By a Newsnet reporter

Labour MP Tom Harris has been handed the role of reviewing how the party utilises technology in its election campaigns.

Mr Harris, who came last in the recent Scottish leadership contest, is to work with Labour MSP Richard Baker who is the party’s Holyrood spokesman for capital investment and infrastructure.

The only MP to stand in the leadership contest Mr Harris was given the new role by new Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont, he will report his findings to deputy Scottish leader and fellow MP Anas Sarwar.

Mr Harris caused controversy recently after claiming that the party in Scotland had a less than fifty per cent chance of survival.

Speaking in the Sunday Times, the outspoken Labour MP insisted the party had to change or die and said:

"I still think there is less than a 50% chance that the Scottish Labour party will survive," he added. "If it does, it could survive in much the same way that the national football team survives - it's there, but it's not making much of an impact.”

The Labour MP took issue with Newsnet Scotland after we reported his comments, Mr Harris claimed that Newsnet Scotland had lied by saying the Sunday Times comments came after the election of Johann Lamont.

Mr Harris is known to be a keen user of the internet in order to communicate and engage.  However his use of twitter and at times uncompromising language has led rows with other users of the online social media.

In October he was forced to back down after claiming that SNP protestors had held up “anti-English” banners showing the phrase “End English rule”.

Photographs however showed the banner actually said “End London Rule”, a reference to the London based Westminster Parliament.

Comments  

# Louperdowg 2011-12-21 11:08
Top tip for Tom:

Save your time and don't bother.

# chiefy1724 2011-12-21 11:10
[Repost as this thread is more relevant]
Well, maybe Tom should Belt Up now that Johann has brought him inside the big tent and graciously given him an important role in the reanimation of the corpse

"Tom Harris, last in the three-way election on Saturday, will review how the party uses technology to campaign and report his findings to new deputy leader Anas Sarwar MP."

(Link to the Hootsmon. Sorry. I accept the bad karma)

scotsman.com/.../...

Well, I'm sure we can save Eveyone some time. That Tom Harris Report in Full

1/ Shut down Newsnet Scotland
2/ Stop any dissenting voice appearing on "Labour Hame"
3/ Make everyone read my Web-Page and Twitter Feed
4/ Known Cybernats to be banned from everywhere
5/ Shut down the BBC North Britain Political and Economic Blogs as they were clearly just Cybernat Lurking Grounds. Oh, we already did that one ? Great !
6/ Er....
7/ That's It.

# Islegard 2011-12-21 11:11
Minister for Twitter

# Louperdowg 2011-12-21 11:13
Arf!

# chiefy1724 2011-12-21 11:19
Isn't that going to be @Kezia, who as, sorry, IN Angela Constance's Shadow will any day now be setting up #jobsforyoofwiv johann and in 160 characters or less pointing out to the businesses of North Britain the advantages of Northern Britain Parish Branches exciting new tactically strategic vision to reclaim the abandoned bicycle by running some brainstroming blue-sky ideas from outside the envelope up the flagpole and seeing if anyone salutes the symergy of people, ideas and cutting-edge technology in a thrusting and exciting no-hold-barred environment of mutual understanding of the needs of the business community and the youth of Northern Britain in a lightly-regulated technical development zeitgeist for challenging times ?

Just thought I'd ask.

# balbeggie 2011-12-21 11:26
ya what? Eh?

(as the immediate thoughts of 99% of the public to the main oppositions thinking)

# wee folding bike 2011-12-21 12:41
Hey, watch it with the bicycle comments there.

Bicycles were fundamental to social change in the 20th century Increased use of them now would reduce CO2 output and obesity levels.

I'm using a tricycle at today anyway. There was still some ice around earlier in the week so I'll just keep using it till the holiday.

# chiefy1724 2011-12-21 13:05
Fracking backward sweaties. Don't you haggis-munching alcoholic overweight subsidy junkies understand modern management terminology ? Why did Tony and Gordon spend 13 years trying to bring this country into the 21st century ?

"Reclaiming the abandoned bicycle" is an reference to an idea that has been left behind by somebody when it was shown that it wouldn't work and had been dropped like a hot starchy vegetable but that with careful re-packaging, re-wording and a good deal of spinning can now be recycled as being brand new and shiny and forward looking and innovative.

I'm sure that you see the allegory with regard to North Britain Parish Branch and Team Scotland Union Police ;)

# balbeggie 2011-12-21 13:14
I've now seen the light. (ex-mushroom)

# wee folding bike 2011-12-21 17:38
Ahhh, well I still don't like it. I've had a driving licence for 28 years but have never felt any inclination to abandon the bicycle… outwith the aforementioned ice and tricycle issue.

# rhymer 2011-12-21 13:16
[quote name="wee folding bike"]Hey, watch it with the bicycle comments there. quote]
Aorry buy I have to drive now
- I had to recycle my bicycle

# Marga B 2011-12-21 14:15
Yes, Kezia's better known in blogging circles than maybe she'd like. Added to which several so-called cyber-nats regularly took her to the cleaners. Does anyone have a collection?

# eric black 2011-12-21 11:17
Mr Harris, who came last in the recent Scottish leadership contest

Brilliant lol.

Mr Harris is behaving like a child.

# Mei 2011-12-21 12:28
Please stop demeaning children.

# pa_broon74 2011-12-21 11:37
Is this not a bit like giving an MP or MSP a role in Traffic & Roads on the basis that every time he or she goes for a drive they crash their car?

# chiefy1724 2011-12-21 11:53
Well, Lets look at some of the Talented Luminaries in Team Scotland Union Police

Jackie Baillie (Jobs in Real Life - Resource Centre Manager and Community Economic Development Manager) Health.

Ken Macintosh (Job in real life - BBC Television Producer) Finance

Hugh Henry (Jobs in real life - Accountant and Welfare Rights Officer) Education

Patricia Ferguson (Job in real life - Health Service Administrator) Culture

Richard Baker (Jobs in Real Life - None: NUS - Researcher - MSP) has held Justice, Finance and now Infrastructure and capital Investment

Claire Baker (Jobs in Real Life - None: Labour Researcher - Charity Policy Manager - MSP) gets Rural Affairs and the Environment.

So, at least appointing Tom, a self-proclaimed Internet Expert who might have some idea about how to fulfil his brief, shows a little more imagination.

It just means however that he will continue with his anti-Nat ranting but now have "official" backing to do so !

# Jester 2011-12-21 13:00
Quoting pa_broon74:
Is this not a bit like giving an MP or MSP a role in Traffic & Roads on the basis that every time he or she goes for a drive they crash their car?

:-)

# eric black 2011-12-21 12:04
Labour politicians seem never to have had a job in the private sector. There is nothing wrong with working in the public sector but these Labour types would happily turn Scotland into North Korea as long as they were on the Politburo.

# Mei 2011-12-21 12:20
Twitter Harris commented "It's all lies".

# ianbeag 2011-12-21 12:23
Rebrand him - 'Twitter Harris' - 'Bomber Harris' already taken.

# Jester 2011-12-21 12:39
Surely he should be referred to as 'failed Scottish Labour leadership candidate'?

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-12-21 13:15
Why refer to the failed politician at all?

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-12-21 13:19
Interestingly Labour List's piece on the shaddow Scottish Labour region has an add at the foot entitled - What's your back up plan?

labourlist.org/.../...

look for yourself..

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-12-21 13:45
I posted this on Labour List. I wonder how long it will last?

"I was just looking at the Political Compass web site and while it confirmed New Labour was to the left of the Tories their independent analysis defines New Labour as 'authoritarian right wing' and the last time Labour were libertarian left wing was in 1982. New Labour has politically more in common with Thatcher than Ganhdi for example. Ironically their ipsative test results indicate Hitler was more left wing than either Gordon Brown or Tony Blair. The SNP are assessed as left wing but only slightly authoritarian on a par with Plaid Cymru.

Given that Scots are, by and large, libertarian left wing in their political views can anyone on Labour List explain how the massive disconect between New Labour and the Scottish electorate can be resolved by merely carrying on with the same failed policies and tactics in Scotland?

Or is Tom Harris MP (Glasgow South), in his interview with the Sunday Times, correct and Labour's Scottish region has an under 50% chance of survival unless it changes?"

www.politicalcompass.org/.../

# west_lothian_questioner 2011-12-21 20:22
That's an interesting site MJM. Thanks for the link there.
Apparently I'm slightly to the left of Nelson Mandela and slightly more libertarian than the Dalai Lama... seems like good company to me :-)

# balbeggie 2011-12-21 21:09
I got the same.

# Aplinal 2011-12-21 22:21
Hmmm. me too. Is there a trend here among us NNSers?

# farrochie 2011-12-21 13:46
Looks like Ken McIntosh will be doing the difficult jobs, just like Cleggy does for Dave, Ken does for Johann. Can't blame them really.

# ianbeag 2011-12-21 14:12
O/T Main front page lead in today's 'Scottish' Daily Mail - 'Secret Talks to save the union' with sub heading inside 'Labour plotting with the Tories'. Freedom of information docs. confirm Michael Moore in regular meetings with Labour's shadow for Scotland in regular meetings planning a 'Unionist cabal' inside the Scotland Office with the connivance of the civil service to bury the subject matter of the meetings. No surprise there then. Can't find the article on line so far but may appear later.

# Marga B 2011-12-21 14:31
It's a science in itself what newspapers choose to put on their online editions and what they choose to leave out, and why. Yet another way of "shaping" information.

# farrochie 2011-12-21 16:04
Does it remind you of?:

"...We're an empire now, and when we act, we create our own reality. "

nytimes.com/.../17BUSH.html

# farrochie 2011-12-21 16:17
We certainly need to get smarter with "Framing"...in our case framing an independent Scotland as a great opportunity for the people (to counteract Lamont's "separation will harm" strategy. See Wikipedia for basic definition of framing/politics.

# Macart 2011-12-21 14:33
Nah, I was going to say something about Mr Harris' new post and lost the will!

# clootie 2011-12-21 17:09
creepy - I was in the same place when I got to your post!

# Macart 2011-12-21 17:14
Don't panic clootie but yer bein' stalked! :0D

# Mac 2011-12-21 14:37
Since Tom Harris lost and came last I believe there has been a huge amount of censorship at LabourHame. That was an embarrassing result for Harris.

I can imagine that once Harris provides his findings to Sarwar Jnr he will be thanked and then ignored. He must know this.

Tom Harris has a less than a 50% chance of being listened to in Labour ranks after his outspoken and controversial comments about the party.

# Angus 2011-12-21 14:37
I do hope Mr Harris takes the wee lapdog Duncan Hothersall with him as his deputy.
Mr Hothersall does so much to promote the cause of Scotland's return to nationhood through his Labour hame site!

# pa_broon74 2011-12-21 16:09
I think labourhame will soon be discounted if they just moderate off any dissenting opinion.

I think NNS would benefit from some proper debate in comments though, people coming here for the first time could see it as a bit of circle je- what I mean to say is SNP/nationalist love in.

The articles are informative but we need opposing arguments to refute if we're going to win folk over.

For example, not sure about copyright issues, but if we can't comment on Brian Taylor's BBC blog there, can we not do so here? Also missing, and I know people are busy are FMQ write ups.

# Angus 2011-12-21 16:53
Quoting pa_broon74:
I think labourhame will soon be discounted if they just moderate off any dissenting opinion.

I think NNS would benefit from some proper debate in comments though, people coming here for the first time could see it as a bit of circle je- what I mean to say is SNP/nationalist love in.

The articles are informative but we need opposing arguments to refute if we're going to win folk over.

For example, not sure about copyright issues, but if we can't comment on Brian Taylor's BBC blog there, can we not do so here? Also missing, and I know people are busy are FMQ write ups.

That is really the way to go, I hope that the NNS team, and the Hierarchy in the SNP will take note of your comment.
I ve stopped going to Labour hame, because questions are uncomfortable for them they get deleted, asking questions about Trident, the Sectarian bill and their adherance to the British state etc.

# Mac 2011-12-21 17:10
LabourHame is on censorship overdrive at the moment. Such sensitive souls.

What I cannot understand is why Tom Harris did not join the Tory party. He is more politically aligned with that party than Labour.

# Jimbo 2011-12-21 17:33
It would seem, Mac, that pertinent questions are disallowed on both Labour Hame and LabourList.

It appears Labour sites have their own version of open discussion - We speak, you listen, don't ask questions and, above all, don't try to hold us to account.

# Islegard 2011-12-21 21:18
It's all about power. He has to be a red tory to get elected in the west of Scotland. I'm sure he'd try any flavour of tory if it would get him elected.

# deepwater 2011-12-21 22:12
@ pa_broon

Pa - there's a wee issue with that one - the Unionists have been here in the past, they do occasionally drop back in.

We had a couple of "residents" just before election time, Derek and SM753. Both tried reasoned arguments and were literally, for want of a better word "trashed".

By that I mean their arguments were destroyed, both piecemeal and in toto.

They then resorted to what I can only describe as "trolling".

Then they left.

It pretty much equated to Ghandi's
"first they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win"

May 5th had relevance and it will not stop there.

# handclapping 2011-12-21 15:09
Sorry ... but there is a tenuous connection to this thread in that it involves a Glasgow Labour MP and "new technology". Fraser's BBC blog (new technology) has the Coop taking over banks from Lloyds.

Would we allow Lloyds Bank to start to sponsor eg Ed Milliband in this day and age? If not, why should we allow the newly expanded Coop Bank to continue to sponsor Ian Davidson (Glasgow Labour MP)?

If enough of a fuss was made we could cut Scottish Labour where it hurts ... in the finances.

# Jimbo 2011-12-21 17:21
Good luck to Tom Harris in his new post. It's good to see some of the Labour MPs get on board. Hopefully the rest of Scotland's Labour MPs will follow suit and join with those already under the instruction and guidance of their new boss, johann Lamont.

# Teri 2011-12-21 17:22
Harris is an expert on spewing bile, so he is the ideal candidate for this post. Mind you, which way he blows depends on the position of the stars in the sky and the phase of the moon on each particular day.
Johann Lament must have been impressed by Harris's online blog and tweets!

# Angus 2011-12-21 17:47
I m sure Harris and Lamont will be the start of a great team to get their message across of Scotland benefiting from union with England.

# EdinScot 2011-12-21 18:08
Where do Labour Hame and BBC Scotland think people are living...North Korea? It sure looks like it from here. I mean they spout off about free speech on their blogs and websites and when they are engaged by people with opposing views they shut up shop pronto fast! It appears they can talk the talk but they sure as heck cant walk the walk.

Harris lost even more credibility yesterday for as well as losing the argument he ran away (seems this trait is catching on in Labour) 'hame' greeting about those big bad Nats lol! The way Labour are currently going, i'd rate their chances of survival in Scotland as less than 5%. Its a whole new ball game with the advent of the internet as Harris should know. The problem for him and his red Tory party is that the truth will out them and no amount of denial and temper tantrums will alter that reality. Their cosy Unionist bubble has been burst wide open and not before time.

# millie 2011-12-21 23:30
Quote from article- “Mr Harris ......... is to work with Labour MSP Richard Baker” -

Just wondering - I thought Mr Harris already had a job. -

It’s called a ‘Westminster Labour MP’ elected to represent the people of Glasgow South- IN ‘WESTMINSTER’. You know, fighting their corner in that cradle of democracy. Ensuring a ‘good deal’ from the ‘WESTMINSTER GOVERNMENT’ for his constituents. - I would have thought this would take up all his working day?

Concentrating on putting a word in at ‘Westminster’ about releasing capital expenditure to help his constituents??- Maybe even speaking out about the lack of ‘consequentials ’ for Scotland/Wales/N.Ireland from the £9BILLION+ Olympic and regeneration funding for London?

Possibly even questioning why the Carbon Capture project for Scotland (which would have brought many jobs) has been scuppered twice by Labour and Conservative/Lib Dem governments? – There is so much to be involved with at ‘Westminster’!

With due respect, how will he find the time to be involved in a Holyrood brief? - So much to be done at Westminster??? - NO??

It stands to reason that if ‘every’ Scottish Westminster politician is going to have ‘this type’ of involvement with Holyrood rather than sticking to their original job title – one wonders- what is the point of ‘WESTMINSTER’?

# tartangladbach 2011-12-21 23:40
is tom harris the only one who has a VHS machine in the labour party?

# src19 2011-12-22 01:49
As well as a new Fax Machine to replace the telex machine :-)

# snowthistle 2011-12-22 19:11
Interesting article from Morning Star
morningstaronline.co.uk/.../...

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments