Banner

General

By G.A.Ponsonby

The row over alleged intimidation and bullying of a female councillor by a member of Glasgow Council’s ruling Labour group has escalated today with the news that the chief suspect in the scandal was previously investigated by police over claims of sexual harassment.

Newsnet Scotland can reveal that Labour councillor Gilbert Davidson, who is at the centre of allegations that he threatened the apprenticeship of a former colleagues disabled son in order to get her to back his party in a crucial vote, was arrested in 2010 on charges of sexual harassment.

As reported by Newsnet Scotland at the time, Davidson faced claims that he sent lewd and offensive phone calls and text messages to former Lord Provost Liz Cameron and asked her to share a room with him.  The calls were reported to have taken place during a by-election in Drumchapel.

Mr Davidson was charged after Ms Cameron made a formal complaint to Strathclyde police, Davidson was suspended by the Glasgow Labour group but re-instated after the charges were later dropped.

At the time Davidson was already under investigation after being accused of groping another female councillor Ruth Black.

The latest row to hit the scandal ridden local authority has led to calls from opposition parties for a full investigation into allegations of bullying and intimidation within the Glasgow Labour group.

SNP MSP James Dornan, who is also a councillor, has called on Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont to condemn the intimidation of Ms Millar.

Yesterday one of Mr Davidson’s own colleagues admitted that there is a need to find out what happened regarding the claims made by Ms Millar, who said her son’s apprenticeship was used in a bid to persuade her to back the Labour party in a crucial budget vote.

Glasgow Labour councillor Stephen Curran is the chair of City Building, the firm that employs Ms Millar’s son Stephen, Mr Davidson is also a board member.

Mr Curran was responding to angry online reaction after Ms Millar was shown breaking down on TV.  Tweeting he said there was a “need to find out what actually happened”.

Speculation had been growing over the identity of the Labour councillor after a TV interview showed a distressed Ms Millar breaking down when describing how she was approached by someone from the Glasgow Labour group who reminded her that he sat on the board of the firm that employed her disabled son.

Speaking to STV news, Ms Millar claimed she was asked to vote for the Labour group “one more time” and claimed she was put under intense pressure to support her former party.

“A colleague spoke to me and said he sat on the board of City Building and asked if my son had an apprenticeship there.

“I asked him if he was threatening my son’s apprenticeship.  He can have all the goes at me that he likes but don’t bring my son into it.”

If it is confirmed that Gilbert Davidson is indeed the person who brought up Ms Millar’s disabled son’s employment and reminded her that he [Davidson] sat on the board then pressure will mount on beleaguered group leader Gordon Matheson to take action.

Mr Matheson has resisted calls for him to step down after several high profile resignations from the party.  Six Labour councillors left amid accusations that London were dictating local candidate selections.  The resignations have left the Labour group with a majority of just one.

The local authority has been plagued by allegations of drug use, nepotism and corruption stretching back to the days of disgraced former leader Stephen Purcell with well paid positions on council controlled firms going to people with connections to Labour.

Public cash is also reported to have found its way into the coffers of the Labour party and high profile donors of the party have benefitted from lucrative council contracts.

Strathclyde Police are currently investigating claims that land was sold by the council at a price lower than the official valuation and that opposition groups who questioned the deal were given false information in response.

Comments  

#
C2DEalba
2012-02-11 11:42

I think this is disgraceful and there should be an investigation about threats against the lady councillor and her son.

As a mother, Lamont, should be on the case! However i doubt it.

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 12:31

Quoting C2DEalba:

I think this is disgraceful and there should be an investigation about threats against the lady councillor and her son.

As a mother, Lamont, should be on the case! However i doubt it.

The plain facts behind this disgrace make the matter rather more urgent for investigation. If London Labour have ideed forced sitting candidates to be deselected as unsuitable and these that remain are low enough to threaten the mother of a disabled son with consequences to that son’s job, then just how bad did they think the councillors they deselected were?

#
johnlove54
2012-02-11 13:22

Hi bob, have you seen the Saturday Times today with the lead story that Michael Moore is offering us more Tax raising powers only if we say no in the referendum, the way in which i take this is nothing more than blackmail, Westminster is really getting down to dirty and desperate measures now

#
Matrix
2012-02-11 15:01

I think we should just vote YES and take the powers that are rightfully ours and send them homeward tae think again

#
Jim Johnston
2012-02-11 17:34

Cant possibly be true John,
Cammeron has already told Scotland if we want any more devolution of any kind, they had better vote YES for INDEPENDENCE.

That is precisely what millions of Scots will be doing.

Moore must have that common LibDem mind set….a death wish.

#
Teri
2012-02-11 19:18

And the band played believe it if you can. What Moore says has to be taken with a pinch of salt. He thinks if he makes such idle promises that those in favour of DevoMax will have no need to want a question on the ballot paper and will be happy to vote NO and will get what they want. I can only hope the DevoMaxers are not tht stupid.

#
johnlove54
2012-02-11 20:01

Hi Guys just a little footnote my whole family and also a lot friends some of whom were labour activists are all voting yes

#
Siôn Jones
2012-02-12 02:11

Is there anybody stupid enough to actually believe Michael Moore on this? Lamont has made similar promises. But the reality is, if Scotland votes NO, the London parties will take it a a green light to f*** Scotland over good an proper for being so cheeky as to have a referendum in the first place.

[Edited to remove unacceptable language – NNS]

#
Robabody
2012-02-12 10:56

Is that a legal term you’ve used there Sion? I’m not familiar with it and assume it’s latin? ;-))

#
Dances With Haggis 1320
2012-02-12 03:56

And who in their right mind would trust Camerloon, Moore, Osbourne and the rest, If it goes to a no vote they will put the boot intae Scotland thinking the Union is safe for another generation. The longer Scotland stays in the Union the greater our share of the increasing UK debt becomes.
Why accept a few crumbs when we can have the whole bakery

#
cadgers
2012-02-12 09:44

Quoting johnlove54:

Hi bob, have you seen the Saturday Times today with the lead story that Michael Moore is offering us more Tax raising powers only if we say no in the referendum, the way in which i take this is nothing more than blackmail, Westminster is really getting down to dirty and desperate measures now

I think the operative word is “offering”. Offers can be withdrawn, which would be par for the course with this lot. Lang spoons and porridge come to mind

#
rgweir
2012-02-11 11:42

This is like watching a Brian Rix farce.
There is one thing that crossed my mind,Is it a possability that the council could be having a meeting before may and find themselves in the position of being outnumbered and facing the threat of a snap vote of no confidence?

#
bigbuachaille
2012-02-11 12:11

This is all it needs: a couple of sick councillors at the next meeting, a vote of no confidence and Robert est ton oncle, comme le disent les Français.

#
EdinScot
2012-02-11 11:50

So it appears Gilbert Davidson has form with threatening women? This must be investigated, independently and free from the grubby clutches of Glasgow Labour council and their kangaroo court of an internal inquiry.

Get this right EBC at Pathetic Quay regional office, no matter how much you pray and play foul on trying your distorting Scotland routine, this isn’t going away. The voters will be reminded all the way up to the council elections in may of this. Still waiting to hear anything from Lamont. How rude not to reply to her emails!

#
gopher3
2012-02-11 13:07

Quoting EdinScot:

So it appears Gilbert Davidson has form with threatening women? This must be investigated, independently and free from the grubby clutches of Glasgow Labour council and their kangaroo court of an internal inquiry.

Get this right EBC at Pathetic Quay regional office, no matter how much you pray and play foul on trying your distorting Scotland routine, this isn’t going away. The voters will be reminded all the way up to the council elections in may of this. Still waiting to hear anything from Lamont. How rude not to reply to her emails!

She’s waiting for London to tell her what to say, give her time.

#
Matrix
2012-02-11 15:22

Hopefully she will be able to read it better than her prep notes for FMQs.

#
mato21
2012-02-11 11:53

As someone commented yesterday we should expect a comment from Ms Lamentable by last night but allowing her a bit of leeway no doubt by this morning Anyone seen anything as yet?

Thought she was given control of all of the labour party in Scotland Could this be untrue?

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 12:37

Quoting mato21:

Thought she was given control of all of the labour party in Scotland Could this be untrue?

You bet your sweet, “Bippy”, it could be true, (“Bet your sweet Bippy”, quote from the Rowan & Martin Laugh in Show). God I feel old!!!

#
mato21
2012-02-11 12:46

Don’t we all! This would put years on you

#
nchanter
2012-02-11 12:50

Quoting Auld Bob:

Quoting mato21:

You bet your sweet, “Bippy”, it could be true, (“Bet your sweet Bippy”, quote from the Rowan & Martin Laugh in Show). God I feel old!!!

If you remember that , you are (gettin auld)son

#
cadgers
2012-02-12 09:49

Quoting Auld Bob:

Quoting mato21:

Lol Auld Bob, Verrry eenteresting…

#
bigbuachaille
2012-02-11 12:03

The stench is nauseating. The extensive history of corrupt practices over many years must surely be condemned by Labour supporters. Corruption can be said to be endemic in the West of Scotland Labour organisation.
Malcolm Chisholm, where are you? If you don’t speak up, along with John McAllion, then you will find yourself supporting a party which is prepared put to Devo Max out of sight for the foreseeable future, to destroy the idea of an Independent Nation, to prolong the undemocratic nightmare of further Westminster rule and to undermine the will of the Scottish people.
As for the BBC, SNP HQ must now involve the Council of Europe as BBC Scotland is clearly in breach of the Council of Europe’s recommendations for Public Service Media. It will serve no purpose for us to wait until Patten has had a word with Boothman et al.

#
Mark MacLachlan
2012-02-11 12:07

Ahem, I’d like to know what factors led to recent Labour councillor Ms Millar’s son successfully attaining one of the apprenticeships 

Also, anyone else know about this £500,000 in Labours budget for ‘colour coordinated seating’ for the council chamber?

#
bigbuachaille
2012-02-11 12:14

Comment removed – NNS Moderation Team

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-11 12:43

Quoting Mark MacLachlan:

Also, anyone else know about this £500,000 in Labours budget for ‘colour coordinated seating’ for the council chamber?

Apparently that’s the cost of replacing all the red chairs.

#
mato21
2012-02-11 12:48

Hope the new ones are yellow and black

#
Mark MacLachlan
2012-02-11 12:58

I’d have thought that £500,000 a million on refurbishing chairs in a time of budget cutbacks, closing disability access centres etcetera, they’d have made do with the comfy leather chairs they have now.

#
mato21
2012-02-11 13:13

I was being facetious

There should be no question of luxuriating the city chambers further

Luggies and stools would be more appropriate(Old milk parlour requirements) since they seem to do nothing but milk the public

#
Alba4Eva
2012-02-12 09:03

Her son is disabled Mark… there are many schemes for disabled people to gain employment within Glasgow City Council. The sad truth is that disabled people still require positive discrimination measures to get into the workplace.

Yes, Ms Millar may have heard about the opportunity through the Councils own internal vacancy advertising (this is done in all organisations to provide existing staff carreer progression opportunities), but you go too far Mark to make a baseless insinuation in suggesting that preferential treatment has been given to her son.

I think you should retract your statement.

#
cadgers
2012-02-12 09:52

Quoting Alba4Eva:

Her son is disabled Mark… there are many schemes for disabled people to gain employment within Glasgow City Council. The sad truth is that disabled people still require positive discrimination measures to get into the workplace.

Yes, Ms Millar may have heard about the opportunity through the Councils own internal vacancy advertising (this is done in all organisations to provide existing staff carreer progression opportunities), but you go too far Mark to make a baseless insinuation in suggesting that preferential treatment has been given to her son.

I think you should retract your statement.

I don’t think so, he’s only thinking of this from another angle. Good on Mark.

#
Alba4Eva
2012-02-12 12:44

You can’t go around insinuating things about people without evidence to support them!

#
Jenny2603
2012-02-12 13:09

I work for an organisation which like City Building has mainly Labour councillors on the board and whilst I would question some past senior management appointments I have not seen one jot of evidence to support the idea that any of the board or specifically Labour councillors have any involvement in the recruitment of frontline staff, middle management or trainees. In fact one of the main complaints in my workplace is that the board take no interest at all in the day to day running of the company. By and large they seem solely concerned with managing the budget and ensuring company targets are met. I not seen or heard anything to suggest City Building operates any differently nor I am I aware of them employing a disproportiante level of staff with city council connections.

#
Keef
2012-02-11 12:11

Oh how indeed the chickens are coming home to roost.
Now if the media were at all serving the interests of the Scottish public – this would indeed be the end of the labour junket at city hall. Me wonders how much of this will see the light of day and how much will be reported. Think of the faux indignation when Alex Salmond spoke out about the BBC. This my friends is a real scandal. Will it get as much air?

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-11 12:38

This is scandalous, but it isn’t ‘a real scandal’. It’s normality. Normal ain’t news.

#
Siôn Jones
2012-02-12 02:17

It is when it gets exposed to the full light of day!

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 12:49

The only hope is that a higher authority than the Westminster Parliament is requested to look at the iniquitous Government that condones the iniquitous State Broadcaster. There is no doubt that this corrupt government is funding its own propaganda machine. Can anyone tell me if a member of the public can bring such a matter to the attention of The Council Of Europe? If so how?

#
Traquir
2012-02-11 15:32

Contact the Scottish Democratic Alliance they would be a good candidate to raise with the Council of Europe. They have all the necessary contacts and experts.

scottishdemocraticalliance.org/

They already did a great job in regard
asking the Council of Europe to monitor the
Independence Referendum

www.scottishtimes.org/…/

#
Aucheorn
2012-02-12 11:30

I have e-mailed my MEP as follows,

“There are specific European guidelines on Public Service broadcasting, and the BBC are coming rather close to breaking them, if they have not already done so?”

Allow me to direct you to the following link and ask as a constituent that you investigate the points raised in the article.
…/skating-on-thin-ice

Thank you.

Best regards.

#
nchanter
2012-02-11 12:54

Quoting Keef:

Now if the media were at all serving the interests of the Scottish public – this would indeed be the end of the labour junket at city hall. Me wonders how much of this will see the light of day and how much will be reported. Think of the faux indignation when Alex Salmond spoke out about the BBC. This my friends is a real scandal. Will it get as much air?

I agree it is a scandal, but do we know the length and depth of the power of this bunch of gangsters.

#
Legerwood
2012-02-11 13:36

Quote:

Keef 2012-02-11 12:11

It is fully reported in today’s Herald and is likely to be on its on-line edition in which case you can go over and comment on it.

#
Ready to Start
2012-02-11 12:23

I wonder what coverage Mr Davidson will receive in BBC Sunday Politics and our Sunday newspapers?

When will Johann Lamont be forced by our media to respond and show some leadership?

#
Louperdowg
2012-02-11 12:29

@@@@@@@@ Tumbleweed @@@@@@@@

#
bigbuachaille
2012-02-11 12:32

Eh? Oh come on! Ah dinnae dae crossword clues on a Saturday.

#
Exile
2012-02-11 12:37

?

#
Jim1320
2012-02-11 12:31

I was listening to Newsweek this morning and while the Glasgow story was obviously discussed I thought the mention of Moore’s apparent Devo-Plus/Max intentions “if we vote No” probably as worthy of a slot here as this ghastly tale.

#
bigbuachaille
2012-02-11 12:35

Jam tomorrow for fearties.

#
Jim1320
2012-02-11 12:44

Indeed, but a big shift in their original Yes No position.

At the moment it is meaningless because it is pie in the sky. I wonder if they will also stick with their one question referendum position too. If it starts to look like Yes will win I can see a rear guard Devo question suddenly being perfectly all right to put on the ballot.

#
Islegard
2012-02-11 14:08

Devolution delivered 1999 Labour/Lib Dem/Tory coalition begin dismantling devolution with the Scotland Bill 2010. If they promise more powers in the future how long until they take them back?

#
Teri
2012-02-11 19:22

No big change here, Jim. Moore opens his mouth often and comes away with ‘alternative thinking’ to the government’s agenda. Take it with a pinch of salt and vote YES

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-11 12:40

It’s kind of a reverse Billy Goats Gruff: “don’t eat me, I’m far too tasty, my scrawny little brother will be along soon”.

#
cirsium
2012-02-11 14:57

this is the Alec Douglas-Home gambit. Is Mr Moore hoping that we have forgotten what happened in 1979?

#
Juteman
2012-02-11 12:32

The silence from the BBC on this matter is beyond belief.
It goes beyond party politics, and stinks of something rotten at the core of the whole BBC/Labour relationship in Scotland.

#
UpSpake
2012-02-11 12:49

bigbuachaille. Un-necessary. By the time you read this, all 56 member countries of the Council of Europe will have been contacted by the SDA and petitioned to intervene at diplomatic level towards the activities of the Westminster government.
The problems being experienced in Scotland by the BBC will be addressed by the OSCE in an appeal made by the SDA February 8th. Both the head of the Council of Europe and the head of the OSCE have been contacted. It is a done deal.
Why Mr’ Salmond continues to show impotence on these major items has baffled many for months now. No longer. It will be up to the international community to take over the reigns from an administration clearly out of their depth.

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 13:01

Mr Salmond is a very canny Scot, (and that Scots word does not mean what most Englanders interpret it to mean).

Here is how the Concise Scots Dictionary defines, “canny” : –
1 – cautious, careful, prudent, astute.
2 – skilful, dexterous.
3 – favourable, lucky, of good omen.

Whit it disna ca it is, “mean” aither wi siller nor mean mindit.

Div ye no jalous yon an afu guid wird fir Eck?

#
bigbuachaille
2012-02-11 13:08

Upspake,
Agreed – this is a welcome initiative by the SDA. I am all in favour of as many cooks as possible stirring this broth. If you have a look at the OSCE site you will see that they tend to operate at the level of Government Ministers, and for this reason I think it imperative that The Scottish Government should get involved.
As an aside, I have often posted that the OSCE would be ideally placed to supervise the Referendum. If this is undertaken in conjunction with the Electoral Commission that’s fine. They have a long history of impartial supervision of elections all over the world. Their participation would bring a welcome European dimension to our oountry’s plans for Independence, and Westminster, Foulkes and Forsyth would be unable to contain themselves.

#
Siôn Jones
2012-02-12 02:22

I’ve suggested the Jimmy Carter foundation, as they have experience in places like zimbabwe and sudan – where the wicked forces of darkness are nearly as pernicious as they are in Westminster.

#
Robert Louis
2012-02-11 13:28

You question why “Mr Salmond continues to show impotence on these major items….”

First point, you like the unionist press conflate the Scottish Government or Parliament with Mr Salmond. If say the Council of Europe were to be contacted it would be as the Scottish Government. It would not be personal.

Secondly, have you and those who are bragging here about the SDA doing ‘what Salmond didn’t’ in contacting the Council of Europe, ever considered for just one tiny second, that the Scottish Government by meeting with Chris Patten are following due process. If they subsequently contact the Council of Europe, then their points are much more compelling as they can point out the fact that despite such meetings regarding the BBC, the undemocratic bias and censoring have continued.

You and your SDA fan club, need to act slightly more responsibly, and give some thought to what is REALLY happening, before cooing to all and sundry about how clever, clever, you all think you are. I think you seriously underestimate the current Scottish Government.

Give it some thought.

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-11 13:30

Well said.

#
cirsium
2012-02-11 15:00

seconded.

#
Traquir
2012-02-11 15:40

Very fair points , but personally I think attacking London Rule from multiple angles is very effective. Having the SDA go one route & SNP another seems perfectly fine to me

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-11 15:49

It is fine. What’s not fine is claiming Alex Salmond is doing nothing because the SNP are taking a more diplomatic approach.

#
Traquir
2012-02-11 16:03

You are absolutely correct. The SDA should focus on attacking London Rule. Does not help their cause with unwarranted attacks on the Scottish Government. Alex Salmond & Scottish Government are doing a stunning job for Scotland and the Indy cause.

#
pa_broon74
2012-02-11 21:41

Far be it for me to defend the SDA, I’m a not a huge fan but to be fair, the comments on here are not from the SDA. We mustn’t fall into the same trap as unionists do in making assumptions and generalisations  .

That said, the SDA are tiny, Dr Wilkie seems like a very well informed guy and is an ally but his organisation is very small, I’m not sure them writing to the CoE will cut much mustard (if that’s even a phrase.)

A wordy website does not a political movement make, although I would after independence be interested to hear their shtick.

#
Islegard
2012-02-11 21:59

The SDA. To be honest I’m not really sure what they are all about but would like to know more. I assumed they were an umbrella organisation for various ideals. What I do care about is they are independence brothers. Also I don’t know if it’s the case but as someone else mentioned. There are members who were involved with Scotland UN who deserve respect. I noticed James commenting tonight he knows more on the subject. I do feel all the independence groups should be working together sharing resources and information.

#
.Scot
2012-02-11 22:15

The SDA are “Tory Plan B for smashing the eventuality of independence”. they are a racist and bigoted bunch of British Nationalists who refuse to put up candidates against the British state until the UK falls, all the while pretending that they stand for Scottish independence (with their extremist xenophobic and elitist policies without a social conscience) .

Please read their vile BNP facsimile manifesto.

Are they the dark double agents and political wing of the Scottish Defence League( SDL?) I truly don’t know. They are neither Scottish nor are they for independence!!!  !!

#
cadgers
2012-02-12 09:57

Hear.hear

#
Traquir
2012-02-11 15:36

Excellent, great work

#
edinburgh quine
2012-02-11 12:53

What brave men they have in the labour party. Bullying and sexually harrassing women and thinking a child asked to be raped. Words fail me. I’m thinking an uninhabited island somewhere in the north Atlantic where they could only do these things to each other. Now there’s a picture I cant get out my head!

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 16:10

Quoting edinburgh quine:

What brave men they have in the labour party. Bullying and sexually harrassing women and thinking a child asked to be raped. Words fail me. I’m thinking an uninhabited island somewhere in the north Atlantic where they could only do these things to each other. Now there’s a picture I cant get out my head!

We could use them to uphold Scotland’s claim to Rockall. The fact the waves ofter break right over the bare rock is neither here not there.

#
James
2012-02-11 19:17

The SDA has long since taken up Scotland’a claim to Rockall. Take a look at: …/scotlands-national-borders

#
bringiton
2012-02-11 12:54

Certainly good publicity for the SDA prior to the May elections.

#
Fungus
2012-02-11 13:11

Let’s not forget Davidson and Dr Whiteford. It seems the Labour Party in Glasgow have problems with women. Perhaps they need help from this lot

glasgow.gov.uk/…/…

#
pmcrek
2012-02-11 14:00

Yeah, its an utter disgrace to the people in Glasgow who work their hearts out trying to stop and combat vile behaviour like this.

#
Early Ball
2012-02-11 13:14

Lamont will hide. Well tried Murph tactic.

BBC will not do anything until London newspapers get involved. Remember the silence re Purcell.

#
mealer
2012-02-11 13:17

Could someone post contact details for the relevant people at OSCE and Council of Europe.The fact that the BBC are refusing to report properly on this scandal is,in itself,a scandal.

#
bigbuachaille
2012-02-11 13:27

Office of the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media
Wallnerstrasse 6
1010 Vienna
Austria
Office: +43 1 514 36 6800
Fax: +43 1 514 36 6802
email

#
deepwater
2012-02-11 13:29

Lets hope they’re also watching today’s worldwide BBC apology.

independent.co.uk/…/…

Maybe Scotland is next in the queue?

#
Legerwood
2012-02-11 13:50

I liked the comment on the article by the deepwaterlady who raised the issue of the BBC’s bias in Scotland and the fact that the BBC will not publish details of the number of complaints it has had especially about its political programmes.

I think Robert Louis in his post above is correct to say that the First Minister should ca’ canny in this matter and follow due process as he is doing by taking his complaints to the BBC Trust via Lord Patten.

It needs to be remembered that in any direct confrontation with the BBC it holds all the aces because it controls access to the airwaves and to how stories are spun. It also has a large pool of respect for its output from large sections of the population although that is now being chipped away slowly but surely. The story in the Independent being but the latest example.

#
J Wil
2012-02-11 14:12

It needs to be remembered that in any direct confrontation with the BBC it holds all the aces because it controls access to the airwaves and to how stories are spun

As is the case with its assault on Ranger’s FC, it appears, because Rangers told them where to get off.

Vindictiveness is not a quality that we should see in the way the public broadcaster operates.

The first thing that Chris Patten needs to do is to create a list of staff in BBC Scotand and find out what their past and present political affiliations are. This should not be difficult for him as much of it is public knowledge. If it appears to be loaded in one direction the organisation should be changed so that all parties, or none, are represented and the head of the political section should be known to have been politically neutral during his career. Now is a good opportunity for a cleansing of the organisation with the budget cuts and staff reductions taking effect.

#
Legerwood
2012-02-11 14:38

J Will

Agreed. The Rangers example was one of the ones that I was thinking of. Another would be the slavish reporting of the Tommy Sheridan case to the exclusion of almost anything else that was happening in Scotland at the time.

You have to box clever with them or suffer the consequences but it can be done.

#
J Wil
2012-02-11 16:44

I should say that I have no axe to grind regarding Rangers as I am not a football supporter. It’s all to do with fair treatment.

#
edinburgh quine
2012-02-11 16:12

“The first thing that Chris Patten needs to do is to create a list of staff in BBC Scotand and find out what their past and present political affiliations”

Yes, and their affiliation is run as a banner as they are interviewing anyone, or commenting on something political. That would do it!

#
Jim Johnston
2012-02-11 17:44

[Comment deleted – abusive posts are not allowed – NNS Mod Team]

#
James
2012-02-11 19:29

The SDA has already taken up the issue of manipulation by the mainstream media with the OSCE. It is mentioned specifically in the Memorandum as one of the principal reasons why there will have to be external monitoring of the referendum. See: www.scottishtimes.org/…/

#
Talorcan
2012-02-11 13:37

Labour is panicking. If Scotland wins her independence the United Kingdom will become known as the Former United Kingdom (F.U.K.)
In a bid to stop the Scots from voting Yes in the referendum the Unionists have launched a new campaign with the slogan:
Please Vote No For FUKs Sake.

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 13:59

Anyone needing a good laugh?
Click this link-

www.youtube.com/…/

Warning: Not suitable for those of a nervious disposition or already suffering from heart or circulatory problems.
BTW:The Darkened room is rather crowded ATM.

#
bringiton
2012-02-11 14:42

Thanks for the link AB.
The solution to this gentleman’s problem is simple.
He needs an English parliament which is solely responsible for raising taxes and spending within England.
Just doesn’t seem fair does it ?

#
Grenscot
2012-02-11 15:23

I think the SNP should use it as a party political broadcast. It really sets out all the benefits that the SNP Government have brought to Scotland by getting their priorities right and carefully managing their spending.

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 17:31

I stumbled upon the clip when looking for something else on Youtube. I found it quite funny and it led me to another clip. That led me to a website. This one was all about the English being outrages and moaning about all the things the Scots, Welsh and Irish get for free. They raged on about Scottish, “Free”, University fees and I thought I’d have a wee laugh at their expense. I left them with the though of how stupid and ignorant they were as none of then seemed to know the first thing about how the UK countries are financed. I left it with just an explanation of how the Wastemonster cut the English Higher Education funding resulting in a drop in Barnett Consequentials, for devolved countries. I explained how that meant the Scots had a funding cut that they had to make good from other things. Then finished by asking them if they though it fair the Wastemonster should keep the funding for every English student who wanted free education in Scotland while we Scots had then to fund it and thus pay twice for every English student. I won’t bother going back to read their replies. If they were that stupid to start with they probably won’t understand it now.

#
James
2012-02-11 19:33

Let’s remember that the “subsidy junkie” legend also works to our advantage. When the truth about the massive revenue transfer from Scotland to London hits the fan there will be rather less enthusiasm in England for getting rid of the whinging Scots.

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-11 20:08

I’m all for English enthusiasm to get rid of the Scots. I suspect it helps sway some Scots towards independence.

#
Fungus
2012-02-11 19:00

The man has a point, it’s not fair. However it’s down to the English to sort it out, nothing to do with the devolved governments.

#
tartanfever
2012-02-11 19:11

I left him a comment about his video.

I told him they were the worst curtains I’ve ever seen in my life.

He needs to sort them out.

#
nottooweeorstupid
2012-02-11 21:02

EEEK! The volume on my laptop was accidentally set to max there, the whole family are now traumatised – room in the darkened room for another four??

Dear me. That poor poor man.

#
Siôn Jones
2012-02-12 02:44

These English, eh? Always complaining and blaming other people for their woes instead of taking responsibility for their own destiny.

#
cadgers
2012-02-12 10:07

Laugh? I cackled 🙂

#
Juteman
2012-02-11 14:06

Darkened room?
I’m claustrophobic, and thinking of taking up caving!

#
rog_rocks
2012-02-11 14:12

Is corruption so common in the labour party that we are now seeing lists of labour party offenders who coincidentally have the same name?

They must have at least attended the same school of corruption, possibly in Eton.

#
Saltire Groppenslosh
2012-02-11 14:13

“Glasgow Labour councillor Stephen Curran is the chair of City Building”

Is this person related to Margaret Curran by any chance? Does anyone know?

If he is then his position would indicate preferencial treatment in his being placed at the Chair of this multi-million pound operation.

We have just found out that Johann Lamont is married to and I quote from “Teri” who posted on another thread; “Johann Lamont is placed in a difficult position with this one as her husband, Archie Graham, is Depute Leader of Glasgow City Council”.

Are we seeing a pattern here? Has GCC been a “jobs for the boys” setup? I would like to see an investigation done into this, but by whom?

Perhaps it is time that the Police got involved.

#
mato21
2012-02-11 14:27

I lifted the following from a post made on another thread yesterday.Could this answer your question re jobs for the boys

This case raises the question– how did the member who was on the board of the building company know that an apprentice in that organisation was a relation of Cllr Millar? Have we returned to the old days when a labour councilors family/friends filled in a different coloured form from those with no political clout.

#
J Wil
2012-02-11 14:29

All this raises even more questions abouthow Labour operates.

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 17:41

Quoting mato21:

Perhaps it is time that the Police got involved.

If the stories being heard around Scotland are true they have, “Been Involved”, all along

#
InfrequentAllele
2012-02-11 14:50

Margaret Curran and Stephen Curran are not related.

#
Saltire Groppenslosh
2012-02-11 15:08

Thanks for that InfrequentAllel  e. I dont want to be seen to cast dirt where it doesn’t exist.

#
edinburgh quine
2012-02-11 16:21

There’s enough going around, for real eh?

#
bigbuachaille
2012-02-11 14:52

Saltire Groppentosh,
Hi SG: plenty of Labour collaboration here: citybuildingglasgow.co.uk/…/…

#
Bambi
2012-02-11 14:55

Quoting Saltire Groppenslosh:

“Glasgow Labour councillor Stephen Curran is the chair of City Building”

Is this person related to Margaret Curran by any chance? Does anyone know?

No relation afaik. However I believe he’s the same Cllr Curran discovered by the police having late night discussions in his car with a fellow councillor. No doubt they were talking over the strong Catholic family values he’s been known to promote on other occasions.

#
rog_rocks
2012-02-11 16:28

I wonder if it’s just another coincidence or are all the Davidsons; Ian Davidson, Gilbert Davidson and Ruth Davidson all related too?

#
J Wil
2012-02-11 16:46

Only in how they are motivated.

#
Teri
2012-02-11 19:28

No, he’s not related. He’s the councillor that was caught by poice in Pollok park with a married female councillor, who’s now and MSP. The story was in the Sun at the time.

#
J Wil
2012-02-11 14:18

More arrests in London over payments to police from the newspapers.

When I think of it, the Labour party wanted to pay public money to newspapers in Scotland if they got back into power.

#
J Wil
2012-02-11 14:22

According to The Times front page today Scotland may be offered greater autonomy. This is just more reassuring, ‘jam tomorrow’, to kid the electorate along.

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-11 14:24

We can’t have greater autonomy. That would be inconsistent with remaining a part of the United Kingdom…sorry, I mean “with previous Tory bullsh*t”.

#
bringiton
2012-02-11 14:47

Probably the more the polls point to greater support for independence,th  e more “autonomy” will be on offer.
As you rightly say ‘jam tomorrow’ and if they are serious,need to put this in place prior to the referendum otherwise people will just not believe it.
Also,London is beginning to realise that the political fortunes of their proxy in Scotland (Labour) is now hanging on a very shoogly peg.
I suspect that if things do not go well for Labour in Glasgow after the May elections we will see a flurry of “offers” from London.

#
Islegard
2012-02-11 14:49

If they were serious about more autonomy they would stop the Scotland Bill which is stripping powers. Also they don’t need a referendum or legislation. They could hand over powers today if they really wanted to.

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 18:10

Quoting Islegard:

They could hand over powers today if they really wanted to.

If I’m reading the southern signs correctly, and I’m never too far out, they have not really wakened up to the facts that indicate that Scotland is so close to breaking away. The full impact of what it really means has not caught on yet. The mental process they have that Westminster is actually the English Parliament and the other three countries are subserviant just has not got to the surface yet. They see The Queen as Queen of England, Her Majesty’s Navy is English, Her Army is English Her Air Force is English. Her UK Parliament is English, Her Majesty’s Civil Service is English, Her Majesty’s Diplomatic Corp is English, Her Majesty’s Secret Service is English as is Her Majesty’s Customs and Excise, Her Treasury, The national museum, art galleries, treasures and Treasury, Bank of England, Currency. Et Al. Thing is they are not. Furthermore, they think that England can pick and choose, (as she always has), to designate things as either a per capita or geographic basis to suit herself.

Well read the Treaty of Union. There is no indication that either country of the ONLY two that signed it are other than 50/50 partners. Legally that is how it is. Equal sovereign states so equal shares. Except England had a massive national bebt that she brought into the Union while Scotland, although broke, had no national debt. Wait until the real truth hits them.

#
Islegard
2012-02-11 23:40

I accept what you say that if we regain independence we are entitled to a proportion of all UK plc. However if you look at history it is very clear this was never a 50/50 relationship and never intended to be. It was to all intents an illegal coup d’etat. I think your heart is in the right place but you have partially believed the lies.

#
taimoshan
2012-02-11 14:25

Is “Labour Hame” no hame any more?

#
mato21
2012-02-11 14:30

They’ll a’ be away on a damage limitation weekend

#
Juteman
2012-02-11 15:56

Maybe just a rumour, but i heard the site was down until they changed the name to Labourshame.

#
WilliamO
2012-02-11 14:36

Maybe O/T Just wondering about this lack of BBC coverage when it suits them and thinking…’Is it not time for a wee note to STV to commend them for covering these items that give the BBC real problems?’ Am also of the thought that notes to their sponsors bringing to their attention that we do appreciate them funding a ‘fair’ or ‘fairer’ newscast. The funny (peculiar) thing is that I cannot understand John Mackay’s aggressive attitude when interviewing on the 10.30 show… which I’ve taken to instead of the crap on Newsnight!!
If I hadn’t seen it on STV I would have been totally unaware of the Glasgow Council activities of the day.

#
Dundonian West
2012-02-11 16:13

Quoting WilliamO:

Maybe O/T Just wondering about this lack of BBC coverage when it suits them and thinking…’Is it not time for a wee note to STV to commend them for covering these items that give the BBC real problems?’ Am also of the thought that notes to their sponsors bringing to their attention that we do appreciate them funding a ‘fair’ or ‘fairer’ newscast. The funny (peculiar) thing is that I cannot understand John Mackay’s aggressive attitude when interviewing on the 10.30 show… which I’ve taken to instead of the crap on Newsnight!!
If I hadn’t seen it on STV I would have been totally unaware of the Glasgow Council activities of the day.

WilliamO—-
How I agree with you.I thought I was developing paranoia!!

For years I’ve watched Reporting Scotland with their well kent faces—believing I was getting high standard BBC reporting.How mistaken I was!!Items re Scottish Government were non-existent that ought to have been reported.
Tried STV and was surprised at the different approach.Not perfect—-but marginally better than BBC Scotland News Department.
Thanks for restoring my sanity!

#
shawfield urchin
2012-02-11 14:38

“SNP MP James Dornan, who is also a councillor”………………………He is of course a MSP, not a MP…………..

[Thank you. Correction has been made. – NNS]

#
gopher3
2012-02-11 14:42

They’re away thinking up more amazing reasons why we should vote for them.

#
drumsmudden
2012-02-11 14:44

Edinburgh Quine
You do not need to go as far as the north Atlantic, just try Rouken Glen after a council meeting.
If you were chairman of the police commitee you would just get a pat on the head from the boys in blue.

#
edinburgh quine
2012-02-11 16:27

Rouken Glen sounds nice (not being from Glasgow I could of course be wrong)but that’s not what I want.

I want them to be VERY uncomfortable and unable to contaminate the rest of us. No, some lonely island that only gets a passing boat once a year with basic supplies. That would give them time to think through their misdemeanours

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 18:22

St Kilda is far too good for them. There are a great many more to choose from.

www.lonely-isles.com/

#
drumsmudden
2012-02-11 15:07

Correction
The male cooncilor concerned may only have been a member of the police commitee- -same outcome- -no charge.
Anyone know if this pair have been de-selected?

#
Mad Jock McMad
2012-02-11 18:44

I thought he got a police caution for breaching Rouken Glen bye-laws from the back of a car?

#
tartanfever
2012-02-11 15:59

O/T I’m afraid. Picking up on the points made here about Moore’s offer of greater tax powers for a ‘no’ vote, I wonder what Cameron thinks about this offer ? He’s categorically stated nothing will be offered, this referendum is a yes/no vote only and furthermore, devo-max is against the policy of a United Kingdom in that these powers cannot be devolved anymore.

So who exactly is Moore speaking on behalf of ? Westminster govt or as a Lib Dem MP ?

I think Alex Salmond’s first question to him when they meet this week for referendum talks should be to ask, ‘ are you speaking on behalf of the government or your party ?’

Very mixed signals coming from Westminster.

#
cokynutjoe
2012-02-11 16:19

Sterrheid Mags, not known for being lost for words, is strangely silent on the meltdown at George Square!

#
Briggs
2012-02-11 16:21

[Comment deleted. It breaches copyright law – NNS Mod Team]

#
bringiton
2012-02-11 16:52

This almost killed me.
Hillarious.

#
xyz
2012-02-11 17:12

The BBC are at it again ..

On the BBC Scotland news homepage:

[[Heading link: Salmond meeting with PM dismissed New

Scotland’s first minister seeks to play down the possibility of referendum talks with David Cameron in the next few days.

Links to this page: bbc.co.uk/…/…

Good luck finding where Salmond ‘seeks to play down’ referendum talks. .. a negative slant on what he actually said, which according to their article was “SNP leader said a date had yet to be confirmed”

When will this disgusting propaganda machine be held to account?

#
Fungus
2012-02-11 19:25

From that BBC report:

Quote:

Scottish Secretary Michael Moore has reportedly offered Scots more powers if they vote “No”.

Reminds me of the 1707 headline :

Quote:

William 111 has reportedly offered Scots gold if they vote “Yes”

#
Dowanhill
2012-02-11 17:14

I think we can conclude now that the unofficial opposition to SNP / Scottish Goverment is BBC Scotland.Don’t hold your breath for any forensic investigation into Glasgow City Buiding on a par with the level of scrutiny adopted by the public funded BBC Scotland.

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-11 17:17

Too busy digging for dirt on Rangers.

#
Concerned Scot
2012-02-11 18:06

or a certain Motherwell born billionaire, to be precise.

#
Hirta
2012-02-12 00:58

Funny how a unionist media digs on a generally unionist fitba team..

#
ianbeag
2012-02-11 17:49

More good verse in today’s Herald ‘Letters’ from Ruth Marr, Stirling.

[Quotation removed – copyright breach – NNS Mod Team]

Wonderful – congratulations Ruth

#
ianbeag
2012-02-11 19:52

Does this comply?
Link to the quote in today’s Herald
heraldscotland.com/…/…

#
Concerned Scot
2012-02-11 18:00

Sean Clerkin…. wasn’t he the guy who Ian Gray ran away from into the sandwich place last year ?

heraldscotland.com/…/…

#
weegie38
2012-02-11 20:35

Quoting Concerned Scot:

Sean Clerkin…. wasn’t he the guy who Ian Gray ran away from into the sandwich place last year ?

heraldscotland.com/…/…

Good spot.

Might also be the same Sean Clerkin who was the Scottish Socialist Party candidate in Paisley South, in the 1997 General election. And who was an SNP council candidate back in 2003. The boy’s been around.

Your link, of course shows one aspect of this farce which should always be remembered – the people being booted out by Labour just now, are not necessarily nice guys themselves. It was just that their faces didn’t fit.

I wonder, actually, if any of them chanced their arm and tried to join the SNP like Rabbani, but were told (politely, I hope) to go elsewhere.

#
Roll_On_2011
2012-02-11 18:02

Aye Cllr Curran – working hard for Glasgow:

thesun.co.uk/…/…

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 18:35

Quoting Roll_On_2011:

Aye Cllr Curran – working hard for Glasgow:

thesun.co.uk/…/…

(He innocently asks), Working what for Glasgow?

#
rodmac
2012-02-11 18:21

Slightly O/T but only Slightly!
My apologies to Don McLean fans, but here is my lyrical version of American Pie.
It Is the Unionist Pie
…/the-unionist-pie

#
Matrix
2012-02-12 13:17

Now that actually is pretty nailed on. Maybe we could get the proclaimers to cover it and use it as the new national anthem.

#
doe
2012-02-11 18:22

Worth reading – an insider view of what happened in the budget stooshie: brightgreenscotland.org/…/…

#
oldnat
2012-02-11 18:37

” Football fan after a victory rather than Leader of Scotland’s Largest Local Authority.”

What a great description of Matheson after the budget meeting!

#
doe
2012-02-11 18:51

I love how the single Tory councillor turns into “a shoddy deal between the Tories and the SNP”. They’re simply incapable of telling the truth. Let’s hope this is a wake-up call to the voters of Glasgow. Where oh where is the media?

#
tartanfever
2012-02-11 18:59

I was just going to post about that doe – you beat me to it. Thanks very much for that link, it’s certainly painted a pretty devastating picture of Glasgow Labour.

Recommend to others to have a read of this.

#
doe
2012-02-11 19:06

I’d also advise people to leave a positive comment on the Bright Green blog

#
Wave Machine
2012-02-11 18:35

Watch out for the COSLA awards coming up in the next few days.

Here’s the link to the short leet of candidates. The ceremony is on 16th Feb.

awards.cosla.gov.uk/…/…

Knowing the way COSLA works, I’ll put money on who the winners will be 🙂

#
Mad Jock McMad
2012-02-11 18:59

[Comment deleted – unsubstantiated allegations are not permitted – NNS Mod Team]

#
tartanfever
2012-02-11 19:01

[Comment deleted – unsubstantiated allegations are not permitted – NNS Mod Team]

#
tartanfever
2012-02-11 19:13

Blimey mods, you’re on the ball tonight !

I’m only reporting what was already printed in the Sunday Express a few months back ! Is that an issue ? If so, then we are going to have to be careful what we write from now on.

#
oldnat
2012-02-11 20:28

Link to the article, and I imagine that the comment would be accepted.

#
tartanfever
2012-02-11 20:32

Thanks old nat, just done on my post below.

#
Stevie Cosmic
2012-02-11 19:27

Do any of the NNS staff fancy making a statement about what on earth is going on with the moderation?

Breaching copyright law? Are you serious?

I can only assume that someone is leaning on NNS, otherwise it’s baseless paranoia. If that is the case, it deserves a well and carefully written article about who is doing the leaning.

#
oldnat
2012-02-11 19:37

I presume that you don’t understand copyright law?

We aren’t free to post anything we like on here. A link can be provided to copyright material, but the actual material can’t be quoted in full.

Copyright owners could take action to bring down any site that breaches their copyright. Most sites aren’t worth bothering with. NNS has grown to the point where it might well be.

#
Briggs
2012-02-11 19:47

Quoting oldnat:

I presume that you don’t understand copyright law?

We aren’t free to post anything we like on here. A link can be provided to copyright material, but the actual material can’t be quoted in full.

Copyright owners could take action to bring down any site that breaches their copyright. Most sites aren’t worth bothering with. NNS has grown to the point where it might well be.

I don’t really see why a spoof lyric of a Don McLean song would breach the copy write laws.

He would probably be amused and the guy that bowdlerised Don’s lyrics would be delighted it was reproduced here.

We will obviously have to watch what we reproduce on NNS.

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-11 20:01

It’s simple enough. If you see something you like on another site, link to it. Don’t copy and paste it.

It doesn’t matter if you think the author wouldn’t mind. Minor breaches of copyright law (or apparently trivial, contestable ‘defamation’) can be enough to get a site closed down. I’m guessing NNS doesn’t have high-powered lawyers on call. Other parties might, and might have an interest in closing down dissenting voices.

#
Briggs
2012-02-11 20:16

I take your point, but I post regularly on a footballing site where stuff is reproduced verbatim, sometimes with an attendant link and at times not.

This site I speak of has infinitely more hits than NNS and sails on serenely with nary a word of protest from newspapers broadcasters or whatever.

Members are warned not to defame people and that’s about it.

I appreciate the paranoia though.

Sometimes folk really are out to get you.

#
cynicalHighlander
2012-02-11 20:19

Our country is at stake.

#
Islegard
2012-02-11 20:30

#
cynicalHighlander
2012-02-11 20:38

Your link’s not working.

#
Stevie Cosmic
2012-02-12 01:05

oldnat, I’ve been around the block a bit as a musician and songwriter, so I am more than aware of copyright law; it formed the basis of my income for a long time.

If copyright has become a problem on the comments section of this website, then it is probably the only website in the entire world where reprinting a paragraph from a news site or blog puts the site in ‘serious’ danger of a litigation action. Such action, in almost any circumstance of online comment, is a very very remote possibility, and utterly indefensible in a court of law.

Let’s have a reasoned discussion about this. This is a serious breach of civil rights.

News that is ‘reprinted here’, originated elsewhere. As long as that news is attributed to the originator, no allegations of defamation can be laid at the door of NNS. The copyright line is nonsense, a huge red herring. The law is very very clear on exactly ‘who’ makes allegations, and that is entirely down to language and context.

If this is simply an argument about reprinting ‘so called’ copyrighted news material, in NNS’s case, news reports, then those raising the action do not have a leg to stand on. On what basis exactly would NNS be acting illegally? The precedent has been set; you would need to prosecute every news outlet in the UK, including every blog on the net.

Copyright owners may well be disposed to bring actions, but in doing so, at least in terms of partially quoting news items and blogging info (which may in itself contain copyrighted material), they expose themselves to utter ridicule in the courts. Not even Murdoch was able to pursue this line personally.

NEWS is not copyright. Neither is information. How that information is portrayed on the other hand is another matter.

Best
S

#
tartanfever
2012-02-11 20:31

Interesting discussion.

So with that in mind, going back to my earlier post that was moderated – this is what I mentioned.

newsnetscotland.com/…/…

Presumably a link to your own article is acceptable NNS ?

#
weegie38
2012-02-11 20:41

Here’s another wee example of Glasgow Labour’s culture of intimidation. Funnily enough, the alleged victim is another of the councillors who rebelled this week – Tommy Morrison. In December, he claimed Mathieson threatened to remove him from the Strathclyde Fire and Rescue board, if he didn’t help get Alex Glass reselected as a candidate.

heraldscotland.com/…/…

Another thing that comes out of that story, is the fact that the Greater Pollok Ward has, as one of its 2 Labour candidates for May, a certain Bill Butler. You might remember him: he was the Glasgow Anniesland MSP until last May, when Bill Kidd took it for the SNP by 7 votes.

Greater Pollok is, of course, in Johann Lamont’s constituency.

#
Auld Bob
2012-02-11 20:49

I’m not seeing any of my posts tonight. Any problems on-line.

#
Grenscot
2012-02-11 21:00

I commented on one of your posts earlier on Auld Bob so some of them at least must have shown up. Looking at the debate the mods seem to be battling to keep posters from dropping the site into a great steaming pile of ***. Perhaps some of your posts were in response to comments that have been modded out

#
RandomScot
2012-02-11 21:22

They are deleting my posts

All I am asking for is that NNS does a sanity check on some odd posts of late

However such questions seem to be verboten on NNS

Someone pointed me to a response to me, but it was gone. It was showing in the latest posts but of that post there was no sign.

No explanation. No courtesy. Just disappeared

#
RandomScot
2012-02-12 09:41

Cute

Posts following this one, including request for me to explain why I think my posts were being modded off, are modded off

Leaving just this one, presumably to made me look as if I am imagining it all.

Still no explanation, still a situation worse than even the BBC blogs

#
balbeggie
2012-02-12 00:09

Labour rebels to set up new party to fight Glasgow seats according to the Sunday Herald.

twitpic.com/8inyll

#
oldnat
2012-02-12 02:01

What the result of that will be isn’t clear. yes, it will split the “Labour vote”, but it will also split the “anti-Labour” vote.

In North Ayrshire in 2007, several ex-Labour people became councillors because they were anti the council’s PFI schemes for schools. In the Council, however, they largely supported the Labour administration.

If genuine change is to happen in Glasgow, then it won’t happen because some councillors who Labour considered as too useless to carry on, get elected.

#
Keef
2012-02-12 00:42

I’ve just recieved my shiney new SNP membership card in the post. It’s the first time I’ve ever joined a political party. I thought this coming referendum and this campaign for Scotland’s freedom was too important to remain non-commited. I hope joining the SNP helps boost their numbers and shows the people that they are a growing force. The money paid to join was paltry when you think of how that money will be spent in earning Scotland her freedom.

Sitting looking at that wee card makes me feel that wee bit prouder. The bit of plastic is mostly worthless, the idea behind it swells my heart with pride. I’d reccommend it to anyone thinking of helping the cause. Join now, you won’t regret it. Your countrymen in future years will be for ever grateful.

Yes to Independence.

#
oldnat
2012-02-12 01:54

Welcome. Yes I know the feeling.

#
Siôn Jones
2012-02-12 03:44

There’se a big scandal brewing in Wales, concerning an ethnic minority chairity AWEMA, which has received over 8 million in public funds, and is run by a Labour apparatchik as though it were a family fiefdom, (paying off personal credit card debts with charity funds, and awarding himself a 300% pay increase without seeking authorisation) and who has been able to shrug off critical reports for over 9 years because of his Labour party contacts (Labour have been in government in Wales since 1999) and his bullying demeanour (ring any bells?).

What is it about Labour that a party that was founded with such noble ideals and which (at least in 1945) has achieved so much for social good has become so corrupt and little better than the mafia? jacothenorth.blogspot.com/…/…

#
dpict
2012-02-12 11:07

Id like to join in here but out of my first three posts only one has been left up, i’ve posted nothing contentious either so i dont understand what is happening.

Waste of time is all it’s achieved so far.

However in case this is left up? i just read a story on Huff/aol, wullie rennie causing mischief again!

Link (if it’s ok to do so)
huffingtonpost.co.uk/…/…

#
nottooweeorstupid
2012-02-12 18:41

Hi dpict, please don’t go – the site is run by volunteers and until they’ve got to know you they’ll need to have a wee look at your posts before they put them up. Once they see you’re not a raving loony (?) you’ll see your posts right away, doesn’t take long.

#
Jiggsbro
2012-02-12 19:26

The first week (of pre-moderation) can make things a little disjointed (your posts turn up hours after the thread has moved on to another subject, for example), but it is only a week. Since the first week, I’ve only had one post modded. Possibly because I used the word ****s.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments