Banner

By Kenneth Roy

Since I failed to watch last Friday's opening ceremony – I must have mistakenly believed that I had something better to do – I have no right to comment on the spectacle itself. I'm prepared to acknowledge, in the absence of much published evidence to the contrary, that for the outlay of only £27.5 million it was rather good, if not actually the best thing since sliced bread or the Big Bang, whichever came first. A knighthood for its creator seems a poor reward; it may be necessary to canonise the person responsible.

However – the qualifying word is vital in this case – the reaction to the spectacle has been more remarkable than its producer could ever have hoped – or feared. St Danny imagined what Scotland on Sunday called 'a caring, contemporary and self-deprecatory country' – which, if a faithful representation of his vision, is not a country easily recognisable as the one which most of us inhabit. I would give him contemporary in the sense that we are living in it here and now. The other qualities claimed for the United Kingdom (according to Scotland on Sunday's interpretation) are debatable at best.

But I didn't see it. So I accept that, as a uniquely well-resourced piece of popular entertainment, it was all the many splendid things claimed for it; it may even be that the deeply humane country which it depicted actually exists somewhere, in ways foreign to most people's experience. But that is as far as it should have gone – to have been seen for what it was, the work of a creative individual with a budget to die for, a tribute to the abilities of the British cultural industry, as the arts are now humiliatingly described.

Instead something unexpected has happened to St Danny's production. It has been appropriated by the London media – every section of it, across all the usual boundaries of politics, culture, ideology and taste – and found itself coverted into an object of British triumphalism.

It is sound policy to suspect consensus, and it is hard to recall a more powerful recent consensus than the one which confirms the opening ceremony of the London Olympics as a transforming moment in the fortunes of the played-out dump which modern Britain so closely resembles. Since Friday, a bronze medal for Team GB in some obscure game played by no more than a few hundred people has been considered not only a sporting triumph fit for a page 1 splash, but a symbol of that national renewal facilitated by St Danny with a little help from the monarch. Poor Danny: where on earth does he go from here?

The consensus is certainly impressive, if you like that sort of thing. It unites the Independent and the Daily Mail; it rules out any criticism of the BBC's comically over-the-top coverage; it reduces the critics of Olympic vainglory to the lowly status of conscientious objectors in a popular war. What does it all cost? Twelve billion? Who cares? Make it 20, why don't you? We have the perfect storm: the media as cheer-leaders, strongly backed by the usual chorus of chest-beating politicians, fuelling an excess of patriotic sentiment. God help us, although one trusts it won't come to that.

The immediate madness will be over in less than a fortnight and a sense of proportion will be restored, perhaps even a sense of reality, with a new political season; but the mood music may have changed. Scotland on Sunday thought the opening circus so significant that it led its front page with the suggestion that the Olympic ceremony posed a 'threat to independence' no less. Eddie Barnes's intro gave it the works, for what the works were worth:

The Olympic opening ceremony's spectacular celebration of modern Britain will drive support away from Scottish independence, pro-UK campaigners claimed last night as they declared it could prove a major turning point in the run-up to the referendum.

On closer examination, the story turned out to be Douglas Alexander, brother of the clever Wendy, having a good time at the SNP's expense. Mr Boyle's production had 'captured and defined the essence of Britishness and reminded millions of us what we so cherish'; it had 'impacted on our sense of ourselves and on politics here in Scotland'. Well, the SNP was asking for it. Its Braveheart agenda of cheap emotionalism invited a response. It has finally got one. Until last Friday St Danny was a humble film producer mainly celebrated for bringing the ghastly 'Trainspotting' to the screen. Suddenly he is a figure of historical importance – the man who 'sorted the union' as one of Mr Alexander's supporters ludicrously put it. Perhaps that was not Mr Boyle's intention. He may have thought that he was simply putting on a show.

When I should have been giving the Olympics my full attention, I was thinking about 1961 – the year I've reached in my extensive trawl through post-war Scotland. It was the year of John MacCormick's death and of John Smith's entry into public life as the 23-year-old Labour candidate in the East Fife by-election. The fizz behind MacCormick's covenant campaign, which gathered two million signatures for a self-governing Scotland, had evaporated by then; the devolutionist cause was at a low ebb.

At the end of that year, Jo Grimond, the then leader of the then Liberal Party, speculated at length on the nature of Scotland's destiny, if it had one. 'The Scots have got to make up their minds why they think Scotland is worth keeping,' said Grimond, 'for what purpose they want to keep it, and if it is worth keeping they have got to realise it is because it is different'. He acknowledged the argument that the Scots should control their own affairs because they were badly treated, because they did not believe that Scotland got a fair share. 'But it is something much subtler than that. The fundamental reason why Scotland should have self-government is that it still has something to contribute to the world as a nation'.

It would be a fine thing if the referendum campaign was dignified by a serious discussion on the merits of Jo Grimond's case, so plainly and calmly expressed: if, in other words, the debate was informed by reason. It cannot, of course, exclude emotion. But the response to St Danny's big night out suggests that the emotion will be expressed in the shallowest terms. The rival patriots, Scottish and British, slugging it out for the next two years at the tops of their shrill, silly voices – it's a hideous prospect. But at least we will have Danny to blame.

Courtesy of Kenneth Roy - read Kenneth Roy in the Scottish Review

Comments  

# GrassyKnollington 2012-08-01 09:57
I've never found the sober number crunching of John Swinney remotely "emotional". I've never found Alex Salmond's contention that Scotland can run it's own affairs in the normal workaday way which other modern European countries do either shrill or silly.

"Well, the SNP was asking for it. Its Braveheart agenda of cheap emotionalism invited a response."

Whit?

Where on earth do you see this stuff Kenneth?

Incidentally the calls for a "serious discussion" in the lead up to the referendum from yourself, Gerry Hassan and Lesley Riddoch meet with two main problems.

One is that Labour who do not want to have a discussion on Scotland's constitutional future because they favour the status quo and two their visceral hatred of the SNP means they can't have a serious discussion with people they have already dismissed in their minds as "separatists".

For these reasons the " it's dreadful, they're as bad as each other" theme is very much one for those who due to past loyalties somehow can't see problems one or two but do want to see Labour recover and do well again.

# wee folding bike 2012-08-01 10:19
Well, the SNP was asking for it. Its Braveheart agenda of cheap emotionalism invited a response.

Thus far the only cheap emotionalism I've seen is on the Unionist side.

# AshleyJHP 2012-08-01 11:02
Completely agree with the above two comments. At the heart of the campaign for Scottish Independence is a piece of very simple and objective mathematics. England constitutes over 80% of the United Kingdom, Scotland constitutes just over 8%. The population of Greater London alone dwarfs that of Scotland (c.7 million to c.5 million). Any decision taken then in the interests of the UK is essentially a decision taken in the interests of (the south east of) England, and not one taken in the interests of Scotland, and not reflecting the values and opinions of the people of Scotland.

# cirsium 2012-08-01 12:12
"On closer examination, the story turned out to be Douglas Alexander, brother of the clever Wendy, having a good time at the SNP's expense. Mr Boyle's production had 'captured and defined the essence of Britishness and reminded millions of us what we so cherish'; it had 'impacted on our sense of ourselves and on politics here in Scotland'.
this reminded me of lines from Alan Bissett's Vote Britain www.youtube.com/.../
vote Empire
vote tradition
vote for our proud, shared history of enslaving other nations and stealing their natural resources

"Well, the SNP was asking for it. Its Braveheart agenda of cheap emotionalism invited a response. It has finally got one."

Alan Bissett again
vote for us deploying strategic references to Braveheart to dismiss you all

# Dcanmore 2012-08-01 13:12
Well if a picture of rural Kent c1700s, empire lost, Mr Bean, Mr Bond and chavs house partying is supposed to give us an ironclad argument for the Union then it's impact is the same as Alistair Darling's No campaign... zero!

I watched the ceremony and I enjoyed it. But the only time did 'Britishness' creep in for me was the celebration of the NHS, the very public institution that is currently being dismantled in England and Wales.

No, this is the London games (as it should be), not the British games that MSM and political Unionist sheep would like it to be. Isles of Wonder paid lip service to the UK with a few singing kids, nothing more. I really felt what I saw was an historical account of Britain in managed decline.

However since then, the joy of Danny Boyle's contribution is waning and the very Union flag waving MSM who celebrated the opening ceremony are now back to their usual line of picking apart what is wrong with the olympics. And that negative publicity alone will flatten any notion that the games are a celebration of Britain, Britishness and an end to any thoughts of Scottish independence.

We live in a world where people move on pretty quickly in their lives and that's why the SNP are playing the long game where timing is essential. In most people's lives the London Olympics and Diamond Jubilee will be quickly forgotten in two years time, taken over once again by the continuing arrogance and incompetence of the current Westmonster Government and their toxic policies. That's what people will remember in 2014.

Vote YES 2014!

# Welsh Sion 2012-08-01 21:10
Quoting Dcanmore:
I watched the ceremony and I enjoyed it. But the only time did 'Britishness' creep in for me was the celebration of the NHS, the very public institution that is currently being dismantled in England and Wales.

I would support everything else you said,Dcanmore, but surely you are aware that health policy is a devolved matter to us in Wales as it is to you in Scotland. True, we have a (minority) Labour Government, and it is not averse to playing the Unionist card when it suits, but I don't think it's fair to say that they are dismantling the NHS in the same way - and indeed with the same gusto - as Lansley and the right wing gooks of the Westminster Government.

Yours, aye,

# clootie 2012-08-02 08:23
Kenneth - back to a low again.

The only people who mention Braveheart are the unionists. The activists I know are are progressive modern Scots.

Your assessment of the situation is poor.

We have one group putting forward hard facts on the economy and social justice of an Independent Scotland versus flag waving unionists screaming better together.

# Galen10 2012-08-02 09:03
"Jo Grimond, the then leader of the then Liberal Party, speculated at length on the nature of Scotland's destiny, if it had one. 'The Scots have got to make up their minds why they think Scotland is worth keeping,' said Grimond, 'for what purpose they want to keep it, and if it is worth keeping they have got to realise it is because it is different'."

What was true in 1961 seems even more apposite now. The truth is that the Olympic opening ceremony isn't going to decide the outcome of the referendum, or the longer term future of Scotland, any more than many of the other Unionist scare stories and myths, whether about a future constitution and head of state, NATO, the EU, a central bank, who is head of state etc.

Political developments in Scotland over the past decade have perhaps helped distil an answer to Jo Grimmond's question. I would argue that it is the very sense of "differentness" which will inevitable lead to independence, and that it is a process which became effectively unstoppable after the re-establishment of the Scottish parliament.

For 300 years Scotland and her people have retained a distinct identity and set of institutions; a "sense of self" if you like, in spite of being part of a Union which could have smothered that individualism. Scotland was never integrated or subsumed as Northern Britain, to become just another part of the UK with a funny accent, different customs and a long history.

The Unionist bargain has begun to be unpicked because more and more Scots have realised that we would in fact be better apart than together. Simply put, we want different things, and attaining those things now looks more likely if we are independent.

The task of the YES campaign is to convince enough of the roughly one third who remain undecided, that the things they want for the future, the kind of society they want, the continuation of "tha auld sang", even the role they see for Scotland in the world, are all better achieved as an independent nation.

# robbo 2012-08-02 23:00
Scotland isn't that different to the rest of the UK politically, it just seems different due to the dynamics of the UK. Scotland is far more like the North of England than the North of England is like the South of England. The difference is Scotland is a country and the North of England isn't a country.

If the SNP ran in the UK i think they'd do very well at the minute as essentially a more competent Left-wing alternative to Labour.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments