Banner

General

By G.A.Ponsonby

Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont has been urged to publicly condemn the bullying and intimidation employed by the Labour group on Glasgow City Council during this week’s budget debate, and to take disciplinary action against those responsible.

The calls from Glasgow MSP James Dornan follow reports that comments were made to a female councillor regarding her disabled son, who has an apprenticeship at a firm controlled by the Labour controlled local authority.

Mr Dornan, SNP MSP for Glasgow Cathcart, has written to Ms Lamont to urge her to take strong action, saying that Labour’s bullying tactics were unjustifiable.

The most serious allegation is that Cllr Anne Marie Millar – who resigned from the Labour Party on Tuesday this week – was led to believe her son’s apprenticeship with City Building, on which several Labour councillors sit as board members, was under threat if she failed to support her former party in a crucial budget vote.

A clearly distraught Cllr Millar broke down when giving her account of a conversation she claimed to have had with a Labour councillor.  Labour won the crucial vote by a narrow margin despite defections of several Labour councillors who voted against Gordon Matheson’s ruling group.

Accusing the Labour group at the council of using “unnecessarily heavy-handed tactics” Mr Dornan, who is also a Glasgow councillor, said:

“No one who saw Cllr Millar yesterday could have been in any doubt that she had been on the receiving end of some very unpleasant behaviour.  She was visibly shaken and upset by the intimidation she experienced.

“That was probably the worst example of the bullying tactics that Labour employed before and during the budget debate, but it was not the only one. Several other councillors – some of them members of the Labour group – came in for similar treatment.

“Obviously Glasgow Labour was under pressure, but that is no excuse for this disgraceful behaviour. It is no way to run a council or a city.

“Despite being Glasgow’s most senior Labour politician, Johann Lamont has been silent on this matter so far.  That is not good enough. She must publicly condemn this behaviour in the strongest terms and institute disciplinary proceedings against those who were responsible for it.

“Continued silence from her on this matter can only lead to the conclusion that she has no problem with her party’s councillors behaving in this manner.

“The true nature of Glasgow Labour politics was laid bare yesterday, and it was not a pretty sight. Glasgow voters will have the chance to kick them out in May.

“In the meantime, Gordon Matheson must recognise that his position as council leader is untenable and resign, and Johann Lamont must take decisive action against the bullies in the Labour group.  The people of Glasgow deserve nothing less.”

Gordon Matheson, who took over as head of the Labour group from disgraced former leader Stephen Purcell, has refused to step down.  A relieved Mr Matheson yesterday insisted he was relishing the forthcoming council elections and said: “bring it on”.

Mr Matheson’s group has been torn apart by a series of high profile resignations which has left Labour with a majority of just one.  

Many Labour councillors are unhappy at what they see as London’s influence in the candidate selection process.  May’s local authority elections could see former Labour colleagues facing one another in the battle for council wards in Glasgow.

The full text of James Dornan’s letter to Johann Lamont is below

Dear Johann
You will, I’m sure, be aware of the very serious allegations of intimidation and bullying by members of the Labour group at Glasgow City Council before and during yesterday’s budget debate.

The most serious allegation is that of the threat that was made to Cllr Anne Marie Millar in relation to her disabled son’s apprenticeship with City Building.  No one who saw Cllr Millar yesterday could be in any doubt that she had been on the receiving end of intimidating behaviour: she was visibly shaken and upset.

I am very concerned that the official response of the Labour Council leadership to Cllr Miller’s allegation appeared to be “no comment”, without any commitment to investigate the matter urgently.

That was not the only incident reported, however, and it is clear that some unnecessarily heavy-handed tactics were employed by some members of the Labour group yesterday.

I realise that the Labour group was under some considerable pressure yesterday, however that in no way justifies the bullying and intimidation which took place. It is no way to run a Council or a city.  Glasgow deserves better.

As leader of Scottish Labour and Labour’s most senior Glasgow politician, I trust that you plan to take strong action on this matter.

I urge you to publicly condemn yesterday’s behaviour by Labour and to begin disciplinary proceedings against those who were responsible for it.

I would be grateful if you could respond to me with details of the action you intend to take.

I look forward to hearing from you.

yours sincerely,
James Dornan

Comments  

# maisiedotts 2012-02-10 18:49
Great letter but it’s the response I want to see both in letter and in actuality.

# Guig 2012-02-10 21:39
Quoting maisiedotts:
Great letter but it’s the response I want to see both in letter and in actuality.

Lamont won’t reply or respond to anything.

# Ben Power 2012-02-10 23:06
Quoting maisiedotts:

And the reply should unequivocally denounce the bullying and set an example that bully tactics will not be tolerated for any reason.
The original anti bullying research and campaign back in the 90’s identified that eliminating bullying in any organisation had to start from the top down otherwise it was not really effective.
A few other UK organisations could greatly benefit from clearing out their bullies as well by the way.

# Vincent McDee 2012-02-11 11:06
Talking about bullying:

The Herald new policy of blanking their own articles, when they disagree with the editorial policy, seems a wee “too much”.

Do you agree or disagree?

See: heraldscotland.com/…/…

‘Holyrood has authority over referendum’

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-11 11:08
There is surely a law about interference with democractic process which will force criminal proceedings in this case.

A ten year sentence for the “hard man” would be about right.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-10 18:49
I’m sure that Johann, as a female politician, will do the right thing.

It wouldn’t be in her interests, or Labour’s, not to.

# shackled to a corpse 2012-02-10 19:00
Quoting Louperdowg:

Surely she’s keen to use her “as a mother” quip again. No?

# Robabody 2012-02-10 20:43
It would be nice LD if Johann did, but she didn’t about retracting the fabricated rape case and she mislead parliament with it.

# rhymer 2012-02-12 17:13
Quoting Louperdowg:

It wouldn’t be in her interests, or Labour’s, not to.

Doubt it.
There seems to be something about Pollock than brings out the worst in a lot of labour politicians. I don’ t know why, the people seem OK
It is just the politicians who seem to be tainted.

# mato21 2012-02-12 17:19
Inbreeding?

# edinburgh quine 2012-02-10 19:01
I dont think she will. After all, when they threatened an MP with violence, did ANY labour woman step up and condemn. No. Whatever else labour women are, they’re not for supporting the sisterhood. I wrote to every female scottish mp (of all parties) stating my distress at the way that Eilidh Whiteford had been treated. Only one responded and that was to blame the the SNP for making the situation public. So no, they will do nothing.

# GrassyKnollington 2012-02-10 20:17
sadly I tend to agree edinburgh quine.

Labour’s instinctive reaction yesterday was to accuse the SNP of attempted smears.

I was trying to imagine a scenario where a woman broke down weeping live on TV news after accusing a male SNP Councillor of intimidation prior to a vote.

The media reaction would have been huge and calls for resignations at all levels automatic.

It says a lot about Scotland that I was actually grateful to see the story covered at all.

# Hing em high 2012-02-10 20:26
Sad to say it but you are probably right!

# Juteman 2012-02-10 19:02
I’ve been a lurker for a few weeks, but this is my first post.
If folk will stoop as low as this to keep control of a city, how low will they stoop to keep control of a country?

# tartanfever 2012-02-10 19:38
Welcome along Juteman, the more voices we hear the better.

i doubt we’ll hear anything from Lamont. As the press and media won’t report it, she doesn’t have to say anything.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-10 20:01
Quoting Juteman:
If folk will stoop as low as this to keep control of a city, how low will they stoop to keep control of a country?

Well said. Welcome and bide a wee.

# farrochie 2012-02-10 20:17
Juteman, get a few recruits to Newsnet Scotland!

# clootie 2012-02-10 21:02
welcome juteman

# Sleekit 2012-02-10 21:14
Hello Juteman and welcome…

I think the longer you lurk, the more you will see the tactics and the more you will wonder how it passed you by before.

Good to have you on board.

# proudscot 2012-02-10 22:39
Quoting Juteman:

Welcome aboard Juteman. I assume from your chosen ID that you’re from the city of Jute, Jam, Journalism and Pehs, only 20 miles from my Fair City of Perth. Good first post too, by the way, and right on the mark!

# Mark 2012-02-10 19:25
What’s all this?

Disgusted members voting against the budget. Mass resignations. Enforcers from London coming up to sack half the sitting councillors. Corrupt leader sacked for corruption and links with gangsters. Bullying and intimidation of Labour councillors. Veiled threats to sack disabled sons of prevaricating councillors.

It would seem that Ms Lamont’s new improved Scottish Labour Party is very much like the old one. She will need to act quickly on this to avoid the impression of business as usual.

# cjmasta 2012-02-10 19:34
Looks like this is being swept under the carpet by the LBC tonight, Rangers are their target again tonight. Actually they just quickly slipped it in, all of about 20 seconds.

# SaltireAboveAll 2012-02-10 20:19
I’ve just sat through 30 minutes of BBC Reporting Scotland (Friday, February 10, 2012) and was astonished to find that the BBC chose to allot a mere 10-15 seconds of air time to a news story that should have been the news leader. It was the leader on STV news half an hour earlier!

The story, as many will be aware, is the one relating to the continuing troubles at the heart of the Labour Party, who presently run Glasgow City Council. Glasgow is Scotland’s biggest council; Labour councilors are at each other’s throats; the whole council is in complete turmoil and a further 2 councilors resigned today. If this wasn’t worthy of significant coverage, I don’t know what is? The BBS obviously sees things differently.

As an institution, which has responsibilitie  s to abide by a charter that purports to lay down clear and principled rules with regard to fair and unbiased reporting. The BBC, as I have witnessed this evening, has fallen well short of the standards it claims to uphold.

All the evidence suggests that it is behaving with a partiality that is wholly unacceptable and a disgrace. It is a disgrace because the inalienable right of every license holder in Scotland to an impartial service is being abused. In other words, the BBC is treating all of us in Scotland with utter contempt.

As a license holder, I want – no, I demand an explanation as to why the BBC deems a news story of such political import to be worthy of such little airtime. An impartial outsider could be forgiven for arriving at the conclusion that the BBC was trying to bury the story for it’s own political reasons, which perhaps might suggest that the BBC has an agenda and if so, I want to know what that agenda is. I’d like to think they will come clean, but I won’t be holding my breath

# Albalha 2012-02-10 20:46
I watched both STV News at 6 and then Rep Scot, Ponsonby did a decent piece as the lead on Glasgow and its problems, as you say 15 seconds on Rep Scot, and Newsdrive between 5 and 6 didn’t even mention it … didn’t listen to the first hour. And while both programmes covered the history of the devolution exhibition only STV included the D Canavan quote about being willing to consider an invitation to support independence, that’s newsworthy at any level but BBC decided to cut him before the quote. As an after thought where’s J McAllion these days …. strong former Labour voices as supporters of independence are to be welcomed imo.

# Robabody 2012-02-10 21:02
Unfortunately for Glasgow and fortunately for the BBC (and labour) it was a good night to bury bad news and instead bury the dirk into one C Whyte whom, they have already assured us, is a complete bounder. Hence the “wholly unreliable” headline is put over, if you think about it, as a BBC equivalent of the Sun’s “Gotcha”

# roger 2012-02-10 21:03
Quote:
i’d like to think they will come clean bit i won’ t be holding my breath

you could always write and complain to the bbc…but dont hold your breath for a fair outcome, thier bias is really rubbing our noses in it and it angers me that there is next to nothing i can do, if it was another brodcaster/sky / virgin, ect or any newspaper i can choose not to buy, but the bbc.. its unfair undemocratic and plain wrong. i’m sure if i was able to withdraw my “tv tax ” things would be very different

# patrickotic 2012-02-10 21:51
Quoting roger:
Quote:

you could always write and complain to the bbc…but dont hold your breath for a fair outcome, thier bias is really rubbing our noses in it and it angers me that there is next to nothing i can do, if it was another brodcaster/sky / virgin, ect or any newspaper i can choose not to buy, but the bbc.. its unfair undemocratic and plain wrong. i’m sure if i was able to withdraw my “tv tax ” things would be very different

Quoting roger:
Quote:

Surely the BBC are in breach of contract ? shouldn’t the Scottish government be releasing statements saying that they are considering bringing forward emergency legislation that would make the Scottish courts look at how fair people in Scotland are treated, before deciding if they will pursue a case for a citizen not paying the tv licence. IE if the PF gets a letter from the BBC they write to the person who has to explain why they do not have the licence. If the person claims political bias then the BBc need to show evidence that this is unreasonable before the Scottish courts will take the person to court. This serves a number of purposes, the main ones being:

1. It will make people aware of the bias.
2. It will be a shot across the bows of the BBC when it’s first announced.

Lets start emailing and contacting the SNP to ask them why we are being forced to pay money to be lied to by the BBC.

# SaltireAboveAll 2012-02-10 23:49
Thanks for your input. I have written to the BBC and although I know beforehand the kind of response I am liklely to receive I feel it is important to register my complaint…who knows maybe there are other license holders out there thinking the same. The more complaints the better.
Maybe there will even be enough to register it as a backlash!

# cjmjr 2012-02-10 19:37
How many Councillors is that Six ? and there is more to come next week for what I gather. Johann is not going to stick her nose in this, she has not got the gumption for it.GCC will investigate themselves and clear everyone of any wrong doing as per usual.

# Marga B 2012-02-10 19:48
What do you bet London comes to the rescue?

# mudfries 2012-02-10 19:43
Welcome Juteman. The shower of politicians that masquerade as a labour party will stoop to ANY low, their party is dying and watching the corpse in its final twitches is not a pretty site, maybe one day after Independence people will form a real Labour party in Scotland based on the principles of the men and women who founded it in the first place, the very things that the modern Labour and Unionist party has left behind in its march to the centre right of politics in pursuit of its self Interest.

# Barontorc 2012-02-10 19:44
As a mother and a Scottish Labour leader, who is also a woman, she should feel appalled and disgusted that such has gone on under her watch.

But, she’s got form already over other items that should/would have incensed any woman/mother /leader.

What about her faux indignation and shameful exposure of a rape case victim – another poor young woman – with no retraction, justification, or apology offered?

What about her motherly instincts when a labour councillor told a child abuse inquiry, that the girl victim, a child of 12, “was asking for it!” and that the consent age for sex should be lowered? No comment, no interest, no care, from her!

What about her sense of propriety and moral political leadership, when it was shown that not one, but two labour baillies, who were present at the same abuse case hearing, did not hear what was said, but an attending police officer certainly did and reported it? No comment from her, yet again!

Is it any wonder decent minded folk are packing in the Labour party in their droves?

By the way Juteman, welcome aboard – your on the right track now!

# Marga B 2012-02-10 19:46
Well this is what Labour get for not ventillating the Purcell situation before on their own terms. Instead they took heavy-handed measures, stage-managed from London, and hoped to go on as before.

I must say that in spite of all, I admire the Labour councillors who, for whatever reason, are standing up at last, it must be very difficult to do in the current atmosphere.

It’s also reassuring to see that the SNP are behaving as you’d expect a serious party to behave, not that I’d expect anything else, but it just highlights the distance between them and the rest for all to see

# drumsmudden 2012-02-10 19:51
This case raises the question– how did the member who was on the board of the building company know that an apprentice in that organisation was a relation of Cllr Millar? Have we returned to the old days when a labour councilors family/friends filled in a different coloured form from those with no political clout.
As this is a goverment funded scheme a scrutiny should be made of all the apprenticies taken on by these labour controlled companies to check and see that all the applicants were treated in an impartial manner with no favour being shown to members of the ruling labour party

# Juteman 2012-02-10 19:55
Thanks for the welcome folks.
Sometimes i’ve felt like smashing the TV, but i discovered Newsnet and realised that i wasn’t alone. 🙂
Did anyone else pick up on the comment from Spewing Stevenson on Call Kaye?
“I spoke to Trump on the phone for half an hour last week.”
Giving him ‘advice’?

# Mac 2012-02-10 20:00
So who was it?

1. Cllr Stephen Curran
2. Cllr Gilbert Davidson
3. Cllr Mohammed Razaq

As Deputy Leader Johnann Lamont made this speech at the Labour party conference.

Quote:
That government at every level can and must make use of the power at its disposal to make a difference for individuals, families and communities. In these difficult times we need to be clear.

Equalities is not an add on for when the times are good.

Tackling discrimination is not just for when the sun shines.

And ensuring safe working conditions, fair pay and equal pay are not a bonus but are at the core of our economic strategy.

Across all levels of government we need:
action to support vulnerable children,
• action to support carers
• action to reach out to women facing violence in their own homes
action to create safer communities free from anti social behaviour and the bullying and intimidation that goes with it.
All these and many more remain critical to government action in tacking poverty, disadvantage and discrimination and are part of our strategy as much tackling the banks.

Lets Lamont back up these words with action. Who made the threats and will the Scottish Labour take immediate action.

# Robabody 2012-02-10 21:21
At the moment, and until we hear otherwise, the words quoted by Johann Lamont must be taken at face value; that they were intended and were meant. If nothing is done about the incident reported above, then it will set back the progress against bullying, harassment, equality and diversity across the country. As now, depending on operational circumstance, it will be OK to bully and discriminate. After all, it must be OK – one our political parties does it regularly. NOT IN MY SCOTLAND. Over to you Johann.

# bringiton 2012-02-10 20:03
Her track record would suggest that we will hear the silence of the Lamont.
Far too tricky for any comment to be made!

# weegie38 2012-02-10 20:30
Quoting bringiton:
the silence of Lamont.

I’ve filed this one for future use (apologies, I’ve removed your second “the”).

With Ed Miliband as Buffalo Bill, of course…

# The_Duke 2012-02-10 20:07
O/T I am not sure if Craig Murray blogged on this a couple of days back… might have been on something unrelated, anyway the actions behind it could be explosive stuff

scotsman.com/…/…

# Sleekit 2012-02-10 21:23
Hello Duke,

In a comment in response to this article, Dr James Wilkie makes a good point and on something that was covered here a few months ago.

Look at the Scotland-UN Committee papers at

www.realmofscotland.com

According to Dr Wilkie, the Scotland-UN group is now part of the Scottish Democratic Alliance (SDA).

I’ve noticed him comment on several of the more legal articles and his input is exceptionally high quality.

Not sure if it is independence leaning but certainly neutral and pulls no punches so is refreshing.

# The_Duke 2012-02-10 22:47
Cheers sleekit, I have only joined this fabulous site recently, probably why I missed it. Begs the question….. what are they hiding?

# Sleekit 2012-02-10 23:41
Not really hiding Duke…

Try typing the words Newsnet Scotland into a Scottish Papers website and see how long it lasts.

The UK wide papers are not so harsh on promoting the site.

Also this site is funded by donations and advertising while being run as a charity. It doesn’t leave much to buy advertising space with.

The best way this site can expand is through word of mouth and donations from readers when they can afford it.

# G.Macp 2012-02-10 20:07
To be honest, Lamont spends all her time giving AS our FM a hard time. She will see nothing wrong in this sort of threatening behaviour. Afterall, it is what labour do,isn’t it?

# jafurn 2012-02-10 20:40
Quoting G.Macp:
To be honest, Lamont spends all her time giving AS our FM a hard time. She will see nothing wrong in this sort of threatening behaviour. Afterall, it is what labour do,isn’t it?

A hard time? I think the hardest thing for Mr.Salmond is to try not to laugh at her.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-10 20:10
Will Lamont do the right thing???

No. It’s the Labour way.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-10 20:35
In the absence of any move by Ms Lamont, we can only hope that Ruth Davidson will speak out against the bullying.

Its not as if the Tories and Labour are allies.

# Sleekit 2012-02-10 21:30
Losing Glasgow City Council could create a mood change in the electorate towards independence so we will see no emnity between Labour and the Tories until after the Council Elections.

In Westminster think:-

“The enemy of my enemy is my friend… so I may as well emulate them while we are both hating the SNP”

# Auld Bob 2012-02-10 20:15
If truth be told the whole matter is down to the actions of London Labour who interfered in the selection of candidates for the election and they forced the constituency to deselect the sitting members. The sitting members now have nothing to lose. They do not get the chance to stay in office while London selections do. They do the obviose thing that being a Labour councillor has taught them to do, look after themselves. If they want to continue a political carreer it has to be done as an independent or by jumping ship to another party while still a sitting MP and hope the new party will select a sitting councillor.

# Juteman 2012-02-10 20:15
Thanks for the welcome folks.
I tried to post another comment, but it seems to have vanished.
If i said something i shouldn’t have, could the moderator let me know?

Moderator: All posts by newly registered posters must be reviewed by our moderation team before publication. We do this to weed out trolls, spammers, and those who are deliberately disruptive or offensive. After a week of posting, your ID will be upgraded, and your posts will appear automatically.

We apologise for the delay in approving comments from newly registered IDs, but recently the site has become much busier, giving our hard pressed volunteer moderation team a lot more work to do.

# clootie 2012-02-10 21:36
new posters have a delay via moderator I think

# Juteman 2012-02-10 22:07
Thanks. Just sussed that out.
My following posts will seem stupid now.

# Hing em high 2012-02-10 20:25
Hit the nail on the head Auld Bob! Pretty much covers how Brit Nat PLC operates as well!

# Davy 2012-02-10 20:40
I believe the result from this disgrace by labour will be a great big “SILENCE“, it proberly will totally ignored as though it never happened. Or it may be turned and spin’ed as its not labours fault, instead its the SNP trying to make trouble for the poor , innocent, butter would’nt melt in their mouth labour party. Darn those evil nationlists.

And welcome to Juteman, enjoy yourself.
Vote Better, Vote SNP.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-10 20:49
It cannot happen in this case. All it takes is just once that a couple of Labour councillors fails to turn up and there could be a vote of no confidence. If it’s won – curtains for Labour. Seems they had to send out a couple of taxis for sick councillors as it was and their majority is now only one.

# Jim1320 2012-02-10 20:52
I think the first instinct will be damage limitation and/or the smearing of the female councillor followed by a bit of media control. If it spirals then someone will be sacrificed but with the election three months away I think that will be the option of the last resort.

It was plain from the voice (unless he always sounds like that) that the Labour leader in Glasgow got the fright of his political life last night. It is all hands to the pumps in Glasgow. Johann is likely to see the letter as a declaration of war. At least that is my take on how it will pan out. She may confound me, be decisive and kick some butt.

# Sleekit 2012-02-10 21:26
As long as they dont ask her to do the sums for the budget…

I take it she wasn’t a maths teacher???

# proudscot 2012-02-10 22:56
Quoting Sleekit:
As long as they dont ask her to do the sums for the budget…

I take it she wasn’t a maths teacher???

Hopefully not, Sleekit. The previous two leaders of the North British Labour Group in Holyrood, McConnell and Gray, were both maths teachers. Judging by how articulate she isn’t when trying to read fron her prepared scripts at FMQs, I would guess she was a PE teacher in charge of the school rugby team, specifically the front five forwards! With hasty apologies to any former All Blacks who may be reading this – only kidding, honest!

# Islegard 2012-02-10 21:06
Lets remind everyone about Ian Davidson’s bullying and abuse of a woman on the Westminster committee where he threatened a woman with physical violence.

It would appear there is a running theme within labour of bullying and intimidation particularily towards women.

# Teri 2012-02-10 21:08
Johann Lamont is placed in a difficult position with this one as her husband, Archie Graham, is Depute Leader of Glasgow City Council. However, I do think that Johann would find any bullying or intimadation of Labour Councillors by others, totally unacceptable. To me, she does not appear to be a person who would ignore such behaviour. I dont know if she has a locus to investigate what goes on within a council, although she may be able to investigate as Scottish Labour leader. The allegations do need to be investigated, but not internally, and if found to be true, then those councillors involved should be disciplined.

# shackled to a corpse 2012-02-10 21:10
Quoting Teri:
Johann Lamont is placed in a difficult position

A position she chose, and in which she has been found wanting already. I have no sympathy, and quite frankly the Labour Party’s attitude towards women’s issues and violence towards women disgusts me.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-10 21:47
If hubby is Depute Leader, then I think it safe to say that Ms Lamont knows a lot more about the environment of bullying and intimidation that goes on in Glasgow Council.

It may be that she is being leant on herself if somebody has something on Archie.

# call me dave 2012-02-10 22:37
She is the leader of the labour party in Scotland and has a duty to either:

Dismiss the allegations as untrue. or

Condemn them if they are true. or

Articulate to the public that an enquiry is to take place to establish the facts.

if she has not made any of the above by the 10’o’clock news tonight she has failed in her responsibilitie  s.

Mind you, by the time she checks it out with Miniballs in London, we could give her until tomorrow morning.

BBC coverage of this has been cowardly and devious to date.

Welcome to Juteman and all the new names on NNS.

# J Wil 2012-02-10 23:18
With her husband on the council, in an elevated position, she must know exactly what goes on. If she did not agree with it she should have been making representations behind the scenes before this. The reputation of her party also rests with the behaviour of councillors as it does with other parties. You would have thought all would be pulling together being in such a desperate situation.

It is a warning to the SNP who are not in a dire situation like Labour, but their councillors must also make themselves fully aware of what is going on at the Holyrood level and pull together too.

# Azg 2012-02-12 03:20
Quoting Teri:
…although she may be able to investigate as Scottish Labour leader…

Oh, I’m sure she’ll carry out a very painstaking investigation – after all, isn’t she now the leader of ALL the Labour party in Scotland, not anyone else, not Ed Miliband, just Johann Lamont. Now’s her chance to sort things out. I’m sure she’s raring to go. 🙂

Not gonnae hold my breath, though!

Anyway, she’s still to notice that Ravenscraig is no more, so it could take her quite a while to notice anything amiss.

# rhymer 2012-02-12 17:19
Quoting Teri:
Johann Lamont is placed in a difficult position with this one as her husband, Archie Graham, is Depute Leader of Glasgow City Council. However, I do think that Johann would find any bullying or intimadation of Labour Councillors by others, totally unacceptable. To me, she does not appear to be a person who would ignore such behaviour. I dont know if she has a locus to investigate what goes on within a council, although she may be able to investigate as Scottish Labour leader. The allegations do need to be investigated, but not internally, and if found to be true, then those councillors involved should be disciplined.

Yup. Poor Archie.
He’s stuck between a rock and a hard face.

# Welsh Sion 2012-02-10 21:12
Completely O/T but in case I don’t post before Sunday, and offering a little light relief from the politicking of both our nations.

I hope you will bear with me if I don’t proffer any support for the rugby team wearing the thistle on Sunday. For 80 minutes, I fear I have to return to type and favour my own countrymen. Normal service will be resumed on Monday – whatever the result.

May the best team win – so long as it’s wearing red jerseys…

Welsh Sion

# clootie 2012-02-10 21:38
Well for once we have to disagree!

# Robabody 2012-02-10 21:39
Well if that’s how you feel WS, I’ll never drink another pint of Brains again – well not until the next time. LOL and good luck

PS not the best thread to have dropped an OT into as feelings are hot on this one – bullying and harrassment – OK for some organisations apparently.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-10 21:44
Let’s just take one day at a time my Welsh friend….

“Forza Italia!!!” *;0)

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-10 21:55
Pob lwc

# proudscot 2012-02-10 22:59
Good luck Sion, but I hope we beat you.

# Edna Caine 2012-02-10 23:30
Sion cymreig,

I shall be there on Sunday and after a few pints in the Borough with my cyfellion from Ystradgynlais, I shall watch the rebirth of Scottish Rugby as we triumph in the finest stadium in these islands.

And diolch fawr for all your past support for the Scottish cause. I hope the result on Sunday does not dilute this.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-10 23:52
Quoting Welsh Sion:
I hope you will bear with me if I don’t proffer any support for the rugby team wearing the thistle on Sunday.

Never fear, we don’t take it to heart unless the opposition is from across our only land border. We are quite sporting with everyone else.

# Welsh Sion 2012-02-11 13:58
Diolch yn fawr, all.

I know you’re goading me! And, yes, as previously stated – normal service to be resumed from Monday. Whatever happens.

crossed-flag-pins.com/…/…

Pity you couldn’t send the ‘white team’ home, tae think again…

Yours, in amity,

# RJBH 2012-02-10 21:27
Glasgow Council is not a thing that Im well versed on… however some remarks were made yesterday to the point that Glasgow Labour council is subserviant to Westminster Labour… Can anyone confirm this please?

# Auld Bob 2012-02-10 23:58
Yes. You are correct. London forced council candidates on the Glasgow Labour Party. This meant that sitting councillors were deselected for the May elections. These are the ones now reacting. Some are just not voteing for the Party in council, that means, by Labour rules that are expelled from the party. Others jumping ship to other parties and some just becoming independent.

# Juteman 2012-02-10 21:57
This is the third time i’ve tried to thank folk for welcoming me.
My other posts haven’t been accepted.
Am i being censored for some reason?
Luckily i’m ‘onside’. Someone on the edge could be put off by this treatment.
I’ll email someone who i know is a Newsnet regular to see if all ‘newbies’ get treated this way.

# cynicalHighlander 2012-02-10 22:13
Hi Juteman the Mods are all volunteers and all newbies are treated with caution initially, annoying but necessary to avoid compromising the site. Patience is all I can offer as consolation.

# jim288 2012-02-10 22:14
Like you I recently started posting and found that the first few posts were held for a day or so for moderation. After that they show up immediately they are posted.

# Angus 2012-02-10 22:42
Quoting Juteman:
I’ll email someone who i know is a Newsnet regular to see if all ‘newbies’ get treated this way.

I cant think why you would be censored, I ve always found it friendly here and never had any posts modded out

# The_Duke 2012-02-10 23:20
Welcome Juteman, I am a semi newbie….. jings that sounded better in my head. Anyway, great to have you join the debate.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-11 00:00
Quoting Juteman:

Nah! You are all right. It is just that new posters must be checked by the Mods in case they are trolls.

# seven 2012-02-11 00:39
You should try the guardian, it takes me 2 hrs+ to get a post ok’d

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-11 05:02
Newbies go through a wee period of pre-moderation…. it will pass soon, so don’t worry. Then all your posts appear in the click of a ‘send’ button.

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-02-15 11:04
I’m still in moderation with the Herald after about 3 months – and out-of-hours posts just vanish. That’s without any abuse or provocative language at all! (Apart from politely pointing out their biased stance on certain issues, maybe that’s the problem?)

# Roll_On_2011 2012-02-11 07:06
Juteman

Unfortunately Juteman during the infancy of this site there was a protracted period were we were bombarded with spam and troll postings, so much so that discussions could not be held due to the amount of crap that you had to wade through, and many members were responding to them, thus they were diverting the intended aims of this site and the topic of conversation.

At the time some members were calling for some kind of limited membership. Fortunately NNS chose to moderate new members to ensure that it did not happen again…. Unfortunately the downside is the moderation on new members. I think that is a wee price to pay to protect the ethos and flow of discussions on this site.

# Raibeart og 2012-02-10 22:01
Lurker no more.

Is it just me or did the queue coming out of Glasgow Council chambers yesterday look auful like a painting by Hieronymous Bosch? It looks like we are nearing the end of Scottish Labour as we know it.

I suspect independence will turn out to be the shock that finally forces them to think about who they are and what they believe in. No doubt they’ll thank us… later.

btw – Auld Bob, sorry for plagiarising your user name (almost)

# J Wil 2012-02-10 23:10
Another antiquated ceremony! Men in tights. With the Provost walking out of the debating chamber preceded by the mace carrier. What century are we in?

# rog_rocks 2012-02-11 12:51
Heh, it was like a scene from Lamonty Python;

www.youtube.com/…/

# Sleekit 2012-02-10 23:50
Welcome Raibeart og,

I think you are right about independence being a catalyst for the Labour Party to reform and renew itself.

As an ex labour supporter I cant say it would be a bad thing. If we are going to have a vibrant democracy we need an opposition with talent and ideas…

Needless to say, we dont have that now.

# Azg 2012-02-12 03:29
Exactly – the “Labour” party should take a very good look at itself, consider what its original ideals were and where it has gone wrong, and perhaps be reborn without the careerists and the cliques.

It’s a perfect opportunity and one they should grasp with both hands. I wonder whether they will.

Ah, tiny wee problemette – Boss Ed might not approve. Oh well.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-11 00:04
No problem, I have been around the net as Auld Bob for a long time now. Newsgroups, blogs and for several years I ran my own website with my own poems, stories, videos and photos. It was a big site.

# rai1869 2012-02-10 22:04
being born and lived all my life in scotland i want scotland to win, but my welsh mother will be digging me in the ribs from the other side, lol

Lamonts silence so far, is typical of the way the labour party have approached power for many years although never have i see such a disgraceful episode than the one i listened to and watched on twitter, but many things are changing in scotland snd through the social media a lot more people are getting to hear waht happened at the GCC, i think we are watching the death throws of scottish labour, what will come after we get indy certainly i hope a return to the real labour with real valued that everyone can at least respect even if they don’t totaly agree

# Auld Bob 2012-02-11 00:06
Your Welsh Gran will no doubt know that we Scots, Welsh and Irish share a lot of things. Not least a wish to be our own country.

# weegie38 2012-02-10 22:06
Maybe the guilty councillor’s gone to ground in Amarone tonight!

bbc.co.uk/…/…

# EdinScot 2012-02-10 22:09
So Deputy Leader of Glasgow city council is Archie Graham who happens to be Johann Lamonts husband…well well well, the plot thickens. What a tangled web of deceit this is. The word went out that Glasgow Labour is in meltdown and their pravda like media arm Pathetic Quay brought down their version of the iron curtain.

Lamont and the Unionist msm’s silence is deafening. As for May’s council elections, bring it on indeed.

Welcome to Juteman, glad you also spared the telly!

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-02-10 22:34
Lamont condemns Matheson and her husband – she condemns Glasgow Labour and the people that actually run the show – Murphy and Alexander.

New Labour have brought this on themselves and the numpties at BBC Scotland are not getting away with airbrushing this as it is all over STV like a rash.

Thursday the 9th of February may go down in history as the day New Labour’s Scottish Region ate itself. For those who know their Shakespeare I would go as far as describing this as New Labour in Scotland’s ‘Coriolanus momment’ when the people of Scotland find out exactly what was in the pie New Labour’s Scottish Region wanted us to eat.

# Fungus 2012-02-10 22:43
Maybe it’s just that no one has written a script for her so she doesn’t know what to say.

# J Wil 2012-02-10 23:20
Probably she doesn’t need to say anything and the media won’t question her either.

# xyz 2012-02-10 23:35
In addition to just not reporting the story of the bullying, and the corruption of due process in Glasgow City Council the BBC are desperately searching around for stories to push the bad news for Labour off the front page.

A few hours ago on BBC Scotland’s front web page there was link to a story more prominently displayed, a story about “Argyll and Bute Council suspend employee over ‘spy’ accounts” bbc.co.uk/…/…

Argyll and Bute has no Labour councillors.

What is obvious to me is that this story is one they have been sitting on and holding in reserve, just for a day like today when the want to push a story out of focus.

They must have realised that it was an obvious tactic which would highlight their bias, since there is no longer a link to that story on their front page, or on the Glasgow and west page.

I only wish I took a screen-shot.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-11 00:18
This is one story that will not go away. For one thing it is only the start of Labour’s troubles and it will get much, much worse for them soon. There is time before the May elections and every meeting will fill them with dread. Just a councillor getting held up in a traffic jam, getting taken short, being ill, needing to keep an appointment elsewhere and that is their majority gone. They are under constant tension and it will tell. Then all it takes is a meeting where they have no majority and they could face motions of no confidence and lose the council.

# Islegard 2012-02-11 00:26
“Auld Bob” what do you think of Labour in Fife as an ex-member? The stranglehold on the media in Fife is unbelievable. The hypocritical campaigning by Labour on issues such as introducing cuts in particular to care homes which are the result of Labour running the UK and Fife council to the point of bankruptcy.

Your area in particular is traditionally Labour have you noticed a change?

Do you have an opinion to offer on Labour in Fife?

You say you ran your own website it would be great to look it up! What was it called?

# seven 2012-02-11 00:48
How many others are doing it too?

# Islegard 2012-02-11 00:56
Sorry what? Could you elaborate?

# jinglyjangly 2012-02-10 23:53
The “spy” account story was in the herald today, basically not much at all but council probably covering their ass

# MacSenex 2012-02-11 00:46
sorry,XYZ, Argyll and Bute is not SNP led.

A bunch of Independents and Libdems with the tacit support of the Tories run the show.

The SNP and some truly independent councillors make up the opposition.

there are no Labour councillors

# xyz 2012-02-11 01:11
Thanks for the correction, I thought I landed on a page earlier showing the SNP were the biggest group there. .. but clearly I am mistaken.

However .. I still think it’s suspicious that the link to the story disappeared hours after it was posted on the BBC Scotland news homepage.

# Big Eye 2012-02-11 00:57
One of the more interesting issues that surrounds Labour disaster in Glasgow is that the initial BBC coverage included shots of former MSP Tom McCabe running about and caught like a rabbit in the headlights when he noticed the camera pointing at him. According to other reports I have read there were other former MSP’s present as well.

What were they doing there?

Surely after years of running Glasgow Labour must have someone capable of dealing with a crisis?

Then again maybe they know the answer better than we do and sent out for help.

# Islegard 2012-02-11 01:08
The SNP should beware of ex-Labour conversions. Labour in the SNP!

# Roll_On_2011 2012-02-11 01:33
OT – Breaking news

BBC to issue global apology for documentaries that broke rules:

independent.co.uk/…/…

The BBC will today apologise to an estimated 74 million people around the world for a news fixing scandal, exposed by The Independent, in which it broadcast documentaries made by a London TV company that was earning millions of pounds from PR clients which it featured in its programming.

Meanwhile back in Scotland all is well on the home front for the EBC, or so it appears.

# J Wil 2012-02-11 10:44
Big apologies, wee apologies, global apologies, super duper universal apologies? Are any of them worth the paper they’re written on?

# Fungus 2012-02-11 11:27
Stuff that, when are they going to apologise to Scotland for the lies, obfuscation and biased propaganda fed to us to keep us in serfdom?

# Kinghob 2012-02-11 07:35
The jocksman has the hypocrite, discredited ian mcmillan (back so soon after being caught out a mere three weeks ago telling big porkies and misrepresenting the CBI)-he is apparently telling three people who might believe him in all Scotland that nothing is happening in Glasgow, no business uncertainty caused over the state of the labour led council in its death throes……….nope, it is the roads that are the problem.

Three articles in that diminished rag on ‘roads’ and yet another trump boring article…………..that’ll save the union no probs eh?

Not likely!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-11 09:25
Yes but, “Newswatch”, mentioned the BBC Bias again this morning.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-11 09:41
Is thur a link fur that un? *;0)

# J Wil 2012-02-11 18:02
Was it a denial?

# Big Eye 2012-02-11 10:06
Herald has named the Labour Councillor as Gibert Davidson who represents Springburn.

The article is hilarious fuming off a stream of previous disasters but the best bit is a couple of quotes from his Labour allies on the Council which do anything but help him.

It appears there will be an enquiry.

The best bit is that despite his catalogue of disaster he was approved to be a Labour candidate in May.

High standards indeed!

# Louperdowg 2012-02-11 10:12
From WeegieWorld:

The Herald understands many in the Labour group are furious Mr Davidson is embroiled in renewed controversy. One said: “He wouldn’t have meant anything. People know what Gilbert’s like. But he shouldn’t have said anything to Anne Marie and certainly not mention anything about her family.”

heraldscotland.com/…/…

The banter, the banter.

Move along now, nothing to see.

# bringiton 2012-02-11 10:31
The new Davidson clan motto appears to be
“Do unto others before they do unto you”.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-11 11:37
The enquiry will take the form of the Liz Cameron enquiry as detailed in the report:

Two years ago, The Herald revealed he had been arrested at his home after allegedly sending suggestive voice mails and text messages to former Glasgow Lord Provost Liz Cameron and asking her to share a hotel room with him during a local by-election.

The charges against the Springburn councillor, who was suspended by Labour during the investigation, were later dropped due to insufficient evidence.

So despite Liz Cameron having voice mails and text messages as hard evidence, it wasn’t enough for the Labour council to dismiss him.

Either that, or Ms Cameron was making it up.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-11 10:08
There’s a great headline in the Herald this morning.

Unfortunately, Robbie Dinwoodie’s PC froze before he could write the article.

heraldscotland.com/…/…

# balbeggie 2012-02-11 10:37
The strap along the top says Politics News In Depth!

# mato21 2012-02-11 11:45
Article now available in herald

# igster999 2012-02-11 10:14
Is it May yet? Please? Tick tock…

# silvermcg 2012-02-11 10:19
whot an article,i particularly like paragraph two.

# xyz 2012-02-11 11:01
OT — Is this the correct consultation?:
consult.scotland.gov.uk/…/…

I don’t want to participate in the Westminster one.

# oldnat 2012-02-11 12:56
Yes. That’s the one.

# xyz 2012-02-11 14:58
Thanks, now I add my 2 pence in the consultation — eg. the question is eminently fair and sensible, the time is too long but unavoidable, devo max is for fearties and might be perverted in negotiations to the detriment of the people of Scotland .. and also if we were daft enough to vote no we may as well close the Holyrood parliament, erase the name Scotland from the maps and print England from the Isle of Wight to the Shetland Isles. .. .. My input is a work in progress …

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-11 12:58
Quoting xyz:
I don’t want to participate in the Westminster one.

I didn’t know we could. I thought they were only consulting unelectable divorce lawyers and other bitter, failed politicians.

# The Spirit Of Wallace 2012-02-11 11:07
“They will drag your family and your faith into the lies and the vitriol. If you are a woman, it will be worse.
Iain Gray October 30th 2011

# mato21 2012-02-11 11:21
He didn’t get much right during his tenure but he was on the ball with that one Quite prophetic was it not?

# Leswil 2012-02-11 11:36
It seems some people missed the fact that KEN CLARK was sent up by the westminster arm of labour to explain to the Glasgow labour council, how they should select and de-select, which led to the purge of ” not suitable for purpose”councillors.
As one labour councillor put it, “Glasgow council are run by Westminster!”
I cannot see that any supporters would be happy about this, and yes it was done in a bullying and shoddy manner.

Quite shameful really and no cloak of spin can hide what they have done.
Of course the buffoon Clarke was sent up, by Milliband to instruct the Scots how to make a mess!, and of course it certainly did.

Glasgow is a great city, the city and it’s people deserve better.
Time for a change.

# J Wil 2012-02-11 17:56
The night of the long knives?

I wonder what Glasgow constituents think about the deselection and the deselected?
Were they ever consulted?

If the intention of the Labour Party was just to put in some people with a tougher public image to help their own fortunes, whilst throwing out people who may have served their communities well, it would be much more dire situation for the reputation of Scottish Labour.

We shall know more if the deselected are re-elected as independents in May.

# The Spirit Of Wallace 2012-02-11 12:02
Prophetic indeed mato.

# scotsgal 2012-02-11 12:32
Is this kind of behaviour anything new I remember a complaint from a female SNP minster was threatened with “a doing” by a Labour minster. No change then I suppose, however as much of this happens behind closed doors its what we dont hear about that worries me.

# the wallace 2012-02-11 16:30
Johanne lammonts silence regarding labours behaviour in glasgow is shocking.For someone who likes to speak as a mother so often, where is her support of councillor miller and her disabled son regarding the veiled threats about her sons future employment?? from a liebour colleague.

# dpict 2012-02-11 20:58
Thats the problem with turning a blind eye for the supposed benefit of the party.

If you do it once you have to keep on doing it, even when it goes against your own beliefs.

Labour should be well used to this type of situation by now.

Their continuing presence here is proof positive that in general, the electorate have little or no interest in politicians or politics coupled to a very short memory when it comes to politics.

I hope the referendum can get people here politically motivated, if not then what will?

# robbie 2012-02-11 22:11
Tomorrows Sunday Mince will probably have Lamont Blasting and shrieking at the SNP, accusing them of a smear campaign against the labour mafia within Glasgow City chambers.

Lamont has no where to go.

I give her a couple of months before she get,s booted by London, they are in a blind panic.

She just aint got it.

Deep down I think she realizes that she is not fit for purpose.

# robbie 2012-02-11 22:17
ps.
Her advisers , they should stay.

lol

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-11 22:31
Whoever writes her FMQs should definitely stay. I assume he’s an SNP member?

# robbie 2012-02-11 23:01
Quoting Jiggsbro:
Whoever writes her FMQs should definitely stay. I assume he’s an SNP member?

Shoosh.

Dont tell her .
lol.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-11 23:02
I’m beginning to think Lamont herself is an SNP deep-cover agent.

# tartanfever 2012-02-11 23:14
I agree with you fellas completely, she not proving herself one little bit – her only saving grace (and it’s not a personal trait) is her supporters in the media that will not write about her performance critically. It doesn’t matter that she may make pretty horrendous gaffs, the media will cover for her by ignoring them.

Her attack on AS. over Fred Goodwin could be judged to have been silly considering it was Labour that knighted him and appointed him as an advisor, but with the media on your side, you know that you can have a go and try and make the mud stick with the help of the press. Thankfully, many are waking up to this now.
Since she became leader I have not heard one single policy announcement from her, and while she urges the SNP to come up with specifics on policy after independence, at least we know where the SNP stand on Tuition fees, Trident, Council Tax freeze, Renewables, Free Prescriptions, Elderly Care and the NHS because they are in Government doing these things.

Same could be said of Ruth Davidson and Willie Rennie, time for them to start showing where they stand on these issues.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-11 23:15
We know where Lamont stands on those things. Beside Ed.

# tartanfever 2012-02-11 23:37
Ahh but does she ? (of course she does, we all know that ) but not according to Stairheid Rammy Curran, who said a couple of months ago that Scottish labour had it’s own voice and therefore could easily adopt their own policies – if thats the case, what are they ?

Time to start asking her.

Did she ever reply to CND when they enquired about her stance on Trident in the end ? I’m presuming not.

# mato21 2012-02-11 23:41
I think not knowing or pretending not to know that Scotland cannot produce the steel for the new brig really showed her to be more stupid than we could even have imagined She was told at least four times steel appropriate for the job was not produced here and she ploughed on asking why the contract hadn’t been given to a Scottish firm and I read somewhere labour are determined to continue with this line of questioning Unbelievable

# Hamish100 2012-02-12 23:16
Maybe Labour are proposing to rebuild Ravenscraig, Hallside steel works in Cambuslang etc —or maybe not….too busy threatening their own members. Funny how quiet the Trades Unions are on all this (apart from sending a letter to their pal David Cameron asking for help)—or maybe not……

# mato21 2012-02-12 23:27
I thought when we got shot of Gray these spurious bits of paper that are supposed to be letters from constituents would be a thing of the past. It must be a labour thing Like her rape report another bit of paper that she waved around while lying through her teeth

# Hamish100 2012-02-12 23:36
It’s important we don’t get too carried away—

I am always worried by those persons’s sitting on the sidelines watching whats going on –before saying something– Lamont’s Deputy for example or in the bigger debate John Reid of (we won’t need to fire a bullet in Afghanistan fame). Let Labour destroy itself let us focus on the bigger picture and fight that lies ahead

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments