Banner

By Kenneth Roy

The surprise of the week in Hollywood, apart from the presence of so many star-struck ambassadors from bonny Scotland, is that Rebekah Brooks seems to have landed a starring role as a feisty Highland princess. Due in the dock with her husband Charlie at Southwark Crown Court later this month, the former Murdoch functionary is moonlighting as an animated character in a Disney film.

On closer inspection, it may not be Rebekah herself, but a computer-generated doppelganger. How can you tell the difference? Either way it is 'not a problem' – the helpful mantra of our age – since few of the sad popcorn munchers who will be exposed to 'Brave' have heard of Rebekah Brooks and conceivably even fewer have heard of Scotland.

When someone from the BBC asked a cross-section of the population of Los Angeles what the word 'Scotland' meant to them, most of them replied 'Ireland'. It is indeed a tribute to the tireless work of the Scottish Tourist Board – the post-war inspiration of the late, great Tom Johnston – that, 60 years on, Scotland is another way of describing Ireland. Still a bit of work to do, then.

Thankfully, Eck is not at all fazed by this slight problem of identity, or the lack of it. When it was put to him that, on the west coast of America, the proud nation of which he is the political leader is routinely mistaken for another country, he replied in his customary jaunty fashion that this proved the existence of what he called 'a large, untapped market'. The first minister betrayed not a flicker of embarrassment at the rather obvious thought, which must surely have occurred to him, that it also proved the ineffectiveness of VisitScotland, the hip rebrand for Johnston's old tourist board.

In the latest attempt by this organisation to establish Scotland as not Ireland, an ad promoting the glories of not Ireland will be shown on cinema and TV screens to a potential audience of 80 million people. The ad is, however, so brief that its effect is almost subliminal. All I remember of it, having seen it twice, is a shot of muscular chaps straining at a length of rope. What they will make of this in downtown Yokohama is anybody's guess. 'Curious people, the Irish' could be one reaction.

The choice of the long-haired Ayr historian Neil Oliver to do the voice-over adds to the opaque curiosity of the piece. Mr Oliver, best-known for talking to himself on mountains, is firmly established as the rugged enunciator for all Caledonian occasions.

Speak to the blue badge tour guides, the professionals at the sharp end, and they will not spare you the horrors of many Scottish hotels, particularly in the Highlands where most of the coach parties end up.

Is there a doctor in the house? After the blush-making Scottish invasion of Hollywood, we could use one. Step forward Dr Michael Cantley, chair of VisitScotland. Dr Cantley, in a statement before the world premiere of 'Brave', sounded positively evangelistic about the redemptive power of Rebekah Brooks's new movie. 'The film,' quoth the good doctor, 'is about changing your fate and I believe it will change the fate of Scottish tourism in a significant and positive way'.

Who writes this awful stuff for the doctor? It is no longer one P Riddle, the chief exec of VisitScotland listed in the latest set of annual accounts. It seems that the mysterious P Riddle gave up trying to persuade the world that Scotland isn't just another name for Ireland. He succeeded so brilliantly that he quit the job with a modest leaving package of £240,000, only slightly more than the much-maligned dinner ladies of Lochgilphead earn in a lifetime. P Riddle has gone, but the hype lingers on.

The true state of Scottish tourism does our national reputation – to the limited extent that we have one – few favours. Once the leading Irishmen of our time, O'Eck and O'Cantley, have persuaded the popcorn munchers of the world to visit these shores on a fate-changing mission, what can they expect? Speak to the blue badge tour guides, the professionals at the sharp end, and they will not spare you the horrors of many Scottish hotels, particularly in the Highlands where most of the coach parties end up.

I emailed one of these guides and put the value-neutral question: 'How would you describe the typical Highland tourist hotel?'.

This was the answer:

Where to start? Many have poor amenities – no lifts, steep winding stairs (most coach tourists are elderly), often small cramped bedrooms with old, tired beds (never examine mattresses too closely), small cramped bathrooms with useless showers, no free wifi (Americans complain much about this), tired, old-fashioned decor, poor food – either unimaginative (chicken and boiled turnip – is there anything more tasteless?) or pretentious and poorly executed (last week I had, and sent back, a minute portion of goat's cheese pannacotta with the consistency of blancmange and the smell of old socks), woefully understaffed, often with inexperienced and under-trained staff. And, all too often, guided by the principle that the customer is always wrong.

Now, all this is a world away from the PR guff spilled by people like O'Eck and O'Cantley and faithfully regurgitated by our ever-obliging mainstream media. It is, inconveniently, how it really is. The first minister said earlier this week that the new Disney confection would 'give everybody a really warm glow when they think about Scotland'. If the Scottish Government concentrated rather more on practical measures to improve the standards of Scottish tourism, and rather less on meaningless jaunts to Los Angeles, even those of us who live here could start to feel that warm glow when we think about Scotland.

Courtesy of Kenneth Roy - read Kenneth Roy in the Scottish Review

Comments  

# Dcanmore 2012-06-21 00:37
I don't usually comment on opinion pieces, but I have to say this one is just utter tosh. The biggest load of tripe since the school dinners one (yesterday).

The 'guff' spilled here comes from a writer who would obviously like to spend some holiday time in a Trump Hotel for that genuine 'merican experience, or maybe a trip to one of the world's many outstanding sh*tholes (hint: Scotland ain't one of them). And as for the whole Rebekah Brooks 'Brave' fantasy, come on! I was thinking more along the lines of Karen Gillan.

I'm sure this 'anti-whatever-takes-ma-fancy-on-a-boring-Wednesday-withoot-fitba' diatribe could have been written a few paragraph less and still make some point. 'Brave' might be some Brigadoon fluff to many over here (hint: the kids will love it), but it is an American movie made for their audience hence the ........ you know what? I'm tired and I couldn't care less.

Goodnight!

# Macart 2012-06-21 07:13
The 'meaningless jaunt' also and I would say primarily included meetings with representatives of fortune 500 companies. Those of us who have actually worked in the tourist industry in Scotland know what the best and the worst aspects of it are. Those of us who have spent some time in America are already aware of the average citizen's grasp of geography. One wit I met once described England as the capitol of London and placed Britain some place off the coast of north Africa, but near the med.

Perhaps encouraging people to visit and inject cash into the situation may be a better use of your pen Mr Roy.

# tom 2012-06-21 07:20
Travelling in the US some years ago I wore (amongst other things...) a teeshirt with some lame slogan about Scotland. This frequently drew such comments as: "My grandmother's Irish!"

# UpSpake 2012-06-21 08:25
Perhaps it is merely just down to the fact that in all the years I lived in the US I never once saw an advertisement for Scotland on any TV Channel, I had 150 of them on cable.
However, Ireland on the other hand had an orchestrated campaign on many TV channels all year round. However, as Christmas approached and probably working on the idea that people might, just might be planning their future trips over that holiday season, the frequency of ads were ratchetted up.
Post the holidays, the frequency rose again with obviously St. Patrick's day as the ultimate focus.
Worked a treat. That's where the image rests. All about Ireland and you have to congratulate them, it worked !.
As for Visit Scotland, total waste of space and money. Why is tourism to important to Scotland's economy and yet it is not a department of state but rests in a highly paid quango ?.
Thought Mr. Salmond was consigning quango's to the bonfire ?.

# gus1940 2012-06-21 08:44
Is it not the case that Visit Scotland's predecessor The Scottish Tourist Board was not permitted to operate Independently in The States and that all tourist promotion was controlled by The British Tourist Board with obvious results not necessarily favourable to Scottish Tourism (apologies to Emperor Hirohito.)

# Rabbie 2012-06-21 17:23
VisitScotland? Thon's the yin that advertises aw the time on the Scottish TV for us tae come an visit Scotland. They dinnae even ken that oo're aw here areddies.

# jaejee85 2012-06-21 08:38
You don't have to stray far from home to meet or hear of people with very little knowledge about Scotland. Many years ago prince Charles was heard saying that Edinburgh was one of the most beautiful cities in England. Around the same time a Scottish trade delegation was in the Uk's embassy in Canada, the then British ambassador finished his speach to them by saying to go out and make dollars for England. If these educated Britons don't know the difference beteween Scotland and England what chance do the Americans have.
Having myself spent time many years ago in new Zealand, I found that the majority of Kiwis I spoke to thought that England was the whole island and Scotland was merely a northern region of England.

So let's be honest, Ireland has been a separate country for nigh on 100 years, with the time to promote a non British identity. Scotland is the invisible country because of the power of the British state to promote Englishness abroad in everything from the BBC's middle England period pieces to the fact that even on the rare occassion that Scotland's national football team are shown on tv abroad it is with a substitute English commentator.

We also live in a country were far too many people ridicule the language that was spoken by our forebears over most of the land before being supplanted by a foreigners tongue. Now compare that attitude to that of the Jews, who resurrected Hebrew, a dead language used in religious ceremonies to now being spoken by millions in a wealthy Israel, and all achieved in living memory. Scotland being independent can't just be about having a good standard of living, a strong national identity based on our shared history must go hand in hand with being a forward looking modern nation. Until then we will always be looked on by many as someones region be it England's or Ireland's.

# philfaebuckie 2012-06-21 08:52
I have lived in Estonia for almost two decades and I stopped counting the number of times that Scotland was mistaken for Ireland a long time ago. At least Estonians can make the distinction from English mind you, but as a fellow wee nation that was under the heel of a big neighbour I might have expected slightly more cultural sensitivity. Things seem to have improved now but occasionally there is still a wee error.

I was on the phone to a colleague in Luxembourg yesterday and as usual I reached him through his Russian assistant. I was commiserating with the Russian over his team's failure to progress in the European Championships and he then tried to commiserate with me about my team's failure as well. Yes, he had done the Scotland=Ireland sums as well.

# John Lyons 2012-06-21 11:15
Visit Scotland is a complete failure and the evidence of such is that three people broadcast on the BBC news called it Ireland?

Come on. Really?

Firstly, America is not a place well renowned for it's knowledge of European Geography, or indeed any geography outside of USA. Secondly, I would be very surprised if the BBC was not selective in the respondents it broadcast. Here they had the perfect opportunity to make Americans AND Scotland look daft. They weren't going to waste that by actually broadcasting those who did know something about Scotland.

And Finally, isn't this actually a good reason to vote for independence? Our presence on the world stage has been removed as we have stood in the shadow of the union since before America was even invented!!! (On that note how many countries can you name that existed before Scotland was created???) This makes me want independence more, because we can get out there and make the world aware we exist by taking political power into our own hands and managing our own international affairs, something we cannot do as long as we are locked into this Damned Union!

And anyway, it could be worse, they could have mistaken us for England!

# Albamac 2012-06-21 12:24
"even those of us who live here could start to feel that warm glow when we think about Scotland"

Not while you're around, Mr Roy.

Why are Newsnet readers being subjected to this constant stream of meanness and misery? Is this an example of the literary standards that Newsnet seeks to impose upon its readers?

If readers are to accept restrictions for failing to meet Newsnet's standards of literacy and conduct then, I think, those readers have every right to expect that favoured individuals who are given license to offer general offence and insult will suffer similar penalties by having their contributions edited or removed. What's sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander.

If Mr Roy has a point to make, let him make it in plain language. Spare us the machinations of a tortured soul who is trawling the depths for insults. It's neither Brave nor beneficent.

"Some cause happiness wherever they go; others, whenever they go." - Oscar Wilde

# GrassyKnollington 2012-06-21 12:25
Well we never need to worry about other people saying "don't believe the positive stories about Scotland, it's actually rubbish" because sadly there will alway be plenty of Scots lining up to say it themselves.

You have to wonder why Scotland being positively promoted abroad makes some people uncomfortable. Is it that old chestnut of being colonised in the head and helpfully standing up to say the equivalent of "we're cr*p, we are" in the hope of a pat on the head from the sophisticates you aspire to be associated with?

Who knows.

# DavidS 2012-06-21 14:00
Kenneth, I think the guide quoted at the end was refering to the Ballachulish Hotel near Glencoe. We had the mis-fortune to spend a night there just last week; it is exactly as described by this guide. And it qualifies for four star status!

# Holebender 2012-06-21 14:54
Surely these guided tour companies have the power to get real changes made to failing hotels. They control the bookings of hundreds of beds and if a hotel does not come up to standard it is up to these companies to force change or take their business elsewhere.

It's so much easier to moan than it is to do something, but tour companies are only hurting their own business if they don't do something about the accommodation they are providing for their paying customers.

# tartanfever 2012-06-21 16:17
Is this meant to be clever writing ?

I want to have a pop at Scottish tourism therefore I'll take the lowest common denominator of accommodation , hotels catering for bus tours and wrap it up in a the stupid comments of three Yankee doodles and I'll try and sell that to the Scottish public as serious journalistic opinion'

Was that your thinking Mr Roy ?

Well it didn't work.

# Glasgow 2012-06-21 16:35
This 'article' is a perfect example of the Scottish Cringe at its best.

# pa_broon74 2012-06-21 16:36
Sometimes I read these articles from Mr Roy and lose the will to live. This one is so relentlessly negative, I'm not even sure why he bothered.

About hotels. Hotels in Scotland are often in old buildings, the choice is venerable old buildings with slightly crap services or box-like glass cubes where on entering you could be anywhere from Moscow to Musselburgh. For what its worth, I'll take the former any day.

Personally, I like hotels where you have to stand on the toilet to close the door, or where food is thrown on the table as opposed to placed. It lets you know where you are and where you stand.

For what its worth, I've stayed in some great hotels, up and down the west highland way, on the North & West coasts too, in Mallaig, Ullapool and Fort William.

Here we have someone moaning about Scottish tourism and then going on to moan about someone making an effort to better it. Ignoring the fact (as said above) that thus far, Scotland hasn't been marketed as a country in the same way Ireland has, its been tucked away in adverts for Britain, they couldn't even get a Scotsperson to do a voice over for us.

All parts of the British Isles have attractive parts, Scottish Glens and English Village squares, Irish craic and Welsh Mountains. The thing is, it's all lost in the homogenised blob that is GB as it's presented in the media, heck, the adverts we get here are confused enough in terms of the different identities, its neither wonder some American's can't tell the difference.

It seems to me that the 'British State' is stifling any uniqueness and relying instead on Monarchy and vapid generic British sloganism. Heaven defend that any component part of GB develops its own identity thus threatening the Great British Way.

I'm off to stub my toe on a door jam to cheer myself up. ;-/

# mealer 2012-06-21 16:51
K Roy,
I'm pleased that the First Minister has gone to the states to try to maximise any benefit this new Disney film can have for Scotland.He has Scotlands best interests at heart.He talks Scotland up.You,on the other hand,always try to talk Scotland down.Sad.

# flyingscotsman 2012-06-21 17:05
The title with the condescending reference to Alex Salmond sets the tone. Aye it is all "Eck's" fault, and from there on the article just gets worse.

I have been called Polish in Glasgow, and Irish in England, and for every person in the US that cant identify where Scotland is there is a Scotsman who doesnt know where Arkansas is. All this faux outrage is just ridiculous.

But I do agree that promotion of Scotland in other parts of the world except our own country is scarce.

# scottish_skier 2012-06-21 17:07
As others have eluded too here, any lack of awareness of Scotland by the outside world is a product of the Union.

An independent Scotland would actually appear on maps - something that is really a prerequisite for people knowing where a place is.

Type e.g. 'europe map' on google image search and effectively Scotland does not exist.

Independence would give a major boost to tourism in Scotland - not just due to the publicity at the time, but simply because it would become a 'country' to visit.

Every foreign tourist (or doing some sight seeing when here for work) I have ever met who has been to Scotland have gone out of their way to say how great a time they had. Given I work in the oil and gas industry, this is a lot of people, from Japan to Brazil.

I travel the world with my job. The warm glow I have for Scotland never fades. I am not home when the plane touches down in Gatwick - it might as well be Schiphol or Charles de Gaulle; I'm just passing through. I am home when I take that first breath of air stepping out onto the tarmac at Edinburgh arrivals. If it is pouring with rain, that just puts a bigger smile on my face.

If Mr Roy lacks a warm glow about Scotland, I wonder why he choses to live here. I understand that London/SE England is popular with those Scots who favour the union.

# Edna Caine 2012-06-21 21:40
SS -

SE England is also popular with those Scots who favour independent self -determination for the people of the ancient nation of Scotland, like me.

It is an unceasing wonder to me that so many Scots lack the confidence to embrace the opportunities that independence will bring to develop their own skills and individualism, like, it would seem, Mr Roy.

# scottish_skier 2012-06-21 23:15
I was of course referring to our lovely unionist politicans who head asap for the big boys palace on the thames. The money, the power, the chance to be in the limelight...

Yes, Mr Roy has great writing ability. It is a pity so much of what he writes is like the above.

I took no embarassment about the (e.g. BBC who reveled in) clips of people in LA thinking Scotland was part of Ireland or something. I smiled, and instead thought 'What a wonderful advert for independence to Scots watching/listening to this'. Why, because Ireland is independent.

# Albamac 2012-06-21 21:41
I've already commented on the article. My opinion has been removed, so I'm just checking to find out if I've been banished to the bogs.

# brusque 2012-06-21 23:28
Ach! I started to comment and lost the will to live.

# Louperdowg 2012-06-22 00:21
I always find it amusing to ask Americans what city they are from and then say, "Is that in Canada?"

PS That was one truly awful article, Kenneth. Does it really have to be like this?

# J Wil 2012-06-23 00:06
Americans describing Scots as Irish makes a change from them describing Scots as English.

How much of this ignorance is down to our UK diplomatic service, businesses from South of the border and TV programmes shown in America deliberately ignoring that Scotland even exists.

# sneckedagain 2012-06-23 20:16
Why don't you all complain directly to the flouncing Mr Roy's organ (islay@scottish review.net)
I did. So he took the huff and stopped sending me his depressing commentaries. Everything is fair game to Mr Roy - except the blessed union - and his deployment of the Scottish Cringe in defence of it is without equal anywhere.
I don't know why Newsnet carries his stuff

# Seagetagrip 2012-06-23 22:47
Sneckedagain
I did suggest that maybe MR Roy had something on the Newsnet Editor. But it appears that Kenneth does not have any photies and the Editor does not have a sense of humour either.

# cuckooshoe 2012-06-25 03:59
thewrap.com/.../...

"Brave" and its red-tressed heroine Princess Merida had the box office all bowed-up this weekend, posting a $66.7 million debut.

"Brave" posted the second-best June opening for an animated film ever, behind only 2010's "Toy Story 3," which bowed to $103 million for Pixar in 2010.

Brave is a hit!

Good news for Scotland

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments