Banner

General

By a Newsnet reporter

Welcoming the announcement that the Scottish Conservatives will now back the Scottish Government’s Alcohol (minimum pricing) (Scotland) Bill, SNP MSP Jim Eadie has said that Labour are now the last party in the Parliament not to back the proposals and are now completely isolated.

In a letter to Scottish Health Secretary Nicola Sturgeon, Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson signalled a reversal of her party’s previous opposition to the minimum price proposals, saying that she accepted the plans would “command greater authority if given the widest political support”.

However, before giving backing to the bill, the Ms Davidson said two key steps would need to be taken. A “sunset clause” to scrap the legislation if it was shown not to be working after five years and clarification of EU legality when the price was finally set.

Ms Sturgeon said she welcomed the Tories’ new-found support for the bill, which comes after reports that Prime Minister David Cameron is expected to introduce minimum pricing for alcohol after the next Budget.  The UK government intends to hold consultations with a target of imposing minimum pricing by April 2015, a month before a possible General Election.  

While welcoming the Conservatives’ change of heart, Mr Eadie, MSP for Edinburgh Southern and a member of the Scottish Parliament’s Health and Sport Committee, pointed out that the sunset clause which Ms Davidson insisted on had been offered as a concession in the previous Parliament, however the Conservatives voted down the legislation.

Mr Eadie also noted that Labour in Scotland are now alone in their opposition to the move.  Speaking last December, Labour’s shadow public health minister Diane Abbott backed plans to introduce minimum pricing, and said “all the medical evidence points to the need for a minimum price per unit of alcohol.  Alcohol abuse is not just a health issue, it is a public order issue.”

Mr Eadie said:  “I warmly welcome this change of heart by the Scottish Conservatives. It follows reports at the weekend that Prime Minister David Cameron at the weekend that he would also now look to introduce a minimum price.

“It is a huge relief that they have now listened to the overwhelming evidence and support for this ground-breaking policy, from the police, health professionals – including all four of the UK’s Chief Medical Officers – alcohol charities, the Churches and many more.

“The sunset clause was of course offered to the Conservatives during the last Parliament, but they still voted to remove minimum pricing from the Alcohol Act.  I have no problem with this clause as I know that the benefits of minimum pricing will have become absolutely clear by then.

“Labour are now completely isolated in the Scottish Parliament – even their London party seem to be moving toward minimum pricing. There is still time for them to give their support to this policy – otherwise they will go down in history as the only party who voted against the most significant public health measure in Scotland since the smoking ban.”

Comments  

# dundie 2012-03-09 08:18
Does anyone suspect that wee Ruthie has had a visit from head office advising her to toe the party line as she’s making the Tories in Scotland look even more stupid than usual, not to mention making Cameron look as if he has no influence here whatsoever?

# tartanfever 2012-03-09 12:14
A visit ? Unlikely dundie – a short e-mail or phone call would suffice.

No point wasting money getting someone to actually travel up here.

# Angus 2012-03-09 08:47
dundie, I agree.
Conservatives have already made themselves look pretty stupid because their party is going to implement this in England.

# truth 2012-03-09 08:52
What about the caffeine? Ms Baillie, that monument to health and vitality, has stated it is the biggest threat we face. Will nobody think me the children?!!

# Robert Louis 2012-03-09 09:01
Aye. The Caffeine is he REAL killer according to Labour.

Ruth Davidson has changed her stance on minimum pricing because London told her to.

Is this what they call political puppetry?

# Robabody 2012-03-09 10:10
Don’t mention the caffeine!

# UpSpake 2012-03-09 09:02
Minimum pricing is a form of prohibition and breaches competition law (EU). I am throughly against government interference in the market to solve a social problem.
If abusers cannot get their high from alcohol then they will turn to something else, the wheel turns round and round, and all the time the disease is not treated.

# northernshedboy 2012-03-09 09:27
Why are you all jumping to conclusions that the very nice Mr Cameron has convinced her to change direction?

It may very well be the opposite of your default position.

In a new structure to the UK Conservative party, where each regional leader is regarded as the equal of all others including the leader of the amalgamated nations, maybe Ms Davidson has convinced her equal to change his direction.

She did say she would make up her own mind and directions, and maybe it is telling that she announced a change to adopt this policy before the UK leader, showing that the leadership was hers and not his.

Maybe? Just thinking out loud. Possible?

# Vincent McDee 2012-03-09 11:14
You don’t do sarcasm very well NSB, do you know that?

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-03-09 13:58
Okay Ruth

# Robabody 2012-03-09 20:57
Back to the shed NSB – on second thoughts there’s usually lots of mind altering stuff in sheds. Stand out in rain and wind for a while, that usually does it for me.

# hiorta 2012-03-09 09:29
The better health, physical and mental, of the youngsters of tomorrow’s Scotland, must be given precedence over political posturing.

# SHANGHAI SCOT 2012-03-09 09:59
Had a chat with my father, who told me that inhis days, a bottle of whisky was equivalent of one days wages, so only time he had a bottle was Ney Year and secial occasions, now it is a fraction of that cost, so as long as the price hike does not benifit suppliers and revenue can be apptoptrited for the purpose of social services, I am in favour os such a move, in Shanghai a dram is 10 quid, not for me, stick to beer that is beteewn 2.50 and 10 quid a pint, stops you imbibing

# Legerwood 2012-03-09 13:08
Shanghai Scot,
A dram was also £10 per shot in new Delhi.

Your father would probably remember the Christmas Clubs which were more about saving for the New Year Bottle than a Turkey.

As I child I noticed that the New year was the only time you saw men willingly carrying shopping bags because, of course, they contained the precious bottle. In those days when you went visiting you were offered tea not Teachers unless it was the New Year.

# Robabody 2012-03-09 21:23
Correct Lw…when I joined the Kelda’s (wife and leader) tribe (1975), they had a Christmas club going and the senior uncle was in charge. Subscriptions were from 25p per week with a pay-out one week before Christmas – and the men spent it on booze. Yes some of it was dribbled out on Christmas day but you had to retain the bulk for New Year! Changed days indeed.
Years pass and now I’m in charge of the club and it’s a minimum £1 a week. But the range of booze purchased (and compared with days of yore) is amusingly vast. I say this, as it was Port, Sherry, Gin, Whisky and Beer – Lager for that awful oik Robabody from the “west” that were the usual purchases. Anything left over was kept for the odd high day.
PS did your mother make that awful trap for a child – ginger wine? Boiled up some weeks before the New Year and stored under the sink (nae fridges then ye ken). As an unsuspecting sprog, I’d scoop back a glass (picture a coca cola colour liquid), it would go down stone cold only to explode in ginger fire in your tubes and gut! Exit Rob to nearest tap – but it made men of us ye ken.
Aye right!

# J Wil 2012-03-09 10:11
If it had been supported by the opposition when the SG said they would introduce it, a few more lives might have been saved, a few more properties gone undamaged, a few more quid saved from police activities and by the NHS for services other than mopping up the Saturday night blood bath.

The opposition parties have a lot to answer for whilst serving their own narrow interests.

# dogcollar 2012-03-09 10:16
better late than never for the Tories

# daveniz 2012-03-09 10:23
off topic:

I see labour MP Brian donohoe wants to stand and talk in a Tory conference in troon saying its more important than party politics….. he never quite finished his sentence it should have read its more important than party politics when the dangers of the independance
referendum will separate me from my
luxury job in westminister I mean I
haven’t payed my London flat off yet
with tax payers cash and I don’t have
another job to go to when my political
career ends after independance that’s
what I’m really fighting for!

scotsman.com/…/…

# ituna semea 2012-03-09 10:37
No supporter of Donohoe but you are being economical with the truth. He was invited to put his case for the Union at the Tory Conference,but I suspect the Telephone Kiosk will be full.

# .Scot 2012-03-09 12:22
Quoting ituna semea:
No supporter of Donohoe but you are being economical with the truth. He was invited to put his case for the Union at the Tory Conference,but I suspect the Telephone Kiosk will be full.

That’s not quite true as it was the Labour MP who stood up and invited Mr Cameron to accompany him to witness the harmful affects of the “separatist Nats” referendum on Scottish inward investment.

It is almost worth a wee trip to Troon to watch them holding hands as they look for recent signs of deprivation caused by the “separatist Nats”! I guess he will be voting no, to Scottish advancement in favour of Church of England Bishops continuing to make Scottish laws then? Good.

# proudscot 2012-03-09 15:21
Quoting .Scot:
Quoting ituna semea:

That’s not quite true as it was the Labour MP who stood up and invited Mr Cameron to accompany him to witness the harmful affects of the “separatist Nats” referendum on Scottish inward investment.

It is almost worth a wee trip to Troon to watch them holding hands as they look for recent signs of deprivation caused by the “separatist Nats”! I guess he will be voting no, to Scottish advancement in favour of Church of England Bishops continuing to make Scottish laws then? Good.

You’re right, .Scot. I watched PMQ’s and was angry at Donohoe’s belligerent anti-SNP attitude and tone of voice, when he invited Cameron to visit his constituency to witness the supposed harm the referendum debate was causing to inward investment. I notice Donohoe didn’t claim to have done anything himself to encourage inward investment to his Labour fiefdom.

Cameron then neatly turned the tables on this Labour dinosaur by inviting him to attend the Tory conference to “share a platform with him” on the case for the union. Murphy, Forsyth, Foulkes, Moore, Curran and Lamont must be so proud of him.

# daveniz 2012-03-09 10:59
lol I know I’m being economical with the truth but if Brian donohoe was to actually tell the truth in why he was for the union I’m sure that’s what he’d say!
I have never liked Brian donohoe since he pretended to fight for the jobs at Volvo when it was in Irvine when they were considering moving production to Sweden! my dad was on the workforce when he would appear at meetings talking to the workers (around election time) saying he had done deals with the managers only for it to conspire he never once met the managers (he got elected before all this info came out and fooled the workers into thinking he had done anything and wasn’t seen after being elected while all the job loses was going on)!

# SEUMAS31 2012-03-09 11:28
Blair and his party scrapped licensing hours, have the present legislators considered a return,or even a trial return to former times. Of course, then we may not have THE privilege of withessing young “ladies displaying their all on T.V at 3AM whilst vomiting in the gutter.

# snowthistle 2012-03-09 12:00
I’d also like to see us go back to off licenses being the only ones to sell alcohol – it’ll never happen but I think it would help.

# Briggs 2012-03-09 13:32
If you owned an off license establishment it would certainly help you.

I presume you mean stop Tesco types from selling alcohol? but allowing Pubs and Hotels to sell ‘over the counter’ carry outs.

Making alcohol too expensive to buy or educating the populace to the drawbacks of the demon drink would be more productive.

I speak as someone who enjoys a few glasses of vino a week, purely for ‘medicinal purposes’ of course

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 12:29
Part of the problem though Seumas is that a significant proportion of these idyllic young individuals actually start their drinking night out at home. It would appear that the “correct” way to have a good night out is as follows:

1) Have a few in the house before going out.

2) Go on a pub/club crawl.

3) Drink as much as possible.

4) Drink a load more.

5) Make an absolute idiot of yourself in public.

6) Throw up, in the street, in the gutter, in the pub, in the club. In fact throw up anywhere.

7) Arrive home making as much noise as possible. This assumes you have not already been arrested.

8) Next morning complain of having a severe headache and not feeling too well.

# mmarsattacks 2012-03-09 19:38
Such scenes are unpleasant whichever gender is providing the display Seumas. Perhaps if we took a dimmer view as a culture of ‘lads being lads’ we’d be on our way to a healthier and more respectful society.

# bringiton 2012-03-09 11:38
The Westminster controlled parties are against anything which is produced in Scotland as it threatens their Union.
Now that Dave has decided that it is a good idea,The Scottish branch can now support the policy as being a Union polioy,so OK.
However,Labour,  being the Westminster opposition party will continue to oppose this so expect no change from their Scottish branch.
As people have pointed out above,the Scottish branches of the Westminster parties take their orders from London and until such times as either we have independence or our parliament is extinguished,th  is situation will prevail.

# Lamplighter 2012-03-09 11:41
So Donohoe’s come out of the closet.

Would it be politically incorrect to point the finger and laugh at him for revealing publically that he’s a Tory Klingon?

# alexb 2012-03-09 11:45
Instead of “I have implemented a widespread review of policy and now support the Scottish Government,s bill on minimum pricing for alcohol”, shouldn,t Ruth Davidson,s statement have read, ” I have just received instructions from No. 10, and have altered my policy accordingly”. As with Lamont and Rennie, puppets being told what to do, and say, by their London Masters.

# cjmasta 2012-03-09 11:55
Labour in their infantile way will probably make a headline out of this, Tartan Tories, or SNP/Tory Allience it will read. Isn`t it great when London follows our lead, I love the way it highlights the other parties oposition for the sake of it, voters aren`t daft even though they are treated that way by unionist parties in Scotland with their constant negative soundbites and sky will fall in message about independence.

# heraldnomore 2012-03-09 12:00
O/T Guilty plea from comrade Joyce. Will it be a by-election or allowed to hang on for the golden handshake?

# alexb 2012-03-09 12:13
Quoting heraldnomore:
O/T Guilty plea from comrade Joyce. Will it be a by-election or allowed to hang on for the golden handshake?

My understanding is that unless he receives a prison sentence of twelve months,or more, he cannot be forced to quit, and since he, Joyce, has already stated he intends to see out his term as an M.P. then it seems the put-upon voters of Falkirk are stuck with him.

# Peter A Bell 2012-03-09 12:40
Surely Joyce can’t possibly avoid a custodial sentence. These are very serious offences. And even if the sentence is less than 12 months there will be massive pressure on him to quit. There’s still a good chance that we’ll get a by-election in Falkirk. And another nationalist MP in Westminster.

# heraldnomore 2012-03-09 12:50
Waiting on sentencing. HuffPo reckons later today, but the main news outlets don’t mention it all.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 13:07
Probably get a slap on the wrist and told not to do it again. After all he is one of the Wastemonster Aristocracy, is he not? Labour, oops I mean ex Labour, M.P. and all that jazz.

# heraldnomore 2012-03-09 13:41
Slap on wrist it is – 12 months community service and three months away from the pubs. Sorry Falkirk, you’re stuck with him for now.

# Triangular Ears 2012-03-09 13:51
Surely he’s been banned from drinking coffee? Clearly his behaviour was a result of excessive caffeine intake. Wasn’t it?

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 13:58
I thought that was what we were talking about T.E. weren’t we? 😀

I mean, an M.P. is a highly respected individual, surely they would never abuse alcohol, would they?

# Peter A Bell 2012-03-09 15:44
The word on Twitter, for whatever that may be worth, is that procedures have been started to expel Joyce from the British Labour & Unionist Party. His position must surely then be untenable. Even he must realise that he has to step down.

# .Scot 2012-03-09 12:38
Quoting heraldnomore:

It is far from off topic. I am certain many more Labour contributors to the BBC could do with following the lead of disgraced Mr Joyce by confessing to “Over imbibing”? On your question, my money is on the latter option of hanging on without the whip and getting a wee reward from the dark and mysterious Labour/Co-operative Party via the public purse.

# ubinworryinmasheep 2012-03-09 13:51
‘You cant touch me I’m and MP’ He should be locked up for being an idiot.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 13:59
Quote:
‘You cant touch me I’m and MP’

Wanna make a bet Bubba? 😀

# alexb 2012-03-09 12:00
What,s the betting we,ll now get Jackie, (blankets,or is it bed pans)Baillie, jumping, what a thought, on the bandwagon, after her party having their “Damascus” moment.

# Marga B 2012-03-09 13:09
Hasn’t Ms Bailie just made some other accusations? Can’t seem to find the article, can anyone remember? Seems the idea of losing credibility does not apply.

From my experience, I think she is talking to a specific fan base, who avidly collect her stories as “the truth about the SNP”. (“I read it in the papers”)

# Talorcan 2012-03-09 12:08
alexb, with all respect, you’re using a comma when you ought to be using an apostophe. Look at your keyboard and on the right hand side you will find a key with an ampersand [that’s the one with the @ symbol] on the top left. Click on that key and you’ll find the apostrophe. All the best buddy. {:-)

# Holebender 2012-03-09 13:11
[pedant] Ahem! the ampersand is the symbol which looks like this:- &. The @ symbol you mentioned is called the at symbol. [/pedant]

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-03-09 13:38
ooh careful Talorcan, it’s ‘apostrophe’!
(and holebender is right about the amphersand)
Pedants untie. Or is that dyslexics?

# Triangular Ears 2012-03-09 13:52
It’s “ampersand”, not “amphersand”. 😉

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-03-09 14:14
Talorcan – On comments, I don’t think grammar is important. So long as the poster gets the message across.

Some people on here are accomplished “wordsmiths” and others aren’t. What does it matter?

I’m more interested in their point of view which can be very challenging at times and less interested in their spelling or grammar.

I’m also interested in your point of view.

# cokynutjoe 2012-03-09 12:12
Annabell waxed long & lyrical in her opposition to minimum pricing. Has she now been seen in the black & white lobby standing on her head?
Better a sinner that repenteth etc…..

At least it would answer Prince Phillip’s question!

# Robabody 2012-03-09 21:48
Oh-er Cnj to much to picture for a Friday night…no no please, enough.

PS Black and White was that not a Whisky?
Hence the head standing??

# brusque 2012-03-09 12:49
When I was a girl my parents (neither of them ever a drinker, even socially) would push the boat out and buy a bottle of whisky and a bottle of sherry for Hogmanay.

Hogmanay was celebrated by everyone around us, and next day the drinking was over in our house. Dad managed to persuade us that Ginger Cordial was an alcoholic beverage so that we weren’t tempted by the real thing. I remember those Hogmanays with much pleasure, and have lasting memories of us all (Mam, Dad and 3 bairns) standing in the Front Room counting down and then hugging and hand-shaking (my brother) everyone in turn.

The price of the alcohol for that one night was carefully budgetted for – and all our neighbours were the same.

Price does matter and I’m not alone in my memory of how things were.

I would have to add that we had a very strong Family/Community back then too, so maybe that is what is lacking in the lives of many today.

# Legerwood 2012-03-09 13:15
I remember those days too.

Pubs were restricted to 8 hours opening per day – usually 11-2 and 5-10. They were closed on Sundays. Hotels were open on Sunday but you had to be a bone fides traveller to get a drink. Off-licences also had restricterd opening hours. Licenesed grocers had Christmas Club and people saved via those clubs in order to buy their drink for the New Year.

# Robert Louis 2012-03-09 13:42
I agree with a lot of the sentiments above. It is absurd that I can get enough alcohol to kill myself for a fiver.

Scotland has some serious problems with alcohol misuse, and pricing plays a part in that. The benefit of minimum pricing over say, duty increases, is that by definition, it hits the cheapo end of the market. A bottle of single malt won’t change at all.

A typical bottle of single malt contains around 30 units. Minimum price would be set at 45p.

30 x 45p = 13.50 pounds

So even at minimum pricing of 45p a unit, a bottle of Scotch would need to cost less than around 13.50 to be affected.

I’ve just checked, and in supermarkets a standard branded blend comes in around 14.50, with the very cheapest own brand, ‘Value stripey label’ coming in at around 10.00 pounds

The single malts start around 25.00, so won’t be affected at all.

# Legerwood 2012-03-09 13:49
It was said time and time again that the premium brands of whisky would not eb affected by minimum pricing but the way the Whisky Association and the labour Party went on you would have been forgiven for thinking it was going to skyrocket.

Minimum pricing affacts the cheaper end of the market and it is the cheaper drinks which are drunk in such volume especially by young people that are the problem.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 13:52
I think you have hit the nail on the head here R.L. Minimum Pricing would not affect the price of a bottle of Whisky for the reasons you state.

However, in Holyrood we have a bunch of nincompoops who have a great deal of difficulty in recognising the difference between a bottle of Whisky and a bottle of ultra cheap booze. I guess to them booze is booze is booze, it doesn’t matter what sort of booze it is it is all the same to them. I reckon you could stand in front of them and go through your illustration till the cows came home three days in the trot and you would still be no further forward!

# Aplinal 2012-03-09 14:18
Pretty similar, although I was brought up in the North east of England, there are strong similarities between ‘Northerners” and the Scots. There should be, we fought (and inter-married) each other for centuries!

In my town there were two major crime epidemics (not the at the local coppers did not about them). One was drinking under age (I started at 14, though I still seem to be standing); and drinking after hours! (My uncle ran a pub, but wouldn’t serve me a drink until I was 18).

In the family the drinks only really came out at Hogmanay, and maybe two weekends a month if we had company.

Mum was from Ayr and the summers were spent there, but I can’t ever recall anyone in the family (uncles etc.) Getting so far gone.

I can’t explain why today’s youth – especially the lassies – seem to think getting totally sh*t faced is a smart thing to do. (Perhaps I AM getting old!)

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-03-09 14:18
I totally agree – we were the same.

Thanks, you brought back some great memories.

And the Ginger Cordial mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm 

Thanks for that.

# Robabody 2012-03-09 22:05
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm  mm……..you are seriously not well if you liked that stuff SG. My old ma made stuff that the US and Soviets could have used as rocket fuel. Mmmmm indeed!

Arrrrrrgh where’s the ice bucket? Too early, nae ice cubes in those days, just a glass of cold(ish) lead infused, water to put the fire out!

But it made men of us – aye right!

# Legerwood 2012-03-09 13:02
O/T but itn does involve drink – allegedly.

Eric Joyce has been in court today and has plead guilty to all charges. He has asked for the case to be completed today so should know his fate soon.

telegraph.co.uk/…/…

Presumably he is hoping for a reduction in his sentence for pleading guilty.

# Robert Louis 2012-03-09 13:18
Quoting Legerwood:
O/T but itn does involve drink – allegedly.

Eric Joyce has been in court today and has plead guilty to all charges. He has asked for the case to be completed today so should know his fate soon.

telegraph.co.uk/…/…

Presumably he is hoping for a reduction in his sentence for pleading guilty.

I think that as this is such a serious set of charges, regardless of the sentence, Mr Joyce would do well to consider Falkirk, do the honourable thing and resign.

In any other professional role, he would be sacked with immediate effect.

I think today his position of ‘hanging on’ has become untenable.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 13:28
R.L., I know last week, I think, it was covered in the media that he intended to stay on as M.P. for Falkirk until the next Wastemonster G.E.

As others have pointed out he has had the Labour whip removed from him, I’ll bet that was a painful experience! This has turned him, effectively into an independent M.P. We now have the situation where we have a de-whipped, ouch!, M.P. As such there is no one in effect that can request him to stand down so he may very well try and tough it out.

With all the “problems” he seems to have I would have thought that his “friends” who were so worried about his health over the last few weeks would be trying to convince him to stand down now. However, how “real” were those “concerned friends” in the first place.

I guess we’ll all just have to wait and see.

P.S.
Just read on the BBC website headlines that Joyce has been given a community order for 12 months and banned from any bar for three months.

# Legerwood 2012-03-09 13:51
RL,
Can anyone remember when an MP last did the honourable thing and resigned without being forced into it? They usually have to be dragged kicking and screaming to the point of resigning.

# sid 2012-03-09 13:06
so can we take it that Ms Davidson doesn’t partake of a wee sherry now and again? OR
is it just a very clever political move to ensure that we can all see how silly the labour party actually are?
Sid

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 13:15
And to think she is doing this just as that nice Mr. Donohoe fellow is reaching out with his broken olive branch to “Call me Dave” as well.

# Islegard 2012-03-09 13:42
I hear Labour’s opposition to drink minimum prices is being led by Eric Joyce.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 13:45
Ouch! 😀

Well not for the next three months anyway. 😀

# Islegard 2012-03-09 14:02
No doubt he’ll still be collecting his pay for representing his constituents. Can MP’s claim on snout?

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 14:06
Isle, if they can’t do it directly I’m sure they have a back up that will do just as nicely as a cover up. 🙂

# Macart 2012-03-09 13:56
Ahm agin ye right up until ahm told no tae be. Don’t you just love party politics? Howzabout just saying what you actually think?

Y’know, you lot have had a good idea, well done I’m all for it. Instead of, wait now till I check the party line on this.

The SNP have been the root of all evil on council tax, care for the elderly, capital investment and social justice right up until the other teams adopt them as good policy. Something either is a good idea or its not! Playing the politics card is the reason the rest are haemorrhaging bodies. Folks would have a lot more respect for them and politics in general if they would be kind enough and brave enough to support good policy when it comes along.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 14:04
Quote:
Folks would have a lot more respect for them and politics in general if they would be kind enough and brave enough to support good policy when it comes along.

They can’t do that though Macart, they don’t know what good policy is and London H.Q. initially refuse to tell them.

# Macart 2012-03-09 14:19
Far as I’m concerned Arb, the longer they stay in the dark about acting like decent mannered human beings, the better. Their politics is divisive, tired and destructive to the populace.

Clean house!

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 14:30
So I guess an invite to the SNP conference is out of the question then? 😀

# Macart 2012-03-09 14:38
Bizarrely Arb, there are one or two you would invite. That young Liberal Andrew Page (whose intention is to vote for independence should nobody consider full fat dev) for instance. There are still folk from other parties out there who are as tired as we are of UK party politics.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 14:45
How does the saying go?

“From small acorns Mighty Oak trees grow!”

The times they are a changing…..for the better! 🙂

# chiefy1724 2012-03-09 15:16
Well, as applied to our friends at North Britain Parish Branch, the saying is….

“From small acorns, Might Oafs grow”.

I’ll get my coat…….

# Diabloandco 2012-03-09 14:05

# Robert Louis 2012-03-09 14:09
So Eric Joyce has just stated he will NOT resign.

Falkirk will have him until 2015.

# tartanfever 2012-03-09 14:14
The question is, will the Labour party re-instate him and drop his suspension ?

Presumably they will, without any press release and all done very hush-hush.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 14:17
That’s the usual Labour way, isn’t it tartan? 🙂

# tartanfever 2012-03-09 14:21
Well maybe it’s up to the good people of Falkirk to do something about it. Get out on the streets and protest.

# Islegard 2012-03-09 14:26
Look at Livingstone. Their crooked Labour MP got jailed he did resign. However what did the good people of Livingstone do? They voted Labour again!

# weegie38 2012-03-09 15:27
Did you know, when Eric Joyce was selected as the Falkirk candidate, the local Labour Party had a shortlist of 2? Guess who the other choice was? Jim Devine.

# proudscot 2012-03-09 15:38
Quoting Robert Louis:
So Eric Joyce has just stated he will NOT resign.

Falkirk will have him until 2015.

To coin a phrase – be careful what you vote for!

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 14:58
Here is the latest updated version of the Joyce case on the EBC.

bbc.co.uk/…/…

He seems to think that he will be looking at permanent exclusion from the Labour party and probably a few months exclusion from the House of Commons.

# tartanfever 2012-03-09 15:01
Yes, on the lunchtime bulletin on BBC Scotland, they also refer to it as a ‘brawl’. I think ‘unprovoked attack’ would be more accurate.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 15:05
How can it unprovoked tartan, he is Labour and there were Tories within two sword lengths of him. 😀

Remember, in the House of Commons the distance between the two sets of benches is, I believe, two sword lengths.

# Wee-Scamp 2012-03-09 21:07
Oh dear…. the kickboxer wants choice…

telegraph.co.uk/…/…

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-09 21:43
Quote:
Ruth Davidson said she is examining proposals to abolish school catchment areas by giving each child a “credit” equivalent to the average cost of education within each local authority. She said parents could redeem this at any council-run school, enabling them to choose the best-performing establishments even if they were in a different part of a town or city.

Is it me or does this explanation of wee Ruthie’s plans stink of increased red tape?

# Angry_Weegie 2012-03-10 02:12
Increased red tape and a rush to enroll your child in the most popular school without even having to move house.

Great! Fewer schools! More money saved!

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-10 02:20
The question does arise however A.W. Did wee Ruthie think this great wheeze up all on her little own some, or as I suspect, did she get a wee bit of “help” from dawn suff!

# Jiggsbro 2012-03-10 02:30
So the credit is for the average cost without regard to whether the best performing schools are more or less expensive than the average, every parent wants their child to go to the same school, parents who can afford to drive their kids across the city can choose a better school than those who can’t, the less well performing schools struggle with a reduced budget as kids move to other schools…the only good thing about this proposal is that it comes from a party which will never be trusted to govern Scotland.

# DJ 2012-03-13 20:05
BBC giving major coverage to Labour’s second alcohol consultation both on website and RS.

bbc.co.uk/…/…

What has been their contribution to the current Holyrood debate? Any amendments? Or just opposition with nothing constructive and a belated attempt to start the debate from scratch.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments