Banner

Media tycoon Rupert Murdoch has given what appears to be support for Scottish independence after he tweeted that Scotland should be allowed to go and compete.

Mr Murdoch, who owns SKY TV and several newspaper titles tweeted “Let Scotland go and compete. Everyone would win”

The apparent support from one of the most powerful men on the planet would be seen as a huge boost to the campaign for Scottish independence.

The tweet follows another in which Mr Murdoch praised First Minister Alex Salmond, describing him as the best politician in Britain.

The tweets also coincide with the announcement of a new Sunday newspaper as a replacement for the News of the World which was closed down by Mr Murdoch’s company following the phone hacking scandal.

Comments  

# Sleekit 2012-02-21 07:43
LOVE IT!!!!

Now we just have to convince him to get the SUN to give us a fair hearing (340,000 readership in Scotland).

I dont want to see a pro SNP Tabloid, BUT I do want to see an unbiased asessment that gives room to the pro-independence point of view.

This could be quite interesting!

# Angus 2012-02-21 07:59
The unionists are now saying Murdoch is corrupt, aye, and they unionists arent?
So how long has Labservative been in bed with them, and throughout the phone hacking scandal?

# European 2012-02-21 08:00
If Mr. Murdoch intends following his tweets up with support from any of his newspapers, this is potentially an important development. For one thing, it offers the Scottish Government the possibility of a friendly/neutral media outlet (say, The Sun) to get the independence message across to a broader audience. And it is someone of public stature that the mainstream Scottish media dare not simply ignore.

Thought: I wonder if Keith Rupert Murdoch, coming from Scottish stock, as he enters his twilight years sees an opportunity to help his Aberdeenshire grandfather’s old country gain its independence. Far-fetched? Well, stranger things have happened …

# J Wil 2012-02-21 08:29
We are seeing what is happening with a certain American and a golf course. He is dictating terms to the SG.

# European 2012-02-21 08:53
He’s trying to dictate terms. But I think there’s a lot of bluster on Donald’s part …

# rhymer 2012-02-21 15:01
Quoting J Wil:
We are seeing what is happening with a certain American and a golf course. He is dictating terms to the SG.

We are lucky he is trying to do that.
Having Trump as an enemy means more popularity for Eck.
(with friends like Trump, echo needs enemas)

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-21 15:10
J.Wil, he may be trying but he aint having much success at the moment from what I can see.

# SHANGHAI SCOT 2012-02-21 08:09
Perhaps in 2014, headline in the Sun..Its the Sun that won it…

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-21 15:07
To be perfectly honest Shanghai I don’t really care. Just so long as we win in 2014.

# gus1940 2012-02-21 08:45
See if he will publish The A-Z of Myths.

# UpSpake 2012-02-21 08:46
Pretty much anything London based is going to display an inner M25 mindset. That goes for the Sun and Sky. THe Sun might support Salmond but they just don’t get Scotland. THat goes for Sky as well.

# clootie 2012-02-21 08:54
What about the BBC – do they get Scotland?

I’d rather trust the Sun and Sky before the BBC – what does that tell you.

In Scotland we don’t have a mainstream media format which is not controlled from London.

# art1001 2012-02-21 08:59
What about NI setting up Sky Scotland using Scottish journalists and media talent. That would be huge for us and a real engine for feeding content to the 40Million diaspora across the world.

# Macart 2012-02-21 09:19
Whilst I agree with Mr Murdoch’s sentiments, I’d keep an eye out for that white Persian cat he keeps hidden from view. Rupert’s empire has supported many parties right up until he doesn’t need them anymore.

I’d rather rely on new media to get the job done.

# Stevie Cosmic 2012-02-21 09:32
This is the same newspaper that, in a complete u-turn on a decade long policy of notional support for the SNP, printed a front page with a noose around Scotland next to the SNP logo on the day of the 2007 Scottish elections?

If people think that the Tories are untrustworthy after the 79 referendum and the ‘jam tomorrow’ promise, what of Murdoch and his stance in 2007?

Murdoch’s support is to be treated with extreme caution. If they truly support the cause, then they will spend the next 2 years dispelling the unionist myths in such a way that no last minute u-turn could possibly prevent a YES vote from prevailing.

# cokynutjoe 2012-02-21 10:38
Better inside the tent pissing out!

# jafurn 2012-02-21 11:08
What is there to lose from / if the sun,say, was to present a fairer picture then more people get to see the nonsense from the MSM and if they don’t then we are just where we are now .

# Alba4ever 2012-02-21 11:11
I think Sleekit is confusing sales and readership in his/her original post.

If the Sun sells 340,000 copies in Scotland, actual readership will probably be nearer the one million mark on the basis that every copy is likely to be read or at least seen by an average of nearly three people.

This is particularly true of tabloids, which may be found lying around works canteens, pubs, betting shops etc. So Rupert Murdoch’s apparent support for the nationalist cause could prove to be very important indeed.

# jafurn 2012-02-21 11:17
Absolutely I never buy the sun but I do read it when i find it on a bus/train or anywhere else although I have to admit i usualy only scan the headlines however if I saw one that said anything positive about Scotland then i would read it.

# zeldomzeen 2012-02-21 11:12
Makes you wonder what the old devil is up to. Whatever it is, any advantage to Scotland will be purely incidental.
Steve Cosmic(above) is right to remember the 2007 Sun’s complete U turn on support for independence! Maybe Murdoch just sees the referendum as a surefire opportunity to stir up readers passions. A cynical tabloid operator would see a clear advantage in ratcheting up as much antagonism as possible.

# Dundonian West 2012-02-21 11:26
A couple of nights ago,I dreamt this may happen. Honest.
Anyway,this is the BBC link:-
bbc.co.uk/…/…

It would be fantastic if it gave an accurate,unbias  ed account of Scottish politics.I WOULD BUY IT.
Scottish Sunday Sun may undertake some badly needed Scottish political investigative journalism.
Mr Murdoch—there’s a whole country waiting for a truthful Sunday paper.

# jafurn 2012-02-21 21:32
Dundonian West
Mr Murdoch—there’s a whole country waiting for a truthful Sunday paper.

So true and wouldn’t that be something.

# Angus 2012-02-21 12:26
Quoting gus1940:
See if he will publish The A-Z of Myths.

Aye, maybe NNS should forward this article by Paul Kavanagh to mr Murdoch?

# Lamplighter 2012-02-21 12:36
If anyone, even for an instant, thinks that Murdoch supports anyone or anything other than himself and his interests – then they must be deluded!

Having Murdoch on your side is rather like ‘having the Prime Minister’s full support’. It doesn’t mean anything good. BEWARE!

# Talorcan 2012-02-21 12:43
Murdoch’s latest support for Alex Salmond reminds me of the story of the fox and the scorpion. The scorpion asks the fox to take it on its back across a river and promises not to sting the fox. Half way across the scorpion DOES sting the fox and the fox says ”Why did you do that?”
The scorpion answers, ”Because I’m a scorpion; it’s what I do”.
Watch out SNP.

# Jim1320 2012-02-21 13:48
Who knows what prompted Mr Murdoch’s comments

1) Genuine belief that it would be good for Scotland and the rest of the UK?

2) He thinks that the Conservatives would be able to achieve more in England if Scotland left

3) Revenge on Westminster for what he might view as a witch hunt aginst his papers

It might be a bit of all three

Support that should be treated with caution in my opinion but if it draws the barb of one major media outlet from the body of the SNP then it can only help the pro-independence cause.

I would imagine his editorial teams will view his comments and weigh them up carefully. It will be interesting to see where this goes.

# J Wil 2012-02-21 16:38
“Who knows what prompted Mr Murdoch’s comments”

Could he be testing the waters to see how much influence he still has in the UK, starting first with Scotland?

As far as I could see, no mention of Murdoch’s comment in the Daily Retard.

# jafurn 2012-02-21 21:35
J Wil
As far as I could see, no mention of Murdoch’s comment in the Daily Retard

Yes but you have to remember it was an insightful and sensible comment (and yes I remember who said it) …why would it be in the record

# J Wil 2012-02-21 21:41
The Record, which can do twenty pages on the Rangers saga in one edition and umpteen pages of SNP bashing in another, nae bother, but stuck for words on this one.

# Hing em high 2012-02-21 17:13
The BBC has already applied an anti Independence spin to it.

I have no love for Murdoch who is the anti Christ as far as I am concerned but the BBC is actually worse!

# scottish_skier 2012-02-21 14:45
This is just most likely just about selling papers. Newspaper decline is twice the rate in Scotland compared to the rUK. The Sun bucked the trend until the 2007 noose anti-SNP cover then it went into collapse too. Mr Murdoch is not a stupid man, if the Sun goes indy leaning, it will potentially sell a lot more papers. That’s what this is and it should be given a cautious welcome.

In the end, if this happened, and it helped get the message across to the less internet-savy, paper reading folk, then that should be a good thing.

I might also go so far as to suspect Mr Murdoch admires AS/the SNP because they can’t be bought/twisted around his little finger.

# Zed 2012-02-21 14:54
Let’s face it, the battle is on for the “don’t know” “fence sitters” and those apathetic to anything political, but will probably still cast a vote.
These are the people who will be influenced by reading the Sun.
Murdoch shouldn’t be seen as a friend either of the SNP or Scotland, but the backing of the most read newspaper in Scotland, and the backing of one of the most powerful men on the planet, could just get us over the finishing line.

It wasn’t that long ago PM’s and Westminster politicians were falling over themselves to get to one of Murdochs parties. He and his newspaper empire are still very powerful make no mistake.
Independence won’t be decided on the content of his newspapers alone, but they could determine where a lot of precious votes go…

# Louperdowg 2012-02-21 17:38
I heard some Professor (Mitchell?) on Newsdrive saying that he didn’t think that it would make much difference to the readers of the Sun but that it might set the mood in a newsagents so that, and I quote, “the idea of Independence might not seem so absurd”.

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-21 17:42
And that Louper, is what it is all about I think.

Once the doubters realise that Independence is not so absurd then I believe we will have won the day!

# Louperdowg 2012-02-21 17:46
Its as absurd as letting another country run your affairs whilst denigrating everything you do or say.

As you say, though, we will win the day!

# rhymer 2012-02-21 15:08
The Sun supporting the SNP and a new pro-independence columnist in the Record.. Wow!

All we need now is an exorcism at the Scotsman and a wooden stake through the heart of the Beeb and then things might become fairer in the Scottish media

# Hing em high 2012-02-21 17:09
I dont think the stake is sufficient for the BBC. It also requires Holy Water and salt and then burning the remains totally. Okay so it might be overkill but then the evil runs deep.

# manxbhoy 2012-02-21 15:27
wonder if murdoch’s outlets will start printing the truth and helping nail a typical unionist lie as bellow:

local.stv.tv/…/…

# scottish_skier 2012-02-21 15:34
Excellent. That’s me in a job until my retirement!

😉

Of course those that work in the industry (like myself) know this fine well. Would make for a nice wee Norway-style nest egg anyway.

# Dundonian West 2012-02-21 15:39
Quoting manxbhoy:
wonder if murdoch’s outlets will start printing the truth and helping nail a typical unionist lie as bellow:

local.stv.tv/…/…

I posted this link early afternoon,and it was ignored. What’s happening?
Am I persona non grata?

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-21 15:45
Great news for Scotland.

What I think is even more important is the fact, I read it elsewhere can’t remember where, that the oil industry always tends to underestimate its worth. So if they are saying there is still oil worth £1 Billion to be “recovered” then I’m sure a lot more than £1 Billion will actually be “recovered.”

What a nice little nail to hammer into the unionist’s coffin….We have another 50 years of oil na na na na na! 😀

Mind you knowing this it might force the unionists to fight even harder to try and keep hold of Scotland.

# scottish_skier 2012-02-21 16:14
It does not make sense for an oil company to reveal the full extent of its reserves. Better to show just more conservative/lower ‘decent’ figures to make your shareholders happy, while keeping quiet about true reserves lest a public schoolboy with experience in towel refolding make a tax cash grab.

# manxbhoy 2012-02-21 16:20
yep it is good news. i was thinking more though of wondering if murdoch’s outlets would help counter the p**h assertions noted below :

scotsman.com/…/…

where dae they get these wannabe numpties from?

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-21 16:27
I agree with your comment S.S. I just wanted to point out that we should not take the figures quoted as absolute, unlike our “friends” the unionists who will. There again do any of them have an economics background or even a basic understanding of economics. I very much doubt it!

# J Wil 2012-02-21 16:42
Since Iran announced its quid pro quo for sanctions against it will be to cut off oil sales to the UK and the USA. North Sea oil will have even more strategic importance.

# IXL 2012-02-21 17:37
Quoting Arbroath1320:
So if they are saying there is still oil worth £1 Billion to be “recovered” then I’m sure a lot more than £1 Billion will actually be “recovered.”

A-1320 – do you appreciate the difference between One Billion and One Trillion ? (Since that is the figure actually referred to by AS)
If we were only talking in terms of a few Billions we would hardly pay one year’s health bill !

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-21 17:40
Aw hell!

What’s a typo between friends? 😀

you are friendly, aren’t you? 😀

# jafurn 2012-02-21 21:38
you do know that’s a thousand apologies… I hope….

# xyz 2012-02-21 21:23
trillion 🙂

# jafurn 2012-02-22 10:26
I meant the difference between a trillion and a billion is times 1000

# Dundonian West 2012-02-21 15:59
Another source on same subject.
guardian.co.uk/…/…

# Dances With Haggis 1320 2012-02-21 17:27
Most likely he is warning the UK govt that he will support independence in the hope that Westinster takes the pressure off his News Corp. Remember you lie down with dogs you get fleas and Murdoch is very lousey.
Who is the pro-independence colomnist at the Daily Record??..first i have heard about it. I have been listening to George Galloway’s recordings on youtube and they sadden me sice i always defended G.G when the right wing attacked him, the rubbish he is spouting against indepence is almost a crime against jouralism. How can somone from the left support a strong imperialist british state with nuke weapons. Support for Scots Independence is an Internationalis  t stance which would mean that the British state would be weakened enough that it cant go around the world bombing, invading and terrorising workers with nukes. George in his stand against nationalism seems not to have grasped this and he has not grasped that he is a British Nationalist supporting imperialism and nuke weapons He has lost all Socialist cred and should stick to duscussing fitba’ and being a pantomime pussy….sooooo sad

# Dances With Haggis 1320 2012-02-21 17:34
Ah! Joan McAlpine, I just found out

# IXL 2012-02-21 17:56
George Galloway is, always has been, and always will be nothing more than a BIG MOUTH.
He is only interested in advancing his own cause – everything else takes second place.
I well remember as a student in the early 1970s being appalled at reading how much he earned as Head of War On Want (> £40K and that was in 1970s money !) My reaction then was that he was ensuring that HE wouldn’t WANT for anything, and his behaviour since has only served to reinforce my view.
It was an absolute delight to hear that he had been soundly rejected by the sensible folk of Glasgow in last year’s elections. (Oh Yes ! – how he was going to sort out the Scots Parliament etc etc)

My advice is to ignore MegaMouth – he is going nowhere fast (except maybe to Damascus to kiss ASSad !)

Alba Gu Brath

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-21 22:01
IXL, you forget it was HIS war on HIS want!

# Hing em high 2012-02-21 17:32
Lets face it! How many blokes get beyond page 3 in the Sun?

# Chelecossais 2012-02-21 18:17
“You tell these bloody politicians whatever they want to hear, and once the deal is done you don’t worry about it. They’re not going to chase after you later if they suddenly decide what you said wasn’t what they wanted to hear. Otherwise they’re made made to look bad, and they can’t abide that. So they just stick their heads up their asses and wait for the blow to pass”

Rupert Murdoch, interviewed by Thomas Kiernan in “Citizen Murdoch”, Dodd Mead, New York, 1986.

# jafurn 2012-02-21 21:43
Well no one can say they weren’t warned after that post.

# caithness warbler 2012-02-21 18:44
Hazel incisive and perceptive on this topic as usual! 🙂
weegiewarbler.blogspot.com/

# colin8652 2012-02-21 19:55
had the pleasure of listening to radio scotland going in to almost a state of apapexy over the murdoch tweet. They have been shaken up quite a bit.

# Talorcan 2012-02-21 20:34
You just can’t trust him. We may be playing into his hands if he appears ostensibly to support independence then comes out just a fortnight before the referendum with a load of scare stores and says that we mustn’t vote yes and that he has changed his mind again.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-21 20:55
How would we be playing into his hands? If that’s what he wants to do, he can do it. He certainly wouldn’t need any help from us.

# banditti 2012-02-21 20:45
We all know how we will vote come 2014 but the sun could influence a large number of undecided just remember how blair used them before 1997. Still can’t stand murdoch and all he stands for

# Hing em high 2012-02-21 21:37
What is the attitude of his heirs? Murdoch is an old man afterall. He might not see 2014! We cant trust the Sun! I will never forgive them for that noose!

# jafurn 2012-02-21 23:23
caithness warbler 2012-02-21 18:44
Hazel incisive and perceptive on this topic as usual! 🙂

Check out Hazel’s new article well worth a read.

# jafurn 2012-02-21 23:59
Hazel I have just been to your blog and read with great interest your excellent new article re Mr Murdoch and I look forward to seeing it on NNS…but why is it so hard to post a comment/reply on your blog…. I gave up in frustration.

P.S. here is the article and I recommend it to anyone….

# deepwater 2012-02-22 00:16
jefurn:

I specifically DO NOT restrict comments to my blog. Nor do I moderate unless under the same context as NNS.

If you still have issues, let me know – sometimes just following me on twitter and sending a tweet works.

# jafurn 2012-02-22 00:35
Thank you for responding here. I hoped you would.
I only wanted to say how impressed I had been with your analysis of Mr Murdoch’s action.
I thought it had been the most realistic scenario for what happened and I wanted to follow up with my thoughts on what may happen next. I will leave it there as I think your article should be read by all on this site. However when I tried to post my response I was not allowed to.
I was presented with this…

Please choose a profile
followed by

Your OpenID credentials could not be verified

What does this mean Hazel? do i have to be a member of something in order to comment …or ?
Please be certain this is not a criticism as i love reading your articles but all I wanted to do was to respond but was not able to…
Now I fully accept that this may be my fault and I am doing/not doing something but I have no problem posting on most other sites.
I bring this to your attention only because you may be ‘stopping’ people who want to support you from doing so.

# BeltaneFire 2012-02-22 00:49
We only have to win the Independence Referendum the once.

If Murdoch decides to endorse independence, that is up to him, but it may just turn the campaign.

All we need is a mainstream opportunity to get the facts into the public domain.

If his corporation can provide that, then good. We don’t actually have to embrace him; just his public forum.

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-22 00:53
I am quite sure that A.S. will not be doing any sort of embracing with Rupert Murdoch that is in way akin to that we have seen over the years from Blair, Broon or “Call me Dave”. So I think we are quite safe Beltane.

# jafurn 2012-02-22 01:06
BeltaneFire

Always remember we will only be allowed to lose the Independence Referendum the once so never rest never take your eye off tha ball……

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-22 01:12
How can we take our eyes off the ball jafurn?

It’s our ball! 😀

# jafurn 2012-02-22 01:23
Do you never blink?…. and I mean that in the best possibl….
Well maybe we don’t take our eyes off the ball… but maybe the ball we are keeping our eyes on is not the same ball?
After all is that not how the great illusionists do it ..first you see it then you don’t..spot the lady etc .. I say it again JUST KEEP YOUR EYE ON THE BALL

# DG 2012-02-22 01:11
Please never let ourselves stoop so low as to curry favour from any tabloid especially one so discredited as to sell itself on discrediting others to the point of falling way below its own basal standards, then be forced to kill itself off, only to find it resurfaced, rebranded, and already looking for souls to draw blood from. It must be tempting for politicians to think, that in order to get their message across to the majority electorate, allegiances with the devil must be made. The temptation is enhanced by the knowledge that high newspaper sales represent the amount of people viewing the headline, and that with an unfortunate photo is all it takes for most people. Don’t sign a deal with the devil, learn his habits and beat him at his own game. We are better than this.

# oldnat 2012-02-22 01:21
As always, Lallands Peat Worrier has perceptive commentary

…/on-labours-cybernat-problem.html

Although keen to promote the idea that “Cybernats” are a problem for the SNP, it strikes me insofar as it helps sustain a delusional political identity that pathologises their Nationalist opponents, the Cybernat represents far more of a problem for the Labour Party. No longer able to imagine itself as the crucible of Scottish sentiment, the once and future right ruling political outfit enjoying especial access to the true public will and feeling, their “Cybernat” fetish feeds Labour addiction to self-flattering suspicions, which cannot see the Nats as anything but perfidious usurpers and secret racists, who have illicitly snatched the crown.

# call me dave 2012-02-22 02:08
Scotsman!

Versions of ‘devo whatever’ in this short article. Smells very like jam
—————————————-
Given this, the pro-Union cause is now keen to focus attention back onto the main question around independence. But having let the devo-more genie out of the box, they may now need to find it a new one. Under Sir Menzies Campbell, the Liberal Democrats are holding their own commission into more powers. The talk is that this could now develop into a new cross-party group. Might Devo Max/More/Plus soon have a home after all?
—————————————–

scotsman.com/…/…

# brh206 2012-02-22 08:53
Rubert Murdoch’s opinion should be taken, I feel, with a pinch of salt. Are we saying that the majority of Scottish people will be taken in by whatever this man says. I don’t think they will, we have shown over the last 10 years or so that we are very savvy when it comes to voting. Murdocj might get more of an even message out there to Sun readers or might take a lighter note with the SNP but I just think that the Scottish people in the main will make a decision based on facts.

# the wallace 2012-02-22 10:15
I will believe murdochs support for independence when i see it,if its true it will simply be to get back at the unionist establishment,w  ho have been giving him a roasting over the last few months.But hey my enemys enemy and all that,one word of caution to AS though use a long spoon whe ye sup wi the devil.

# CliveYoung 2012-02-22 12:05
Murdoch isna daft. There is a sound business reason for this.

If (say) half of Scots are pro-independence to some extent, that represents a huge market.

Scotsman-style uber-Unionism makes no business sense at all.

# Dundonian West 2012-02-22 13:55
Daily Record.NO.We hoped,and believed, just a few days ago, it was begining to print in a fairly balanced manner on the Indy situation.

Today’s reference to “fawning” Salmon,and it’s general tone is the same tired old Record.

A record doesn’t change it’s spots.

Give us ONE unbiased Scottish publication.(On the Indy situation). The market and people are screaming out for it.
Mr Murdoch?
Fine by me. If he gives us one breath of fresh air,in a Scottish press which is moribund and suffering cerebral anoxia,you bet I’ll buy it.

dailyrecord.co.uk/…/…

# fiona4independance 2012-02-22 16:59
Hope Alex Salmond is very wary of his tweets and him. This is where Alex has the upper hand with the Scottish electorate they trust him more than the others. And his positive attitudes. UK media and politician’s are probably thought of as the most corrupt of any organisations, so if there ever was any deals going on, there would be a huge chance of being found out and it wouldn’t surprise me if Murdoch was the instigator of any downfall apart of course from whoever he was malong deals with. It would be karma at work for anyone caught making deals with Murdoch.

# fiona4independance 2012-02-22 17:34
I live in London and ive seen the tourist shops on Oxford st sell facemasks of him alongside those of the prince William, Harry and Kate Middleton, this possibly being some kind of move to promote his character. Why would he promote independence? He s no scottish nationlist. Hope the scottish government dont do anything daft.

# John Souter 2012-02-22 21:10
Murdoch has only one concern, his media empire.

I wouldn’t trust him if he was in my hip-pocket.

# davidferguson1 2012-02-23 05:05
I’ve no problem at all with AS or the SNP dealing with any businessman/woman, however little (s)he might be to my taste. That is part of their job in government. And I don’t expect the content of such meetings to be made public – businesspeople could very legitimately have matters to discuss that are confidential from a business point of view.

What I do expect is that any such meetings are properly recorded and minuted, so that if in future there are any questions as to the propriety of what went on they can be answered.

And that is not something we will ever get from any of the Proven Liars Parties in Westminster.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments