Banner

A journalist at the Herald newspaper has claimed that the BBC may be biased in favour of the SNP.

Journalist Magnus Gardham, who joined the paper recently after a long spell at the Daily Record, claimed that a guest on Tuesday night’s edition of Newsnight Scotland, that saw Labour MP Ian Davidson allege anti-Unionist bias, was not identified as an SNP supporter.

The guest was a legal expert who suggested that claims by Mr Davidson, who had argued that Scotland had no legal power to hold an independence referendum, were not clear cut.

In his Herald article, entitled 'Davidson row with BBC over SNP bias escalates', Mr Gardham writes: “The row over alleged bias on the BBC's Newsnight Scotland escalated yesterday after it emerged an apparently neutral constitutional lawyer interviewed by the programme was an SNP blogger.

Labour MP Ian Davidson accused the flagship show of bias during an ill-tempered on-air discussion with presenter Isabel Fraser on Tuesday night.

He dismissed her demand for a public apology at the time and yesterday stepped up his attack when it emerged an expert who contradicted him over the legality of Alex Salmond's referendum plans was a self-proclaimed SNP supporter.”

Mr Gardham’s article follows a row over the conduct of the Labour MP who has been accused of using a bullying manner against Ms Fraser.  The on air attack saw the presenter demand an apology from the controversial Labour MP who has faced similar accusations of bullying against women.

SNP MSP Sandra White has since called for Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont to speak out and clarify whether she supports the actions of Mr Davidson.

Comments  

# Leal 2012-08-10 08:03
"after it emerged an apparently neutral constitutional lawyer interviewed by the programme was an SNP blogger"

Ok. A full and Open List of all interviewee's on Scotlands MSM TV's and their Political affiliations is the Solution Here.

I look Forward to It .

# alasdairmac 2012-08-10 08:03
Gardham accusing someone else of bias! Pot calling kettle black or what?

I hope that this isn't an indicator that the Herald's largely neutral position on independence is at an end and that we are going to get more pro-Labour nonsense from this excuse for a journalist in the future.

# Bambi 2012-08-10 08:09
This is Lallands Peat Worrier I presume? One might think that the fact that he proclaims his allegiances openly on his blog ('a supporter of the Scottish National Party, but who remains distinctly intellectually free floating. If prodded, I would give my inward political affiliations as Robespierrist Neo-Jacobin") might be enough for most people. Why wasn't his Neo Jacobinism identified?!

No straw too small to be clutched.

# McDuff 2012-08-10 08:28
Leal
Spot on. And of course with Mr Gardham an ex reporter for that well known Labour comic we are well aware of his political bias.

# EricF 2012-08-10 08:39
Gardham's article attempts to portray Davidson as the victim. Talk about Kafka-esque. He's now the Herald's Chief Political Reporter, or is it Editor? His obsessive anti-SNP tenure at the Record is well-known. Why on earth have the Herald employed him, and to what purpose? Can we expect Foulkes to re-emerge now as a regular columnist? Or Davidson even?

God help the Herald now - cos employing Gardham certainly isn't going to.

# jurist 2012-08-10 15:42
"Gardham's article attempts to portray Davidson as the victim."

Very true and straight out of Goebbels' play book.

# isleofskye 2012-08-10 08:40
More about the changes at The Herald and a poll at allmediascotland.com/.../...

Is Newsnight Scotland biased in favour of the SNP, as claimed by Labour MP, Ian Davidson?
Yes 2.45% (13 votes)

No 96.8% (514 votes)

Don't know 0.75% (4 votes)

Total Votes: 531

# Galen10 2012-08-10 08:42
Perhaps Mr Gardham would like to explain just how balanced he feels the Scottish Affairs Committe chaired by Mr Davidson, and its findings, are?

If you look at the make up of the committe, which includes several English Tories, and the nature and content of the written and oral submissions to it (all available on their website), and the people and organisations who gave these submissions, there has to be a huge question mark about partiality there.

It is certainly much more biased than the patenetly ridiculous claim that the BBC in general, or Isabel Fraser in particular, is biased against the Unionist parties. Any impartial observer can see that the mainstream media is overwhelmingly biased against the SNP, the cause of independence, and simply serves the interests of the Unionist establishment. Thus not one paper has come out in favour of independence, and only one (the Herald) appears neutral; how representative of the Scottish people does he think that is?

There is no pretence of giving equal air time or weight to those who represent pro independence (or even pro FFA/devo-max)... instead we are always treated to 3 or 4 spokespersons for the Tories, Labour and the LD's (or other Unionist inclined interest groups like the CBI, or Labour controlled Unions) and alone voice from the SNP.

The debate about the S30 order and the constiutional issue is a case in point. It is a total travesty for the SAC to claim that there is overwhelming evidence to support their point of view. Is there really? OK... lets have an exhaustive list of the constiututional experts they have consulted, and compare them with those who disagree with their point of view.

Let's also examine how many of these experts are in fact neutral or disinterested (from either side). No doubt there are many experts in other countries who could be consulted.

Davidson showed in his interview that he has no clue, and no wish to be educated, about the constitutional position.

The Scottish government should remain steadfast in its position that it is no part of Westminsters business to dictate when the referendum is held, how many questions there are, who gets to vote, or even who oversees the Election. All of these are matters for the Scottish Parliament to decide.

If Westminster tries to push the matter, it will simply play into the hands of the YES camp; nothing is more certain to convert undecided voters as Westminster being heavy handed and trying to ride a coach and horses through the Claim of Right and the Axa ruling.

# Leswil 2012-08-10 08:43
To me this is related to a new policy of the BBC in an attempt to try and cloak their open Unionist bias.

First sign of this was Ian Davidson's rant to Isabel Fraser the other night.

What Davidson said was obviously well chosen by some spin doctor in order to try and mitigate any campaign against BBC bias towards the Independent cause.

There is no doubt that this is the case, NOT bias against Unionists.
It is designed to muddy the waters against allegations against them.

This new complaint, is again too much of a coincidence so close to Davidson's rant, smacks of collusion between the discredited BBC and the Unionist spin doctors, and it is so obvious.

They must think everyone is stupid in Scotland that we would not see through these vain attempts to try and look unbiased.

It is cynical and wrong on all levels, and the BBC need to know their games are exposed.

I have watched Davidson's rant with Isobel several time and I think she was genuine in her anger.( or she is a excellent actress! )

The BBC thinking must have been to not inform her of what will be said, and that her reaction would somehow prove it was not BBC/Unionist contrived wording.
Well they are rumbled.

The BBC is not fit for purpose as far as Scotland is concerned and these allegations are so ludicrous that the BBC should hide their heads in shame.

# gregalach 2012-08-10 09:52
These were my thoughts exactly when I first saw the interview with Isobel. The bbc anti-snp, anti-independence bias is so blatant that no one in their right minds could suggest that the bias is in the other direction, against the unionists. Obviously the bbeeb has become worried about the moves and demos to bring their anti-independence bias into full public view,(so well done all you protesters) hence the sudden attempts to use the Davidson thug to create a smokescreen. Now the rest of the msm will pick up on it and more unionist complaints will arise.

# X_Sticks 2012-08-10 10:04
I strongly suspect that Daniel Maxwell is the brains behind this. He is the editor of Newsnight and also the person who made the decision to close the online blogs.

# gus1940 2012-08-10 09:05
Re biased constitutional experts according to Gardham - one only needs to utter one name - Curtice that well known supporter of Independence who must have graced BBC political programs hundreds of times.

# Galen10 2012-08-10 09:29
Perhaps now would be a good time for the Scottish Government to form a panel of experts to produce a report on the S30 / referendum issue which Me Davidson and his chums on the SAC can't seem to grasp?

The committe should have equal numbers of members nominated by the pro independence and anti independence camps, and a number of "neutrals" (or alternatively it should be restricted purely to neutrals with no declared bias either way).

It should then be asked to pronounce on whether the SAC's view, or that of the SG, is correct with respect to the legal issues.

# 1314 2012-08-10 10:01
We don't need any discussion of the 'legal' issues.

If we have a referendum properly conducted according to international law and under the auspices of neutral observers, then the result will be unassailable. Both the Scottish and the UK parliaments will be bound by the result.

The S30 business is a nonsense, and the Scottish Government's response should not be that they have no objection, but that, while they cannot stop the UK Parliament from trying to demonstrating it's self importance, it's decision with regard to S30 is as irrelevant as it is unnecessary.

# Galen10 2012-08-10 10:56
I'm not saying I accept the validity of the SAC's claims, or the nonsense about S30, and I fully endorse your view.

I do think it behoves us however to make sure the alternative view is presented, and that it is not seen as simply the SNP line. It is too easy for the SAC or other Unionist shills to come up with a handful of carefully chosen "house experts", and then make spurious claims that they represernt the overwhelming consensus.

By showing that this is not the case, presenting "neutral" disinterested reviews of the situation and disseminating them widely, the claims of the Unionists (and potentially future legal wrecking moves) can be headed off.

# MajorBloodnok 2012-08-10 09:15
Let's be reasonable here and suggest that perhaps it was only LPW's ghastly neo-Jacobinism that Davidson took most exception to?

# snowthistle 2012-08-10 09:43
Oh for goodness sake!
Are we ever treated to a potted history of Ms Lorraine Davidson and her links to the Labour party? Are we ever told that Prof Ashcroft is Mr Wendy Alexander? Is John McLaren ever revealed as former adviser to Donald Dewar? Finally have you ever heard them introduce George Kerevan as anything other than former SNP candidate?

# reconvene 2012-08-10 09:58
When Jim Wallace and Ian Davidson signed the Claim of Right they might not have been aware of the implications of what they were helping to bring about.

I would contend that when Winnie Ewing said. “The Scottish Parliament adjourned in the 25th day of March 1707 is hereby reconvened”. With these words, they brought back to life our old Scots Parliament with its full legitimate powers and Constitutional Authority intact.

Our Scots Government; with that backstop, and with Westminster continuing to be difficult and insisting on this Section 30 with strings, our Government should tell them to get lost and will have the referendum any time we choose to without any interference.

Jim Wallace, and Ian Davidson says that it could end up in Court to settle this question of who is in charge of the Referendum. But which Court, a Scottish one or an English one?

# pmcrek 2012-08-10 12:29
Quote:
Jim Wallace, and Ian Davidson says that it could end up in Court to settle this question of who is in charge of the Referendum. But which Court, a Scottish one or an English one?

Any appeal will be under English (constitutional ) law in the (former) UK supreme court. Their position on this is born out of the desire to control the referendum in any way they can, however, the SNP have them completely over a barrel on it.

Post referendum an independent Scotland would be outside the jurisdiction of the UK supreme court. Fait accompli, any threat of legal action on this front is completely and utterly irrelevant to an independent Scotland and the outcome of any such trial is completely meaningless.

Picture the scene seven years after Scottish independence, Lord Justice Blah Blah finally rules "Scottish Independence is constitutionall y illegal... in a country that doesnt actually exist anymore. Oh well thats 30 million pounds of English taxpayer money pee'd down the drain! Next case please... whats this.. oh interesting, Jesus vs Narnia."

# proudscot 2012-08-10 10:09
I used to access the Herald occasionally to read certain articles by the likes of McWhirter or Hutcheson. However, now that this paper has seen fit to employ the blatantly anti-SNP, anti-Salmond, anti-Scottish independence hack Magnus Gardham, I will cease from all visits to their website, thus doing my small part in denying them advertising revenue. If others do likewise, then the loss of said advertising revenue might just persuade the editorial management think again about joining the pro-Union press and media cabal.

# mutterings 2012-08-10 10:19
Lallands Peat Worrier accused of being a Nat by the Unionists and of being a Unionists by the Nats - how ironic!
RandomScot says, August 7, 2012 at 11:55 am: Peatworrier [...] certainly he is avowed Unionist. Keeping such bad company, peatworrier is quick to jump on the legalities of ‘naw ye cannae’ Rather than investigating the politics of ‘well maybe you can’ - source: wingsland.podgamer.com/.../...

# Ken Mac 2012-08-10 10:59
The spin on this is quite incredible. But it is classic Labour party procedure to deflect genuine criticism by making the object of that criticism into a victim. Hence Davidson became the ‘victim’ of a smear campaign over his ‘doing’ remarks and this is what we are getting again. The fact LPW is an SNP supporter is neither here nor there as he spoke the truth and Davidson did not. Did the beeb tell you the affiliations of Ashcroft, Curtice, McLaren, Young etc.? Of course not.
Labour have wheeled out the lunatic Kellys, Michael and Terry to provide contortions an Olympic gymnast would be proud of while Lamont hides yet again. Don’t let them away with it.

# ituna semea 2012-08-10 11:14
I would suggest that "Newsnatnicht" has given Davidson a get out of jail card when it introduced Andrew Tickell as a legal expert (A PhD student) with no reference to his extra curricular activities as a Nationalist blogger.

# brusque 2012-08-10 12:34
Quoting ituna semea:
I would suggest that "Newsnatnicht" has given Davidson a get out of jail card when it introduced Andrew Tickell as a legal expert (A PhD student) with no reference to his extra curricular activities as a Nationalist blogger.

He would only have a "get out of jail card" if nobody else had witnessed his buffooonery.

YTube and others have ensured that his attempt to defend the indefensible is there for posterity.

Whatever his intent, he went beyond the point of stating a case, and claims that Andrew Tickell's opinion held less weight than the intellectually light- weight Davidson, are risible.

# sneckedagain 2012-08-10 11:34
And the Herald letters page has another bonkers letter as today's lead from Richard "Three Parties" Mowbray on the same issue.
It seems to be impossible to get a rebuttal of anything Mowbray writes into the Herald letters though most of his stuff is infantile and frequently contradictory and illogical.
I don't know how any observant person thinks the Herald is neutral on the independence issue. Not as frantic as the Scotsman perhaps and not as banal and stupid as the Record, the Express and the Mail perhaps but no friend of independence nonetheless.
The Scotish Government is doing exactly the right thing by ignoring the unionists rants about the legitimacy of our referendum. They do not deserve response and there is no way they will be able to interfere with it.

# alasdairmac 2012-08-10 17:41
Mowbray quite definately is a complete twerp. I have written (via email)to the Herald today rubbishing his letter. Wait and see if it or any others in similar vein get printed tomorrow or Monday.

In fairness to the Herald though, their letters page is frequently dominated by pro-independence letters; I've not got to the pedantic stage of counting them but I'd be willing to bet that over the piece they outnumber the pro-Union letters which get included. Whether that reflects editorial choice or simply the numbers for and against that they get I don't of course know.

It will be interesting to see if things change under Gardham. Who knows, maybe he left the Record because he was fed up having to write all that pro-Labour drivel. Or might pigs fly?

# John Lyons 2012-08-10 12:39
My Flabber is aghast! Davidson has demanded an apology because Lallnds peat worrier was not revealled as supporting independence!

The sheer gall of the man is staggering!

# 0din 2012-08-10 22:11
To illustrate Gardham's hypocrisy in calling someone else biased look no further than here - dailyrecord.co.uk/.../...

# ButeHouse 2012-08-11 00:45
For years we have had the same tired old unionist/Labour supporting faces wheeled out on both BBC and STV as so called experts without their political/unionist affiliations/backgrounds being announced e.g. Prof 'Smirking' John Curtice, or Wendy's husband from the Fraser of Allender Institute or Alf Young just to name three.

Meanwhile we get every detail except colour of underwear about SNP/YES supporters who are wheeled on for opinions and or expert advice.

BBC bias YES, bias TOWARDS the SNP/Independence? Don't be ridiculous.

VOTE YES

# J Wil 2012-08-11 08:36
I think it is a gross error of judgement by The Herald to employ Gardham and must put down a marker for them about their perceived neutrality in reporting political matters.

# LadWiThePhilabeg 2012-08-11 23:36
The most worrying point for me here is this: the usual bias against SNP (in favour of union) has never been reported on TV nor in the press.

Here, Labour's rants have been picked up by the Herald (Gardham).

Why has the Herald decided to pick this up?

What is the next move in this obviously orchestrated plan??

"He's now the Herald's Chief Political Reporter, or is it Editor? His obsessive anti-SNP tenure at the Record is well-known. Why on earth have the Herald employed him, and to what purpose?"

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments