Banner

General

By a Newsnet reporter

Newly released figures show that BBC Radio Scotland’s listener numbers have fallen by just over seven per cent in 12 months

According to RAJAR, the audit body responsible for measuring the reach of Radio stations, Radio Scotland’s average listener total when comparing the second quarter of 2011 with the same period this year, is down from 1.35 million to 959,000.

The station also experienced a drop from the first quarter of 2012 to the second quarter, of almost 5 per cent.  A listener is defined as someone who has tuned in for a minimum of five minutes in a week.

The fall in listener numbers will be worrying for managers at the Glasgow based station after concerns were raised over the quality and depth of output after swingeing cuts were announced by its London controllers.  

However, in a surprise statement, head of BBC Radio Scotland, Jeff Zycinski dismissed the drop, and insisted the station’s strategy was working.

Claiming the fall was due in part to the lack of a tight SPL title race, he said:

“It’s a fairly steady performance across the bulk of the schedule with Good Morning Scotland and Sportsound pulling in the biggest number of listeners.

“Compared with last year we did see some drop-off on Saturday afternoons in the final months of the football season – mainly, of course, because there was no dramatic title chase at the top of the SPL table.

“Otherwise the data supports our strategy of offering more speech programmes in daytime and specialist music in the evening – and to offer a real alternative to the music schedules offered by commercial radio and our colleagues at BBC Radio 2.”

The station has been accused of ‘dumbing down’ output with shows such as Call Kaye and John Beattie offering a diet of lightweight chat and poorly informed discussion.  A recent Audience Council report also criticised the use of trailers in place of real news at the station.

Current affairs shows such as Derek Bateman’s Newsweek Scotland and culture programmes like The Janice Forsyth Show were recently axed, prompting campaigns and protests over the decisions.  Batemen’s show was replaced with an early morning Saturday version of the midweek programme, Good Morning Scotland.

Recently announced cuts to the station’s budget will lead to the loss of 120 jobs, prompting concerns from Scottish Ministers over the ability of BBC Scotland to meet its own obligations in terms of balanced and in depth coverage of the independence debate.

BBC Scotland has also been beset with complaints over its coverage of the respective referendum campaigns, with claims that Unionist commentators are significantly over-represented.

A dossier compiled by the Scottish government forced BBC top brass to issue guidelines to staff, warning them against using Unionist inspired pejorative terms when reporting on independence issues.

Last Saturday witnessed a second protest by a campaign group calling for an end to what it alleges is bias at the Glasgow based outfit.

Comments  

# zorbathejock 2012-08-02 18:14
Well they have stopped broadcasting over the internet for overseas listeners for the duration of the Olympic Games which seems odd.The result is they have lost another listener as I won't be going back.

# Old Smokey 2012-08-02 18:14
Jeff Zycinski dismissed the drop, and insisted the station’s strategy was working.'Claiming the fall was due in part to the lack of a tight SPL title race'
What on earth has the Scottish Premier league have to do with a General Entertainment and current affairs radio station??
Is he under the impression he is in charge of a Sports Radio Station??
Quite an idiotic response from Zycinski

# Wee-Scamp 2012-08-02 18:16
I gave up listening to it a long time ago. If it wasn't talking about football it was playing some of worst music on the planet. Hate to say it but Radio 4 is a far better station.

# millie 2012-08-02 18:59
How they could drop the excellent ‘Janice Forsyth Show’ and keep churning out the mind numbingly awful ‘MacAulay & Co’ says it all!

As an aside perhaps NNS could pass all their ‘BBC partiality’ evidence to this review?

guardian.co.uk/.../...

# hiorta 2012-08-02 19:00
Was a regular listener until recently, but the increased reducing Scottish content and the rich variety of Scottish accents on Radio NuEngland has finally won.

# Al Ghaf 2012-08-02 19:26
The quality of Radio Scotland news used to be, for my money, as good as Radio 4 but it was more relevant as it didn't have the metropolitan bias. But the last time I tuned in it was all banter and giggling and asking the punters to text in with their views.

It was like listening to Tiger Tim doing The Shipping Forecast.

# Juteman 2012-08-02 19:26
I usually have it on at work, but have noticed that i have to turn it off more than i used too.
MacCaulay going on about how British he was this morning has probably ended my listening.

# clootie 2012-08-02 21:44
Juteman

Agreed he is rubbish and British.......

# call me dave 2012-08-02 20:18
I agree with this but that was then.

The quality of Radio Scotland news used to be, for my money, as good as Radio 4 but it was more relevant as it didn't have the metropolitan bias

Not to mention the dreadful

‘MacAulay & Co!

However I do like Tom Morton in small doses however and the commentary on the football from Radio Scotland is far superior to the Radio 5 highly acclaimed English equivalent.

A bit like the curate's egg really.

But room for improvement without a doubt.

# Angus 2012-08-02 21:22
Tam Cowan and Stuart Cosgrove, off the ball is still brilliant.
MacAuley and co used to be good, but hes turned into a british nationalist.
Call Kay.. pretty poor.
Tom Morton is good.
Pipeline good and Robbie Shepherd is mostly repeats.
Janice Forstyth, excellent, though I didnt realise they had dropped her show..!?
I still listen to Radio Scotland, and I learn a lot from the way the news is (mostly) presented in a biased way, lots of we tricks there at disinformation.

# Barontorc 2012-08-02 21:28
Watching and listening to productions from BBC Scotland is just becoming a trial. The odd great program is never going to balance all the drivel that makes up the bulk. Kay with an E and Fred the Dread are simply appalling.

As for the movers and shakers, who ain't shaking it, it's like watching lemmings quickening their pace as the big drop draws ever closer!

Too bad, some will say!

# Shagpile 2012-08-02 21:55
How about Radio NNS?

A one hour news programme looped through a 24 period..... With breaking news of course.......

New media versus "old hat BBC imperialism".... No contest!

I would donate, better value than the licence fee so far.

# cokynutjoe 2012-08-02 22:01
It has gone down market in recent years,Scottish content much watered looking for populist format which hasn't worked.
Anything decent is on late, Roddy Hary, Bruce MacGregor.

Anderson 10, Morton 0.

Janice Forsyth sadly missed, any chance of us missing the hauf-biled Gary Robertson or putting the irritatingly sibilant Morton out to grass.

# xyz 2012-08-02 22:13
Indeed, forget the corpse of radio Scotland .. listen instead to Radio Independence Scotland: www.riscotland.com/

on now

# Marian 2012-08-02 22:27
BBC Radio Scotland appears to think that its prime purpose is to bombard us relentlessly with anything they can come up with about soccer whilst ignoring the fact that their charter requires them to produce a balanced output.

# Clydebuilt 2012-08-02 22:35
I am a listener to radio Scotland .....The only reason I listen is to keep up to date with their daily dose of outright lies.

From start to finish this station is anti Scottish Independence.

Business
Through Douglas Frazer they constantly talk down the Scottish economy, making sure every pronouncement of doom and gloom from Wendy Alexanders husband Professor Ashcroft is broadcast several times a day. With the intention of talking down our economy. The last thing they want in the run up to the referrendum is a Scotish economy out performing England's

When did you last hear an SNP Politician being interviewed when they had something good to report on .....before 8.30 am when the majority of workers aren't listenning.

If the SNP rep. isn't on for a bollocking then they won't be interviewed till after 8.30 am

Culture
They never play Runrig (Scotland's Premier Celtic Band)on any of their Celtic music programmes.

The only reason I know of the Corries is I'm old enough to have seen them on BBC 1 Scotland.

Sport
Our current state broadcaster isn't going to televise Glasgow's Commonwealth games.

They tried to help the SPL & SFL blazers into keeping Rangers up.

Hardly ever show the Scottish Football team in action.

Stop our youth from hearing their culture or seeing their national team.

Try to undermine our economy

Aye BBC Scotland is no friend of Scotland or it's people

# Early Ball 2012-08-02 23:13
There have been four Scottish clubs who have already played in Europe this season. None has been televised by the BBC or anyone else? It is worth saying again that Alan Hansen is reputed to get 1.5 million a year for being on match of the day. This is 3 times more than the total Scottish Football receive from the BBC.

# From The Suburbs 2012-08-03 09:06
Quoting Early Ball:
There have been four Scottish clubs who have already played in Europe this season. None has been televised by the BBC or anyone else? It is worth saying again that Alan Hansen is reputed to get 1.5 million a year for being on match of the day. This is 3 times more than the total Scottish Football receive from the BBC.

The BBC recently paid £180 million to renew the Match Of The Day highlights programme which comes on top of £15 million a year to broadcast highlights of lower English league games and an undisclosed sum for 10 Live English Championship games a season as part of a £265 million deal.

Contrast this with their failure to even attempt to bid for live Scottish Premier League football thus reducing the sum, £13 million a year, Sky needs to secure the rights.

Scotland must have the only professional football league in the world that the "national" TV company is not prepared to bid for the rights. In Norway, with similar audience share, their domestic league football rights have been sold for £44 million a year to a commercial company. With no global brands like Rangers and Celtic, why is Norway so much better off?

We should point out to all football supporters that after Independence Sky will have to start paying a fair price (bottom club in England's top division will be getting £60 million a year from next year)to ensure Scottish subscriptions.

Back on Topic, apart from the political bias (glue that holds Britain together) Radio Scotland like BBC Scotland TV suffers from lack of its fair share of investment.

# call me dave 2012-08-03 11:32
If you have a laptop you can watch ANY scottish game (or English +world wide games for Free and it's legal.
Not only that ANY sport. I will be watching american golf tonight to see how our guys are doing.
All you do is first put in the key words in a row to the the sportsyou want.

Try it on google.
Roll on 2014.

# Nautilus 2012-08-02 22:48
They would include me as one of their listeners. I listen in bed to GMS for one hour every day. After hearing the weather, traffic, sport (fitba’ – Newco Rangers) 4 -5 times each in the hour and the three pathetic items of news that they have cribbed from London, that’s enough. They should tape it and play it again for the next two hours and go home.

When you hear ‘The SNP Government……..’ at the start of an item, you can usually expect a twisted view of some decision made by the Scottish Government that will be laid at the door of the SNP.

I always change to radio 4 before 7 – more sense, less anti-Scottish bias.

Can’t they get rid of some of the smug deadwood who seem to have a job for life on that channel? The Fred MacAulays, the gallus Kaye Adamses the boring Tom Mortons, the Janice Forsythes, the Edie Starks and get some fresh blood into their programmes?

They must have cut their engineers, too. They’re always losing the line to callers and interviewees. Professional standards, BBC Scotland does not have!

# Alibi 2012-08-02 23:41
I listened to Fred McAulay's show today, when he was interviewing a Scottish Olympian whose second name I didn't catch (her first name was Susan) and she was a character - but Fred appeared to be a cheerleader for Britishness. I thought he was Scottish but apparently not. He is the latest Uncle Tom. Is this part of their strategy for the next 2 years? get rid of Newsweek Scotland which was excellent and have a load of dross instead? Not good enough!!!!

# Soloman 2012-08-02 23:51
Macauley and co is a wanna be tv show, they always have people on cooking or doing events that might be interesting to watch, as soon as it comes on now I change the channel instantly!

# daveniz 2012-08-02 23:51
omg labour mps are talking more and more out there backside everyday Brian Wilson of the labour party was asked would you like to see a Scotland team compete at the Olympics his reply was "No for obvious reasons, the current athletes share success with athletes from other parts of Britain are we going to deny Scottish athletes from competing at the Olympics if the SNP achieve there separation agenda and anyway nobody in Scotland wants to break up Britain look at all the polls"! wtf is he on also yeah ive seen the so called poll one from the fabien society that if anybody is fimiliar with them is full of labour party members the poll putting independance support at 36% and union support at 52% is highly rigged especially when a statement from the fabien society stated that "the poll is a devastating result for the SNP and separation from Britain" (doesn't sound like an impartial poll does it?

# cjmasta 2012-08-03 00:11
Funnily enough one of my workmates was saying he put on radio Scotland recently and couldn`t believe how bad it was. I think a lot of the talent in Scotland heads south, infact I have a friend who did so but has returned to work up here to be closer to family. I must quiz him on what he thinks about quality, job prospects etc in this country. Given that a huge chunk of the money contributed by Scotland never gets spent here I would like to ask him also if he thinks controlling our own broadcasting would be benefitial to the industry in this country.

# Louperdowg 2012-08-03 00:45
Radio Scotland is simply awful and I agree with most of the criticisms made above. I think that you would have to be a saint to sit through a whole episode of Fred MacCauley or Call Kaye.

I am a fan of NPR Radio in America, particularly with reference to its music output and I think that a similar setup could be arranged in Scotland, superseding the BBC.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NPR

Interestingly, one of the presenters that first got me hooked many years ago, whilst I was cycling around America, was Fiona Ritchie.

en.wikipedia.org/.../...

One day we will get the service we deserve.

# J Wil 2012-08-03 04:24
When will they get shot of too many supercilious, giggling ladies who revert mainly to entertaining themselves with silly in-house jokes?

# Blanco 2012-08-03 07:25
I stopped listening to Radio Scotland when they got rid of Lesley Riddoch. Amazed to discover recently that Mary Ann Kennedy with one of the best music shows on radio and the sort of show a Scottish broadcaster should be doing - Celtic connections - has also now left, and was last heard on Radio 4. If you want quality Scottish voices that is the place to go. Mary Ann Kennedy, Eddie Mair, James Naughtie, Andrew Marr, versus Gary Robertson, Kaye Adams and Fred Macauley. It's a no brainer.

# frankyB 2012-08-03 08:19
I am one of those people who used to tune in to Radio Scotland but cannot do that now at all. That station is a big no, no.

Their shows are so dumbed down they interrupt them with news alerts of similar relevance to reporting that hedgehogs have been run over in the highlands and then spend the next half hour talking about hedgehogs. It really is this bad! And they do this when you know yourself there are big issues to resolve in Scotland and they are just ignoring them. They regurgitate news which you hear on other channels. Only some of their music shows are decent. Their political commentaries are insulting and biased. They are not interested in impartial or penetrating journalism - they are INGSOC.

Really quite sickening.

They are so out of touch its incredible.

# wee folding bike 2012-08-03 08:29
Fred Macauley and Susan Calman sometimes turn up on Radio 4. I put up with Macauley but I don't listen to shows with Susan Calman anymore. I've heard her joke.

# UpSpake 2012-08-03 08:58
Have to admit that I never listen to Radio Scotland. I work from home and often writing. When I do have the radio on it's Classic FM. Anything else and I'd probably slit my wrists.

# Breeks 2012-08-03 10:41
What would it physically cost to have an equivalent to Newsnet Scotland on the airwaves? Even if it was just an hour long daily podcast... How hard can it be?

# Independista 2012-08-03 10:59
Say what you like about old Reith, but he had standards which Radio Scotland no longer adhere to. I have been a staunch supporter for many years, but now totally sick of the way it has gone. Kaye Adams, Fred Apalling etc seem to be in with the bricks, while decent journalists like Derek Bateman, Janis Forsyth get the heave. I still listen to Tom Morton, but miss Ian Anderson since he was moved to his late night slot.

# pa_broon74 2012-08-03 11:56
Its parochial.

Plummy Scottish accents, startlingly thick people phoning in to have a good froth at Kaye Adams and the vapid burblings of MacAulay and Co (who ever they are?)

I do think the shining light of Radio Scotland is the Call Kaye show, its hilarious. What should be a fairly serious current affairs program, you know, debating the issues of the day etc basically turns into a nutter's ball.

I once read that shows like Jeremy Kyle (and I think specifically the Vanessa Feltz show) accept people on by what medication they take. I think Call Kaye works the same way.

One other thing I just don't get is their total fixation with giving time checks. They'll be in the middle of a conversation like:

"So, Jim, you suffered an appalling loss, your entire family was killed in a chip pan blaze, tell us how you felt about that?"

Jim replies "Well Kaye, terrible, the sense of loss is palpable not just in terms of the family but I just can't face chips any more..."

"Oh Jim, that sounds awful, its 9:15 by the way..."

Its just a bit strange.

# Massacre1965 2012-08-03 21:11
I hardly ever listen to Radio Scotland anymore. The sports coverage is mundane and predictable - same pundits, same drivel. Nae doot Gordon Smith will be back soon. John Beattie - he's everywhere and so much has to do about him "My auntie..., My holidays...when I played rugby..." and so it goes on. Fred has become a bore and the news programme is bloody awful. It won't happen but the whole lot needs knocked down and started again.

# Robabody 2012-08-04 19:58
Pity a latter day David Francey doesn't exist. David would have put most of the modern equivalents to shame with his knowledge and ability to make the seagulls walking about the pitch at Pittodrie sound exciting. I well recall turning the TV sound off and switching the radio on for his commentary on the same game. Open all mikes? Dross.

# 1scot 2012-08-05 08:26
Agree with all the above, I would like to ask, what are the Scottish Government going to do about it?

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments