The first story, since the referendum debate kicked off in earnest, suggesting threats by nationalist ‘extremists’ has appeared in a Scottish newspaper.

Widely predicted by independence supporters, the story claims that a ‘group’ of independence minded extremists has threatened to carry out a terrorist attack against opponents of Scottish independence.

According to the Scottish Sunday Express a group calling itself the Scottish National Liberation Army has threatened to “target” London and other major cities if Westminster continues to interfere in the independence referendum.  The story also featured on BBC Scotland's Shereen Nanjiani radio programme early on Sunday morning.

However the so called group is little more than well-known misfit Adam Busby, a pathetic figure with a history of sending bizarre and often fantastical emails and threats, together with his son - also called Adam.

The Busbys, well known to the UK authorities and ritually derided by independence supporters, have a long history of issuing Walter Mitty type threats against both opponents and supporters of Scottish independence.

Busby senior, who is confined to a wheelchair with multiple sclerosis, ‘operated’ in the Irish Republic for years in the full knowledge of the UK authorities.

His so called ‘organisation’ has appeared sporadically in the Scottish press over the years.  The 'tartan terrorist' articles usually coincide with the issue of independence coming to the fore.

In 2010, twenty years after moving to Ireland, Busby was convicted in an Irish court after sending hoax bomb threats four years earlier from a Dublin library computer against two New York flights - BAA did not take the threats seriously.  This followed an earlier 1997 sentence for similar hoax threats. 

His son, a plasterer from Paisley, was also recently jailed for making threatening phone calls to the Daily Record newspaper and the Scottish Press Association.

Busby jnr also claimed to have sent threatening packages to First Minister Alex Salmond and ex Lib Dem MSP Mike Rumbles in order, he said, to highlight his father’s ill health.

Comments  

# rhymer 2012-01-22 13:02
The usual sleazy MSM misdirection and propagands. Since I plan to think evil thoughts about westminister and make rude gestures whenever unionist politicians talk their usual rubbish on TV - I wonder if I'll be classed as a terrorist.

# dundie 2012-01-22 13:02
Fantasist Busby, wheeled out on cue by his controllers. Why anyone should give this claim the slightest credence is beyond me.

# Displaced Patriot 2012-01-23 07:58
Quoting dundie:
Fantasist Busby, wheeled out on cue by his controllers. Why anyone should give this claim the slightest credence is beyond me.

Why is obvious surely,no lie too big for the unionists ,no smear to vile.
the leap from lies by Iain Macmillan of CBI , Gideon of No11 to Busby it is easy for the British nationalists.

# sneckedagain 2012-01-22 13:05
So serious a threat has Busby been to us that he has been able to send threats and bombs to UK for decades from faraway Dublin without once having been the subject of an extradition request. The Express, Daily and Sunday, is a comical publication, politically incoherent, and the first place I look every day if I want a laugh. I don't know how any self-respecting journalist can write for it. The comical highlight is the weekly ramblings of Dorothy Doolally.

# seven 2012-01-22 13:23
Isn't Busby an 'asset'?

# proudscot 2012-01-22 16:09
Quoting seven:
Isn't Busby an 'asset'?

I think a**hole is a more fitting description for this pathetic person. Just add "son of ..." when his offspring is mentioned.

# Holebender 2012-01-22 16:35
Quoting seven:
Isn't Busby an 'asset'?

SHHHH!!!

Are you sure you name's seven? Might you be "five"?

# seven 2012-01-22 19:21
of the security services that is and it's def seven although I can be found using an alias on CiF.

# Holebender 2012-01-22 21:10
"Five" was shorthand for Emm Aye of that ilk. (Mustn't trigger the word filters in Cheltenham.)

# seven 2012-01-22 23:29
The wedding has been cancelled ;-P

# Louperdowg 2012-01-22 13:25
Puir auld Busby.

All his life he has been waiting for Independence and now that his name has been mentioned everybody is going to be scared off.

Bummer.

# Caledonian Lass 2012-01-22 13:42
This is probably the first 'terrorist threat' story in a long line being concocted by the MSM. They'll stoop to any depth to convince readers against independence for Scotland. In fact, they're as bad as Pravda was for propaganda.

They deserve a two-fingered salute (not the V for victory one!) for their scaremongering attempts.

# wee folding bike 2012-01-22 13:42
Possessive apostrophe in Busbys at the start of paragraph 5.

I know, boring old f@rt.

# wee folding bike 2012-01-22 15:07
Quoting wee folding bike:
Possessive apostrophe in Busbys at the start of paragraph 5.

I know, boring old f@rt.

Ohhh great. Change it so I look like a dafter boring old f@rt.

# Mei 2012-01-22 16:11
Tut Tut, temper tantrums are unbecoming.

# wee folding bike 2012-01-22 16:35
Quoting Mei:
Tut Tut, temper tantrums are unbecoming.

Unbecoming old f@rt then.

# rodmac 2012-01-22 13:50
Scaremongering will abound,daily,we ekly and monthly till the referendum. Best we get used to it.
In the meantime we can all band together and give them something that will really scare the pants off them!
If every person and every blogger, and Independence supporting newsgroup unites.
We will create an unstoppable movement.
Say. Aye4Scotland

.../aye4scotland

# Louperdowg 2012-01-22 14:08
The dependency parties will be announcing their new slogan next week.

"Just Gonnae No Dae That".

# Auld Bob 2012-01-23 03:46
It's comin yet fir aa that.

# Macart 2012-01-23 07:46
How no?

# Louperdowg 2012-01-23 13:14
Just gonnae no.

# fiona4independance 2012-01-22 17:12
Aye for Scotland. Agree with your sentiments rodmac.
The independence supporters probably should get used to it. Im just wondering how they are sending threats if they are both in jail. Anyway the Scots I think have enough sense to realise that independance is not about involvement in terrorism. Dont think this one will have far reaching consequences for the campaign.
Aye for scotland

# Auld Bob 2012-01-23 03:49
Do they actually think that people like me, who have worked away for independence all their adult lives, and are now pushing on towards their 80s, would suddenly, when the end is in sight, turn to acts of violence?

# rhymer 2012-01-23 13:24
Well...
I have turned to acts of
occasional forgetfullness.

# balbeggie 2012-01-22 14:06
the public are best served to watch this 30 minute video which advocates Independence with a wry look:

www.youtube.com/.../

Precious Few Heroes The case for Scottish independence

# UpSpake 2012-01-22 14:17
There is a palpable sense of naivete surrounding the benign intentions of an English Establishment threatened by Scotland going its own way.
Sure, forward thinking Scots have warned about such likelyhoods as the emergence of extremism should Westminster continue to threaten and intervene in Scotlands right to persue self-determination.
We all know that should there be no overt threat from lunitics here, that it is not beyond our level of awareness that forces from elsewhere could create events which could be laid at the door of a so called Scottish extremist.
We should all be on alert for such activity as others have form here. Should there be an explosion somewhere, hopefully not taking lives, and be levied at the door of a group from Scotland we will then know where we stand.
It's just as well that our First Minister has not developed the habit of taking solitary drives in the country.

# Mei 2012-01-22 15:15

# Electric Hermit 2012-01-22 15:03
The police don't have the luxury of ignoring these nutters. We do! Let's enjoy it to the full.

# snowthistle 2012-01-22 18:16
Here, here.
That's exactly what we should do

# clootie 2012-01-22 20:33
EH
You can't talk about MI5 like that!

# Holebender 2012-01-22 21:12
Oh crap, you just rang an alarm bell in Cheltenham!

# Macart 2012-01-23 07:51
EVERYBODY SSHHHHHHHHH!!! Be vewy, vewy, qwiet! They're Heeeeeeeere! :0D

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-01-22 16:50
Posted on another thread. Whether the threat is true or not it still needs voicing.

O/T The SNLA thing is bad news. In the run up to the referendum we'll be looking for the international community to both show support and promise recognition of a separate Scottish nation.

I believe that if certain people get into this kind of activity then they may well capsize our efforts to politically chart a course to independence.

I believe in "people power" ever since seeing the destruction of the Belin Wall. In fact this week we all saw the real effective power that the masses have over governments in the american SOPA (internet piracy) law being pushed to one side by senate and congress, a law that could have had far reaching consequences across the world and one that would have suited certain elements within the US government.

Terrorist action never achieves anything except destruction for its own sake. I would personally ask these people to refrain from making our position harder to cope with. This can be done effectively by the ballot box without a single shot being fired. Believe me.

# clootie 2012-01-22 20:36
SG

It's fiction to undermine the indepence movement. A few low key nutcases probably being watched by MI5 for years have no doubt been "encouraged" by them.
Look at the recent cases of environmental activist groups and undercover police.

This is the level they will go to!

# Holebender 2012-01-22 21:13
Oops! You did it again.

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-01-22 21:24
Re-posted from the Fred Goodwin thread

Yes Marga and Holebender, I do smell a big rat and most likely its name is westminster and their dirty trick brigade that sell fake rocks to the Russians, however, we have to first publicly deplore any threats to London or wherever because the media will look in our direction no matter if its a westminster ploy. We can argue until Ben Nevis turns to dust that its not true but the media will have a field day anyway. I assure you that this isn't anything resembling paranoia just insurance.

# Auld Bob 2012-01-23 03:55
A wee peak around the newspaper blogs soon shows there is far more bitter bile spouted against Scots than by them. Should not the attention of the, MI5?

# Playthegame 2012-01-22 17:01
Upsake 'the solitary drive' was that in reference to Willie MacRae's ill fated drive to his highland home, and the susequent cover up by the authorities.

# Alx1 2012-01-22 17:22
Maybe we should have a scare story of the week competition?

# Electric Hermit 2012-01-22 17:55
Impractical, I suspect. There would be too many nominations.

# Alx1 2012-01-22 18:16
We could send a little statue (cheapo plastic) of the scream subject by edvard munch to the winning participents.
That about sums them up. :-)

# UpSpake 2012-01-22 18:05
Playthegame. Very much so !.

# Kinghob 2012-01-22 18:14
Any twat can threaten anonymously saltire gloppenslosh!

It is hardly worth panicking if someone with severe psychiatric problems makes threats er, against England, or sends Alex Salmond bullets in the post!

The very fact of the above sentence says it all about these very very few idiots.

The only credible threats like these are related not to terrorism (particularly since Scots voters use their votes to make political change (and this is paying dividends as we are the closest yet in 300 years to choosing Independence) but there is the sectarianism thing which was very serious-idiots let loose on a keyboard, or writing threatening letters or sending parcel bombs will exist-we just need to catch them and jail them or put give them access to a suitable psychiatric institution.

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-01-22 21:27
Re-posted from the Fred Goodwin thread

Yes Marga and Holebender, I do smell a big rat and most likely its name is westminster and their dirty trick brigade that sell fake rocks to the Russians, however, we have to first publicly deplore any threats to London or wherever because the media will look in our direction no matter if its a westminster ploy. We can argue until Ben Nevis turns to dust that its not true but the media will have a field day anyway. I assure you that this isn't anything resembling paranoia just insurance.

# Wee-Scamp 2012-01-22 18:43
Talking of extremists.. Hague has threatened to give up whisky!!

dailymail.co.uk/.../...

# Auld Bob 2012-01-23 03:58
Aye! Ah gie near swallied ma chuddy whan Ah scanced yon.

# Old Smokey 2012-01-22 19:04
Anyone keeping a tab on these scare stories.
It seems to have been ramped up a bit lately.
Problem is they are widely reported in the mainstream media, but there is no counter balance, so public just get the scare stories

# Angus 2012-01-22 19:13
Well well, so the Brit secret service is up to its old tricks!
They are so predictable.

This is commonly know as the work of agent provocatuers!

# clootie 2012-01-22 20:40
Angus

Sorry posted above before I read this far - same point.

I should know better - finish reading!!!.

# Holebender 2012-01-22 21:15
Oi! That's agents provocateur, if you please.

Tsk!

# Macart 2012-01-23 07:58
Mair lik agents o' THRUSH! Time tae ca oot wur UNCLE.:0D

# RaboRuglen 2012-01-25 10:13
Hi Macart,

I believe Canesten (other anti-fungal creams are available) deals well with THRUSH. Don't know about agents provocateur though.

Regards,

# Macart 2012-01-25 10:23
It's still an itch we huv trouble scratchin'. :0)

# GerrySNP 2012-01-26 04:03
Or alternatively

AGENTPROVOCATWH ORES !!!

# Auld Bob 2012-01-23 03:59
Are they anything like Prudential Agents?

# Matrix 2012-02-05 23:18
Quoting Auld Bob:
Are they anything like Prudential Agents?

I think that was Gordon Brown allegedly

# seven 2012-01-22 19:28
I've just started reading 1820 the Scottish insurrection that was agent provocatuers started that too.

# Holebender 2012-01-22 21:16
And you! See comment above.

# seven 2012-01-23 01:14
Don't you think they read boards like this as a matter of course?

# truth 2012-01-22 19:49
I will raise a glass when each of these rags goes bust and the last edition runs of the presses.

That day will come.

# manxbhoy 2012-01-22 20:05
Quoting truth:
I will raise a glass when each of these rags goes bust and the last edition runs of the presses.

That day will come.

hear hear

# hiorta 2012-01-22 21:07
Westminster shaking in its collective hush puppies over a poor soul in a wheel chair?
Nah, I don't fall for that.
Must do better!

# gus1940 2012-01-22 21:00
Given that the Anti-Scottish Parties, The BBC and their lackeys in The MSM have so far shown themselves incapable of coming up with a single valid reason for remaining in the Union it could be that the flood of threats and ridiculous stories are seen by them as their only weapon and that they are hoping to provoke violent reactions which can then be thrown against the case for Independence.
We must be wary of the fact that in every society and I include Scotland there are individuals capable of being provoked into political violence.

# Jim1320 2012-01-22 21:21
The "SLA" most likely has 5 members and 4 of those are Special Branch agent provocateurs.

There are any number of sensible stories the Express could have run on the independence issue but why go for the obvious when there is the bottom of the barrel to scrape?

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-01-22 21:35
Hi Peeps,

If there's even a smell of "Nationalist Nutterism" then whether it's an establishment ploy run by westminsters' fake rock salesmen or if it's some Rangers or Celtic supporters who got sick of sectarianism and have decided to play silly beggars, we have to publicly deplore any threats, real or made up to London because I assure you that the media will pick up that you're taking the situation as a bit of a joke and that will play poorly under the circumstances. Now who's with me on this? All you've got to do is publicly deplore any violent organisations that may be acting alone. That will pour cold water over it.

# Dunnichen685 2012-01-22 21:50
It makes you wonder just how low the Unionist Press will go, spouting black propaganda such as this. The SNLA are an irrelevance, their pathetic members can probably be counted on one hand, and cannot be taken seriously.

It just goes to show that the Unionists are getting desperate in finding ways to counter the arguments for independance.

Scotland will achieve independance in 2014, and will achieve it peacefully and democratically.

Saor Alba

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-01-22 21:55
Thanks Dunnichen685 - well said.

# Wedge Antilles 2012-01-22 22:12
Now we know why MI5 has gone to the trouble to have a regional office in Glasgow now.

MI5 is not there for the muslims. They are there for shit stirring and to interfere in the political process and the forthcoming referndum.

# Robert Louis 2012-01-22 23:44
Absolutely. History shows us that the security services from London are not averse to using 'agents' provocateurs', against Scottish independence.

Sadly, we need to expect this kind of thing, including the planting of evidence, and all sorts of other shenanigans.

Do not be surprised at how far and how low they will stoop.

# Jester 2012-01-24 09:00
Quoting Robert Louis:
Absolutely. History shows us that the security services from London are not averse to using 'agents' provocateurs', against Scottish independence.

Glasgow was believed by those in authority to be the Scottish centre of the revolutionary movement based mainly on information passed upwards from the spies. It was in fact the centre of the Government spy system and the location of a highly profitable but thoroughly dishonest and disreputable conspiracy amongst the government spies. Alexander Richmond, a weaver from pollockshaws in Glasgow, had in 1817 been revealed to be a Government Agent. Although Richmond had been exposed as a spy he remained as spymaster controlling the activities of a tiny group of British agents who’d wormed their way into the movement right upto the highest level. One of these informers, Alexander King of Glasgow infiltrated the weavers' unions early in 1819 and now sat on the Provisional Committee and informed his spymasters of a secret meeting to take place in Glasgow on 21 March.

ourscotland.myfreeforum.org/.../...

# Mei 2012-01-23 15:03
And where is this regional National Office in Glasgow.

# cokynutjoe 2012-01-26 12:11
It's between Argyle Street and the Broomiela...................somebody at the doo......

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-01-22 22:20
It is a load of bollocks .... that's all.

# Auld Bob 2012-01-23 04:06
Let's face it, if there were any people daft enough to want to blow something up would they notify them it was going to happen? At least not until just before the big bang.

# Macart 2012-01-23 08:09
The whole thing is complete and utter horsepucky. We know this already and like SG says above, wherever you find it hinted at, stamp on it right away. We don't need the bad press, we've got plenty already. As for the MSM, we're not allowed to use the T word or the Q word or the F word. Make up your own sentence by mixing all of the above.

That they should give any column space to this speaks volumes. My contempt for this kind of journalism can't be repeated in polite company. These reptiles don't give a flying FORFAR about ethics or morals, its why they're dying as a breed and they can't even see it. The sooner they pass into history, the better.

# Auld Bob 2012-01-23 10:03
I was just over at a website for English nationalists. They are REALY a bunch of totally ignorant extremeists. It is wall to wall hate with claims the English are discriminated against. They are NOT for England but against Scotland, Wales, Ireland,skin colour, Muslims, et al. For some unknown reason the words plank, thick and the number 5 popped into my head. The number of totally misinformrd points made in their views is way beyond belief and the hate comes off the page like a greyhound out of a trap. Perhaps a few text clips from such websites sent to both the English & Scottish press would open a few eyes.

# Macart 2012-01-23 11:10
They don't really discriminate Auld Bob. They hold everyone in equal contempt.

# frankyB 2012-01-23 09:49
The BBC never let facts get in the way of their spin.

# Angus 2012-01-23 09:56
Quoting Jim1320:
The "SLA" most likely has 5 members and 4 of those are Special Branch agent provocateurs.

There are any number of sensible stories the Express could have run on the independence issue but why go for the obvious when there is the bottom of the barrel to scrape?

Aye, 4 proffessional sh!t stirrers and one numpty.
They used these tactics before especially under thatcher and major, so they try again, but we get wiser.

# rhymer 2012-01-23 13:19
Anyway these are not independence supporters -
they are all MAD DEVO MAX suporters

# hiorta 2012-01-23 15:18
The Unionists are cranking up their propaganda
aljazeera.com/.../...

# Caadfael 2012-01-23 17:50
An empty puff from an ex beeb nobody

# seven 2012-01-23 19:58
From the Spectator no less but calling herself freelance. Why doesn't someone here send a 'freelance' article as a retort?

# Matrix 2012-02-05 23:43
Quoting seven:
From the Spectator no less but calling herself freelance. Why doesn't someone here send a 'freelance' article as a retort?

Quoting hiorta:
The Unionists are cranking up their propaganda
aljazeera.com/.../...

Just cranked theirs back . Its under moderation and posted under my google account but it goes a bit like this.

I would advise anyone reading this article to imagine that if Scotland was the West Bank and Gaza then the "freelance journalist who has written this complete tosh is the equivalent of the Jerusalem Post. A grubby little rag who print only the side of the occupying territory whilst pillaging the national resources of the weaker and better natured neighbour. Now I am not saying that our children are being starved to death by the English but I do say that misinformation and fear is how bullying occupational forces have worked since time immemorial. We cheered your Arab Spring in my country because we understand oppression. Well this is our bloodless intifada. The will of the people will be known. The truth if you care to look for it can be found starting here. www.newsnetscotland.com It is not the whole truth because that is yet to be written but as you have your 1001 Arabian nights so we have our 1000 days. To FFREEEDOM for all our peoples.

# seven 2012-01-23 20:32
As an add on to my last comment I think it may prove important that we get independent voices out there into the international press. Surely the vested interests we are up against will be doing likewise and as referenced above they have already started!

# maxstafford 2012-01-24 14:14
I agree entirely on that point. We need to get our own side of debate out into the wider world as a matter of supreme urgency and do so in the balanced, mature manner we have seen on these pages.

# sneckedagain 2012-01-24 14:18
jester
I have just read the account of the 1820 Rising on the 1820 Society piece you directed us to.

It is extremely inaccurate in many details.

I will contact them to make corrections.

# marion 2012-01-25 15:49
Not that I disagree with any of the article, but using expressions such as "pathetic figure", "well-known misfit", "ritualy derided", is not helpful. It is unprofessional, clannish and lowers the tone to petty playground level; just what the SNP so successfully avoided in the election campaign.
Many more folk will be looking to this website in the months to come. Please maintain a professional standard of writing. It will be vitally important to do so if you want to be taken seriously.

# Angus 2012-01-26 13:25
Quoting marion:
Not that I disagree with any of the article, but using expressions such as "pathetic figure", "well-known misfit", "ritualy derided", is not helpful. It is unprofessional, clannish and lowers the tone to petty playground level; just what the SNP so successfully avoided in the election campaign.
Many more folk will be looking to this website in the months to come. Please maintain a professional standard of writing. It will be vitally important to do so if you want to be taken seriously.

Please excuse me if I m being ignorant, but I m sure that many people on here will confirm, that this is, in all likeliehood, a special bru or M15 set up and not the first time this guy has raised his head during an important time for the SNP.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments