Banner

By a Newsnet reporter

The SNP and Plaid Cymru have expressed astonishment after an advisor to Ed Balls, the Shadow Chancellor, admitted that Labour had made a “screw-up” by not voting with the SNP and Plaid Cymru to oppose Tory plans to cut the top rate of tax for the highest earners.

The leaked admission reveals embarrassing efforts by Labour staff to claim their abstention had been intended, and advice to Scottish Labour’s press office to “hold off releasing line in Scotland just yet, in the hope that it is ignored.”

The emails show the person suggesting the party hold off releasing Labour’s line on the embarrassing blunder “in the hope that it is ignored” in Scotland is the political advisor to Labour MP Margaret Curran (pictured).

Both the SNP and Plaid forced a vote on the controversial lowering of the tax rate from 50p to 45p.  However the Labour party abstained rather than support the proposal aimed at blocking the cut.

The refusal by the Labour party to vote against the controversial tax cut for high earners came despite the Shadow Chancellor Ed Balls pledging to do just that.

Speaking at the start of four days of Budget debate in the Commons on Thursday, Ed Balls said:

“There will be a vote next week, we will vote against the 50p.  It’s the wrong tax cut at the wrong time.”

Commenting SNP Westminster Treasury spokesperson Stewart Hosie MP said:

“Last week Ed Balls promised Labour would vote against the cut in the top rate of tax, last night they abstained. This morning they claimed their no-show was a strategic move and this afternoon we find it was all just incompetence.

“Labour’s spinning has unravelled to reveal the embarrassing truth – the party is unfit for purpose as an opposition. Labour’s incompetence has, again, let the Tories off the hook.

“While Labour work out how votes work at Westminster, the SNP will oppose the Tories unfair Budget which punishes pensioners and public sector workers and does nothing to stimulate the economy.  This was not a budget for Scotland and is proof of the urgent need for Scotland to have control over financial powers with independence.”

Plaid Cymru MP Jonathan Edwards said:

“Labour are the party that don’t know who they are or what they stand for. Last year they abstained when we fought to cut VAT, this year they abstained on whether or not to help the mega-rich.

“There was no surprise in this vote – it was in the order paper. This is what Ed Balls was like at the Treasury – good at shouting, poor on detail. Plaid will continue to put the case for a progressive taxation system – fair tax is a principle, not an option.”

In a leaked chain of emails a Labour figure asks: “Whats the line on this nat vote last night? Seen eds tweet but nats are saying there was a vote?”

In response a Labour insider claims: “Truth is there was a screw up somewhere along the way last night and it wasn’t clear what SNP had called a vote on or how, so we abstained on their vote.”

One recipient in the chain is Alan Gillam who is the political advisor to Labour MP Margaret Curran, who writes: “And yes – of the 22 naes, the nats were all there…..The line from alex is fine. I am trying to find out where we went wrong.”

The leaked emails, that include the Scottish Labour Press Office, reveal Gillam suggesting holding off from “releasing a line in Scotland” over the vote blunder in the hope that the issue gets ignored.

“We should probably hold off releasing line in Scotland just yet, in the hope that it is ignored, but will probably have to do it later.  Will speak to the lobby down here and subtly find out what they are writing up today,” he writes.

The suggestion that Labour’s failure to vote against the Tory tax cut may be ignored in Scotland will call into question Labour’s relationship with the media north of the border.

The emails also suggest an attempt by the Labour party to manage the blunder by claiming they did not know what they were abstaining on.

The full leaked email chain can be read here.

Newsnet Scotland will be watching to see how the Scottish media, especially the BBC, report this – if at all.  For the record, according to the leaked emails, Labour’s line/spin is:

“Line is: we voted against whole Budget package which obviously includes 50p (first vote at 10pm), and we will seek to amend and vote on the Finance Bill on 50p, plus other issues of concern like the changes to allowances for pensioners (granny tax). There’s not much more we can say beyond that.”

Comments  

# Marga B 2012-03-28 00:41
Starting with acomplete OT in spite of the interesting story her, sorry, but I am alarmed to see this news in the Scotsman re. Edinburgh Airport:

“The Scotsman understands there are two remaining bidders in the race – JP Morgan Asset Management and Global Infrastructure Partners. Final bids are due to be submitted in late April and the winner is expected to be announced in May.”

# Maryston4 2012-03-28 00:49
Apparently, there is actually nothing to explain.

Wee Willie Bain revealed on Twitter earlier tonight that it is ‘a long-standing PLP convention not to support SNP motions’.

Of course, this just confirms what we’ve always known, ie. that the Labour Party will oppose SNP plans/policies regardless of whether it will benefit their constituents. Party of the People right enough…

One wonders if there might be a long-standing PLP convention that punishes those who reveal long-standing PLP conventions?

# weegie38 2012-03-28 07:30
Actually, I think Willie Bain’s tweet is the real story here. We’ve all thought Labour’s “oppose anything the SNP does” mentality was just a Scottish Labour psychological thing. Now we know it’s actually a UK-wide policy!

# hiorta 2012-03-28 09:02
So Labour have arrived at a position where they just oppose anything and everything from the SNP, without even knowing – far less considering – its effects on the people of Scotland?

This is known as political acumen?

As Rikki Fulton often remarked: “Get away”

# Roll_On_2011 2012-03-28 00:52
So far only one related article in the MSM nothing south of the border.

Labour red faced over e-mails leak

scotsman.com/…/…

A series of e-mail exchanges by Labour staff which were leaked then showed that they believed they had “screwed up” and suggested that they should “hold off” on a release on it for Scotland “in the hope that it is ignored”.

# ananinginaneana 2012-03-28 02:29
There is something in the anti-independence Independent.

blogs.independent.co.uk/…/…

# Legerwood 2012-03-28 17:47
The story was reported in today’s Herald – paper edition – not sure if it was also in the on-line edition.

# Lintie 2012-03-28 00:57
Can anyone imagine what Scotland would be like if this corrupt, pointless Labour Party were in power in Holyrood? For God’s sake, Scottish voters, WAKE UP!

# oldnat 2012-03-28 01:05
If you look at any polls since May 2011, the Scottish voters have woken up.

# ButeHouse 2012-03-28 01:38
OT. I had to laugh today. A Richard baker squeakathon was announced as a Richard Bacon ……by an English EBC type.

Poor wee Richard. For all his barking and howling at the moon over the past 5 years the EBC in England still don’t know his name………I only wish we didn’t :0)

VOTE YES

# J Wil 2012-03-28 09:55
I believe he must carry a trampoline with him as he does jumping up and down exceedingly well.

# lumilumi 2012-03-28 02:02
Jeeesh.

Cynical, power-grabbing, Macchiavellian. I can sort of accept all those in a political party.

But not this level of incompetence!

All apparently in the name of petty party-political posturing. Anything the SNP proposes, oppose, oppose, oppose!

Is that really the main Labout party policy today even at Westmister? Are they so devoid of policies, ideas, ideals?

Stupid question. They are.

The SNP should propose all kinds of things they don’t want and Labour will hammer the opposite (=SNP’s real goals) through just to spite the SNP. Or so they think. 😀

Are these people political cretins? Well, you could ask the same about the Tories and LibDems re. Scotland, as well.

# nchanter 2012-03-28 11:26
Quoting lumilumi:
Jeeesh.

Cynical, power-grabbing, Macchiavellian. I can sort of accept all those in a political party.

But not this level of incompetence!

All apparently in the name of petty party-political posturing. Anything the SNP proposes, oppose, oppose, oppose!

Is that really the main Labout party policy today even at Westmister? Are they so devoid of policies, ideas, ideals?

Stupid question. They are.

The SNP should propose all kinds of things they don’t want and Labour will hammer the opposite (=SNP’s real goals) through just to spite the SNP. Or so they think. 😀

Are these people political cretins? Well, you could ask the same about the Tories and LibDems re. Scotland, as well.

As in don’t throw me in the briar patch?

# km 2012-03-28 02:29
Finally some leaks. Any ideas where they came from? Labour probably holding inquiries already.

O/T but interesring story too in Herald re: scottish minister for veterans affairs not being given permission to visit troops in Afghanistan.

# lumilumi 2012-03-28 02:36
That’s one of the mad laird’s (now ditched) amendments in action. Gag SG politicians (but only if they’re not Con/Lab/Lib), do not allow them to go abroad and tell about their coutry, all that should go through Westminster, because they know best,thank you very much.

# Islegard 2012-03-28 08:50
Not ditched yet! It still stands until the “agreement” over the Scotland Bill comes into effect.

# edinburghdave 2012-03-28 02:55
mental.

So, if they are not doing thier job, which is representing thier constituents, what on EARTH are they doing? This is a total corruption of democracy. This is NOT wht these utter fools are down there to do.

All of Scotland should take note of what has happened here and hammer them for this disgusting attitiude.

This after spending an hour or so watching what Tony Benn has to say on politics as well. Jeez.

# nchanter 2012-03-28 11:35
Quoting edinburghdave:
mental.

So, if they are not doing thier job, which is representing thier constituents, what on EARTH are they doing? This is a total corruption of democracy. This is NOT wht these utter fools are down there to do.

All of Scotland should take note of what has happened here and hammer them for this disgusting attitiude.

This after spending an hour or so watching what Tony Benn has to say on politics as well. Jeez.

These so called MPs are fighting for survival, they see the writing on the wall. The funny thing is, the journalists haven’t they are in a fog of luvvie land

# Al Ghaf 2012-03-28 05:31
Pacific Quay still slinging this one a rubber ear, still not a cracker on the Aunty Scotland site.

# Hirta 2012-03-28 06:10
Thanks for the extra SNP votes, Stairheid Rammy !

# Alphenscot 2012-03-28 07:09
I want to see this news from pacific quay when I come home tonight or I will be most annoyed.

# clootie 2012-03-28 07:15
Confident that the media would ignore any negative comment on Labour in Scotland.
Established policy to oppose SNP proposals – regardless of the content.

The e-mail chain is a real insight into the Labour party – a pity it will be buried by the BBC.

O/T Newsnight coverage of windpower could not have had much more of a biased stance.

# Ben Power 2012-03-28 07:20
Really, no one could be that incompetent to miss the vote. Claiming incompetence is better than the alternative of voters knowing that they actually are supporting the tax cut.
I believe that there is not much difference between the motivations and ideologies of the Conservatives or the Labour these days, both are way to the right of centre.

# EphemeralDeception 2012-03-28 07:25
On the up side at least we know Labour and Margaret Curran (who used to have responsibilitie  s for policy formation for the SP) actually had / have 1 consistent policy on something.

# John Lyons 2012-03-28 07:55
Has anyone actually read the email???

Cathy Jamieson copied for Info????

I thought Johann Lamont Lead Labour North of the Border or is she not important enough for London to talk to?

Biggest sign yet that she’s just a puppet, no wnder she’s so incompetent. No-one’s talking to her.

Looking forward to FMQs tomorrow!!! In fact, after reading that email I might even watch the Welsh FMQs today!

# Thistle_2014 2012-03-28 09:19
Exactly I noticed that too!

# nchanter 2012-03-28 11:37
Quoting John Lyons:
Has anyone actually read the email???

Cathy Jamieson copied for Info????

I thought Johann Lamont Lead Labour North of the Border or is she not important enough for London to talk to?

Biggest sign yet that she’s just a puppet, no wnder she’s so incompetent. No-one’s talking to her.

Looking forward to FMQs tomorrow!!! In fact, after reading that email I might even watch the Welsh FMQs today!

No one is talking to her because she is incompetent.

# ahumscottish2 2012-03-28 07:51
Hi all

Can’t we inundate the BBC with text messages asking why this has not been mentioned or call Kaye and ask her?? pretending to talk on topic.

# Mako 2012-03-28 09:15
Is there a txt number we can respond to? If so I would like to get my hands on that an get it up on the facebook pages set up to counter and monitor BBC bias.

# edinburgh quine 2012-03-28 10:20
Gimme an email address and I’d be delighted to. I can never find an email address on their site. Like they dont want emails I’m thinking

# Ready to Start 2012-03-28 08:00
The Email was sent to Paul Sinclair who is Johann Lamentable’s press guru

# Ready to Start 2012-03-28 08:11
Quoting Roll_On_2011:
So far only one related article in the MSM nothing south of the border.

Labour red faced over e-mails leak

scotsman.com/…/…

A series of e-mail exchanges by Labour staff which were leaked then showed that they believed they had “screwed up” and suggested that they should “hold off” on a release on it for Scotland “in the hope that it is ignored”.

Unable to access this story at Scotsman.com or comment on Brian Wilson’s attempt to smear SNP on donations just like the Daily Mail.

# edinburgh quine 2012-03-28 10:23
Did anyone note this comment on the Scotsman piece?

“What many critics are conveniently forgetting is that a large number of men and women in the Labour Party, especially those in the higher echelons of our party, do earn considerably more than 150,000 per year. It would have been callous if we had voted against a bill which would result in a financial bonus for so many of our long-serving members. On the other hand, we did not wish to antagonize our core voters by supporting the Conservatives. Abstention was the only correct and dignified decision”.

Now that’s what I call spin

# Sleekit 2012-03-28 10:50
T.C. Williams is an independence supporter with a dry wit…

His posts are usually from a Unionist perspective but deliberately set up to lampoon their attitudes in the eyes of Joe Public without really registering that this is what is actually happening with the Unionists, who seem to take him at face value.

# Legerwood 2012-03-28 17:51
Abstension is never correct or dignified. It is hand-washing straight from the Pontius Pilate school of politics.

# Marga B 2012-03-28 08:37
On anti-SNP, the Herald seems to be falling in line with the anti SNP line, particularly on transport, headline on “bus fares going up to save SNP’s policy of free OAP transport”

Is it an SNP policy or was it a policy inherited from Labour? I honestly don’t know.

# Islegard 2012-03-28 09:09
I thought bus fares went up every year anyway? It’s a private company setting the rates. So the Scottish Government have nothing to do with setting bus fares.

# J Wil 2012-03-28 09:52
Probably a line written by someone who has never seen a bus.

# proudscot 2012-03-28 14:22
Quoting Marga B:
On anti-SNP, the Herald seems to be falling in line with the anti SNP line, particularly on transport, headline on “bus fares going up to save SNP’s policy of free OAP transport”

Is it an SNP policy or was it a policy inherited from Labour? I honestly don’t know.

It was indeed inherited from the previous Labour/LibDem coalition government Marga B – I think they passed it in 2006, if memory serves me well.

The SNP government extended the policy to include disabled military veterans.

# alicmurray 2012-03-28 08:41
O/T Teachers union in England say education will be privatised by 2015.

guardian.co.uk/…/…

# ubinworryinmasheep 2012-03-28 14:30
I think the tories want to privatise everything so that governments and councils have little to actually do and no responsibility whatsoever.

# Jim1320 2012-03-28 09:18
I know I have been censored in the past for being less than complimentary about some politicians but would it be OK if I said Labour were a shower of Muppets who would struggle to run a light refreshments event in a brewery?

# RTP 2012-03-28 09:46
At least the P&J; have run with this story.

Labour drops clanger over 50p tax vote

Labour has admitted in a leaked e-mail that it made a “screw-up” by not backing SNP MPs in a vote against plans to cut tax for top earners.
Read more…

Holyrood to debate Osborne budget
I wonder what Lab will do if there is a vote.

# Hing em high 2012-03-28 12:27
In relation to the P&J;, I saw the story. I think they have been inundated with complaints over the generally disgraceful level of bias the paper has been displaying especially since the new year.

I cancelled my order and let them know in no uncertain terms as to why I did. For the first time in over 50 years of the paper didn’t come into my house. The copy I saw my sisters and she has cancelled her order as of friday this week.

# nchanter 2012-03-28 18:56
Quoting Hing em high:
In relation to the P&J;, I saw the story. I think they have been inundated with complaints over the generally disgraceful level of bias the paper has been displaying especially since the new year.

I cancelled my order and let them know in no uncertain terms as to why I did. For the first time in over 50 years of the paper didn’t come into my house. The copy I saw my sisters and she has cancelled her order as of friday this week.

Yes , one upon a time the P&J; could not only spell integrity but apply it. Sadly they have joined the mob of anti independence grunts in a minor capacity as in holding the jackets for the big guns. a rod for their own back their accomplishment. A really sad day.

# theycantbeserious 2012-03-28 10:00
If labour and unionist incompetence leads to independence…happy days!

# Willow 2012-03-28 10:25
Hi,

This just shows how far the media in Scotland will protect the Labour party, We have heard Balls bang on & on about the 50p tax since the budget & the media have given him plenty coverage now this & nothing!

Guido has covered it & has the leaked emails. Looking back at Guido’s coverage it appears Ball.s knew there was to be a vote on the tax, so no excuse!

bit.ly/HfUtKL

bit.ly/HhDIjM

Leaked email

bit.ly/GTFtGS

I also see Guido has a link to The SNP in the “seen elsewhere” section.

Labour MP willie Bain tweet

twitpic.com/925lof

I hope my links work.

# ds12 2012-03-28 10:55
Aberdeen journals at least seem to be a bit fairer than they used to be.Anyone see Scott Begbie’s column in the EE last night.
I’m not going to copy it all but the best line was
“did you know than an independent Scotland would have no emergency plan to deal with a zombie apocalypse”
He then went on to rubbish all the scare stories.

# weegie38 2012-03-28 11:17
Scotland becoming independent would instantly fix the existing zombie problem. Or will we be setting up our own House of Lords?

# ButeHouse 2012-03-28 13:14
Very amusing weegie38. I’m sure you will VOTE YES

# edinburgh quine 2012-03-28 15:32
Over my dead body they will. While I have a breath left in my body, I’d fight for all parliamentary houses to be elected. England can have their auld folk hame attached to their commons but surely not us………. please somebody agree with me

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-03-28 15:35
Me, edinburgh quine!

I also think ds12’s zombie apocalypse should be added to the ‘A-Z of Unionist myths.’

# Fungus 2012-03-28 22:31
Oh aye. No unelected, troughing, patronage and privilege here. That includes Liz 1

# Aucheorn 2012-03-29 00:21
Would that be Betty Windsor ?

# alexb 2012-03-28 11:00
Pardon me for being cynical, but I don,t think it was a “screw up”. I believe it was quite deliberate, and arranged by the Westminster Labour Party. These “machiavellian” tactics have long been associated with this party, whether it be council, or parliamentary business. I think the leaking of the e-mails are quite deliberate, and are meant to show “confusion”, rather than admit it is party policy. Be prepared for more dirty tricks from all the unionist party,s in the run-up to the referendum, assisted by their pals in the media. This is just the beginning.

# nchanter 2012-03-28 11:50
Quoting alexb:
Pardon me for being cynical, but I don,t think it was a “screw up”. I believe it was quite deliberate, and arranged by the Westminster Labour Party. These “machiavellian” tactics have long been associated with this party, whether it be council, or parliamentary business. I think the leaking of the e-mails are quite deliberate, and are meant to show “confusion”, rather than admit it is party policy. Be prepared for more dirty tricks from all the unionist party,s in the run-up to the referendum, assisted by their pals in the media. This is just the beginning.

Politics,– the blackest of the black arts.

# Hing em high 2012-03-28 12:30
I tend to agree with you – being a cynic myself!

The Brit Labour Party is well trained in the dark arts!

# GrassyKnollington 2012-03-28 11:07
Dear Newsnet that was my last quarter pint of milk on these coco pops and that photo has turned it to yogurt.

Now I’m going to have to eat them dry.

Re the article,

The line is “we’re still socialists”

# scottishwatersnotforsale 2012-03-28 11:57
Like you Alexb ,I think it was a deliberate ploy,afterall the one side which never gets caught out with leaks ,(strange that eh ?) is the Labour spin machine.
While the press are quite happy to reinforce the message of Tory millionaires they conveniently overlook the oppositions background.
Lets face it, (apart from in Scotland and to certain extent -Wales ),who of any significance is going to take them to task in England ? The press ? the political commentators ?
They’ll take a hit in Scotland happily because they’ll rely on the core vote, its a sad reflection of how shallow the political parties are in Westminster.

# bodun 2012-03-28 12:27
Brian Wilson, Labour stalwart and erstwhile weaver, is taking part in an online discussion on this topic on the scotsman steamie thesteamie.scotsman.com/…/

readers may wish to take him to task on Labours abstention/absence/darts night or whatever it was.

# Marga B 2012-03-28 16:00
Did you see the question from – possibly one of you – about the Labour-biased MSM, which Brian called a “partisan” view “for which there was no factual evidence” ….

# karaokeguitarman 2012-03-28 13:35
Labour consider that they have a divine right to rule in Scotland. They cannot adjust to the idea that maybe the people would prefer honesty to subserviency whilst Labour politicians milk the system for all its worth.They do not represent SCOTLAND or her people, they misrepresent them, and are only interested in looking after their own political careers,income and expenses, and will do LONDON’S bidding without question.They have already shown their true colours over decades with the suppression of Gavin McCrones report.The movement of the maritime boundary is another example of why we should rightly call them ******. This latest episode is just a contination of that disgusting party and its amorality.If we give Labour the benefit of any doubt,we deserve to be crushed!They are not fit for opposition, never mind government.

Comment edited – NNS Mod Team

# Dundonian West 2012-03-28 13:44
Maryston4″Wee Willie Bain revealed on Twitter earlier tonight that it is ‘a long-standing PLP convention not to support SNP motions’.
Of course, this just confirms what we’ve always known, ie. that the Labour Party will oppose SNP plans/policies regardless of whether it will benefit their constituents. Party of the People right enough…”

The facts of this,Maryston,p  oint exactly in that direction.
Spin,and more spin.
They had a good [?] teacher in the’Prince of Darkness’,now Lord Peter Mandelson,and other stalwarts,[Brow  n,Darling,Blair  ,etc.] who changed Labour and it’s core values forever,into New Labour.
Scottish Labour will forever remain New Labour,demoted to pont scoring,and very little else.
Good riddance to them.You woudn’t have found me saying that 5 years ago!
I’ve grown up since then.

# RTP 2012-03-28 13:54
Saw BBC Scotland lunch time news no mention of this there,are we surprised NO.

# Astonished 2012-03-28 13:58
Sorry for the delay in posting – my ears are bleeding. I’ve tried listening to BBC Labour radio – There seems to be no mention of labour’s duplicity.

Surely the BBC are not covering up for the labour party ?

I am fed up complaining directly to the BBC and getting the same “we have done nothing wrong” reply.

Anyone got the e-mail of the BBC Trust’s lord patton ?

BBC Trust – I see they do irony – Big Style.

P.S. Online Ed – Any reply yet on BBC Brian’s misreporting of Nicola Sturgeon ?

# Old Smokey 2012-03-28 14:04
You can always comment on Betsan Powys page
bbc.co.uk/…/…
appears to be the only one open

# Dundonian West 2012-03-28 14:59
I’ve been waiting weeks for Patten to come back with the BBC response,but alas the British Establishment seems to have closed ranks—even the BBC.
I regularly watch Reporting Scotland,but with a great deal of scepticism.

Last night STV at 10.40pm (Scotland Tonight)ran a story re Scotland’s food and whisky exports—–good news,where the exporters and a blogger were given air time to give us the export FACTS,without political input.
A BREATH OF FRESH AIR.

# iReferee 2012-03-28 14:23
Off topic but the BBC Scotland Politics site (bbc.co.uk/…/…) gives the headline “Holyrood to debate Osborne budget” and below it a sub title “How the fuel duty cut is funded” This second headline relates to last years budget as opposed to this years where fuel duty is going up. Why are the BBC allowed to get away with this?

# rhymer 2012-03-28 15:24
Quoting iReferee:
Off topic but the BBC Scotland Politics site (bbc.co.uk/…/…) gives the headline “Holyrood to debate Osborne budget” and below it a sub title “How the fuel duty cut is funded” This second headline relates to last years budget as opposed to this years where fuel duty is going up. Why are the BBC allowed to get away with this?

Since Patten hasn’t changed the biased BBC reporting in Scotland surely a list of the more blatant BBC lies and propaganda could be raised at PMQs and some sort of “ombudsman” could be appointed to,ensure that only verified news is broadcast and the the BBC political editors and commentators do not spread lies or spout propaganda.

# Dundonian West 2012-03-28 15:37
Quoting rhymer:
Quoting iReferee:

Since Patten hasn’t changed the biased BBC reporting in Scotland surely a list of the more blatant BBC lies and propaganda could be raised at PMQs and some sort of “ombudsman” could be appointed to,ensure that only verified news is broadcast and the the BBC political editors and commentators do not spread lies or spout propaganda.

Methinks that would unite the Unionist parties (Scottish Labour,Tory,Lib  Dem)even further,and drive them into Coalition!

# Thee Forsaken One 2012-03-28 16:05
The sub-links are automatically generated. You’ll see links to ancient stories when they post any article. I don’t know if they can override it, but perhaps pointing it out to them might make them change it.

The BBC are biased, but not everything they do has an agenda. Sometimes it’s technology, sometimes it’s incompetence (The two usually go hand-in-hand online).

# Jiggsbro 2012-03-28 16:07
Quoting iReferee:
This second headline relates to last years budget as opposed to this years where fuel duty is going up. Why are the BBC allowed to get away with this?

The second headline is one retrieved automatically by the algorithm that tries to find ‘related’ stories. There’s an argument that the algorithm should pay more attention to dates, but it’s not bias or an attempt to mislead. It’s just that there aren’t many budget related stories to be found.

Of course, if they covered the Labour abstention on the 50p vote, then there’d be a more up-to-date story to find.

# iReferee 2012-03-28 16:54
I don’t believe that the news should be subject to an automatic algorithm…someone should check this before it goes live.

# Jester 2012-04-23 13:43
Wonder if anyone can help, I contacted my local MSP, Pamela Nash (labour) who claims she voted in support of the SNP amendment.
Can anyone confirm the date of this vote, and a link to which MPs voted?
Cheers.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments