Banner

General

By a Newsnet reporter  

Old Firm giants Glasgow Rangers are facing the prospect of administration after papers were lodged at the court of session this afternoon.

The Ibrox club, who are currently in dispute with the inland revenue over unpaid tax bills, now have ten days in which to name the administrators.

The news comes as the club await the result of a dispute with HMRC that could result in a bill of nearly £50 million.

The move by lawyers acting on behalf of the club’s directors is being viewed by some as a way to provide some leverage with HMRC who will receive nothing if the club, formed in 1873, is wound up.

If administration is confirmed, the club face being deducted 10 points as a result of SPL rules.  The situation could also see the club lose the right to compete in Europe and unable to buy new players.

A Scottish Premier League spokesman said that a 10-point deduction and a transfer Embargo would only be put in place when administration was confirmed.

The spokesman said “At this point in time Rangers are not in administration and we await developments.  The instant that they are technically in administration there will be an automatic 10-point deduction and, perhaps of less relevance, an Embargo on player registrations.

“If administration is confirmed, as we have done previously, we would be looking to work with the administrators and would be looking for a very early meeting.”

The situation has already had an effect on other SPL clubs.  Dundee United, who recently knocked the Ibrox club out of the Scottish Cup, are now facing the prospect of not receiving their share of the Ibrox gate receipts, estimated at around £100,000.

Current club owner, Craig White, has been the focus of media attention since he took over from former owner Sir David Murray last May.

Sir David, who once boasted “For every five pounds Celtic spend, we will spend ten,” sold the club to Mr Whyte last year for £1 after the HMRC dispute began and the club owed £18 million to Lloyds Banking Group.

Former Board members, who were removed after Mr Whyte took over, have criticised the new Chairman.

Last week the former Rangers chairman Alastair Johnston revealed he had asked the Government’s Insolvency Service to clarify “certain financial arrangements” relating to the takeover of the club.

The club is also currently in a dispute with BBC Scotland after a documentary was broadcast which cast doubt on the integrity of Mr Whyte who labelled it “a hatchet job”. 

The documentary followed an apology by the BBC after video footage of club manager Ally McCoist was edited and gave the impression that he had a flippant attitude to sectarianism.

BBC Scotland has since taken a ‘keen interest’ in Mr Whyte, and last week claimed that he may have lied in court when giving evidence in a case involving a business dispute.

Rangers  – The Finance Timeline

1988 David Murray buys a majority shareholding in the club for £6m from Lawrence Marlborough.

2001 Murray Park built at a cost of £14m.

2002 Murray quits as chairman but continues as owner.

2004 Murray returns as chairman and underwrites a £57m share issue after the club’s debts peaked at £72m.

26 August 2009 Alastair Johnston takes over from Murray as his chairman

24 October The club’s manager Walter Smith claims Lloyds Bank is controlling Rangers’ spending.

12 November Rangers’ annual report shows debts have risen to £31m

27 April 2010 Rangers confirm they are under investigation by Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs

9 June The London-based property developer Andrew Ellis’ consortium announces to the Stock Exchange they are in “advanced negotiations” to buy a controlling interest in Rangers.

15 June Rangers announce Murray International Holdings (MIH) is no longer “actively marketing its controlling stake in the club for sale” after failing to receive a suitable offer.

22 September Rangers announce debt reduced from £31m to £27.1m.

18 November Craig Whyte confirms to the Stock Exchange he is considering making an offer for club

30 March Whyte and Lloyds reach agreement over the £18m debt repayment.

6 May Whyte announces his acquisition of Murray International Holdings’ 85.3% shareholding in Rangers for £1.

24 May Johnston and Paul Murray are removed from their roles as directors.  The chief executive Martin Bain and director Donald McIntyre are suspended.

20 June Bain instructs his lawyers to open legal proceedings against Rangers.  Four days later, Bain resigns.

13 September Bain succeeds in having £480,000 of the club’s assets frozen while pursuing a legal case.

10 October McIntyre resigns as finance director but remains as an employee of the club.  Just over a week later, he has £300,000 of Rangers’ cash frozen pending a court case.

20 October Whyte instructs his lawyers to begin legal proceedings against the BBC over allegations made against him in a documentary, having previously withdrawn all co-operation with the broadcaster. The BBC says it stands by its investigation.

30 November Rangers’ annual financial figures show net debt has been halved to around £14m. The club also confirm Whyte had previously been disqualified as a company directory for seven years from 2000.

9 December Rangers agree an undisclosed out-of-court settlement with McIntyre.

9 January 2012 Rangers’ shares are suspended from trading on the Plus Stock Exchange for failure to submit audited accounts.

18 January A three-day tax tribunal closes in Edinburgh.

13 February Rangers lodge their intention to go into administration at the Court of Session in Edinburgh.

Comments  

# Legerwood 2012-02-13 19:41
Reporting Scotland on at the moment and taking full opportunity to rehash their investigations of mr Whyte and rehashing everything they have covered ad nauseum on previous occasions.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-13 19:43
It’s human nature to say “I told you so”.

# Albalha 2012-02-13 20:15
Why wouldn’t they? To be fair they’ve done a lot of good investigative reporting on Craig Whyte and sadly supporters of Rangers FC are now realising what’s happening to their club. I have problems with the BBC in Scotland but sometimes I feel on NNS to attack it is a default position. Of course they should have given more coverage to GCC but at least Cllr Morrison was on the radio this morning, didn’t see STV news did they interview him? It’s the first broadcast interview I’ve heard him do.

# Legerwood 2012-02-13 20:57
But much, if not all, of the financial difficulties that Rangers now finds itself in pre-date his chairmanship. So why villify him?

He has been Chairman for less than 2 years and I doubt anyone would be able to turn around Ranger’s finances in that short a time.

# Albalha 2012-02-13 21:06
Yes but remember he bought the club for £1 knowing the circa £49 million HMRC bill was possibly due, this is someone who is familiar with administration, so maybe he knew what was going on, he is the first creditor given he took on all the debts. He won’t be the loser for example Dundee United may lose their £100 000 payment from the cup game.

# Glasgow 2012-02-13 23:51
Quoting Albalha:
Dundee United may lose their £100 000 payment from the cup game.
Eh? There was 17,000 at the game. Utd get a 50/50 split of the gate receipts after all match related costs have been deducted. £100,000?! How much was it to get in?

# Gaavster 2012-02-14 01:12
50% of the Tv money too perhaps?

# edinburgh quine 2012-02-14 01:08
It’s a lot of big weans running around chasing a ball. How that is more important than the meltdown of Glasgow Council, is hard to figure. There is usually about 20 minutes reserved for sport in the middle of the programme, surely that’s enough.

# rhymer 2012-02-14 17:08
Quoting edinburgh quine:
It’s a lot of big weans running around chasing a ball. How that is more important than the meltdown of Glasgow Council, is hard to figure. There is usually about 20 minutes reserved for sport in the middle of the programme, surely that’s enough.

I agree !
The Herald had the first five pages devoted to Rangers and not a mention of what is happening with Glasgow council. The BBC is suffering from the same disease”. I wonder is the “we will pretend it is not happening and maybe it will go away” attitude one of the rules governing the Scottish media ?

# GerrySNP 2012-02-14 04:16
Picking up the comments from the LHS of NNS page – I thought I was joining comments on “Administartion looming for Glasgow – Labour!

# rhymer 2012-02-13 19:42
I am not a rangers supporter so can anybody tell me why the BBC is doing such a hatchet job on that football team ?
I suppose it does deflect people’s attention from the fiasco taking place with Glasgow’s labour council.

# Albalha 2012-02-13 20:22
It’s not a hatchet job on the team but a fair focus on an owner who does seem to have questions to answer and given the response of Rangers fan outside while he was giving his statement they’re realising all is not well at Ibrox.

# Glasgow 2012-02-13 23:54
I’m a Livi fan (so know a thing or two about the admin process), but anyone can see that the coverage afforded to it tonight by the Scottish wing of the UK’s state broadcaster, news worthy or not, was most definitely a hatchet job.

Fair and balanced? I don’t think so.

# rhymer 2012-02-14 17:29
Hatchet job supreme !
Front page of the Herald AND the next four pages were all devoted to the story about Rangers.
Jeez !

# mato21 2012-02-13 19:45
18 40 and that’s the only topic covered now being told there will be more on the sports round up and on newsnicht Thank you BBC I could not have managed the rest of the evening without hearing about a FOOTBALL club Oh my sweet Lordy there’s lamentable getting her bit in about the ref. noo Nothing about Glasgows troubles though

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-02-13 20:00
By 22:30 Ranger’s collapse will be all the fault of the SNP and an example of the ‘uncertainty’ caused to business by delaying the referendum according to Newsnicht ….

Nothing at all to do with the vainglorious payment of lunatic wages to everyone else’s cast offs … while fiddling the PAYE to ‘afford the crazy wage bill’. This is not a problem of Craig Whyte, it is a problem of the previous decade of living outside their financial means lead by Labour’s favourite pal – Sir Murray Mint.

I forsee a ‘Rangers 2012 Ltd’ arising from the ashes, where Sir Murray Mint will buy the Ibrox and the training ground from the administrator for an undisclosed sum and the SFA turning a blind eye to it all … because ‘Scottish Football needs Rangers’.

# mato21 2012-02-13 20:32
18;40 to 18;48 news 18;48 to 18;53 sport rangers and rugby 18;53 to 18;55 weather then a reminder of you,ve guessed it and 3 other snippets Told we’d have a rehash (made that bit up) at 10;20 or whenever That folks is how to numb the skulls of the plebs

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-02-13 19:49
Michty me both ugly sisters on the slide – one talking down a drop in profitability the other just down and out … maybe the ‘Gers’ will ground share at Firhill.

I have this image of Ally McCoist, in a cardboard box marked ‘manager’, at the entrance to the John Grieg Stand, handing out P45’s to the overpaid footballers they have on their books on behalf of the administrators. 😀

# Chateaulait 57 2012-02-14 00:00
Quoting Mad Jock McMad:
maybe the ‘Gers’ will ground share at Firhill. 😀

It’s only fair, they let us ground share Ibrox in season 1908/09.

# oldnat 2012-02-13 19:50
STV’s news coverage was much more balanced today (as it often is).

I’ve got into the habit of watching STV Scottish News at 6.00, then switching to the Beeb at 6.30 for their version.

The weather reports are usually reporting the same – there is often little else.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 20:49
Me too, been doing that a good while now. Every little helps, “As the monkey said as it piddled in the sea”.

# jafurn 2012-02-13 19:50
Perfect excuse for the bbc scotland news team to ignore anything of importance othr than to football fans

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-13 20:08
To be fair, there are probably more people in Scotland who care about Rangers than there are who care about Glasgow City Council.

They should still have asked Lamont sbout it, mind, while they had her there and speaking in vaguely coherent sentences.

# jafurn 2012-02-13 20:24
You may well be right about that Jiggsbro but the point is that bbc will use this as a smokescreen for whatever they don’t want to be discussed.

They did the same with the tragic death of Whitney Housten. Tragic though it was does it really have to be recycled ad infinitum …..

# wee folding bike 2012-02-13 19:54
Did Reporting Cats up a Tree manage to pin the blame on Alex Salmond or some other minister in Holyrood?

# The_Duke 2012-02-13 19:56
Completely agree with the comments above…. total overkill to hide the fact that Labour are in meltdown in Glasgow.

On a lighter note, when we do get rid of BBC Scotland….. I will fight tooth and nail to keep Cat Cubie on the air! 😉

# Albalha 2012-02-13 20:10
So actually being good at your job is of no importance as long as you’re young and pretty?

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-13 20:11
If you’re bad at your job, being young and pretty certainly helps.

# The_Duke 2012-02-13 20:16
Wooow! it was tongue and cheek!

# Albalha 2012-02-13 20:18
Mmm I’ll take your word for it.

# The_Duke 2012-02-13 20:24
I think the phrase above, “on a lighter note….” kind of gives it away dont you think?

# rhymer 2012-02-14 17:13
Quoting The_Duke:
Wooow! it was tongue and cheek!

Yup.
But who’s tongue and who’s cheek ?

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 20:54
och! No! The thing is she can be both. I’m a great fan of Carl Kirkwood, she has two fetching qualities,

a nice smile and a catching giggle

# tartanfever 2012-02-13 20:24
Cat ‘ huvnae a scooby’ is just rubbish, She’s a kids tv presenter. Why not stick to the people who are actually trained meteorologists to present the weather – Christopher, Stav and Gail McGrane if she returns after childbirth.

Get rid of that failed opera singer to.

# Albalha 2012-02-13 20:28
Absolutely @tartanfever, you’ve hit the nail on the head.

# The_Duke 2012-02-13 20:37
You guys need to relax and get out more…. it was nothing more than a light hearted aside that she was easy on the eye. It doesn’t need to be so serious…We can be jovial from time to time….. I will think in future about commenting!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 20:55
Naaaah! Jist let rip.

# uilleam_beag 2012-02-13 21:04
Gie’s John Kettley ony dae..

(and so is Michael Fish)

# igster999 2012-02-14 07:47
Quoting uilleam_beag:
Gie’s John Kettley ony dae..

(and so is Michael Fish)

Is that a different Kettley Fish? Ouch!

# derek 2012-02-13 20:01
Lets hope that the SFA use this as a positive to merge the first and premier divisions plus a ruling of no more than 2 foreign players per team, give the game back to the working-class and make it more affordable to attend and lets create world class Scottish players once again.

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-02-13 20:01
Aye and pigs will fly …..

# derek 2012-02-13 20:07
No fly’s on the “Lawman” “Bremner” “Hay”
“Stein” “Deans” “Souness” “Dalglish” “Johnstone” (twice Willie and Jimmy) “Baxter”

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 21:05
Nane on Smith, Jonestone, Reily, Turnbull and Ormand either. And back then there were a lot of teams in with a shout. In point of fact all that makes the difference today is that the (now not so), big two have large squads with internationalis  ts sitting on the bench and in the second string. Come the second part of a season and they are running away with it. Anyway, thats o/t.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 20:59
The thing about ay game, team or otherwise, that makes it exciting, is that the opponents are evenly matched. Go watch two, well matched teams in the schoolyard and you will see a better game than Glasgow Rangers Vs Invertottie Howkers.

# weegie38 2012-02-13 20:01
Everywhere you look, the Unionists are in retreat these days…

# alexmc8275 2012-02-13 20:13
Don’t know what the guy Whyte stands to gain from it all . No getting away from it that sir David and the last board are to blame for it all.

# Albalha 2012-02-13 20:32
Well given his history of being involved in companies that went into administration if it goes belly up he’s fine as he is the largest creditor. He only paid £1 to buy it.

# Jim1320 2012-02-13 20:15
We live in interesting times. With citadels crumbling perhaps there has never been a better time to persuade people of the merits of a different future.

# oldnat 2012-02-13 20:16
Channel 4 News coverage of this was interesting. Lots of shots of Union Flags being associated with failure and collapse.

# UpSpake 2012-02-13 20:20
Is Rangers, a union flag waving metaphor for a failing union ?. Should we be asking for the UK to be put into administration ?.

# Jim1320 2012-02-13 20:24
It will certainly shake a shibboleth or two (to nick a phrase from Donald)

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 21:06
And quite a bit to be made from the assets.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 21:07
It isn’t too far fetched. After all we have Greece already in administration.

# rhymer 2012-02-14 17:16
Quoting Jim1320:
It will certainly shake a shibboleth or two (to nick a phrase from Donald)

I don’t think you are allowed to shake your shibboleths in public.
(I believe it is a reserved matter)

# highlander 2012-02-13 20:21
In two minds about this.

As a kid I supported Rangers and still occasionally peak at the results but no more than that so naturally I wouldn’t wish this upon them.

However, should the club disappear then the hate the old firm perpetuates will struggle to survive which would be a good thing especially if we start afresh as a nation in the coming years.

The sad fact is that the natural football rivalry that appears in every major city has in the Old Firm’s case kept alive religious bigotry which in this day and age is shameful.

It does look like Whyte will leave with more assets than he had before he came. Read into that what you will.

# Macart 2012-02-13 21:26
Same here highlander. I heard one fellow on the news say Rangers were bigger than this, it shouldn’t be happening. It totally flew over his head that Rangers are a business and no business is so big it can’t go bust. Financial mismanagement is no hostage to tradition and at the end of the day Rangers is just another failed business pulled down by poor finacial management.

# derek 2012-02-13 20:22
Upspake, Bill Shankly would have probably told you that Football was more important than that.

# oldnat 2012-02-13 20:28
Putting aside my normal prejudice as an Aberdeen supporter(!) this is a very sad story.

Football teams are important to many, many people. That their teams can be brought low by financial mismanagement and overweening ambition to conquer the world is a pretty good metaphor for how the different peoples of these islands have been let down so badly by the governments of the UK.

# derek 2012-02-13 20:41
A Loon in the West Coast? LoL!

May the social being of comrades gather together and play the greatest game too ever grace the field of humanity. “Socialist Sport” they think it’s all over?
I hope it’s redefining it’s roots!!!!!!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 21:11
Nah! The sad thing is that there are teams the length and breadth of Scotland in the toils. The football administration lost the plot many years ago. In this case the rot starts at the top and works its way down.

# rhymer 2012-02-14 17:19
Quoting Auld Bob:
Nah! The sad thing is that there are teams the length and breadth of Scotland in the toils. The football administration lost the plot many years ago. In this case the rot starts at the top and works its way down.

Yup. I was a Third Lanark supporter.
I gave up watching football after they folded.

# manxbhoy 2012-02-14 17:25
Quoting rhymer:
Quoting Auld Bob:

Yup. I was a Third Lanark supporter.
I gave up watching football after they folded.

YEP, another great club brought down by an incompetent boardroom…cmon ra HIHI

# peter,aberdeenshire 2012-02-13 22:19
Oh dear oldnat I feel your pain I remember going out in my car when Aberdeen won the Cup winners cup as I could not stand the tension!!
It does seem that Glasgow is having tough time of it right now, the council in meltdown and one of the old firm in this position but maybe just maybe it will make some people consider an alternative reality..

# RTP 2012-02-13 20:37
No really a supporter of any one football team I only hope that supporters of the many other teams don’t take any joy out of what is happening to one of Scotland’s main clubs.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 21:12
Fond hope! You obviously don’t know them well.

# Wee-Scamp 2012-02-13 20:47
I’ve never been a football supporter and I view the “old firm” rivalry as tribal nonsense and the behaviour of many of its fans as frankly disgusting.

I would therefore suggest it would be no bad thing for Glasgow if Rangers disappeared off the face of the planet. In fact I’m sure there are dozens of wives and girlfriends who are keeping their fingers crossed that this is exactly what will happen.

Every cloud etc.

# derek 2012-02-13 20:54
And I ‘ll remind you that the first team to beat the English world cup football champions were Scotland (wembley wizards 1967) where one Slim Jim Baxter took the mickey oot of Alan Ball so much that Ball starting to cry…..the beautiful game raised so many smiles on that day!!!!!!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 21:15
Aye! I was there. That wee clip of Jim playing keepie uppie with Ball unable to lay a boot on him will never fade.

# Wee-Scamp 2012-02-13 21:46
And as I understand Scotland has been living on that memory ever since whilst our economy has been going steadily down the pan.

# clootie 2012-02-13 20:51
I don’t care!

# BillCo 2012-02-13 21:01
Shockeroony!

The bastion of west coast Unionism is on the brink of meltdown. Is this a portent of the demise of the Union akin to the ravens deserting the Tower of London or the barbery apes deserting the Rock of Gibraltar?

Would ye believe it? Watch this space.

# derek 2012-02-13 21:16
BillCo LoL! where’s all the birds!!

If Rangers go so will Scottish football.

Here’s a later real character entertaining
in an other-way, Jinky would have said, there’s no Celtic without Rangers.

www.youtube.com/…/

# BillCo 2012-02-13 21:24
Thanks for that Derek.

Although I’m a Hearts man, wee Jinky was one of my all time favourites. I’ll never forget being at Hampden Park along with 137,499 others watching the wee man destroy the great Leeds United in the European Cup semi-final 1970.

# derek 2012-02-13 21:28
Brilliant BillCo, Wee Jinky didn’t make the much oot of football, Jimmy landed a job with Keane Gas works and graced many a local pubs with his tales and talent, a legend who played the game for the jersey.

# enneffess 2012-02-13 21:03
Why the BBC bashing?

Rangers are under investigation for alleged tax avoidance of millions of pounds, and revelations about Craig Whyte were published long before the BBC’s investigation.

Glasgow CC is an important story, but as someone has already pointed out, all talk is about Rangers going into administration.

Or are some people unable to accept that the BBC has actually been carrying out what it is supposed to – investigate and report.

There is plenty of time to deal with what has happened to the Glasgow Labour group.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-13 21:13
Quoting enneffess:
Why the BBC bashing?

I think it’s the sheer quantity of Ranger’s bashing stories that have been coming out of BBC Scotland. If Craig Whyte had looked sideways at an old lady, they would have run with it as the lead story.

# mato21 2012-02-13 21:13
The moment has passed for any meaningfull comment on the labour group

To give over almost all of the small amount of time the BBC allots to the Scottish news of the day to 8mins is a disgrace We are not all even remotely interested in the shenanigings of a football club

# Auld Bob 2012-02-13 21:23
If you want the real sad stort it is that the Scottish? TV companies helped kill Scottish football. What other country would put up with only getting the next door neighbour’s football teams on their screens on the Saturday night? What other country would have to click through reams of teletext to find their countrie’s football scores. Alba is the only one to actually show Scottish football. Even the radio is a disgrace – that rabble on Saturday afternoons with everone talking at once while the only gam feature with commentry is either Rangers or Celtic tells you the real story.

# alexmc8275 2012-02-13 21:47
A wee bit unfair on the radio side auld bob, you get live coverage of every SPL game online at BBC sport Scotland online, you are 100% on the mark about the TV thing though.

# Chateaulait 57 2012-02-14 00:08
Quite right Auld Bob, also Scotland must be the only country in Europe who don’t get to see their own teams in the Champions League live on the telly (that was when our teams actually made the Champions League).

# Albalha 2012-02-13 21:25
@enneffess Hear, hear and as I’ve said GMS did do an interview with Cllr Morrison who is leading the breakaway, haven’t heard him anywhere else. Like it or not a large football club facing administration with a wide support well beyond Scottish borders is newsworthy.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-13 22:37
The old firm have been ‘purchasing’ league titles since the 80’s…. Is it only me that sees that a sport, which has only 2 possible winners of an annual competition forever, cannot possibly be sustainable? (OK.. I forgot about the Oxford v C’Bridge boat race, but at least they only ever have 2 entries into the tournament).

The sad truth is that both Old Firm teams decided long ago that their fans cannot accept defeat and to come second to their city rivals… At all and any costs!!!

I see it in the same terms as the housing bubble.

The greed of the Old Firm has been destroying Scottish Football for decades. If we had witnessed many different teams enjoying periods of success over the last 20 years, rather than just two teams (and both from the same city), then Scottish Football would be immeasurably better than the poor product it is at present….. and it’s only going to degradate further from what I can see.

The Old Firms gluttony at the trough of Scottish Football will result in a bubble burst, which just like the bankers, will be no fault but their own!

# D_A_N 2012-02-13 23:43
Come on now.. Sport is about competition and winning.. You think the old firm should let other teams win every now and again to make it fair? I don’t think so… Of course Rangers shouldn’t have got into the state they are in but Celtic’s finances have been okay as far as I’m aware.

There’s also more money and supporters of the Glasgow teams.. Although I agree that I would rather more teams doing well rather than a two horse race your argument of it being the teams own fault for being too competitive is pretty silly. It’s more down to the TV coverage amongst other things.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-14 00:15
Quoting D_A_N:
Come on now.. Sport is about competition and winning.. You think the old firm should let other teams win every now and again to make it fair?

They don’t have to let other people win, but they could take a slightly more relaxed approach to occasionally not winning that means they don’t end up going into administration because they’ve had to fiddle their taxes to pay the stupid wages of mediocre players.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-14 01:08
quote: ” Rangers shouldn’t have got into the state they are in but Celtic’s finances have been okay as far as I’m aware.”

Such a short memory you have D_A_N…. Celtic were only 24 hours away from administration only 18 years ago in 1994, when Fergus McCann jumped in at the eleventh hour to save their skins!

talkceltic.net/…/…

thecelticwiki.com/…/…

# derek 2012-02-13 23:51
Hmmm! you might be on to something????? how can an institution like Glasgow Rangers appoint such a dubious director like Mr Whyte? is it possible that at the last gasp some other fabulous rich persons enters the scene and low and behold the union bearing standard is raised with hype. Is there a hidden agenda????????

# Robabody 2012-02-14 00:46
Quite right Alba4eva – it’s very annoying when England always win the boat race!

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-14 01:28
Aye, and the Yanks have got a flamin’ monopoly on that World Series an-aw! *;0)

# oldnat 2012-02-14 01:43
I used to scoff at that as well, till my son in the USA told me that it was actually named for a newspaper called “The World” that was the original sponsor.

Though I also understand that lots of folk over there also think that it means that it applies to the whole of the Earth!

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-14 02:22
Urban myth, I’m afraid. It really was considered a world championship.

snopes.com/…/worldseries.asp

# oldnat 2012-02-14 02:35
Damn!

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-14 08:23
They call the Superbowl winners the world champions too.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-14 02:18
Quoting Alba4Eva:
Aye, and the Yanks have got a flamin’ monopoly on that World Series an-aw! *;0)

Toronto Bluejays 92 and 93.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-14 08:25
Still in North America. *;09

# Early Ball 2012-02-13 22:47
When Rangers won nine in a row Aberdeen were second in five of those seasons.

Only fair Aberdeen are awarded those titles!

# derek 2012-02-13 22:49
Fit kind o’ Doric nonsense is that? LoL!

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-13 22:58
Dons are no better… if we had any sense, we would have booted that greedy useless, no imagination’ so n so Milne oot years ago! *;09

…and yes, I do see the hypocrisy between my last two posts… but hey, thats fitty eh? *;0)

# Roll_On_2011 2012-02-13 23:17
OT

‘Progress’ made in referendum talks, says Alex Salmond

independent.co.uk/…/…

Alex Salmond said “modest progress” has been made in talks with the Scottish Secretary about the independence referendum.

The Scottish First Minister discussed how a vote could be staged when he met Michael Moore in Edinburgh this morning.

Afterwards, Mr Salmond said there were still two key issues of disagreement between his Scottish National Party (SNP) administration and Westminster.

# oldnat 2012-02-13 23:27
That SLab are wholly irrelevant in this process was confirmed by Lamont’s comments at the end of that article.

# Bonx 2012-02-14 00:01
Looks like all the old traditional mainstays of Scottish society are falling away one by one…Labour…Rangers…whatever next. It will be interesting to see what will take their place.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-14 00:17
A glorious, independent, social democratic, industrial powerhouse of a country.

# derek 2012-02-14 00:18
Bonx, Who will step in to save Glasgow Rangers?????? draw it down as low as it can go then a spring loaded bounce occur’s?? could it be Blair with his millions and a saving of the union hidden clause??? LoL, It’s all a bit over played by the dramatic newsnight?????

# cokynutjoe 2012-02-14 00:26
Donald Trump?

# derek 2012-02-14 00:28
You may be closer than you’ll ever know????

# oldnat 2012-02-14 00:36
Can you see the Cathkin Braes windmills from Ibrox?

# rhymer 2012-02-14 17:35
Quoting oldnat:
Can you see the Cathkin Braes windmills from Ibrox?

Eh ?
There are no windmills on Cathkin Braes.

# oldnat 2012-02-14 18:20

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-14 01:35
That just flooded my brain with jokes that would be modded off of here in lightening speed! LOL *;0)

# derek 2012-02-14 00:40
LoL! if you can they’ll be removed????

Aint business so strange?????

# J Wil 2012-02-14 00:49
It was quite surprising that Murray come out to criticise Whyte because of the lack of info coming out from Rangers. You would have thought that he would have wanted to keep well away from sticking his nose in, considering it was on his watch that the tax bill was run up.

# Hing em high 2012-02-14 02:32
I noted that certain sections of the Brit Nat press and media could not contain thier glee at this news! They have and will use it to Scot bash. None of us should welcome this development.I am not a Rangers supporter and I take no joy at what is happenning there.

# oldnat 2012-02-14 02:56
It seems that a number of English clubs have been using the same device as Rangers, and HMRC are pursuing them as well. The narrative may well change!

# J Wil 2012-02-14 12:01
They were saying on the news this morning that the tax office gets a hard time from football clubs in general and for that reason they will pursue Rangers to get the last penny.

# Angus 2012-02-14 07:00
Being an Aberdeen fan, all I can say is, it couldnt happen to a nicer team!

# Des58 2012-02-14 08:39
No great pleasure out of this but have often though top tier football was on borrowed time both north and south of the border.
Thank goodness for the Highland League and reality football.

# fairliered 2012-02-14 08:53
Glasgow Rangers – a failing organisation and an embarrassment to Scotland.

Glasgow Labour – ……………

# fairliered 2012-02-14 08:56
Good to see so many fellow Aberdeen supporters on here!

Who will be the first unionist to tell the First Eck that it is his responsibility to save Glasgow Rangers?

The BBC are desperately waiting to interview them.

# chiefy1724 2012-02-14 09:55
Quoting fairliered:
Good to see so many fellow Aberdeen supporters on here!

Well, Pittodrie gets SO full at weekends that there just HAS to be an overspill SOMEWHERE ;}

Personally, I think that Rangers and Celtic should both be immediately relegated and that any teams from (picking a city purely at random)Edinburg  h on (picking a figure purely at random) 19 Points should be Immediately awarded the place in the Fifteenth Qualifying round of the Champion’s League next season.

You’ll never guess what the subject is on Call Kay with an E (not featuring I note with interest the Fragrant Kirsty “Cut me and I bleed Union Flag” Wark this morning….)

# neepcruncher 2012-02-14 10:19
this has been on the cards for rangers since the souness/murray revelution,howe  ver to all those that are saying that this will damage scottish football,please mind that for quite some time both rangers and celtic would slope off to the english league at the drop of a hat,so i have little sympathy for them,althogh the economic armageddon that will hit the big clubs in england in a few years will be ajoy to watch,,,,,ps im yet another dons fan…(leighton kennedy mcmaster rougvie mcliesh miller strachan simpson mcghee black weir aaaah now those were the days)

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-14 11:13
Just how many Aberdeen fans are on here… I thought I was the only one 🙂

# alexmc8275 2012-02-14 11:29
Just a wee note of caution to some of the posters on this subject. Whatever your feelings on this, remember that Rangers have a massive fan base in Scotland and we all know that these are the people who we are meant to be trying to convince of the merits of independence. If I was undecided about it and stumbled across this I think it would perhaps alienate me from our cause. Also remember that to some families, Ibrox is also a place of rememberance to myself and others who lost family at one of the two disasters to happen there. So as much as we know Rangers have been badly mismanaged, please have some respect for the people who go and touch a name on the john Grieg statue on a Saturday as a poignant reminder of the past. Thank you.

# manxbhoy 2012-02-14 17:04
Quoting alexmc8275:
Just a wee note of caution to some of the posters on this subject. Whatever your feelings on this, remember that Rangers have a massive fan base in Scotland and we all know that these are the people who we are meant to be trying to convince of the merits of independence. If I was undecided about it and stumbled across this I think it would perhaps alienate me from our cause. Also remember that to some families, Ibrox is also a place of rememberance to myself and others who lost family at one of the two disasters to happen there. So as much as we know Rangers have been badly mismanaged, please have some respect for the people who go and touch a name on the john Grieg statue on a Saturday as a poignant reminder of the past. Thank you.

well said Alex, as a scot first and a celtic fan second I find it churlish in the least that some of my fellow glaswegians greet this news with unbridled glee. For pity’s sake FORGET your tribal loyalties and try and empathise with felow scots who are now staring redundancy in the face. Ok it seems this club has been poorly managed at boardroom level for a number of years but the wee wummin in the canteen, laundry…whatever dont deserve to have their genuine fears trampled on by inconsiderate comments on here or anywhere else.
And while i’m on the subject of old firm rivalry, as a shareholder at parkhead I would be ashamed if ANY employee of my club tried to comment on events at Ibrox. Bluntly speaking its none of OUR business.

# Angus 2012-02-14 11:33
Jings, we should start our own NNS Aberdeen FC supporters club.

Rangers are often detested in the East coast sorry to say that to any Rangers supporters here, but it is the carrying of a Union flag which brings down a red mist in the North and east of Scotland.
The auld firm, one English team and one Irish team, wtf!

# cokynutjoe 2012-02-14 12:22
I think you’ll find that both Rangers & Celtic draw their support from Lerwick to Berwick on the east coast. That includes Aberdeen.
Is this just because local teams have a deficit in the silverware department?

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-14 14:23
Hey! I’m from Glasgow. I’ve never lived in Aberdeen, no family ties to there… I’m Just an 1980’s Glory Hunter Glaswegian Aberdeen Fan :o)

# rhymer 2012-02-14 17:39
Quoting Angus:
Jings, we should start our own NNS Aberdeen it is the carrying of a Union flag which brings down a red mist in the North and east of Scotland. The auld firm, one English team and one Irish team, wtf!

True. I could never understand the union jack/Irish flag bit.

# BillCo 2012-02-14 12:10
How many titles and cups have Rangers bought at the expense of money ‘diverted’ from HMRC? Surely the SPL should be carrying out an investigation? LOL!

# Shug MacTamson 2012-02-14 13:01
I am told there were more Rangers supporters outside Ibrox protesting about the signing of Maurice Johnstone than there were yesterday when this latest news broke. If true, then that says it all about this “institution”.
I regret the inevitable loss of jobs for those working in and around the stadium on match days. I regret the inevitable disappearance of honest principled opposition (where have we heard that before?) to Celtic. I acknowledge that in the long run, there will be negative consequences for all of Scottish football. But if if it only plays a small part in helping to rid Scotland of the cancer of Protestant superiority, and misplaced triumphalism and bigotry then it will all be worthwhile.
In short seeing seeing greeting, torn-faced Union flag bedecked numpties bemoaning their fate makes me happy, as it should any progressive thinking Scot. Now once this mob are gone, can we get on with getting rid of separate schools and finish the job?

# chiefy1724 2012-02-14 13:23
Now once this mob are gone, can we get on with getting rid of separate schools and finish the job?

Absolutely ! Should be on the agenda Today, Now, never mind CTGD

# flyingscotsman 2012-02-14 15:02
Quoting Shug MacTamson:
But if if it only plays a small part in helping to rid Scotland of the cancer of Protestant superiority, and misplaced triumphalism and bigotry then it will all be worthwhile.

Combined with

Quote:
In short seeing seeing greeting, torn-faced Union flag bedecked numpties bemoaning their fate makes me happy, as it should any progressive thinking Scot.

Complaining about bigotry and superiority while having an attitude of bigotry and superiority, wonderful, is this what becomes of this site when football is discussed here.

Im not a Rangers fan but I know a few who are just ordinary people supporting a team and I find these comments quite offensive.

# Seagetagrip 2012-02-14 15:24
FlyingScotsman

I quite agree and am surprised that the derogatory remark was not moderated.
I am not a Rangers supporter but sympathise with the position that the managers of the Club have placed them.
Also, I know that more than a few are sympathetic to the cause of Scottish Independence.
It was also unhelpful for the Celtic management to make self centred remarks on their rivals plight.

# flyingscotsman 2012-02-14 16:00
To be honest I was not really following the story as I have little interest in it. I come to this site to view fresh ideas and positive attitudes to being a Scot.

But some people need to take a good look at themselves. They look at the team and thats all they see yet dont look as far as seeing the effect that might have on local business, local people and I just despair.

# thomsor 2012-02-14 16:10
What strikes me about this incident and with the other clubs that have gone into administration is Why were HMRC allowing these clubs to avoid paying tax for so long? I did realise that HMRC were not up to much but this is gross incompetence. When I got a demand for £109.00 underpaid tax last year they did not say to me its ok you can pay it in 5 years time. I forgot we ARE NOT ALL IN IT TOGETHER.

# john__ 2012-02-14 16:16
Administration is more than looming. It is now a fact!

John

ps. I think that Scottish football can survive this. As a Partick thistle supporter, I know what it’s like to have your club go close to the edge. But it has ben on the cards. Rangers (and Hearts) fans have been living in LaLa land for a while….

# drumsmudden 2012-02-17 15:09
Another of Whytes business ventures is in trouble to the tune of £8.8 million owed to investors.
Whilst having no sympathy with investors whose primary motive is usually pure greed I hate to see the wide boys getting of scot free or as we say in these parts “failling with the full hand” and laughing all the way to the bank.
Another example of poor regulation by the Westminster government.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments