Banner

There are calls for the Labour candidate for Rutherglen and Hamilton West to make a statement after a newspaper named him as the source of a leak that threatened the security of the Royal Family.

The Sun newspaper is reporting that Tom Greatrex, a former aide to Jim Murphy, was the mole who leaked confidential correspondence between the Scottish government and the Home Office.  The correspondence was in regard to security arrangements around the Balmoral estate – in particular the inclusion of public footpaths on a map.

The SNP’s Environment Minister Roseanna Cunningham had originally been minded to include the paths but had consulted the Home Office over the proposals and had ultimately accepted their advice not to include them.

However, confidential details of the correspondence were published in a Scottish tabloid newspaper and the leak was used by Labour’s leader at Holyrood Iain Gray in order to attack the SNP; Mr Gray also called for the resignation of Roseanna Cunningham.

As a result the Scottish Government asked the Home Office to institute a leak inquiry to establish how this breach in the principle of confidentiality of communications, particularly on sensitive matters such as Royal security, had come about.

The allegation that a Scottish government civil servant was responsibler had been widely reported in the Scottish press at the time.  However investigations have established conclusively that the source was not a Scottish Government civil servant.

The SNP have claimed that if the allegations against Mr Greatrex are true, then Labour must suspend him immediately.

Stewart Hosie, the SNP’s election campaign co-ordinator, said:
“This is an extremely serious issue, and Mr Greatrex must immediately confirm or deny the report that he leaked this correspondence.  If he did, Labour have no choice but to suspend him as a parliamentary candidate.

“It was the Home Office Minister who, quite rightly, made the point that the police wished as little attention as possible for the paths, and we now have a report that it was a Special Adviser to Jim Murphy and a Labour Party candidate in Scotland who was responsible for this disgraceful leak.

“The position is a very straightforward and urgent.  If Mr Greatrex was not responsible, he must deny it.  And if he was, he must be removed as the Labour Party candidate in Rutherglen and Hamilton West.”

If true, then the revelation that senior Labour politicians have been using confidential information leaked by their own officials in order to attack opponents will not look good.  Questions will also be asked as to how a Scottish tabloid newspaper came to acquire confidential security information and whether Royal security was compromised in an attempt at attacking the SNP.

Labour’s Jim Murphy has denied any knowledge of the leak.

Comments  

# RTP 2010-04-29 08:48
Well,well Jim Murphy had no knowledge of this his boss has stated on TV that the buck stopped with him so Mr Murphy in this the buck stops with you,I wonder if Gray will raise this at First Minister today.Will this be headlines on BBC Scotland as it pertains to Royalty I would think it would be the leading story,we wait and see.

# G.Macp 2010-04-29 08:59
So it looks like labour will have to dump the mole! He must resign, after all Ian Gray would expect nothing less!
As for Jim Murphy, labour party dirty tricks opps must have a boss!! he should go to!
Mind you I can't see this in the press!
So Greatrex and Murphy to resign - simples!!!

# Mac 2010-04-29 09:51
It is clear that was a political stunt orchaestrated by Jim Murhpy, Iain Gray and a tabloid newspaper.

This is a good example of the depths that Labour politicians and their journo friends will stoop to.

It didn't matter that people may have been put at risk what mattered was that the SNP could be smeared.

# Clare 2010-04-29 09:58
Interesting one this. I live in this constituency and it is one that has seen massive geographical boundary changes in recent years. Traditionally it was a Rutherglen/Cambuslang seat and then took in areas of Blantyre and Hamilton who once had their own MP. Rumour has it when the outgoing MP (a Rutherglen man) announced he was standing down there was much gnashing of teeth in the Labour Branches about who would succeed him. This man Greatrex is from Hamilton. I would not be remotely surprised if someone from disgruntled the Rutherglen/Cambuslang camp brought this to the Sun's attention. They're good at smearing each other Labour, especially Scottish Labour: was it not one of her own who hung Alexander out to dry?

# Desmo 2010-04-29 19:13
Ta muchly for a fascinating wee snippet, Clare. If I was a betting man, my money would be on your hunch.

I hope, though, that we`re not all forgetting the central role played by BBC Scotland in hyping this story up.

But for them, this would probably have been dismissed as run of the mill Daily Record/Labour party propaganda, but the exposure granted to this tissue of Labour lies on both radio and TV gave it an impact it could never otherwise have had. All of which ran rather contrary to the police advice not to attract any unnecessary publicity to the footpaths.

I e-mailed their complaints dept at the time, but you can guess the content and nature of the reply I got for my trouble.

You`d think that some Whitehall mandarin or other would be jumping up and down about this flagrant disregard for Royal security in such a risible attempt at a smear-story on Rosanna Cunningham and the SNP, but no, nothing`s ruled out when it comes to discrediting the Scottish Government.

# Clare 2010-04-29 23:20
"Mr Greatrex, who is 35, was born in Kent and lived in Ashford and Cambridge before moving to Scotland six years ago and settling in Cambuslang two years ago."

Oops, sorry people, I'd understood he lived in Hamilton. Although I suppose my theory could apply the other way. Many apologies for the inaccuracy in the earlier post.

# Desmo 2010-04-30 23:02
Don`t be too hard on yourself, Clare, look what else has emerged :-

"And Whitehall sources say the leak was traced back to the offices of Scottish Secretary Jim Murphy."

Why are the police not involved ?

# Clare 2010-05-01 01:36
Hey I found this in the sister paper of the Rutherglen Reformer, the Hamilton Advertiser. It was published ahead of Greatrex' selection as candidate. See what I mean about the infighting going on between Rutherglen/Cambuslang and Blantyre/Hamilton following boundary changes which merged them?

"The Advertiser understands that Mr McAvoy stood down just days before activists in Blantyre were set to table a motion of no confidence against him.

One party insider said: “Tommy didn’t have a good relationship with some of the members in Blantyre.

“They were fed up with the way he went about things and planned a vote of no confidence.

“However, he announced that he was to step down a few days before they were to send in the motion and it came to nothing.”

McAvoy was backing Greatrex ; )

Full article hamiltonadvertiser.co.uk/.../...

# mato21 2010-04-29 10:55
Roseanna Cunningham deserves a grovelling apology delivered in parlaiment from Ian Gray who so publicly condemmed her

# EdinScot 2010-04-29 11:03
Exactly and naturally of course Gray will be calling for Murphy's resignation for this disgraceful breach of Her Majesty's security? Yes? No? The silence is deafening.

# Jimmy The Pict 2010-04-29 13:06
This will probably be ignored, especially if after May 6th the candidate for Rutherglen/Cambuslang heads to Australia for a few weeks, after a visit to a clinic for something. Will surface after the election when a resignation may eventually be forthcoming, followed by an inordinately long time before the by-election.

# Azg 2010-04-29 13:33
Poor old Australia! I thought we'd stopped sending our undesirables over there.

Perhaps just some deafening silence and mibbe a bit of "spending more time with family"? :)

# chicmac 2010-04-30 01:03
Quoting Azg:
Poor old Australia! I thought we'd stopped sending our undesirables over there.

Perhaps just some deafening silence and mibbe a bit of "spending more time with family"? :)

Come on, to be fair we just took back Dame Nellie Liddle. The U-Jock level must be maintained there as punishment for daring to leave the Empah.

# cadgers 2010-04-29 13:46
I am struck dumb by their...stupidity?

Jim Murphy, well as we all know "He knows nothing"

# mato21 2010-04-29 14:10
cadgers your wrong there he knows he is a PATRIOT hopefully he be fired from a scud missile soon

# Tom Pullings 2010-04-29 15:11
It makes a very pleasant change for NuLiebore to be hoisted by their own petard so often in a short space of time. Broon's gaff about the pensioner and then this manufactured anti SNP smear backfiring on them just makes my day rosier and rosier. The bit that stuck in my craw a bit was when Mrs. Duffy said she liked that nice Mr. Bliar! Whit, the war criminal Bliar? whits tae like?

# mato21 2010-04-29 18:25
The rutherglen reformer has been trying to follow this up

# RTP 2010-04-29 19:30
Surprise,surpri se no mention of this man on BBC Scotland 6.30PM news also we were to get some report from Douglas Fraser on the SNP but technical problem prevented this,maybe I am being paranoid but is BBC making a point to Salmond we can do what we want.

# Clare 2010-04-30 11:24
RTP, watching that wee lassie doing the news on Reporting Scotland last night in her RED top and big smile when she said "due to technical problems....." I'd say it isn't paranoia.

# G.Macp 2010-04-29 19:39
I must admit that I laughed out loud when I heard of the technical difficulty on the SNP story!
It was so small minded and petty, but there you go!
The strange thing is there will be so many people out there who will not bat an eyelid at it!
The putting down of Scots and the stopping of them thinking clearly has been going on for decades!
However, the veil of deceit is not as good as it once was!

# Clare 2010-04-29 23:14
Yes GMacp, did you see the smile on her face when she said that?????

# RTP 2010-04-29 22:21
Glen Campbell cutting Alex off again my god BBC Scotland have really got it in for the SNP.

# chicmac 2010-04-30 01:10
Quoting RTP:
Glen Campbell cutting Alex off again my god BBC Scotland have really got it in for the SNP.

Dimbleby continuously cut off Alex on QT as he has done on previous occasions. However, the look of panic on his face when Alex gave him a compliment for closely questioning one of the other panellists belied his strategy as Dimbleby clearly did not know how to respond. You could see the realisation dawning as to his finally understanding Alex's political accumen.

# kevinad72 2010-04-30 08:38
It was obvious that the leak was a labour leak, pathetic. It just shows that they cannot win the argument unless they try to smear, misrepresent, and gag. All of which have been done.
Glenn Campbell was atrocious on the 2 minute bit in BBC news at ten last night, a pathetic shambles of a programme, as was the later newsnight Scotland with Swinney being harangued by Gordon Brewer, and simply not allowed to put his point across before being asked about it. I see the idiotic Murdo Fraser got a much easier ride, only being asked the 'interpret the vision' questions.

# Clare 2010-04-30 09:44
Kevin, Brewer did the same to Sturgeon the night before. She would start to answer a question and he would simply start talking all over again. He did it repeatedly. I really must compliment the likes of Sturgeon, Swinney, Robertson and Salmond for how they deal with this sort of thing constantly without completely losing it! I would however truly love to see one of them taking him apart for his unprofessional approach and shocking manners.

I wish someone would put a DVD together with snippets like this so that people could actually see that the BBC truly is the most unprofessional broadcasting outfit ever. (We could start it with Kirsty's infamous attack on Salmond back in 2007.)

# kevinad72 2010-04-30 18:36
Clare,
We'll see how it is tonight too!

# kevinad72 2010-04-30 18:12
I won't hold my breath that this will make it to the mainstream media. The BBC have pushed the limits and have been supported by the courts, which now means that they are effectively left to self regulate on what is appropriate. We need to be braced for more of the same, and while they can't exclude the SNP from the Holyrood election, they will go all out to try to crowd the agenda. We'll just have to find a way around it.

# G.Macp 2010-04-30 18:12
Sometimes, when the interviewers are bullying the SNP rep I wish that they would just get up and put the mic down after telling them to at least have the common curtesy not to interupt a guest when you ask them to speak!
Manners cost nothing!!

# loveme2times 2010-04-30 18:25
Clare,

I like your idea of getting all the clips together, surley someone could do this and stick it on youtube.

# kevinad72 2010-04-30 19:31
Just watch the 'don't the candidates do funny things' mock trivialisation of the election in Scotland on Reporting Scotland - which was actually a poorly veiled excuse to have a go at Nicola. That programme is dire, I am now thinking that rather than watching and analysing, to just stop watching or listening to the BBC altogether. It's too annoying.

# loveme2times 2010-04-30 20:14
I have tried to find this story on the scottish sun website but can't find it, if anyone comes across it can you post the link please.

# Traquir 2010-04-30 21:51
Sounds like a Labour inspired treasonous attack to topple the monarchy. Proper law should be followed here which I understand means they should be hung, drawn and quartered. The only issue with that is that it would be too good for the likse of the Scottish Labour comrades.

# mato21 2010-04-30 22:49
loveme2times if you try www.rutherglen reformer.co.uk you will be able to find the article Greatrex urged to stand down

# Clare 2010-05-01 01:08

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments