campaign, especially as they have an excellent slogan that really fits and already have better buttons than we do as photographed in this article.

I've seen the YES car sticker, white lettering on an insipid plain plastic. Might I remind the organisers of YES that these Buttons and Car stickers, Leaflets etc are often the first tangible elements of the YES Campaign the public will see.

We have the money, brains and experience. Let's put it to better use and that includes live or recorded phone messages, too often they sound like some wee lassie answering the phone at our local Tesco store.

I speak as a supporter who wants to see a sharpening up of our approach: MORE Professionalism please.

VOTE YES in 2014

# Harry.Shanks 2012-06-27 15:16
You are certainly correct about the YES car sticker - I have it on my rear widscreen and it is very hard to see.

# kenneth_clark336 2012-06-27 14:40
Quoting redcliffe:

Many people care more about fottbal than politics, and losing the Sctland team would be important for many West coast of Scotlanders.
I was asked by English friends 20 years ago what it would take for Scots to vote for independence. I told them it would happen if they took our football team from us. I said it partly in jest, but also in the realisation that it may be a subject that would get them fired up.Perhaps someone could rewrite the Braveheart speech to incorporate those sentiments.;-)

# rhymer 2012-06-27 15:17
It is not the anti-independence bunch theme, it is the description of the new TWO TO A BED policy for the NHS in England to try and save money.

# mealer 2012-06-27 17:57
I asked the wife.She says theyre the same tune.Then I asked the bairn.She asked for them to be repeated 3 times before eventually deciding "Theyre nearly the same.Just a wee bit different."

# Edulis 2012-06-27 18:00
You know what... If you repeat what you have been doing, you will inevitably end up in the same place. That same place is being part of a failed empire, of which Dean Aitchison said, 'the British have lost an empire and not yet found a purpose'.

Surely only intellectually challenged people do that or alternatively those with a vested interest.

# brusque 2012-06-27 19:02
If you do what you always did; then you will get what you always got (another way of saying it Edulis).

The No Campaign have still not learned that they MUST list the perceived "benefits" of the Union. So far all we have heard is stagnant rhetoric about being a "power", and whilst I'm sure there may be people who don't want to lose that "power", I think they are few and far between?

When people can have Community and Social Cohesion, all they want is the "power" to change things.........here! in Scotland. Not in some remote part of the world where once they saw themselves as rulers of the empire.

I'm tired of living in a country where we have no say in how many billions are given in Foreign Aid, to countries who are developing Nuclear Weapons.

Independence is the only question I want to see on my ballot paper. Anything else is a cop out and I've wanted this for too long to settle for anything less.

# mealer 2012-06-27 21:14
Why did the Londonists pinch our anthem?To confuse.To muddy the waters.Perhaps to belittle the whole referendum idea?To make a mockery of it. Who knows their reasoning.What I am sure of is that their insistance that the two tunes are completely different will be unbelievable to the public and makes the No campaign look very silly indeed.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments