Banner

By Kenneth Roy

What is the quality possessed by Michelle Mone that has made her a successful businesswoman? Could it be bottled for more general consumption? She is glamorous, pushy, articulate and often quite annoying – but the brand works. I would have her cloned.

A thousand Michelles, with their entrepreneurial ability, would stir our post-industrial wasteland from its torpor. They would ignite the young to follow her example and shake the old men of the Rotary Club out of their complacency. They would create jobs and take people off welfare dependency. They would make a tremendous fuss all over Scotland – the sort of fuss we need. A creative, wealth-generating fuss.

Alas, I do not think it will be possible to clone Miss Mone; and, even if was possible, I am not sure that we could be bothered to try. We inhabit here an essentially anti-business culture. We do not trust people like Miss Mone and we do not hold them in much regard. They are not like the rest of us, who would rather work for the council or, failing the council, the NHS, or failing both the council and the NHS, for that American lot who make something or other up at the industrial estate.

I first became aware of our addiction to the self-destructive idea that others know best when I worked briefly for an economic regeneration agency. It devoted most of its time and energy to sending men in suits across the Atlantic with begging bowls. Lots of lovely dosh – our dosh – was thrown at corporate America in the hope of persuading it to invest in Scotland. How well I remember the weary phrases we were expected to turn out for the marketing guff: 'world-championship golf courses' (that was our big selling point); 'a clean environment'; 'a skilled, adaptable workforce'. Some of what we told them was even true. The golf courses were terrific.

For a while, this policy of turning Scotland into the 51st state seemed to be paying dividends – even if the dividends went straight into American pockets. New factories did spring up, especially in the new towns. The cost in grants and other incentives was tremendous and, conveniently, has never been properly quantified; and the visitors did not invariably stick around. The appeal of the world-championship golf courses eventually wore off. The branch factory economy was exposed as fragile and fitful, vulnerable to the first adverse trade wind. It was also a dreadfully abject policy. Where was native ingenuity? Where were the Scottish men and women of enterprise? Did we have no self-respect left?

I think of young people in Scotland, perhaps still at school, with a hazy notion that they might like to start their own business. There will not be many of them, but there will be some, and you can pretty well guarantee that they will not be receiving much encouragement.

To the last question: possibly not. Most of the old businesses had been sold down the river by the weak sons of strong men. In a way you couldn't blame the Scottish Council (Development and Industry) for chasing the Americans. They had taken one look at the chins of the remaining Scots and boarded the first flight to New Jersey. But it never seemed to occur to the Scottish Council, or successive governments, that it might be possible to build a new breed of inventors and entrepreneurs here in Scotland.

I am not at all clear about the business philosophy of the present Scottish government, if it has one, and whether it is serious about reviving and encouraging indigenous business. But we certainly cannot afford to lose the bright Scots among us, people like Miss Mone. She is not a happy bunny. She dislikes the idea of an independent Scotland and has threatened to move her business, and herself, south of the border if it happens. Mr Salmond should be trying very hard to persuade her, and others, of the merits of the business case for independence. As a symbol of what can be done, she has more than a little value.

Sadly, however, our anti-business culture has been everywhere in evidence this week – in the derision heaped upon Miss Mone and, of course, in the public humiliation of Fred Goodwin. I see my old friend Dorothy Grace Elder has been writing in favour of further indignity for the fallen banker. She would not only have stripped him of his knighthood; she would 'strip him of his pants' and have him walk naked around the country. In this weather? Perhaps she would prefer Mr Goodwin simply to perish in the cold, cold snow, and for any good he ever did to be interred with his bones in the traditional manner. In the same column, my old friend is scornful of Miss Mone's threat to quit; she suggests that Miss Mone has been up to this sort of ploy before. And now we have Mr Salmond supporting Cameron's shabby decision to pull the knighthood, calling it 'correct', and expressing regret for his former warm support of Sir Fred.

I think of young people in Scotland, perhaps still at school, with a hazy notion that they might like to start their own business. There will not be many of them, but there will be some, and you can pretty well guarantee that they will not be receiving much encouragement. Still, they have this idea; this half-formed ambition in their mind. And now I imagine how they will be reacting to the visceral loathing of business implicit in so much of the comment in the last few days.

Why would they persist? Why would they take the enormous risk of striking out on their own? Better to aim for a nice wee job at the council.

Courtesy of Kenneth Roy - read Kenneth Roy in the Scottish Review

Comments  

# Macart 2012-02-07 08:18
I agree Mr Roy, Ms Mone is entrepreneurial and indeed knows how to generate wealth. She certainly has energy, talent and most importantly she's good at generating headlines. A rare gift indeed. But she is the one who chose the independence debate as a carriage for her latest wheeze. She also picked a very definate side and angle of approach. Don't vote for independence or I'm oot o' here.

Well to put it bluntly, go then. Its not enough to have all of Ms Mone's undoubted talents and somehow consider yourself bombproof from critcism of your viewpoint. You can't wade into political debate waving the threat of 'do it my way or I'm shutting up shop and leaving' and not expect some fairly brusque replies.

Once again, I agree with your view that Scotland needs people with Ms Mones talents. What we don't want are people with her attitude. Frankly we've had enough of being told we're too stupid to run our own house.

# Briggs 2012-02-07 14:26
If you cloned Michelle would they all be bra makers?

This financial paragon should be able to turn her hand to any number of 'spheres' of activity ......well maybe not.

You've been decidedly off form for a while Kenneth.

# Macart 2012-02-07 15:06
I believe Mr Roy to be way off on this one Briggs. We're not critical of Ms Mone for being successful or talented, we're critical of her approach to the independence debate. Ms Mone chose naked (or lingeried) threat instead of concerned inquiry and chose to gain as much headline space as was available. Equally it didn't hurt that she was launching some new range of undies at the time and gained some nice publicity. I don't know about anyone else but I don't respond well to threat, we've had way too much of it in the past 8 months and watching someone use this debate to make themselves that little bit richer? That's particularly cold.

# Zed 2012-02-11 08:44
Michelle is definately not the brains behind her organisation. Her husband is the main man, too many have been taken in because they see her on TV and read about her in the papers.
Her organisation isn't doing too we either, profits are down I hear many of her products are not selling to retail outlets.

# tartanfever 2012-02-07 08:55
I said I wasn't going to comment on Mr Roy's articles any more.

However, I have one question for him.

Which would he prefer.

a) inward investment creating JOBS in Scotland.

b) The Mone model, creating jobs in CHINA.

Lastly, wasn't it convenient after last week's outburst that she just happened to be launching a new line of lingerie with a swish fashion show at The Dorchester in London.

Comment edited by NNS Mod Team

# Auld Bob 2012-02-11 09:19
Quoting tartanfever:
a) inward investment creating JOBS in Scotland.

b) The Mone model, creating jobs in CHINA.

It really doesn't matter at the moment for her busness tax is paid to HM Treasury so it doesn't do anything special for Scotland. Just as RBS and HBOS are not specially Scottish either. Just the English smoke and mirrors deceptions as usual.

# pinkrose 2012-02-07 08:59
Kenneth Roy, I can't help feeling that you are very much a glass half-full sort of person, a pessimist.

Scotland has over the last 30 years or so been run down to the point where individuals have been left with very low self esteem (which could be the reason for the lack of entrepreneurs) but actually I feel this is changing rapidly, our self-confidence and get up and go are being restored.

However your articles always take me back to how Scotland felt in the 80s and 90s. Maybe open your eyes and look at Scotland afresh as it's really a rapidly changing place and an exciting place to live in at this time. Not to say that Scotland doesn't have problems, but there are many good things happening, and your articles frequently just focus on the bad which makes them quite depressing.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-07 09:03
What a very negative article. According to Mr. Roy, we're ALL doomed. Doom, doom, doom and gloom.

Sadly, what Mr. Roy has missed in his 'analysis', is that Scots have had little control of economic policy for Scotland and still don't. I speak to many people in business, and the nonsense about Scotland being anti-entrepreneurial is just that nonsense.

Maybe Mr.Roy is thinking of many years ago, when Scotland did not even have a Parliament, and was run by successive Tory and Labour Governments 'down south', whose core focus was middle England and the South East of England. It is only since the SNP have come to power that a clear strategy involving the re-industrialisati on of Scotland has evolved. For Mr.Roy to suggest that it is difficult to see the strategy is absurd. Just one week ago, Samsung heavy industries indicated their inward investment of 100 million pounds, with the creation of 500 skilled jobs in Fife. This is global heavy engineering at its best. Samsung are NOT from the USA. Maybe they do play golf, but then we do have over 500 golf courses - so shouldn't we shout about it??

So far as new businesses go, Mr.Roy, have you seen for example the life sciences sector in Scotland? It is a hotbed of talent and innovation. It is hard to keep track of the vast array of truly world class life science companies that have started life in Scotland.

With full powers to set economic strategy, the Scottish Parliament and Government would be able to do so much more to drive new business development in Scotland. Right now, their hands are literally tied by London, and I think it is that which is really the problem.

In all honestly, this article screams one thing, loud and clear; 'Independence Now'.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-07 15:49
You missed the leading role of Dundee in the computer games & other sofetware industry. The Roslin Institute leaders in their field too. The UKs coach and specialise emergency vehicles here in Falkirk, (to name but a few).

# pinkrose 2012-02-07 09:12
The other problem Scotland has had up until very recently is the belittling of our culture, society, economy and people by the very source that many have relied on for news, BBC Scotland.

Unfortunately for them, we now have an SNP government which does everything it can to send out the message that we CAN do things, we DO have an amazing country, and economically we ARE doing very well. The BBC are having trouble keeping the lid on the good news now we have the internet.

Kenneth Roy, please don't add to the gloom that the BBC does it's best to perpetuate, or you will be left behind.

# Islegard 2012-02-07 09:13
"What is the quality possessed by Michelle Mone that has made her a successful businesswoman?"

Answer - Tom Farmer and his money when he bailed out her business failings.

thesun.co.uk/.../...

Seriously if Michelle Moan wants to leave Scotland I'll get het coat.

Comment edited by NNS Mod Team

# J Wil 2012-02-07 09:49
Not sure why this insignificant woman is getting as much press attention, but she is generous in her giving, as there has been a fair amount in the Sunday papers about her private life.

She is not a great example of how lives should be lived.

# DonaldMhor 2012-02-07 10:06
I have a high regard for people who have the guts and the talent to make a success of a business, where ever they may be. I have a very low tolerance for people who are self seeking publicists, who feel the need to call people of a different political persuasion "Muppets" simply because those people have the very same ambitions for Scotland that drove Michele to stand on her own to feet and eventually be successful. Not with out the financial support of one Mr Farmer, as pointed out. Who himself is a very successful driven man.

Michele has a desire to be in the limelight as she has just bought a pad in London and desperately rubs up to show biz types, and obviously revels in that style of life. She would do well to keep quiet about her thoughts on Muppetry and Alex Salmonds band and instead try and meet with him to explore her fears. That would be the positive thing to do but lead to less publicity which this is all about.

However when one wishes to be acknowledged by the elite metropolitan set of London it is necessary to adopt a cringing mentality towards your native Scotland as we see so much of in the Lords and the Commons, it is the only way to be accepted there. The Marr syndrome. You must be prepared to use the tired old clichés about Scotland in order to get the snigger factor working and get drawn in to the inner circle. These will include references to the weather, the midgies, the deep fried mars bars, Mel Gibson, Braveherart, brigadoon, subsisidy junkies, Haggis, welfare claimants, etc etc. Only then will you be accepted as a true metropolitan sweatie.

Ironic as I said that the SNP are ambitious for Scotland in the same way that Michele was ambitious for her self. In the same way that she had to sacrifice her marriage we wish to sacrifice our forced marriage. For Scotland it will be a welcome release. I predict that the surge in national pride and self respect will have the desired effect that Kenneth Roy speaks of, and will see our youngsters become more confident and entrepreneurial . I also predict that there will be more opportunities for them to be so.

Alex Salmond and his team have proved over and over that they are a business orientated government, who wish to create the conditions that will attract investment. Through their enterprise and their focus on training young people in apprentice ships the hope and the confidence can be built on, and this awful cringing doom and gloom can be lifted for ever.

# Exile 2012-02-07 11:05
The basic drift of this article seems to be 'blame the victim'. If a person or country is held powerless and abused, that obviously has repercussions for their psyche. But, Ken, if you set them free, watch them soar.

# GrassyKnollington 2012-02-07 11:18
Kenneth Roy reckons Michelle Mone doesn't deserve the derision "heaped on her" for her views on how an independent Scotland would be an economic basket case and how she will be on the first train out should it come to pass.

This raises the question of how those of us in disagreement are meant to react to such announcements.

A 2lb box of Thorntons for her candour or should we just keep quiet?

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 11:47
The woman should be above criticism because she is a wealth creator. She has helped drag hundreds of Chinese families out of penury and into poverty.

# Barontorc 2012-02-07 12:14
Jiggsbro - that's the plain truth of it. Manufacturing costs in China are a fraction of what they would be in Scotland, now or in the independent future, but although the Chinese workers are being paid more than they may be used to, if indeed that is the case, the selling price going onto Ms Mone's top line matches the market here. In other words, she's making a killing on the back of the sweatshop culture.

Who does she think she's kidding with her faux moans - she's exploiting world poverty to increase profits for her company, which in terms of principles may be commercially on the ball - but spare us the indignant bleating.

She's going then, is that the time already - I'll get her coat!

# Louperdowg 2012-02-07 12:45
I watched a programme a couple of years back about Chinese factories and, ironically enough, one of them featured a factory which made one of the clips for bras.

That's right; not the whole bra, or even some of the clips and wirework, just one of the clips.

That way they could focus on making it cheaper and cheaper until another company came along and did it even cheaper, at which point they focused on making something else very specialised.

These factories were basically a room or a shed.

Its this setup that Michelle Mone has got rich from.

Its just a shame that she sees fit to be so disparaging about Scotland trying to stand on its own two feet.

As for this article, simply the less said about it the better. We'll pretend you never wrote it Kenneth.

# DonaldMhor 2012-02-07 14:47
Quoting Jiggsbro:
The woman should be above criticism because she is a wealth creator. She has helped drag hundreds of Chinese families out of penury and into poverty.

Their is ample evidence to suggest you are close to the truth?
Quote:
"Despite the removal of barriers to working in the city, rural migrant workers arriving in industrial areas often find themselves trapped in abysmal working and living conditions. On average migrants work 12 hours a day, 26 days a month. They earn the equivalent of just £85 per month, less than half the salary of a local worker. Living conditions are poor with up to six people sharing small cramp dormitories. The majority of workers do not have written contracts and job insecurity is exacerbated by the government's failure to enforce national labour standards. Women migrant workers, who are primarily employed in factories, rarely get maternity leave, and with no childcare facilities and working weeks of more than 70 hours many are forced to send their children to live with family in the countryside."

waronwant.org/.../...

# pa_broon74 2012-02-07 12:01
She'll be worried about her 'fashion' business being disassociated from London. We don't have many catwalks up this way.

Over all, this article is a wee bit depressing, when I say a 'wee bit' I actually mean dreadfully, it was the first thing i read earlier and I felt like going back to bed.

It occurs to me, perhaps more people would be willing to start their own business' and create jobs and wealth if they knew the tax-pounds being generated weren't disappearing into the gaping maw of London, Westminster and the Banks.

I also have nothing but disdain for those who belittle jobs in the NHS, there was an issue with the creation of non-jobs but that's gone now (perhaps the only silver lining to the credit crunch cloud.) It occurs to me, by claiming people favour jobs in the civil service over self-employment or the private sector, that says more about the condition of the economy (and the way its being managed) than it does about the people themselves.

To summarise, the article above could've been written by the Rev I. M. Jolly except we know it wasn't because its not funny.

# Mei 2012-02-07 12:02
Dinae leave us Michelle, Scotland will be a flop without your support.

# pa_broon74 2012-02-07 12:13
Yup.

If she left we'd definitely be strapped for cash, the cup would certainly only be half full...

Life would be pants. We'd probably get our knickers in a twist trying to hold our own...

;-)

# Macart 2012-02-07 12:34
Doh! :D

# Dubai_scot 2012-02-10 16:12
From the tone of some of these comments...

she will always have her knockers! Bom! Bom!

Sorry, I just could not help myself....

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 12:06
They are not like the rest of us, who would rather work for the council or, failing the council, the NHS

I'd rather work for the NHS, because I'd rather create health than wealth. It's a shame that Mr. Roy values more money for millionaires over better health for all.

# Jimbo 2012-02-07 12:13
I wish Ms Mone every success in her business ventures. However, she told us in 2007 that if the SNP won she was leaving the country. Well they won and she's still here. Now she tells us that if we vote for independence she'll leave the country.

She obviously feels it's a good way of raising her public profile by running down her country and countrymen/women. We have enough people already doing that in Westminster and Holyrood. The last thing Scotland needs is another naysayer doing it purely for self publicity.

She obviously doesn't realise that every time she comes out with these utterances she makes herself look small.

# DonaldMhor 2012-02-07 14:42
I cannot help but wonder why if she is so concerned for Scotland, so much that she is prepared to leave us, that she would not site her manufacturing base here to help the poor jobless, of whom there are thousands, in Scotland.

She is not the first Scottish entrepreneur to use China as a manufacturing base. Sir Tom Hunter is another. However he does put something back in the shape of his charity and foundation work. He is also very sympathetic to Scottish independence.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-07 15:07
defamatory comment removed. – NNS Mod Team

. I'm going to tell you a wee story here. I've never been a great one for sitting around in bars but after my first wife died I had need of human company. I used to pop into a local bar and have a couple of pints and a natter to other's there. It was a nice quiet friendly bar. A chap just a bit older than myself used to often sit and chat with myself and another chap who got on well together. This older chap was a real decent man and aparently nothing special. We were all football fans and not on well together. It was not until years later I discovered the older guy was in fact a multi-millionaire, (quite something in those days), retired and just a sleeping partner in the business's he had started. One day I said to him, "What does it take to become a rich man"? His reply surprised me. I was just lucky to be in the right place at the right time. That was my first million, after that it was easy. He said, "I bought an old bus and repaired and tarted it up. Before I knew it I had a fleet of them and the rest is history.

# mato21 2012-02-08 02:01
Hi Bob
just read your post out of curiousity his name wisnae McAveety by any chance I understand he had a bus we all had a share in At least we got to help to keep it on the road via his expenses

# Auld Bob 2012-02-07 15:58
Got Deputty PM's Questions on the Parliament Channel and Scotland is getting mentiond a great deal of the time. They really are getting worried.

# cokynutjoe 2012-02-07 16:03
"Fife millionaire buys drink"! Pull the other wan.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-07 16:18
Quoting cokynutjoe:
"Fife millionaire buys drink"! Pull the other wan.

Wha said he was a Fife Millionaire?
No me.

# cokynutjoe 2012-02-07 16:20
It's you ah was meaning Bob!

# Robert Louis 2012-02-07 16:12
I see, Ecclefechan Mackay (MA) at the Kinlochbervie Chronicle has some thoughts on this matter, over at LalLands blog :)

.../kc-bosoms-to-drastically-downswing-in.html

QUOTE:

"Appealing to female voters to "reject separatism", Scottish Liberal Democrat leader Wallie Ronnie added "The SNP not only want to separate us from the UK, but to separate Scottish women from the pert mammaries which only the Union's frilly undergirding can secure."

# Ken500 2012-02-07 16:55
Just as well an Independence supporter put in investment at a critical time. Or there might have been more saggging in China

# EdinScot 2012-02-07 18:33
Is moaning Michelle still here? Another typical Unionist, cant beleive a word they say. A wee pointer for her in her efforts to get rid of her Scottish cringe though and in her desire to become English/British. The English would never decry, put down, insult and crap on their own country and its people from a great height. Its not in their make-up and rightly so. It seems judging by the reaction, its a trait that is becoming more commonplace with Scots too im glad to say.

Michelle seems to have an ego problem. The huge mistake she has made is that she thinks she is bigger and more important than the entire Scottish nation. Unfortunately for her, her comments will go down in infamy for generations to come. Not the kind of fame one would crave after i'd guess. Cheerio Michelle.

# pmcrek 2012-02-07 19:27
Conversely, a newly burgeoning 21s century economy run by entrepreneurs is probably the worst thing that can happen to this planet.

We need to have a wee rethink about the economy and what is sustainable before the planets resources run out.

# Soloman 2012-02-07 21:59
I may be mistaken but I 'm sure that I heard Michelle Mone on the radio and she was explaining how she got to where she is today ie she was unemployed etc etc, however somewhere she stated how good it felt not to be dependent on someone else with regards to her employment. If she is a bright person, then surely she must see the same comparison with Scots being depenedent on Westminster decisions...........

# J Wil 2012-02-09 20:47
"I may be mistaken but I'm sure that I heard Michelle Mone on the radio and she was explaining how she got to where she is today ie she was unemployed etc etc, however somewhere she stated how good it felt not to be dependent on someone else with regards to her employment. If she is a bright person, then surely she must see the same comparison with Scots being depenedent on Westminster decisions..........."

That is a crass thing for her to say considering that her own employees are dependent on her good will. I would question her intelligence.

# C2DEalba 2012-02-08 01:51
I am beginning to dislike Ken's articles. \sorry but i rarely get the purpose of them.

I hope Mone leaves Scotland, She is no loss.

# Angus 2012-02-09 08:48
Who cares about Mone, her heart isnt in Scotland, there are far larger industries that can create wealth. The Norwegians wouldnt worry about someone like her, they are protectionist by nature, and would find another Norwegian company to 'manufacture' in their country!

# J Wil 2012-02-09 20:44
Why Michelle Mone has to stay in Scotland?

Because Scotland doesn't have an extradition agreement with England.

# Hamish100 2012-02-09 22:43
Maybe Michelle can link up with American Mr Trump and produce a new line of toupee's that stay on the head.
They can use the offshore wind farm as a testing area. With such lateral thinking surely Scotland will be great again

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments