Banner

General

By a Newsnet reporter

A demonstration against proposed cutbacks at BBC Scotland is scheduled to take place tomorrow [Thursday] outside the Scottish Parliament building in Edinburgh.

The protest will commence at midday and will comprise supporters from a number of groups campaigning against the proposed BBC Scotland cuts and scheduling changes.

There has been anger at plans to replace Newsweek Scotland, hosted by Derek Bateman, by an extra Good Morning Scotland show on a Saturday.  The Janice Forsyth Radio Show will also be axed, to be replaced with more sport and chat output.

The ‘Save Newsweek Scotland’ and ‘Save Janice Forsyth Show’ campaigns have attracted growing public support.  The campaigns have also received backing from figures within Scottish culture, media and politics both at home and abroad.

A campaign delegation will submit a letter to Joan McAlpine MSP for the Education & Culture Committee to consider.  Ms McAlpine and a number of other MSPs will attend a photo opportunity with the campaigners shortly after 2pm.

The protests are set against a backdrop of BBC Scotland job losses with 30 journalist and production team jobs set to go in the Radio Scotland operation.  Critics have claimed that the departmental cuts are disproportionate.

The demo will also coincide with a scheduled visit by BBC Trust Chairman Lord Patten who will be meeting with representatives of the Scottish Government to discuss the BBC.  It is understood that Scottish Ministers are set to confront the former Tory Minister with a list of concerns they say call into question the impartiality of some BBC reporters.

Lord Patten has already announced a review of proposed cuts across the BBC radio service in England.  However there is no indication this review will look into the changes affecting radio output from Scotland and other parts of the UK.

The campaigns come as a series of complaints against BBC Scotland threatens to undermine the broadcaster’s reputation for impartial news coverage.  Angry licence payers bombarded the corporation with complaints after Scottish online blogs were singled out and closed to public comment.

This weekend First Minister Alex Salmond accused the BBC of behaving like a “tin-pot dictatorship” after he was prevented from appearing on a light hearted rugby show hours before the international match between Scotland and England.

On the same day the ban was invoked a BBC Scotland Radio programme heard commentators suggest that the SNP had scheduled the independence referendum to coincide with the year of the Commonwealth Games in order to gain political advantage.

Two weeks ago John Boothman, who has links to the Labour party and is now head of Current Affairs and News at BBC Scotland, was quizzed by the Education and Culture Committee at Holyrood.

Mr Boothman’s inability to provide satisfactory answers to key questions led to criticisms from members of the committee who have now invited Boothman’s boss, Ken McQuarrie, Director of BBC Scotland, to appear.

Resources:

An open Letter to the BBC
http://lenathehyena.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/looking-into-the-abyss-the-bbc-and-newsweek-scotland/

Save Janice Forsyth Show Campaign
http://www.change.org/petitions/bbc-scotland-keep-the-janice-forsyth-show-on-bbc-radio-scotland

Save Newsweek Scotland Campaign
https://www.facebook.com/savenewsweekscotland https://twitter.com/#!/savenewsweeksco

Scottish Parliament: Education & Culture Committee held on 24th of January
http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/newsandmediacentre/41370.aspx

Comments  

# grumblingtummy 2012-02-09 00:03
Please come along tomorrow to support the demo. Send the first message of many to BBC Scotland that their plans are not to our taste!

For those people who can only spare a few minutes please come along around about 2pm for the photo op.

# Exile 2012-02-09 10:14
I’d prefer a demo against BBC Scotland per se. At least this is a start, I suppose.

# 1314 2012-02-09 10:35
It would appear I have to sign up to facebook to sign the Newsweek petition – Is there a way round this?

# Islegard 2012-02-09 00:24
Excuse we what!? Have I found my way to a parallel world?

Is this the same BBC Scotland who are full of anti-Scottish and anti-democratic hacks. There is no call to demonstrate against these lice and their anti-democratic ways.

However we are being asked to demonstrate to save their jobs so they can carry on putting down Scots and Scotland!!!!!!

Like to help but I’m washing my hair that day.

# grumblingtummy 2012-02-09 01:23
Quoting Islegard:
Excuse we what!? Have I found my way to a parallel world?

Is this the same BBC Scotland who are full of anti-Scottish and anti-democratic hacks. There is no call to demonstrate against these lice and their anti-democratic ways.

However we are being asked to demonstrate to save their jobs so they can carry on putting down Scots and Scotland!!!!!!

Like to help but I’m washing my hair that day.

Newsweek Scotland is one show worth saving for it will only be replaced with an inferior, and dare I say it, less impartial show.

This demo and others to follow is a perfect opportunity for people with other issues with the BBC to come along and make their voices heard.

Let’s face it the BBC will be hear for the next few years at least and may well form the core part of any new SBC. Better to try to make them play fair now and then keep on their case until it becomes a habit.

# Dooy 2012-02-09 11:23
Islegard, you hit the nail in the head here.
please read my complaint letter from the BBC regarding Alex Salmond and the 6 nations below
Dear Mr Hardie
Thank you for contacting us with your complaint about the BBC’s decision not to include an appearance from the First Minister in its coverage of the Calcutta Cup.

Your complaint and the others we have received about this matter have been circulated in full to BBC staff, and the issues raised in the complaints have been considered and discussed at a number of senior levels in the BBC. This has included the Director-General Mark Thompson who has issued this statement responding to the issues the matter raised, and which we are sending to all who have made a complaint to us:

“Whenever politicians of any party ask to go on non-political BBC programmes, as was the case with the First Minister’s office before Saturday’s Calcutta Cup match (or, on other occasions, when such programmes decide they want themselves to invite politicians) there is an obligation under the BBC’s Editorial Guidelines to consult the Chief Political Adviser (CPA) for advice before a decision is taken. This is to ensure that all parties are treated with due impartiality and that one particular party does not receive undue prominence, or indeed that a party does not receive too little coverage in comparison to others.

“In advising programme-makers about whether such appearances are appropriate, the CPA has to take account of the political context at the time. It is part of the BBC’s normal editorial process in its task of ensuring that political impartiality is achieved across all its output.

“On this occasion, having been approached by the First Minister’s office, BBC Sport asked for advice and with the full agreement of both the Head of TV Sport and the Director of BBC Scotland, the judgment was made that the Scotland-England match was not an appropriate setting in which to give one single political leader that level of prominence. The topicality of the current political debate over the future relationship of Scotland with the rest of the UK – and with England in particular – was one of the factors taken into account.

“A similar suggestion that the First Minister might take part in BBC Radio Scotland’s rugby coverage had already been declined. Radio 5 Live also turned down the offer of an interview with the First Minister following advice from the CPA.

“The key factor, in advising on such occasions, is the importance of ensuring that other political parties have the opportunity to receive coverage of appropriate prominence over a reasonable timescale. That timescale can be affected by the proximity of elections, when such appearances would certainly not normally be appropriate.

“Given the singularity and high profile of the Calcutta Cup match, as well as the fact that it is now less than two months away from the election period before local government elections throughout Scotland, it was clear that leading politicians from other parties in Scotland would not have been able to enjoy coverage of appropriate prominence in the circumstances.

“I am satisfied that the judgment made on this occasion by BBC Sport and BBC Scotland, acting on the CPA’s advice, was consistent with similar editorial judgments which are regularly taken in relation to other political parties and other political leaders by programmes across the BBC.”

If you consider this still does not address your concerns and you remain dissatisfied with the BBC’s response, you may write to the BBC Trust within 20 working days to request an appeal against this decision. Their address is as follows:

BBC Trust Unit
180 Great Portland Street
London
W1W 5QZ
Kind Regards
BBC Complaints
www.bbc.co.uk/complaints

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 00:27
I fully support this demo and will make every effort to be there. Incidentally, Jim Sheridan (MP) has written an article supporting the BBC’s removal of the FM from the rugby panel last Saturday. Might be worth a comment to give the folks over there at Labour Hame something good to read.
labourhame.com/…/…

# Islegard 2012-02-09 00:30
At least you will make the BBC Scotland News. That’ll be nice for you. Shame nothing relevant ever does. I’m holding out for the save the Scottish Daily Mail event.

What comments should we leave at your Labourhame “We will try and save the media wing of your party?”.

The thing is now Labour are openly working with the conservatives can’t your conservative friends step in to help?

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-02-09 01:00
What was done was done and I’m pretty sure that this wont be the last time we’ll see downing street show their face through “bbc policy”, that’s the one thing you learn as a Scottish Nationalist – nothing surprises you from that direction.

bigbauchaille, I take it from your post that you are a labour supporter, or are you not?

If you are, can you take this message back with you; –

When are you lot going to save your chosen party by getting behind independence or are you so hell bent on being the train crash of a party that you are at the moment. Think on. Solid moves have been made from this side of the argument to connect with labour supporters in an effort to provide suggestions to improve the situation for them politically so that labour can actually start gaining ground.

It is actually quite upsetting to see what was once a proud party with good socialist principles and values at its back reduced to the pitiful state that we see today.

If you’re not a labour supporter, sorry for the mistake.

# snowthistle 2012-02-09 01:08
I was at a celebration of 40th anniversary the UCS work-in and thought the selfsame thing. How could the party of that time become what it is now? Heartbreaking

# Islegard 2012-02-09 01:16
What you mean the fact the Labour party are now run by posh public schoolboys who have never worked. Who are only motivated by power and money. And now working quite openly with the Conservative Party?

Must admit I found it bizarre to see modern Labour at Jimmy Reid’s funeral. I wasn’t sure if they were there to dance.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 13:20
Saltire Groppentosh
Thanks for your post. Fortunately, since I joined the SNP I have no longer been of a sensitive disposition. You are wide of the mark. I am no supporter of Labour.
Here is a post which LabourHame today refused to put on their site. It is a reply to Jim Sheridan who asserted that he supported the BBC’s removal of the FM from the rugby panel. It is for the same reasons as cited by you that I have from time to time posted on Labour Hame, and often been rejected for reasons I don’t understand. I see other SNP supporters like farrochie and scotfish skier also post there. In fact the majority of posters on LabourHame are SNP supporters in my view. Read my rejected reply to Sheridan and judge for yourself.

“Oh dearie me. Alex Salmond was invited to appear on the programme. He undertook not to make political comment, which makes an interesting comparison with Alistair Campbell, who appeared this week on Radio 2, ostensibly to promote his book and to talk about bagpipes.
Mr Campbell’s appointment wasn’t cancelled by the BBC at the last minute, unlike Scotland’s first minister, however he did manage to talk about Labour and how he just thinks that Alex Salmond is plain wrong.
As for a Nazi slur, you do seem to have rather a thin skin, and I am sure my knowledge of the German language is more informed than yours. ‘Gauleiter’ has been used for decades to indicate a petty, overbearing bureaucrat. Indeed, Alan Cochrane used it of Labour MSP Duncan McNeil in 2006. For your information here is a list of undesirable historical epithets directed at the FM:
1. Slobodan Milosevic (Denis MacShane, Labour MP)
2. Benito Mussolini (Lord Foulkes, Labour peer)
3. Adolf Hitler (Tom Harris, Labour MP)
4. Adolf Hitler (Ann Moffat, Labour MP)
5. Joseph Stalin (Alan Cochrane, the Telegraph)
6. Robert Mugabe (Lord Cormack, Conservative peer)
7. Robert Mugabe (Jeremy Paxman, BBC)
8. Kim Jong-Il (Lord Forsyth, Conservative peer)
9. Caligula (John Macleod, the Times)
10. Nicolae Ceausescu (Neil Collins, the Financial Times)
11. Genghis Khan (Kevin McKenna, the Observer)
12. Nero (Annabel Goldie, Conservative MSP)
Not much interest in slinging insults, I would have thought.
This is basically a stooshie with disturbing implications for the BBC.
For you as an MP and legislator, it is surely your duty to question the motives of the BBC, the State Broadcaster in the interfering by the BBC’s senior political advisor, in order to prevent Alex Salmond from taking up an offer to act in a non political capacity for their sports coverage. Whether you think he knows much about rugby has nothing to do with it.
I am indebted to the super Wingsoverscotla  nd for many of the facts I have cited.
Regards”

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-02-09 16:00
Awww I misjudged you bigbuachaille, sorry for that. Can I have a go with your same words?

Labourhame have allowed everyone of my posts so far. I’m working under my real name so they know where to send the boys with the baseball bats. Shhhhhhh

I just hadn’t seen your nomme d’ plume before and thought you were a visitor from another planet haha.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 16:10
That’s a good idea, Saltire. I think I’ll change my name for the Labour Hame posts and see if that has any effect.

# rhymer 2012-02-09 20:15
Quoting bigbuachaille:
That’s a good idea, Saltire. I think I’ll change my name for the Labour Hame posts and see if that has any effect.

They allow me two posts per day then I get modded out.

# ianbeag 2012-02-09 01:42
This afternoon the ‘Media Show’ on BBC Radio 4 carried a 14 minute slot on the grubby decision by Rick Bailie the BBC ‘Gaulieter’ who blocked Alex Salmon’s contribution after the rugby match last Saturday. A devious response where he claimed the decision had been taken in consultation with the controller of BBC Scotland. Previously the word had come out that Ken MacQuarrie knew nothing about the decision until after the event – is someone telling porkies again? The programme is worth listening to hear the measured and stout defence by Lesley Riddoch who is turning into a stalwart defender of the truth in respect of the Scottish case, one of the few. You can listen to the interview here starting at 16.30 minutes into the programme. www.bbc.co.uk/…/b01bm0pm

# dogbite 2012-02-09 14:32
Thanks Ianbeag

I will listen to it straight away

# dogbite 2012-02-09 14:49
ianbeag

I thought Leslie Riddoch was ok but that Alex Salmond asked three times to be included in the program defies belief.

# xyz 2012-02-09 17:18
Rick Bailie for his own defence said .. ‘with local elections a few weeks away’.. This is a lie.. “The 2012 Scottish Local Elections, will be held on May 3”

months not weeks away!

# clootie 2012-02-09 00:34
I am confused like islegard. If i turn up at a meeting it will be for the closure of the BBC in Scotland. It is obvious that they won’t maintain the programmes that are balanced – that is the point of getting rid of them!!

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 00:43
Retention of Derek Bateman’s Newsweek Scotland is my concern. If you read his blogs, you’ll find just how balanced and informative his programmes have been. bbc.co.uk/…/…

# Islegard 2012-02-09 00:51
One show you want to be the save BBC Scotland from cuts poster boy for one show. Do you think they will report it that way on Reporting Scotland? Or will it be reported as a demonstration in favour of BBC Scotland and what it gets up to?

You will be shown on Reporting Scotland as a supporter of them.

Who is the author of this piece its anonymous. It’s not Glen Campbell is it?

# pa_broon74 2012-02-09 12:11
Are you not being a bit hysterical?

I mean, a lot of people still listen to BBC correspondence, all people here are trying to do is maintain an aspect of it that is actually honest and impartial, think of the good that could do for independence: someone on the BBC actually reporting the truth.

You seem to favour throwing the baby out with the bath water with this.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 14:37
Quoting Islegard:
One show you want to be the save BBC Scotland from cuts poster boy for one show. Do you think they will report it that way on Reporting Scotland? Or will it be reported as a demonstration in favour of BBC Scotland and what it gets up to?

You will be shown on Reporting Scotland as a supporter of them.

Who is the author of this piece its anonymous. It’s not Glen Campbell is it?

I want to retain Newsweek Scotland, as I consider it essential to getting the truth out to the public and to attaining independence. There are many roads to reaching the goal, but allowing the BBC to remove the excellent Newsweek programme because the rest of the BBC broadcasts are biased is not one of them. Please read my posts for my views on the BBC.

# Dooy 2012-02-09 11:33
good point clootie, with you here

# rgweir 2012-02-09 00:43
O.T.
Dame Ann Begg.
Anyone Surprised?

# Wee-Scamp 2012-02-09 00:49
Eh?

# daveniz 2012-02-09 00:44
the only event lll appear at for bbc Scotland is the farewell party after independance!

# dogbite 2012-02-09 00:47
yes me too why the hell should I support those who spout bias rubbish and seek to put down the SG at any moment. Get lost the lot of you. I cant stand Janice Forsyth but I will only protest against the closure of Newsweek Scotland which will be outside the BBC hq

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 14:43
I share the same tastss as you regarding Janice’s programme. I also value NewsweekScotlan  d. Please see my posts on this article. I like the sound of a protest against the removal of Newsweek. Are you in a position to get this organised?

# tartanpigsy 2012-02-09 00:55
I don’t think this is time to demonstrate against the daily manipulation of news from BBC, Let Eck get his tuppence worth in tomorrow, by all means go along if you can to save Newsweek Scotland BUT we need to hang fire and demonstrate outside Pathetic Quay properly, with enough numbers.

# Islegard 2012-02-09 00:59
Ah so you are saying today is the day to demonstrate to save daily manipulation of the news. Why didn’t you say so before!! I’m now writing out my “Save daily manilpulation of the news placard” and booking ma bus.

It’s not like any future demonstration of pointing out BBC bias in the future will be harmed. If you are seen to be demonstrating in favour of them now.

Should we take along a save the union placard too? Or is it the wrong time?

# tartanpigsy 2012-02-09 01:08
?

It would make quite a good placard…….

😉

# grumblingtummy 2012-02-09 01:29
Quoting tartanpigsy:
?

It would make quite a good placard…….

😉

Well if it turns out that way, it will make for an interesting demo.

Perhaps the BBC is beyond saving but do not underestimate how much of an impact it will have on the referendum debate.

The one impartial and balanced politics show on BBC Radio Scotland is going to be replaced by a dumbed down show with twice the soundbite politics.

Which evil would you prefer?

# grumblingtummy 2012-02-09 01:37
An important element of the demo is to present the Education and Culture Committee with a dossier of facts and questions they may wish to ask the BBC. Many of your concerns are contained within that dossier.

I’ll be very surprised if the BBC even covers this story! We’re using tactics they really don’t like! We’re turning BBC Scotland into the story and making them answer the big questions.

Feel free to come along with placards saying, “Close the BBC down” if that is how you feel. The only people who will mind are those sitting in Pacific Quay.

# Islegard 2012-02-09 02:03
Can’t you present a dossier of BBC bias without demonstrating your support for them in the face of cuts?

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-02-09 01:13
That would be an interesting development wouldn’t it. Half the demo shouting to save programmes and half the demo shouting to close the whole thing down.

BBC bias will continue because the three tory parties need a mouthpiece, don’t they?

O/T I watched Newsnight Scotland tonight and couldn’t believe what I was hearing from labour and the other tory party – oh yes, conservative over the budget. Willie Rennie actually voted for the budget because he got what he asked for, however labour voted against it because they got what they wanted and didn’t like it because SNP are in power. Ruth whatsherface wanted to privatise Scottish Water and squander the £1.5 billion that would “be released” (to whom?) and let the banksters in to rob the water users of Scotland blind.

# J Wil 2012-02-09 01:34
It’s the wrong campaign. Sort out the bias first.

# xyz 2012-02-09 01:48
It’s impossible, if you turn up for the demo, it will be portrayed as general support for the BBC. A demo against BBC BIAS is the only BBC related demo worth attending. BBC people in danger of being axed, should come out strongly against BBC BIAS.

# Marga B 2012-02-09 02:12
I don’t know, the sight of some physical Scots on their hind legs actually protesting about something will be quite a shock to the BBC and this minister.

It’s easy to scorn people as “cybernats” but much more scary to be reminded that they are flesh and blood customers and some of them are not happy!

It doesn’t matter which of the reasons you’re there for, just think how their knees will be knocking!

# Islegard 2012-02-09 02:38
I am picturing the nationalist protesters fighting against BBC cuts so the BBC can continue attacking the nationlists. I can picture the knees knocking possibly some hand action too. Not sure it’s fear though I don’t want to look!

# Marga B 2012-02-09 10:28
Both the FM and interestingly Iain McWhirter have drawn a distinction between the Scottish BBC and the London BBC. Maybe it’s a case of “divide and rule”.

Anyway if users can’t protest about cuts in the few useful, unbiased information programmes like Newsweek Scotland due to ideological issues, it could be called “biting off your nose to spite your face”.

# xyz 2012-02-09 02:22
Furthermore, if BBC BIAS comes up in FMQs, and yet some people are out there demonstrating in support for the BBC .. The two things will be conflated by the biased media, including BBC.

# Old Smokey 2012-02-09 02:36
I see the latest from the BBC in the Scotsman, where they are trying to justify snubbing the First Minister
Apparently ‘the match was “not an appropriate setting” to give a single political leader “that level of prominence.” ‘
I kid you not, they really dont get it!
They obviously lik to dig a bigger hole for themselves.
The BBC in London seem to have the idea that the position of First Minister of Scotland is akin to some lowly serf and not equal to that of Prime Minister, which is what First Minister is, perhaps the Scottsih Government should make it clear by actually just changing the title to Prime Minister of Scotland.
Its interesting that our European cousins, dont actually differentiate between ‘First’ and ‘Prime’ as it just means the same thing.
Example, the French say Premier Ministre for either First or Prime Minister.

Really cant wait until the first sporting event that Cameron turns up to and see if the BBC tell him he can appear as it woulod be ‘innapropriate’

scotsman.com/…/…

# Islegard 2012-02-09 02:43
Apparently we should be out demonstrating for them so they can come out with more of this!

# xyz 2012-02-09 03:08
When was there ever a demo in support of the BBC?

How has this suddenly gained traction?

Funny how it comes at the same time as the BBC should be being universally condemned for their bias.

.. and yet we will see the bizarre spectacle of concerned citizens out there motivated to prevent cuts in this organisation.

.. or will they be mostly Labour eejits and other Westminster lackeys?

# Early Ball 2012-02-09 07:51
Quoting xyz:

Funny how it comes at the same time as the BBC should be being universally condemned for their bias.

.. and yet we will see the bizarre spectacle of concerned citizens out there motivated to prevent cuts in this organisation.

Quoting xyz:

I noticed Douglas Alexander tweeted his support for Janice Forsyth a few days after everyone else. Suspect he had a focus group to see what he thought on the matter.

# megsmaw 2012-02-11 00:26
Quoting xyz:

Probably all the tea boys and folk on work experience!

# steveb 2012-02-09 07:33
No way should any of us be protesting to save anything on the BBC.
I will stand shoulder to shoulder with my fellow Nationalists to protest the disgusting bias from the BBC. nothing else.
As said above, the BBC will take any footage of this protest, (which incidentaly is not outside Pacific Quay, but outside the Scottish Parliament) and twist it to look like some sort of praise for the BBC, and also maybe a wee protest at the Scottish Government at the same time.
Sorry folks, I will happily watch them all get into line at the job centre. Until one of those spinless swines actualy comes out and blows the whistle on what goes on behing closed doors at BBC HQ then they can all burn in hell.

There now……a wee lie down is required…

# Marga B 2012-02-09 10:38
Steveb – maybe you have to do more than watch from the sidelines.

# steveb 2012-02-09 12:27
Who said watch from the sidelines? Do you mean I have to join them at the job centre?
But please forgive me for not trusting anything to do with the BBC,with the exception of Isabelle Frazer.
Maybe if one or two of them who is supposedly impartial was to speak out, or at least leak something, then I would consider helping them.

# Marga B 2012-02-09 17:41
Steveb, you have to understand that I live in Spain, where if anyone had even half the cause for complaining about something that Scots have with the BBC they’d be out there, blocking ring-roads, beseiging town halls, occupying buildings, collecting signatures, appearing on TV, etc.

Maybe that explains why I’m unable to understand how one group of nationalists can set up a demo on a specific issue, and another set, who are not equally active on their own issue, snipe from the sidelines.

I shouldn’t transplant one country’s way of doing to another, but that explains my criticism of some peoples’ attitudes in this issue. Apologies for any offence as none intended. It just frustrates me to see so much passivity in Scotland.

# Dooy 2012-02-09 11:41
Steveb, Well said

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 15:08
steveb
“Until one of those spinless swines actualy comes out and blows the whistle on what goes on behing closed doors at BBC HQ then they can all burn in hell”.
If only they were spinless, but that’s what Alistair Campbell and Peter Mandelson were paid to do for years.

# Robabody 2012-02-09 16:23
steveb, I’ve got a sure fire way of stoping a rant. I use it myself. It involves physical activity mind! What you do is, as the rant starts to build, you jump from your seat and shout “Action Krankie”!!

and if that doesn’t get you laughing……well it works for me every time.

# ds12 2012-02-09 07:39
I’ve seen copies of the BBC response to the complaints about Alex Salmonds snub this is an extract from it.

Whenever politicians of any party ask to go on non-political BBC programmes, as was the case with the First Minister’s office before Saturday’s Calcutta Cup match

It would be interesting to find out if he was invited or not.

# km 2012-02-09 08:20
There should definitely be protests against the BBC. Not against the cuts, but against the bias they spew forth on a daily basis, and against the arrogant and patronising stance they take against any complaints.

# The_Duke 2012-02-09 08:30
If i was being cynical, I would say this is a ploy to draw attention in a different area.

We have FM meeting Chris Patten, and the subject of bias will be a major talking point. Lets arrange a protest about cuts to the BBC Scotland programming to deflect attention from what could be some pretty awkward questions. Seems just to convenient to me.

Protesting….. all to save one decent programme seems a bit rich for me. I for one, will not shed one tear when it’s closed down.

# steveb 2012-02-09 08:43
Totaly agree “Duke”, this has a smell about it, a very strong smell.
Maybe if someone from the shows that are being axed (anyone) was to offer some information regarding the BBC bias, then I might consider helping them. But they haven’t and they more than likely won’t, so stuff the lot of them.
Shower of Sh#¤e!!!

# Vincent McDee 2012-02-09 08:38
In the meantime, the BBC says Nicola is lying:

“A Scottish government claim that it had EU backing for plans to introduce minimum unit pricing for alcohol has been denied by the European Commission”.

See: bbc.co.uk/…/…

Among the people she met was John Dalli, European Commissioner for Health and Consumer Policy

Mr Dalli’s spokesman, Frederic Vincent, issued a note of caution.

He said: “We will have to check if Scotland’s proposals are compatible with EU law. At this stage we don’t know.”

Following Mr Vincent’s statement, the Scottish government reiterated that the Brussels discussion had reinforced “what has always been our view, which is that – in principle – a minimum pricing policy is compatible with EU law”.

Citing the Duke: WHO’S BEING CYNICAL NOW?

# Robert Louis 2012-02-09 09:12
Indeed, yet more BBC propaganda against the Scottish Government.

# dafini 2012-02-09 08:44
EBC’s breakfast tv has some headline today. We are asked to email/text who we want as next England manager. Hope a lot of people turn up against the ebc.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-09 09:11
I am no fan of the BBC, as it has merely been made into a London propaganda mouthpiece, in breach of all concepts of democratic accountability. Pravda in the cold war communist USSR, would be proud.

Having said that, I also support the protests to prevent the dropping of two of BBC Radio Scotland’s most even handed and informative current affairs programme. I think the decision to kill these highly successful programmes, is merely part of the same Westminster driven agenda against independence and the SNP Government.

Stifle debate, no comments on political blogs, ignore complaints, such is the stuff of state propaganda.

Broadcasting should have been devolved in 1997, and the fact it wasn’t was merely down to Westminster’s desperate clinging on to power.

The BBC in Scotland has become a politicised propaganda machine for Westminster, no more, no less. It is obvious that their is a deliberate policy to prevent the First Minister ever being shown in a positive light.

So, I feel sad those programmes are being axed, but I feel it is part of the same vice like grip of Westminster over the BBC.

Democracy is seriously at threat in ANY democracy when a compulsorily funded state broadcaster like the BBC, effectively becomes a politicised propaganda outlet.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-09 12:40
Why not just take the view the BBC removal of ANY programme that shows even a tiny chink of unbiased reporting is more evidence that the BBC are indeed a politically biased organ? Let them cut those few, very, very, few programmes and allow their obvious bias to become even more biased. Not until Joe & Josie Public awake to the fact they are being lied to on a 24/7 basis will we either get them to be unbiased or replace the human part of the organ and replace then with real unbiased people.

# Blanco 2012-02-09 09:37
I think I might come along for the counter demo. Bring my pet monkeys, dress them in union jack waistcoats and microphones and get them to interview Jackie Bird. 

# Louperdowg 2012-02-09 11:03
…or impersonate her.

# alexmc8275 2012-02-09 11:26
That’s shocking the dumbing down of animals for entertainment value, poor monkeys.

# chiefy1724 2012-02-09 09:37
The unfortunate reality is that the BBC in Scotland remains the “main” broadcaster.

We ara all aware of the bias eminating from PQ and many of us have complained about it.

However, as and until there is an independent Scottish Broadcaster, we are stuck with what we have.

Yes, we can continue to rail against them.

But when what quality there is, such as Newsweek, which to many presents not even a “positive” view of the SNP and the Scottish Government, but just a FAIR one in comparison with the “main” news output (WWJ and Reporting North Britain), we have to stand up and say No.

Perhaps somebody will ask Why a group of people who may normally be associated as perhaps being not the greatest supporters of the BBC take the time and effort to show support for what remains of “quality” journalism and entertainment output from BBC Scotland.

I support this demo but can not be there due to work.

It will be interesting to see if the BBC report this. If they don’t, well, its just another arrow in the quiver for when the barrage is unleashed.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-09 12:47
Oh! Come on!
Demonstrate FOR them and you condone them. They are akin to a gangrenous limb. You cannot save it so you must, to prevent the death of the rest of the body, amputation is the only course to follow. The time has long past where localised medication will suffice.

# chiefy1724 2012-02-09 13:40
Auld Bob,

You will be aware I am sure that I am no defender of the BBC.

The demonstration is NOT “For” the BBC.

It is AGAINST the BBC Northern Britain Decision to remove a program which many perceive to be the only one that gives the Scottish Government and the SNP anything approaching a “fair” hearing.

If “we” don’t protest, if “we” don’t speak up, if “we” don’t say “This is Wrong”, we have no excuses.

What would you have us do ? Say “Frack the lot of yez, yez are all up against the wall Come The Glorious Day so say and do what you dampty well like we’re filing the bullets down regardless ” ?

It will be years following Independence before we get a truly “Scottish” Broadcasting Corporation of whatever model The Scottish Government decides – hopefully, a “Reithian” Public-Service model.

The SBC, whatever it will be, will be built on the bones of the existing BBC.

Come Independence Day, Fiona won’t be going around to PQ with a pile of P45s and tickets to the Utter Hebrides Re-Education Facility marked “Newsroom” and asking whether anyone has seen Jackie around ‘cos she wants a wee word ?

The BBC are Biased.

We Know That. We can, as far as we are able, demonstrate that.

But, We can moan all we want. The BBC is not going to change. It won’t change until after Independence. Realistically, we have to learn to live with this and many other of the Institutions of The Union as and until The Vote Says YES and even then it will take years if not decades to “make” these into Scottish Institutions.

However, we should not stop moaning and we should not stop “playing them at their game” of complaints and correspondance and the BBC Trust. We should not stop “raising our concerns” at every juncture. Even if we take the attitude that the BBC is for the chop, the chop is a long way off and for the next two and a half years at least we have to live with it.

If we don’t condemn, we condone. If we are not SEEN to do that, then, outside of our comfortable wee Cyber Bubble, nobody will know and nobody will care.

At least somebody is doing something. I’d like to be there but just couldn’t get the time off.

Sure, It’s not the mass protest outside PQ but because of the involvement of people like John Thompson (who managed to get the BBC Northern Britain Blog Issue into the media) and the support of Joan MacAlpine and other MSPs, we at least stand a chance of getting the issue aired – and as I said, that may, MAY get people asking why a group of people who are NOT on the whole “pro” BBC are creating about this.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-09 09:58
Cameron was just on the Today programme on Radio 4, discussing the resignation of the England manager and who his replacement might be. I’m not sure that was wise given the current heightened tensions. I just hope it doesn’t unduly influence the council elections in May. I’ve submitted a complaint on that basis.

# chiefy1724 2012-02-09 10:04
Did he give any opinion on Dan Parks retiring from International Rugby ? Far more important news for those of us here in the Northern Colony.

Or is Capello going just another indication that the perfidious Europeans Hate “Us” ?

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-09 10:09
Quoting chiefy1724:
Did he give any opinion on Dan Parks retiring from International Rugby ?

Don’t be silly. That’s local news, whereas the England manager is of interest to the whole of the UK.

# alexmc8275 2012-02-09 11:30
OrQuoting Jiggsbro:
Quoting chiefy1724:
Did he give any opinion on Dan Parks retiring from International Rugby ?

Don’t be silly. That’s local news, whereas the England manager is of interest to the whole of the UK.

The whole empire or in fact the whole world, on second thoughts I think an even greater audience would be interested in fabio resigning maybe we should broadcast into deep space to let anyone who is listening, just where the universes centre is actually situated. Foolish Johnny Foriegners!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-09 12:55
Quoting chiefy1724:
Or is Capello going just another indication that the perfidious Europeans Hate “Us” ?

Nah! The matter is really funny. They are backing , “Hairy Heidnip”, as a dead cert to take up the job. Are they mad? The, “Highly respected Manager”, has just declared, under oath, that he is both illiterate and compute illiterate. Now it is one thing being an illiterate manager of a team who has its players turn up for training every day and quite another when those players are distributed all over the place, including in foreign countries.

# chiefy1724 2012-02-09 13:50
No, no, no, you’re missing the point.

E’s A Diamond Geezer is Our ‘Arry. Salt ovthe bleedin’ English ‘Erf. E’s even got his own bleedin’ Bulldogs ! Jus’ wot that buncha bleeding pimped up prima donnas need. And E’s English, ENGLISH. E’ wont need no bleedin’ translator for the tactics, Route One, up to Rooney, bosh. Euros, Olympics, World Bleedin’ Cup. Sir ‘Arry, Lord ‘Arry, bosh. Bobby Moore will come darn from the English ‘Eaven in his sacred Red Shirt wot we beat the Germans in in ‘is chariot of gold pulled by ‘free Lions. You bleedin’ Sweaties, what do you know abaaht Footbawl, eh, eh ?

Of course, the big joke is going to be that they’ll probably ask Alex Ferguson to take charge on a caretaker basis…..

# Dooy 2012-02-09 11:51
Hi Jiggsbro, was this on BBc radio 4? if it was i will complain as well, the BBC sent me a reply to my last complaint regarding Alex and the 6 nations.

# xyz 2012-02-09 10:01
On the day of the DEMO .. this: thescottishsun.co.uk/…/…

So the first minister makes the news regarding BBC bias .. meanwhile people are going to be demonstrating in support of the BBC.

It’s some kind of set-up surely.

# The_Duke 2012-02-09 10:15
O/T This is another great piece from Auld Alliance. Union of equals? aye right!

…/mccrone-deja-vu

# xyz 2012-02-09 11:42
Great stuff indeed. Meanwhile the pumps pump.

# tartanfever 2012-02-09 10:38
Sorry, but I’m not going to take part in any kind of demo that runs a risk of being reported as a positive for BBC Scotland.

‘Poor BBC Scotland, facing the cutbacks, people being made redundant etc etc’ – Not a chance.

Sorry to the organisers, but your demo today should be outside Pathetic Quay, you’ve picked the wrong venue in my opinion.

# Marga B 2012-02-09 10:44
In all the months of talking about it, noone has ever demonstrated outside Pacific Quay.

# tartanfever 2012-02-09 11:17
Yeah your right Marga, the Rangers fans did so a few months ago, maybe 500 or so – but thats it.

# alexmc8275 2012-02-09 11:34
Well let’s arrang a wee street party down there in the warmer months, I would even miss a days pay to go to that one Marga.

# steveb 2012-02-09 12:30
Well how about organising one then?
I have no idea how to go about this, do you?
But I will attend if it is to happen.

# alexmc8275 2012-02-09 14:21
Unfortunately if you can’t nail it to a wall I’m useless, organisational skills are not my forte, but if it’s happening I will be there without a doubt.

# tartanpigsy 2012-02-09 16:26
[Publication of personal details is not permitted on this site – NNS Mod Team]

Mods can I put my own contact details up? I had discussed this beforehand.

# Marga B 2012-02-09 17:54
Since I live in Spain it would be difficult to arrange a demo, but I promise you all, and I’m not joking, that I’m coming over for the independence march, and if I have enough notice, I’ll come over for any demo outside the BBC. I might even just go for it and announce on here when I’ll be there and you can turn up if you want.

Over in Catalonia I support every independence event that moves. I’ve joined all the movements, all the local committees, gone on all the marches, paid to see all the films, subscribed to the independentist newspaper, manned stands, stood in the street in the rain canvassing in Catalan, which I don’t even speak well, tonight I’m off to a talk on the independence of Scotland at Òmnium, the main Catalanist organisation.

There’s obviously not a lot of opportunities to get active in Scotland, but surely until people start doing something to gain visibility, things will not go very fast.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-09 11:01
Here’s an interesting article if it has not been highlighted already…

heraldscotland.com/…/…

# tartanfever 2012-02-09 11:25
Good spot Louper – interesting indeed.

What he fails to mention and others to is how the opening of the BBC coverage was a highly politicised piece anyway, with John Inverdale going on about Bannockburn, 1990 – Poll tax, 2012 – Independence and so on.

The BBC weren’t afraid of using this event to make it so much more than a game of rugby. My question is this:

The opening segment of that programme is pre-recorded, maybe being produced a day or two before the match. If the appearance of the First Minister was being questioned, why then didn’t the BBC think to film a secondary introduction that wasn’t as political to use as a back up ?

# Mac 2012-02-09 11:42
The BBC is institutionally anti-Scottish.

# Dowanhill 2012-02-09 12:12
I’d be more prone to support the BBC in this particular matter if they [ BBC ] reported on such matters relating to the first ministers commentry on the Calcutta Cup final being revoked, the current view by the Electoral Reform Society stance on the independence referndum and the the first minister’s forth coming meeting with Chris Patten relating too BBC bias.

So, ‘No’ to lending support to the BBC. ‘ Supermarket Tax ‘? How about a media tax for broadcasting companies that have a turnover of more than 70 million and redistribute / invest into a new digital scottish mainstream media outlet.

Time too start tightening the leash boys on Brewer, Campbell, Wark, Buchannan and McQuarrie.

Add to the fact that Life will now be overshadowed by the new England managers vacany, followed by jubilee, jubilee and more jubilee and, more fauning over the Royals by BBC scottish license fee funded
bias journalist with interviews of unionist un-elected Lords and anti democracy Labour MSP’s & MP’s alike

Roll on 2014.

# dogbite 2012-02-09 14:51
Dowanhill I do hope you will be at the demo outside Pacific Quay against the axing of NewsweekScotlan  d so I can take you for a beer afterwards

# tartanpigsy 2012-02-09 16:27
dogbite , see reply to steveB further up

# dogbite 2012-02-09 20:27
TartanpigsyGot a facebook message from the save the newsweekscotlan  d guys saying that they will let me know when the protest will be

# Brechin 2012-02-09 12:29
With regard to Salmond’s rugby snub, can we assume that the precedent has been set. David Cameron will not be allowed to appear on any sports related broadcast, in particular he will not be appearing or on any programme discussing the Olympics?!? As Dave is Alex’s direct opponent in the independence debate it would be truly hypocritical of the BBC allow this. I would suggest that as the Olympics are strongly representative of the Union, this is much more relevant than the Calcutta Cup.

# Training Day 2012-02-09 12:36
You can guarantee that Boris Johnson will be afforded ample airtime by the BBC to extol the virtues of London in the run up to, and during, the Olympics. This will also allow him to punt the virtues of ‘Team GB’, ‘stronger together’ etc. etc without any redress.

Make no mistake, this is a direct challenge by the BBC on the democracy of Scotland. Anyone who has not yet realised that, in the absence of credible party political opposition to the SNP in Scotland, the BBC is now THE official oppostion in Scotland – and to Scotland – is deluding themselves.

# chiefy1724 2012-02-09 12:54
Hmm, well….Don’t forget that there is every chance that Boris won’t actually BE Mayor for the Olympics.

Up here in our little Northern, Social-Democratic corner of Paradise, we forget that OTHER elections are going on. In particular for the Mayor of England, oops, sorry, I mean London.

Cuddly Ken, Green Jenny and that Nice Mr Paddick from the Human Shields might have something to say if “we” get wall-to-wall Boris from now until Election Day.

I for one am certain that the State Broadcaster will have to this into account and although clearly Boris has a “National” and “International” role as Mayor of England’s, oops, sorry, there I go again, the UK’s Olympic City, they will (as “Impartiality is in their DNA”) have to ensure equal exposure for the other candidates.

In short,therefore  , we’re going to be sick to the dry boaky bits of seeing the loveable, tousle-haired Boris parked in front of a set of Rings next to Call-Me-Dave on every news broadcast between now and when Ken gets the keys.

# EdinScot 2012-02-09 12:42
Protest to save their axed programmes? The sooner we’re rid of the cursed EBC the better. Beleive me 2014 cant come quick enough. That organisation dont give a stuff about Scots struggling to make ends meet and losing their jobs as the country crumbles all around us, must be their so called Union dividend, as they scaremonger and tell us how rubbish we are on a daily basis, hiding the truth and subverting our democracy in the process. There’s nothing to stop Pathetic Quay turning todays demo into a ‘we love the EBC fan club’ at the parly. Ive heard they have form with their slick editing skills.

With all the propaganda thats going on and the arrogant EBC refuting all allegations once again today concerning the axing of our fm from their shows. It just proves that this demo is wrong time, wrong place and in the wrong country as that Unionist propaganda mouthpiece cares not a jot for the people of this nation and the feeling is mutual in return and then some. I wouldnt want any of that lot involved in a brand new Scottish Broadcasting corporation, they dont deserve it but over 5 million others do.

# EdinScot 2012-02-09 12:51
It really is all smoke and mirrors with the EBC as usual. In standing by their decision to axe Alex Salmond from their Calcutta Cup show, now it appears that Ken McQuarrie was in on it all. One minute he is totally unaware the next he’s not. The usual Bollocks from them. One things for sure, somebody is lying and even more certain is they cannot be trusted. Funny that i emailed Ken McQuarrie twice last weekend and surprise surprise he wasnt biting. Holed up in their bunker as per usual. What a shower. Its us that need the saving from their shenanigans. What did Scotland and all who live here deserve to get that lot as our national broadcaster.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-09 13:32
Quoting EdinScot:
What did Scotland and all who live here deserve to get that lot as our national broadcaster.

Nothing.

Time to stop doing nothing.

# Exile 2012-02-09 13:54
Indeed. “The only thing needed for evil to prosper is for good men (sic) to do nothing”, as someone once said. And that fits BBC ‘Scotland’ to a T.

# Angus 2012-02-09 13:47
Quoting bigbuachaille:
I fully support this demo and will make every effort to be there. Incidentally, Jim Sheridan (MP) has written an article supporting the BBC’s removal of the FM from the rugby panel last Saturday. Might be worth a comment to give the folks over there at Labour Hame something good to read.
labourhame.com/…/…

Got my comment in on Labours Hame, wonder if it will get modded out? As following;
Wonder why David Cameron got to speak to the BBC about Fabio Cappello, shouldnt Cameron stick to his job?
Must be double standards then?

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 14:05
Quoting Islegard:
At least you will make the BBC Scotland News. That’ll be nice for you. Shame nothing relevant ever does. I’m holding out for the save the Scottish Daily Mail event.

What comments should we leave at your Labourhame “We will try and save the media wing of your party?”.

The thing is now Labour are openly working with the conservatives can’t your conservative friends step in to help?

Quoting Angus:
Quoting bigbuachaille:
labourhame.com/…/…

Got my comment in on Labours Hame, wonder if it will get modded out? As following;
Wonder why David Cameron got to speak to the BBC about Fabio Cappello, shouldnt Cameron stick to his job?
Must be double standards then?

Mine was rejected too. I have posted it above in response to Saltire Groppentosh who has tainted my probity somewhat.
Saor Alba

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 14:15
Can you post it here and let us read what you said? No censorship here, unlike LabourHame, if you observe the house rules.

# UpSpake 2012-02-09 13:53
I think that any state in the digital/electronic/computer/smart phone age that feels it needs to be involved in any other waty than simple regulation of the industry is seeking to ‘control’ the supply of information.
This is the way of a totalitarian one party state not of a modern pluralist democracy.
Just like religion, governments should keep clear water between it and the broadcast media, favoring none and favoring all !.
If no taxation without representation means that the government take a tax and then control the output of a broadcaster, that link must be broken, immediately !.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 13:58
If we lose the Derek Bateman programme, then we will lose a major source of publicising the truth about how Scotland has been shafted by successive Westminster regimes. There are a lot of people out there in Scotland who still have to be persuaded before 2014, and Derek Bateman’s informative and balanced programme performs a real public service. Have a look at his blogs to see the issues he has discussed at length: Scotland’s use of the £ post-2014, the legality of the referendum, Scotland’s contribution to the Treasury over the years. Without his radio programme the BBC will be free to brainwash the public with yet more uncontested bias. The proposal is to replace the in-depth analysis of the programme with a Saturday version of GMS. Newsweek Scotland offers expert analysis and discussion, GMS relates only to the events of the day, and very poorly at that. This is, in my view, totally unacceptable.

# Jester 2012-02-09 14:52
From Ian Rankins ‘The Impossible Dead’:
“‘Couldn’t happen today’ Fox mused out loud. No internet back then, as Naysmith had said. Rumours could be contained. Even news could be contained.”

Mr Rankin seems to have grasped what the BBC and the unionists have not. Truth will out.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-09 14:58
The BBC today, on their news channel have been reading out comments by David Cameron, the leader of the Tory party, regarding the England football team.

I thought after the weekend, the BBC couldn’t possibly allow ANY political leader to talk about sport, what with the elections coming, and “heightened tensions”.

Seems like that particular rule only applies to the First Minister of Scotland.

# J Wil 2012-02-10 03:04
Ruth Davidson explained that one asway last night on Scotland Tonight. It will be different for Cameron appearing at the Olympics because all the leaders will be shown in equal measure over the preriod.

# megsmaw 2012-02-11 00:40
I saw that too. Good to see that her arguments got ripped apart by the other guests.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-09 15:01
Here’s a point that every politician in the land needs to ponder.

If the BBC can get away with such blatant news manipulation and propaganda against the SNP, then what prey tell, is there to stop them doing so with any other political party?

It is a slippery slope.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 15:12
This is essential reading re the duties of all State Broadcasters from the perspective of the Council of Europe.
…/skating-on-thin-ice

# EdinScot 2012-02-09 15:46
A great read bigbuachaille. Im glad approaches have been made to the COE as this Brit Nationalist state propagandist aka the EBC is way way out of control as Robert Louis points out above, with one rule for Cameron and another for Salmond. They need the screw turned on them and what better than the whole worlds eyes boring right through their every move. With their effortlessly crap responses in refusing to take responsibility on anything the time is most defintely now to up the ante on them and their agenda as they truly are having a larf…at us.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 16:05
Yes, I am with you on the internationalis  ing of the Referendum. I have long felt that the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) would be ideally placed to supervise the Referendum. If this has to be along with the Electoral Commission, I’d go along with that. The European connection would add a much needed dimension to the whole affair, and I am sure our European friends would be rooting for us. Any European involvement would be sure to drive Westminster nuts, and the usual unelected Lords would likewise be unable to contain their frustration. I have posted frequently that the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe has a long history of supervising elections all over the world and is without doubt beyond reproach.

# Dundonian West 2012-02-09 16:46
I’ve viewed BBC Reporting Scotland for some years,believing it was a great programme–unbiased and cheerful.Just right,after a hard day at work. Well kent faces,male and female, in our living room.
In past months,Scottish political news items I’ve gleaned from other sources,are now being dropped or ‘edited’.I slowly realised my BBC News was being censored!!
I could’nt believe it.Felt like a blow in the solar plexus,and the loss of a dear friend.
If we,the people of all races,religions etc.,etc.,are to demonstrate I believe it should be Pacific Quay. Holyrood would be hijacked by the BBC journalists’ demonstration. Keep focused—-one thing at a time.
I’d gladly travel from Dundee to Pacific Quay in support of a democratic unbiased BBC.
In particular,Repo  rting Scotland. Who would have thought it—Reporting Scotland,the BBC Scotland News Flagship programme?
Oh dearie me! Terribly sad.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-09 18:16
Great news, Dundonian West!
Now that you have realised how we are being shafted by the BBC, tell everyone you know. Pubmates, workmates, relations and all. On NNS we are all convinced. The hard bit is getting the rest of Scotland aware.

# dogbite 2012-02-09 20:29
I will be going down to Glasgow from Aberdeen mate so see you there

# EdinScot 2012-02-09 21:15
Surely the day is not far away when we will see the first protests against the biased EBC at Pathetic Quay. For the record, there was a Pro Palestinian protest last sunday in Edinburgh city centre, must have been no more than 50 of them. Thing is, it didnt matter as they certainly were making enough noise to make their presence felt and get their point over. Name the day and i will juggle work to get through from Edinburgh.

# Hirta 2012-02-09 22:37
How did the Salmond v Hatton meeting go?

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments