Banner

Newsnet Main Articles

By Martin Kelly

The Liberal Democrats have been accused of betrayal after much vaunted changes to how the Crown Estate is administered in Scotland failed to materialise.

In an announcement today, it has emerged that proposals to transfer control over Scotland’s coastline and seabed have been ignored by the coalition Government.

Instead, a series of minor changes have been announced which include handing over the right to fish for oysters and mussels and a control over a few areas of Princes Street Gardens in Edinburgh.

The failure to implement any meaningful changes comes despite a report in March this year by the Scottish Affairs Select Committee, which accused the Crown Estate Commission of operating with a "lack of accountability and transparency" in Scotland.

The report said: "At best, [the Crown Estate] has little regard for those needs and interests other than where it serves Crown Estate Commission's business interests.

"At worst, it behaves as an absentee landlord or tax collector which does not re-invest to any significant extent in the sectors and communities from which it derives income."

The report added:  "The CEC's responsibilities for the seabed, the foreshore and other ancient rights in Scotland should be devolved then decentralised as far as possible.”

Commenting at the time, Gareth Baird, the Crown Estate's Scottish Commissioner, said that the organisation would consider the Scottish Affairs Committee's recommendations.

Mr Baird said: "Our commitment to Scotland and its economy remains full and whole-hearted, and we'll be studying the report's recommendations closely, looking at how we can build on the work of our world-class renewable energy team in supporting the offshore ambitions of the Scottish government and local communities."

However, today’s news that there will be no meaningful change and the resource will continue under the control of the London based organisation was met with anger and disappointment.

Commenting on the announcement and the implications for Scottish Crown Estate assets, Rural Affairs Secretary Richard Lochhead said:

“This is a missed opportunity by the UK Government for much needed accountability of the Crown Estate.  These developments do not go far enough and greater transparency is needed over all Crown Estate functions in Scotland."

Mr Lochhead called the concessions “limited and reluctant” and  said Scotland deserved better than “centralised London control” adding:

“Rather than being determined to hold on to the Crown Estate at any cost, the UK government should relinquish responsibility and devolve control to the Scottish Parliament and Scotland's communities.”

The Crown Estate manages a diverse property portfolio, including mineral and salmon fishing rights, and controls half of the Scottish foreshore and almost all the seabed. 

The development of renewable energy projects in Scotland is expected to increase the revenues of the Crown Estate, money which currently goes to the Treasury in London.  Renewable energy sources on Crown land in Scotland are forecast to generate up to £49m a year by 2020.  There is already concern that little of this money will return to Scotland.

Figures published last year show that the value of Scottish property assets increased by 13 per cent to £207.1 million in 2010.  This included a 42 per cent increase in the value of the marine estate, largely due to offshore renewables.

The Scottish Government believes that control over the revenues and management of the Crown Estate in Scotland should be devolved to the Scottish Parliament in order to maximise the benefit to Scotland from our enormous offshore renewable energy resources.

When speaking to the Scottish Affairs Committee last December, Secretary of State for Scotland Michael Moore ruled out devolution of the Crown Estate and said that it must remain a UK-wide body.  However this contradicted the previous position of the Liberal Democrats, who had supported the devolution of the Crown Estate to Scotland.

In November 2010, Lib Dem MSP for Orkney Liam McArthur called on the UK government to review the role of the Crown Estate and use the Scotland Bill to devolve control to Scotland.  Mr McArthur said:  "The Scotland Bill provides an opportunity to help coastal communities and our aquaculture and marine renewable energy industries. The UK Government should review the Crown Estate's role in Scotland and look at using the Bill to devolve powers and control over the seabed."

While leader of the Scottish Lib Dems, Tavish Scott MSP also backed the devolution of the Crown Estate to Scotland, saying:  "The UK Government could give Shetland's harbours, the aquaculture industry and local marinas a real boost by putting the Crown Estate under local control. […] The days of conflict [...] would be put behind us, and Shetland's maritime future would be all the more secure, if control of the seabed was wrestled away from the Crown Estate.  The proposed changes to the Scotland Act [...] give a great opportunity to make this welcome change."

Other Lib Dems who have stated publicly they are in favour of control passing to Scotland include MP Alastair Carmichael and senior Lib Dem Cllr Michael Foxley.

Speaking in September 2010, Alastair Carmichael MP said: “Ultimately I would like to see control of the seabed removed from the Crown Estate and given to the communities who rely on it”.

SNP MSP, Rob Gibson condemned the LibDems for “betraying Scotland” by failing to fight for devolution of the Crown Estate.

Mr Gibson, who is the MSP for Caithness, Sutherland and Ross and a long-term campaigner for devolution of the Crown Estate's assets, said:

"Once again the Lib Dems have betrayed Scotland and, in particular, let down our highlands and islands communities.

"The UK Government's response is extremely disappointing - we have no additional devolution, no transfer of real responsibility and no progress for communities affected by the Crown Estate

"This is not responsive to Scottish interests and nor does it serve the needs of our communities.

"We need complete responsibility for the Crown Estate but it is clear the UK Government does not want to deliver this.

"For those highlands and islands and coastal communities seeking influence over the Crown Estate it is clear the only way they will see local control is with a Yes vote for independence.

"The bitter irony is that in opposition the Lib Dems were active in agitating for devolution of the Crown Estate.  Today's underwhelming announcement shows that they have abandoned their campaign.

"Not only has the party turned its back on its own beliefs, it is also ignoring the cross-party calls from the Scotland Bill committee supporting Scotland gaining full control."

Comments  

# Alathia 2012-07-10 20:26
Lib Dems...out-torying the tories.

And all for the comfort of the ministerial Mondeo

# Rafiki 2012-07-10 20:34
The Liberals have always appeared to be all things to all men.

They remind me of the Groucho Marx quote: "These are my principles, and if you don't like them - I have others."

# clootie 2012-07-11 14:29
Rafiki

A perfect assessment of the LibDems :D

# Wee-Scamp 2012-07-10 20:34
In the event of a "NO" vote this is probably a good example of all those extra powers Cameron and co will give us. It's an insult.

# tartanfever 2012-07-10 21:03
Absolutely agree.

It's hard to see this as more than sheer tokenism in an effort to quell 'the moaning Scots' as we are so often portrayed as.

It's a timely reminder as the 'devo-max' question hots up (and I think will ultimately not appear on the ballot) that the unionist parties have to be pressured into telling us precisely what jam they will offer tomorrow ?

# Jim Johnston 2012-07-10 21:36
I wouldn't bet on that being in any Cameron or Westminster "goodie bag", not now, not ever, Wee-Scamp.

With control of the Crown Estates, which has nothing to do with the Crown, Westminster think this is a Union benefit, which certainly benefits Westminster, big time.

Cameron & Co may offer a free one hour consultation on a psychiatrist couch to every "No" voter in the event Scotland turns it's face against Independence though.

# bringiton 2012-07-10 20:54
It should be becoming clear to people that the Westminster attitude to Scotland is no more devolution of anything until Scots agree in the referendum that it is Westminster's decision as to what we can and cannot have control over.
Control over money matters is never likely to be devolved outwith London.

# Davy 2012-07-10 20:59
Aye the unionist's are grubbing the cash in while they can. Did anyone really think the libdem torys were going to give Scotland its rightfull due regarding the Scottish Crown estates.

Any organisation or party would have to admit that the Scottish Crown Estates should be adminstrated by the Scottish government for the benfit of Scotland.

But you have to remember you are dealing with the equivalent of robber barons when dealing with Westminster, they have no intention of treating Scotland fairly.

And never forget it.

Vote yes, Vote Scotland, Vote for BETTER.

# Fungus 2012-07-10 21:06
I'm with wee-scamp here. This is what Devo Max looks like...allowing us to fish for oysters in Princes Street Gardens.

# xyz 2012-07-10 21:43
lol . excellent

# roboftheburnawn 2012-07-10 22:07
Love it Fungus - this should be a new phrase - Getting sense out of the Anti- Independence parties is like ....

" Fishing for Oysters in Princess St Gardens "

# hiorta 2012-07-10 21:03
'Yes' in 2014 fixes it.

# Grenscot 2012-07-10 22:45
Am I right in thinking that the ownership of the Crown Estates is actually vested in the Holyrood Government and that the Crown Agents are merely factors. Why doesn't the Government of Scotland just fire them for doing a lousy job?

# Angus 2012-07-10 23:52
This is a huge issue for rural Scotland, especially the Highlands and Islands, and it is the same as the land ownership structure.
People who pay the rents cannot make improvements or diversisfy into making money, because they cannot make the improvements.
This was what the land raids were about in 1918, when Scottish soldiers returned from WW1, part of the reason many Scottish war memorials are from1914 to 1919!

# EphemeralDeception 2012-07-11 00:10
Why on Earth would Westminster hand anything over to Scottish control, when at the same time they have a majority of Scottish MPs fully supporting their actions and in any case bow to their supremacy?

Power is never given only won over or enforced.

The UK Government has to face the milestone of a referendum result and will do as little as possible in the interim and certainly not weaken their position or bargaining power, win or lose. They would be crazy otherwise.

Wee Scamp is certainly correct and not only is there no Jam, there is no jar either. The Yes campaign has to exploit this fact to show that a No = at best Nothing. It is the vote for nothing campaign.

Except it is worse:
No for 'Better Together' is Not any Better and not Together either.
It is also the signal to restrict powers for Scotland or weaken those we now have without recourse.

# Am Fògarrach 2012-07-11 00:34
This whole situation will become moot at the end of this year. Under the Lisbon Treaty, the EU controls all “marine biological resources” (i.e. from whales and basking sharks down to the last frond of seaweed) in Scotland's Exclusive Economic Zone seas. Under existing EU legislation, all national waters right up to the beaches will come under exclusive EU fisheries competence from the end of 2012 -- that's THIS year, folks -- and will be regulated under EU law and not Scots law. Since the Lisbon Treaty also transfers powers over energy to Brussels, fishing is obviously only the thin end of a wedge that will eventually see ALL marine resources coming under Brussels control.

And if independent Scotland becomes a member of the EU, as the SNP continue to advocate, Brussels will control all thos assets forever.

Independent Scotland deserves REAL sovreignty, not grovelling vassalage to the profoundly undemocratic EU. Alex Salmond and all SNP members should keep that in mind.

For a far better alternative to 'Scotland in the EU', see .../scotland-in-europe .

# border reiver 2012-07-11 01:15
The sad part of this disgraceful episode is that it is local communities who are trying to better their lives and environments who will suffer most as a result of this. It borders on theft by Westminster, labour and Lib Dems will stand by, make a few noises and back off and the media especialy the BBC will hardly mention it in order not to rock the unionist boat.
No doubt this revenue source will help to preserve and pay for the House of Lords attendance allowances, expences (without receipts) subsidised bars and lavish entertaining etc. Westminster is afraid of giving Scotland extra meaningful powers as they know it will be put to proper use for the benefit of our communities, they are so smug they are making a fatal mistake of overestimating their influence over the Scottish voters come 2014.
Vote yes

# colin8652 2012-07-11 04:59
Did we ever expect anything else! At the end of the day its no good us blethering abount these things endlessly on NNS. We all have to physicaly get out there and persuade people to vote yes to sort this mess out.

# Macart 2012-07-11 06:36
Hullo colin8652

I agree that we should be out there talking to folks, but blethering on NNS is absolutely vital. This site receives hundreds of thousands of unique hits every month. I've lost count of the amount of times converts have been made from those visitors who have been on site simply reading our posts as well as the articles.

We need to remember that Liberal, conservative and Labour voters are not representative of their party leadership's desires or actions and that each one can show their support for Scotland and their disapproval of their leadership by casting that positive vote.

This latest slap in the face from the ConLib pact has real meaning especially for coastal communities. The Liberal leadership have betrayed their core vote yet again. To those Liberal voters who visit this site, how many more betrayals of your core values will it take to convince you that your leadership does not have any home rule aspirations whatsoever? They have refused to pick up the challenge of open support for home rule in the referendum and fallen fully into line with Conservative policy on UK affairs.

To the Labour and Conservative voters, I would say, just what more does the current SG have to do to prove their credentials in running the country's affairs? They have proven time and again that they have the Scottish electorate's best interests at heart. Their economic prudence and social wage have out managed, outplayed and out performed their London counterparts on almost every front. Are you really so hung up on party politics that you cannot see the damage your leaderships are doing?

Vote YES.

# lozzie 2012-07-11 06:37
For What its worth I have just sent this complaint into the BBC:

bbc.co.uk/.../...

The article states: "The Crown Estate is owned by the Queen and managed by an independent board known as the Crown Estate Commissioners." I am concerned that "owned by the Queen" is not correct. the Crown Estates own website states:"The property we manage is owned by the Crown, and is not the private property of HM the Queen." www.thecrownestate.co.uk/.../

The BBC have previously made the same error here: bbc.co.uk/.../...

It seems to me that there is a popular misconception that Crown Estates are the private property of the Queen. For that reason I feel the BBC should pay particular attention to detail on this subject.

# UpSpake 2012-07-11 07:48
We should always be on alert to the perfidious nature of the Westminster administration but will they be up-in-arms as we Scots should be at the takeover due in December of all of our coastal resources by the EU.
One of the many anti-Scottish moves by G. Brown in his drive for Britishness.. Not content with APD and massive increases in fuel duties, he signed away the rights to our coasts at Lisbon then concentrated on the most massive of his crimes, socialising of bank debt onto the shoulders of the people.
That man is a traitor to Scotland and is probably why he is so invisible these days.

# Jim Johnston 2012-07-11 09:44
Just FYI.

"OUR BUSINESS
The Crown Estate is a commercial property business. We act at all times with integrity and are committed to careful stewardship of the assets we have been trusted to manage."

The first two scentences in the Crown Estate home web page.

(It has absolutely no connection to the Crown. It's just the commercial name it was given. Exactly the same as a pub with the word Royal in it's name has absolutely nothing to do with the Queen.)

It then goes on to explain it was set up by Westminster Parliament and all revenue goes direct to the Westminster Treasury.

I see the Scotsman obviously don't know this, they state in that rag this morning "The organisation, which owns a property portfolio on behalf of the Queen,......".

It's time to educate the entire Sovereign people of Scotland that THEY own the property adminstered by the "Crown" Estate. Not the Queen, not the Union, and certainly not the Westminster Establishment who seem to think it's a cash cow for their own pleasure, providing jobs for the boys.

# proudscot 2012-07-11 10:02
It will be interesting to hear Willie Rennie's opinion on this Crown Estates betrayal by his London LibDem masters. We can already be confident that Wee Ruthie's Tories will support anything that Westminster decrees, or refuses to devolve. Lamont's Labour? No doubt silent as ever, until any instructions come from their London HQ, probably voiced by Anas Sarwar, telling them what to think. Let's hope by 2014 many of their voters will, as Scots, have become angered by this continual contempt of their country by Westminster.

# UpSpake 2012-07-11 13:01
I have a friend who works for the Crown Estate so I happen to know pretty much how it operates and on whose behalf.
I suspect that the Scots government also know so should have no problem in prising this away from Westminster. However the elephant in the room is definately Brussels as Gordon Brown signed away Scotland's rights to its territorial waters right up to the shoreline. This new curse on the people of Scotland takes place December 2012.
Yes everybody - this year !!!!!.

# pictic-1 2012-07-11 13:32
Quoting UpSpake:
I have a friend who works for the Crown Estate so I happen to know pretty much how it operates and on whose behalf.
I suspect that the Scots government also know so should have no problem in prising this away from Westminster. However the elephant in the room is definately Brussels as Gordon Brown signed away Scotland's rights to its territorial waters right up to the shoreline. This new curse on the people of Scotland takes place December 2012.
Yes everybody - this year !!!!!.

Could someone explain what's meant by - "Gordon Brown signed away Scotland's rights to its territorial waters right up to the shoreline."
Does this mean we have no more control over our sadly depleted rights regarding fishing and more importantly the oil and gas industry????

# Am Fògarrach 2012-07-11 21:34
Gordon Brown signed the Lisbon treaty, which contains that provision. I have a reference for that provision somewhere but cannot locate it at the moment. The SDA's expert on the EU is currently on holiday, but I will try to contact him. In the meantime you might want to google the 'Lisbon treaty and the UK'

# Am Fògarrach 2012-07-12 00:16
pictic-1

I managed to contact the SDA's expert on the EU but he couldn't be more specific off the top of his head either. Here's what he did say:

"I paid particular attention to studying the Lisbon Treaty's provisions on fishing. In short, it states that fishing within EU waters will be conducted by the Commission "in partnership with member states". In the next article it de facto takes even that phony concession back (member states carrying out EU orders) with the declaration that the EU controls all "marine biological resources". For years I have harped on that discrepancy, which is, of course, deliberate underhand policy - using fishing to get control of ALL marine resources through a series of salami tactic steps - just as is happening with the Berwick marine border issue. And still the SNP leadership remains blind, deaf and dumb (in every sense) on the issue.

# oldnat 2012-07-12 00:54
"the SDA's expert on the EU"

Who is he? Name? Qualifications for expertise? Publications?

All these would be useful - unless it's just James Wilkie with another hat.

# dundie 2012-07-11 14:01
Why don't the few remaining Liberal Democrat supporters come clean and state that they are in fact full supporters of the Conservative Party and all its scorched-earth policies? At least they could then hold their heads up as having been honest and open with everyone around them, instead of skulking about in ignominy, pretending that they are somehow "liberal" in their beliefs whilst their party continues to fully back Cameron's post-Thatcherite agenda. Wee, sleekit, cowering, timorous beasties indeed...

# J Wil 2012-07-11 14:09
We mustn't forget George Osborne's gift to the Royal Family in his first budget, slipped past in the small print. 15% of all revenues from the Crown Estates to the Queen, at a time when the revenues are increasing from oil and renewables activities.

For Scotland this is like a disability in that any maritime activities here are lumbered by additional costs which are beyond the control of the Scottish Government.

# Edulis 2012-07-11 15:53
The Herald version of this story highlights comments from Ian Davidson as Chairman of the 'Separation Committee'. What is missing is any blame emanating from him to the SNP for this predicament and believe it or not he does not give a single utterence of the 'separation' word. He is sleeping on the job it seems.

# UpSpake 2012-07-11 17:14
Pictic-1. The Lisbon Treaty my friend. Signed by Gordon Brown giving the EU full control of all Maritime resources, allegedly only Fishing but you can see where this will eventually go. The creeping bureaurocracy and throughly undemocratic nature of the EU will mean that in short order, they will start to flex their muscles against a compliant and weak UK/Scotland.
Watch this space and see. December in not far off and most of the population are clueless of the traitorous nature of what Brown did !.

# pictic-1 2012-07-11 18:21
Quoting UpSpake:
Pictic-1. The Lisbon Treaty my friend. Signed by Gordon Brown giving the EU full control of all Maritime resources, allegedly only Fishing but you can see where this will eventually go. The creeping bureaurocracy and throughly undemocratic nature of the EU will mean that in short order, they will start to flex their muscles against a compliant and weak UK/Scotland.
Watch this space and see. December in not far off and most of the population are clueless of the traitorous nature of what Brown did !.

What this means is that for example the Kent fishermen and the oil/gas resources off the English coast etc, etc are in for a nasty surprise in a few months time as no one seems to know what's going on.
What's the sense then of the crown estate giving oysters / mussels to Scotland when the EU is going to nick it anyway ....!!

# colin8652 2012-07-11 19:46
I see someone has taken to sticking little union flags on road signs on the A9 Please, any one seeing such disfiguration of Scottish Govt. property rectify the situation forthwith

# Leswil 2012-07-11 21:30
To allow anyone to govern our shores other than Scots is a disgrace.
This piddling concession is and was meant to be, an insult to all Scots.

I include Europe in this, and the more I hear of what they are meddling in makes me turn to Margo's opinion of joining the free trade area and not losing our homeland rights to anyone. The UK has no right to hawk our birthright away.

Maybe Alex should think again about that as more concerned people are bringing this up.

# Marga B 2012-07-11 21:40
Letting the Scots harvest their own oysters? Sounds suspiciously like "let them eat cake".

# lumilumi 2012-07-11 22:52
From my point of view - Nordic - this Crown Estate debacle is just another instance of Westminster not 'getting' Scotland.

The way Scots see 'state' or 'crown', or, indeed, 'privately owned' land, or land ownership, is so totally different from the English view. It's a deep philosophical difference. The idea of 'common land' died out in England hundreds of years ago when the barons grabbed all the land but it still hasn't died out in Scotland.

As a keen hillwalker/hiker/wild camper, England/Wales/Cornwall are no-go areas. Scotland is wonderful because it has, besides amazing scenery, very climbable little mountains and very sailable lochs, historically a similar code of 'everyman's rights' as the Nordic countries. The land and waterways and coasts are free to roam and camp, and even harvest on a small scale (wild berry picking), provided you don't disturb local residents or their livestock. Or camp in their garden. The English don't understand such generosity because they've been grabbing land and enclosing it for centennia.

So is it any wonder that many Scots feel that they should control their own land? According to their own ancient customs? Instead of having puppet 'Scottish' politicians, in thrall to Westminster, sell even more Scottish assets down the pan.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments