Banner

The SNP has welcomed a new group of academics and cultural specialists championing the introduction of Scottish Studies in Scottish schools.

The group, comprising academics, novelists and former teachers, is supporting the integration of Scottish Studies into the curriculum.

Convener of the group, Professor Murray Pittock, vice-principal and head of the college of arts at the University of Glasgow, said: “All of us are very excited at the prospect of supporting projects that we believe will fire the imagination of our young people in the history, art, sculpture, languages, literature, music and cultures of their country, including resources that explain and explore Scottish studies in a more localised context.”

The group will work closely with government agency Education Scotland to produce a range of initiatives and materials for pupils. The group is also backing further steps towards incorporating elements of Gaelic and Scots into early years teaching and will support the work of the Burns Federation in laying emphasis on the works of Robert Burns in schools.

Clare Adamson, SNP MSP for Central Scotland and member of the Scottish Parliament’s Education and Culture Committee, said:

“This group recognise the importance of Scottish Studies, saying it is ‘hugely significant’.

“This non-political and non-partisan group shares the same view with the SNP Government that learning about our country and its rich heritage, as well as understanding our place in the world, is extremely important.

“We are working hard to strengthen the presence of Scottish history, literature, language and culture in the curriculum.

“Learning about Scotland should be a natural and normal part of learning for all our young people and recent research shows 90 per cent of people in Scotland agree.”

Comments  

# edinburgh quine 2012-03-19 16:19
How is it that other countries can teach the history of their nation without being accused of political bias?

I love history but that came after I left school where I learned dates of kings and queens and I dont remember anything else. And I certainly dont remember being able to relate to anything I was taught.

My schooling was back in the dark ages so maybe it has got better

# Hearthammer 2012-03-19 16:21
We shouldn’t have to welcome this group. Teaching of Scottish history should be commonplace!

# Hing em high 2012-03-19 17:38
Cue hysterical attack by Labour and the BBC!

# Robert Louis 2012-03-19 18:38
Is it not a damming indictment of this supposed ‘union’ of over three hundred years, that for the first time, Scottish children will actually have considerable emphasis placed upon learning the culture, traditions and history of their own country, Scotland. Is it not even worse, that such a move, is condemned by certain Scottish politicians of a ‘London is best’ mindset, who hold the ridiculous view that such teaching is political bias.

For too long, Scottish children have been indoctrinated at school with pro Britannia nonsense, and teachings of English poets and English authors. In England the children are taught English history, and English literature.

This major step towards NORMALITY for a nation is very, very welcome.

# GuidedByPollard 2012-03-19 18:44
Cue Scottish Labour with the usual mantra…’small-minded’, ‘insular’,’petty’ etc

# Exile 2012-03-19 21:27
You can’t do anything useful with your life if you don’t know who you are. This is a very welcome initiative, at long last. As for ‘Scottish’ Labour, they can go hang. Or perhaps they could face their own wasted lives and start to learn who they really are, and where they and their loyalty really belong.

# mealer 2012-03-19 21:50
Long,long overdue.

# Rabbie 2012-03-20 00:01
Bairns in the hale o Europe get lairnt thair ain history in thair ain language. Bairns in Gaelic medium scuils will nae doot be lairnt Scots history throu the medium o Gaelic sae whit wey can bairns in the ither scuils no be lairnt Scots history throu the medium o the Scots language?

In fack, whit wey can the hale o the Scottish Studies no be lairnt throu the medium o Scots an Gaelic? Wad the language o England no be richt oot o place in sic a curriculum?

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments