Banner

By G.A.Ponsonby

The Labour party may have damaged its relationship with several leading newspapers over its distribution of a press release containing details of its complaint after First Minister Alex Salmond shared a cup of tea with Scottish Lottery winners Chris and Colin Weir.

Newsnet Scotland has learned that some journalists are furious after their newspapers were omitted from a list of those notified by Labour of their ‘tea party’ complaint.

The complaint, by Labour MSP Paul Martin, claimed that by having tea with the Weir’s in Bute House Mr Salmond had broken the Ministerial code.

Mr Weir is a long standing member of the SNP and both he and his wife had donated £1 million to help fund the pro- independence campaign.

According to Martin, having a cup of tea in Bute House may have constituted a misuse of public resources.  A spokesman for the First Minister pointed out that Bute House is a private residence as well as a public building and the First Minister used his own teabags to provide tea for Mr and Mrs Weir.

However, Labour has apparently sparked fury amongst some journalists by initially giving the ‘teabag’ story to a select few newspapers, leaving out their more widely read competitors.

Newsnet Scotland also understands that the Labour party were initially reluctant to pursue the tea-party story believing it to be too petty.   However, according to a respected source, Johann Lamont’s group were persuaded by the Daily Telegraph newspaper to issue a complaint.

According to journalists at the Holyrood Press Tower, the Telegraph was desperate to keep the story going and a complaint from Labour would allow this.

The ‘tea bag’ complaint, which is thought to be an attempt at diverting attention from the scandal over the Tory party’s ‘cash for access’ revelations, has been covered widely by many Scottish main stream news outlets including the BBC and STV.

The Telegraph’s desire to divert attention from the Tory ‘cash for access’ scandal may be explained by the revelation that one of those who attended a ‘thank you’ dinner for major donors hosted by Prime Minister David Cameron in July 2010 was the Chief Executive of the Telegraph group Murdoch Maclennan.

The post-election dinner with MacLennan, who was also a member of the Unionist led group known as the Calman Commission, came in the same month that Tory leader Cameron met Aidan Barclay, chairman of Telegraph Media Group, in No 10 Downing Street.

The revelations follow the cash-for-access row, in which Tory party treasurer Peter Cruddas was filmed by the Sunday Times apparently offering private dinners with the Prime Minister and chancellor George Osborne in return for six-figure donations.

The scandal prompted the immediate resignation of Cruddas amid calls for a full independent inquiry into whether donors had been given influence over UK government policy.

According to figures released by the Electoral Commission, wealthy donors entertained by the Cameron’s in Downing Street have given more than £10.3 million to the Conservative Party.

The apparent willingness by Scottish Labour to assist a Tory leaning newspaper in diverting attention from a story that damages the Conservatives will be viewed as bizarre by many observers.

The revelations that the Telegraph themselves are implicated in the Downing Street “cash for access” story further compounds the decision by Scottish Labour.

The episode will add weight to claims that Labour now see the Tories as allies in the fight to control Scotland and are willing to help divert attention away from stories damaging to their anti-independence partners.

It also follows the embarrassing refusal by Labour to support an SNP inspired motion this week aimed at blocking the Tory plan to reduce the tax paid by high earners, a story all but suppressed by Scotland’s media outlets.

Comments  

# J Wil 2012-03-30 00:33
So the Telegraph is influencing Scottish Labour’s policy decisions. Wasn’t this exactly what the Cruddas affair was about with regard to the Tories? The only difference was that there was no money changed hands, apparently.

# Hirta 2012-03-30 00:42
O/T – better from BT bbc.co.uk/…/…

# oldnat 2012-03-30 01:48
While SLab worry about Alex giving a cup of tea to the Weirs, Time Magazine is soliciting votes as to which “leaders, artists, innovators, icons and heroes that you think are the most influential people in the world.”

Alex Salmond is on their list of candidates

time.com/…/…

Voting at the moment – “Should Alex Salmond be on the list?” Definitely 52.46% : No Way 47.54%.

# clootie 2012-03-30 07:53
I’ve voted 😀

# Exile 2012-03-30 08:04
Me too. Now 58.x% YES.

# Macart 2012-03-30 08:08
Ditto. 😀

# chiefy1724 2012-03-30 08:30
Currently at 59.81% for, 40.19% No Way

# Aikenheed 2012-03-30 09:03
Me too – now 61.85% yes

# gopher3 2012-03-30 09:17
62.35% now.

# Caadfael 2012-03-30 09:28
64.13% now!

# Clanky 2012-03-30 09:28
63.99%

Mon the cybernats. To the NatMobile!

# Fungus 2012-03-30 09:52
65% now 🙂

# Skip_NC 2012-03-30 11:40
Just voted. 69.92% now.

# Legerwood 2012-03-30 12:38
Now over 70% after I voted. Nos are under 30%

# creag an tuirc 2012-03-30 14:28
72.99%

vote figures
1842 YES
687 NO

# hektorsmum 2012-03-30 15:24
73.65 yes, 26.35 no. as of 15.25

# lumilumi 2012-03-30 16:21
Voted.
74% yes
26% no

The wording… ‘wily politician’, ‘disunite the United Kingdom’…

William Wallace, Robert the Bruce, Alex Salmond…

# edinburgh quine 2012-03-30 18:19
I’ve just voted (I’ll whisper this, for the 3rd time) and it’s currently sitting at 74.41% to 25.69%

# gfaetheblock 2012-03-30 20:55
I thought that as supporters of democracy we would’ve against multiple voting and rigging ballots?

# lumilumi 2012-03-30 21:13
Aw, come on, it’s just an online thingy, not to be taken too seriously. (I’ve only voted once, though.)

# KingEckI 2012-03-30 08:52
Voted. I cringed when I read the blurb though:

“Alex Salmond may achieve for Scotland what William Wallace could not: freedom from Westminster”.

:facepalm: Americans!

# alexb 2012-03-30 09:14
Quoting oldnat:
While SLab worry about Alex giving a cup of tea to the Weirs, Time Magazine is soliciting votes as to which “leaders, artists, innovators, icons and heroes that you think are the most influential people in the world.”

Alex Salmond is on their list of candidates

time.com/…/…

Voting at the moment – “Should Alex Salmond be on the list?” Definitely 52.46% : No Way 47.54%.

Thanks, oldnat. I see the definitely number now almost 70%.

# scottish_skier 2012-03-30 11:29
Just asked 12 folk to go and vote.

Currently 69.52%

# Dundonian West 2012-03-30 11:34
I’ve voted.

# Arbroath1320 2012-03-30 10:10
Just voted.

Currently sitting at:

Definitetly 66.29%

No Way 33.71%

# rhymer 2012-03-30 12:31
Quoting oldnat:
While SLab worry about Alex giving a cup of tea to the Weirs, Time Magazine is soliciting votes as to which “leaders, artists, innovators, icons and heroes that you think are the most influential people in the world.” Alex Salmond is on their list of candidates. Voting at the moment – “Should Alex Salmond be on the list?” Definitely 52.46% : No Way 47.54%.

Now it is over 70% yes and just under 30% no.
(sounds like a prophesy on the independence referendum ?)

# Omega 2012-03-30 13:52
72.46 – Definately, 27.51 No way

# Roll_On_2011 2012-03-30 02:04
OT

George Galloway is running in the Bradford West by-election.

bbc.co.uk/…/…

The by-election was triggered by the resignation of former Labour MP Marsha Singh on health grounds.

He held the seat in the 2010 general election with a majority of 5,763.

However, Respect Party candidate George Galloway, who was expelled from the Labour Party in 2003, has tweeted that “we have won the most sensational victory in British political history”.

Respect leader Salma Yaqoob also told the Press Association she had heard Labour had conceded victory, but there has been no confirmation of this.

If George wins this one, as indicated above, it will be a kick in the teeth for NuLabour (Southern region).

The results are expected in the early hours of this morning.

[Update]

Galloway claims stunning poll win

independent.co.uk/…/…

George Galloway claimed a sensational victory in the Bradford West by-election tonight in what would be a serious blow to Ed Miliband’s Labour party.

# Dances With Haggis 1320 2012-03-30 05:47
George finally manages to squeeze his Brit Nat carpetbag into a parliament.. I used to have Respect for Geo but listening to his anti-indy rants on youtube ended that

# Exile 2012-03-30 08:05
As long as he keeps out of Scotland. Is George Galloway the new Screaming Lord Sutch?

# Harry.Shanks 2012-03-30 09:36
If you look immadiately to the left of Galloway on the TV footage of him making his victory speech, there is an unseen person wearing a highly visible “Vote Loony” hat.

Highly appropriate.

# ButeHouse 2012-03-30 02:21
BBC World Service has announced a sensational George Galloway victory. This is a major blow to Milliband and if Boris regains London and the SNP gains Glasgow I think we will be waving goodbye to Ed Milliband’s leadership of the labour party. Move over Ed, brother David is on his way. VOTE YES

# oldnat 2012-03-30 02:33
Even better. When BBC 24 started showing pictures of Galloway’s victory speech, they immediately switched over to the Asian Business report!

# ButeHouse 2012-03-30 02:26
As for this ridiculous Tea Story. I think most people in Scotland will view it as petty vindictiveness and punish Labour accordingly. VOTE YES

# ButeHouse 2012-03-30 02:30
Just getting the official result now. Looks like George has won by a staggering 10,000 votes. What a kick in the teeth for The Labour & Unionist Party.

VOTE YES

# Roll_On_2011 2012-03-30 02:53
Aye

He won the seat with 18,341 votes – a majority of 10,140 ballots – with Labour coming in second with just 8,201.

dailymail.co.uk/…/…

# oldnat 2012-03-30 02:56
Galloway/RESPECT 18,341 (55.9%)
Lab 8,201 (25.0%)
Con 2,746 (8.4%)
LD 1,505 (4.6%)
UKIP 1,085 (3.3%)
Green 481 (1.5%)
Nat Dem 344 (1.0%)
Loony 111 (0.3%)

Loonies coming both first and last is a remarkable achievement!

# tartanpigsy 2012-03-30 03:17

“Mr Pussycat man” as the missus just called him, I just hope he has more respect for mthe citizens of Bradford than he does for those of his homeland, and no, I won’t hold ma breath

# edinburgh quine 2012-03-30 04:56
Aye, oldnat, you’re not wrong there

# cardrossian 2012-03-30 07:01
Quoting oldnat:
)

Yes, but the first Loonie is a wily old fox and simply went for the Moslem vote in a high Moslem density area. Much cleverer than the other unionists

# davidferguson1 2012-03-30 07:03
SNP should have stood. We would have had a good chance of winning… 😉

# clootie 2012-03-30 07:52
oldnat

😀

# Exile 2012-03-30 08:07
Well said.

# Exile 2012-03-30 08:06
What happened to the postal votes?

# Macart 2012-03-30 08:46
Labour’s resident necromancer was busy in the house of Lords. 😉

# davidferguson1 2012-03-30 02:55
I’m guessing the Tea Party story originated with Tory High Command. If this story is true, then the Labour Party is also now involved.

Both political parties are registered Data Holders under the Data Protection Act. They are obliged by law to surrender all the information they hold on any individual if that individual requests it. Media organisations can generally weasel out of this as there is an exemption for ‘journalistic privilege’, but it doesn’t apply to political parties.

If anyone knows the Weirs or can contact them, it might be worth suggesting that they file a request with both Labour and Tory HQs under the Data Protection Act. This would give them access to all email exchanges concerning them, plus any ‘articles’ supposedly penned by journalists that in fact emanated from the political smearmongers. The results might provide some interesting insights into the ‘joined at the navel’ relationships between the unionist parties and the MSM.

# Arthur G 2012-03-30 03:22
Excellent idea, davidferguson1! My friend is a friend of Mr & Mrs Weir’s daughter. I shall ask her to pass on your suggestion. You can buy a lot of legal advice when you have £160m+ in your bank account.

# RaboRuglen 2012-03-30 09:36
Hi Arthur,

Only £159m+ now!

Regards,

# Vincent McDee 2012-03-30 10:23
Nah! More than 160.

Do you have an idea how fast £160M can grow properly invested, even at 45% tax?

# davidferguson1 2012-03-31 08:36
Hope they will act, and that they will get somewhere. Would like to hear how things progress, if they do.

# Nation Libre 2012-03-30 07:18
O/t. Watching the Scottish Affairs Committee discussing the referendum and what a complete farce it is. Davidson is a disgrace, warning contributers about cybernat attacks and mocking the SNP. What a complete sham. On BBC parliament channel

# Buddyh 2012-03-30 08:02
Been watching it as well and again the bbc show where there loyalty lies, so far it has been 2 hours of Anti- Independence, SNP bashing, Cybernat comments and Bile, and even the chair told two of the commenters to stop agreeing and start arguing as it will help our case better. Mr Ian Davidson in a class of his own as chair person.

# Vincent McDee 2012-03-30 10:27
I take my hat off to your resilience, bravery and sufferance NL and B.

I’m quite sick after just few minutes of viewing.

Shame there’s no Freedom of Cybernatia Awards, you both deserve it.

# Nation Libre 2012-03-30 17:10
Quite agree, 30 mins was enough for me, talk about leading questions!

# Maryston4 2012-03-30 10:28
Have to agree with you Buddy.
I’m not one for watching many Committee Hearings but just watched Davidson ‘grilling’ (the only word for it) members of the Electoral Commission. I don’t think I’ve seen any Committee member – never mind a Committee Chair – be so rudely aggressive and, at times, dismissive of neutral contributors who are merely offering advice.
He, Lyndsay Roy and Alan Reid seemed to be trying to force the Electoral Commission into placing time and financial restraints on SNP campaigning and, at one point, seemed to suggest they should produce a ‘this is what’ll happen if you vote for Independence’ handbook. A ‘neutral’ one, obviously.

# Nation Libre 2012-03-30 17:12
Is there a method in which you can complain about the obvious bias? Also, as there is a local election soon, are these one sided attacks on the SNP allowed

# uilleam_beag 2012-03-30 20:05
Unfortunately not: any complaints about conduct in a committee have to be referrered to the chairman/woman of said group (in this case, our auld pal Davidson). Note what happened vis-a-vis the “doing” incident. As to your second point, the rules of parliamentary privilege get in the way, I’m afraid.

# Nation Libre 2012-03-30 23:34
Thanks for the info U_B

# mudfries 2012-03-30 07:20
My god, has the labour party and the Unionist newspapers really sunk so low? teabags!!!!
I just cant believe this story, what next? Lamont and co demanding that Salmond prove he used his own milk and custard creams? did labour really claim for such things from the public purse when they were in power? dont answer that folks!!!!

# From The Suburbs 2012-03-30 07:25
Just heard religious slot on BBC Radio Scotland in which Father Rob Warren attacks Alex Salmond’s tea parties and admits that his script is discussed with BBC producers.

# ds12 2012-03-30 11:15
Quoting From The Suburbs:
Just heard religious slot on BBC Radio Scotland in which Father Rob Warren attacks Alex Salmond’s tea parties and admits that his script is discussed with BBC producers.

I heard that as well this morning and couldn’t believe that even that slot is now seen as an opportunity to have a go.No idea who the guy was but he certainly overstepped the mark this morning.

# chiefy1724 2012-03-30 11:22
Well, there is an alternative take, which is that Rob Warren was using the opportunity to POINT OUT that his script was actually being “discussed” (censored/spun/whatever) by BBC North Britain.

[Which I am disappointed at but not surprised about.]

We’ll see if he gets an invite back.

# ds12 2012-03-30 16:50
Quoting chiefy1724:
Well, there is an alternative take, which is that Rob Warren was using the opportunity to POINT OUT that his script was actually being “discussed” (censored/spun/whatever) by BBC North Britain.

[Which I am disappointed at but not surprised about.]

We’ll see if he gets an invite back.

I did pick that up as well but I think he used the word “gaffe” in association with Alex Salmond.

# J Wil 2012-03-30 11:22
Is this guy such a wimp that he has to listen to the news manipulators?

Perhaps he has had a promise from the BBC to back him on other matters of more interest to the Catholic church.

# chiefy1724 2012-03-30 11:29
Sorry, there goes that conspiracy theory.

Rob’s an Episcopalian

www.stjamespenicuik.co.uk/

# proudscot 2012-03-30 13:36
Quoting chiefy1724:
Sorry, there goes that conspiracy theory.

Rob’s an Episcopalian

www.stjamespenicuik.co.uk/

Episcopalian? So he’s a member of the minority Scottish version of the C.of E. Ah well, that’ll explain his anti-Salmond stance.

As I recall from my history at school, Episcopalianism was a watered-down version of Roman Catholicism, invented during the English reformation to accommodate those who felt they needed the spiritual comfort of elaborate RC type ritual, as opposed to the plain and simple Puritan (and in Scotland, Presbyterian) style of worship.

# D_A_N 2012-03-30 11:24
that sounds interesting… I’d submit it to newsnet along with a link to the audio on iplayer. Could be something in this.

# Angus 2012-03-30 07:43
Yesterdays North Britsman ran 2 stories on it, and nothing on the Torys real corruption.
Media corruption and manipulation.
Labour are pushing it.
It was amusing to hear that AS used his own tea bags, so I wonder if its the cost of boiling the kettle that bothers labour?
Vote for Eck!
time.com/…/…

# UpSpake 2012-03-30 07:44
What a tired disgruntled, unprincipled lot the Labour cabal in Scotland is. I’m growing very tired of FMQ’s from Holyrood and I’m beginning not to care anymore at the BBC’s lack of respect to the FM but constantly cutting him off in mid-sentence. Clearly the ruling party in Holyrood endorse this activity and be entertaining numpties like Lamont are happy to see the constant dumbing down of our democracy.
My eyes roll back in my head at every SNP Accused headline. Salmond reported for mis-conduct — from that lot !. Sad, very sad!.

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-03-30 08:02
Oh no UpSpake, I wouldn’t miss FMQ’s for all the tea in bute house (forgive the pun !).

I think this is just another Labour “storm in a teacup” (:D) – couldn’t help it – sorry!

I also think the suggestion about asking Mr and Mrs Weir to take a bit of action is sensible and as was said, shine some light on the links between the Labour bus crash and their propaganda department, the MSM.

# Mako 2012-03-30 09:48
I am sure Rupert Murdoch would like to speak to the Weir’s. He has a big axe to grind with the muppets of the Westmidden parties.

# Macart 2012-03-30 08:15
Not really surprising that the Torygraph would be behind this episode. More surprised that it became a story at all. Just what would the Weirs be lobbying for? What favour could they hope to gain from the FM? An obvious answer to both questions and one which should have seen the story binned before it got started. This really is a train crash for Tory and Labour rags alike here.

# scottish_skier 2012-03-30 08:38
I suspect they were lobbying for a referendum on Scottish independence and trying to get AS to support it. If that’s the case, it’s scandalous!

# Macart 2012-03-30 08:50
SHOCKER! 100pt headline – FM uses teabags not loose leaf!!!!!! Bags of broken biscuits from poundsaver evidence of fraud in Bute House catering, EEK! 😀

# Harry.Shanks 2012-03-30 09:38
As long as Tunnock’s products are OFF the menu, I’m happy.

😀

# proudscot 2012-03-30 13:40
scottish skier, as the late lamented Frank Carson would have commented on your post – “That’s a cracker!”

# art1001 2012-03-30 08:45
Very true. They had clearly no personal economic agenda. They are hugely independently wealthy. J K Rowling donated a similar sum to the Labour Party in a very similar fashion. Ecclestone of course had a potential motive around F1 and smoking ads.

Alex would not have to promise them any favours, changes in legislation to suite them or special treatment of any kind other than a friendly chat and a cup of tea.

What Labour are implying here is that any donation to a political party must be dodgy. In their mindset anyone who does it must be after something personally to the detriment of the wider society.

When a selfless and public spirited gesture is debased in such a manner I really despair for the future of our democracy. The Westminster Regime parties are collectively and individually repellant.

# Macart 2012-03-30 09:16
Well said art.

# Big Eye 2012-03-30 08:22
How hilarious is this Bradford result?

While Ed was queing for his pastie at Greggs, Galloway was handing out a pasting!

Labour must be I’ll about the 3 rd May as vultures circle Glasgow City Chambers anticipating the outcome.

# farrochie 2012-03-30 09:07
Hereafter, I’ll think of all Labour’s petty criticism of the SNP as “teabag complaints”.

# MAcandroid 2012-03-30 13:03
Scottish Blendgate

# Diabloandco 2012-03-30 09:10
So we have Allan Cochrane and co “inciting” the Holyrood Labourites to make utter fools of themselves once again.

I have watched his column with distaste for some time and would urge all Scots of independent mind to boycott the site – leave it to the cerebrally challenged snipers of the dependency parties – surely the final straw for any self respecting respondent is the arrival of the witless wonder fae Falkirk and the Scotsman?

# gus1940 2012-03-30 09:20
Since The SNP came to power The Unionist Parties at Holyrood, primarily Labour, have made numerous attempts to make mud stick to to The SNP with to date 100% failure to do so.
Many of these attempts have involved calling for official inquiries by the Holyrood Authorities which in every case ended with Labour’s claims being found to be groundless.
This unnecessary waste of civil servants’ time and taxpayers’ money must have been considerable.
Is it not high time that a FOI Request was made to make public just how much taxpayers’ money has been wasted on investigating and adjudicating on Labour’s feeble and fruitless attempts at making petty and parochial political capital.

# clootie 2012-03-30 10:20
They do it – so they assume everyone else does.

Glasgow City Council activities being investigated by the BBC or the Telegraph………….zero

Use of teabags at Bute House – Page one of the mail yesterday and coverage on all MSM outlets.

It is easier for the newspapers to blame new technology for their decline than face the truth that they are no longer journalists but part of the unionist propaganda machine.

# lumilumi 2012-03-30 20:31
Well said, clootie.

Sad, isn’t it. Once proud and prosperous papers going down the pan, it’s not the internet to blame, it’s their own doing.

# Jim1320 2012-03-30 09:21
George Galloway is indefatigable that is for sure 🙂

A good result in that it demonstrates that Labour isn’t in a position to readily deliver a fair society in the UK and that if we want a fair society we need to deliver it within our own borders.

As to the tea bag story – Labour have been suckered good and proper. Their first instinct that it was too petty should have warned them against getting in bed with Alan Cochrane et al.

Labour = Absolute Saps!

# sneckedagain 2012-03-30 09:25
“Teabag complaints”
I like that
Weshould probably give huge prominence to this attempted slur as it would rebound on the perpetrators.

# Mako 2012-03-30 09:54
Hmmmm….this could be a monney maker. Picture of the FM on the front of Scottish Blend and a wee caption reading ‘First Ministers Choice’

# GrassyKnollington 2012-03-30 09:32
Not in the least surprised, everyone knows that Labour in Scotland prefer Tory rule from Westminster to Scotland running her own affairs.

Helping their pals the Tories by taking the heat of a genuinely sleazy story is the least Labour can do for their fellow unionists.

The SNP’s out to stop them from stroking that nice ermine collar and trousering some serious Westminster expenses.

Hand round the “we’re all Tories now” T-shirts to the Britnats and let the voters see who they’re really dealing with.

# Robabody 2012-03-30 20:00
Indeed GK with a nice catch phrase on the shirt of (say)”I’ve come out – vote SLAB get Tory”

Or as the Cream once put it: “I support the left but I’m leaning (leaning)to the right”

# velofello 2012-03-30 09:49
I just hope that Alex Salmond doesn’t milk this teacup complaint too much at FM Question Time.I watched FM Question Time yesterday, dear oh dear.

Groucho Salmond and the Three Stooges. If only it had been fiction I was watching. But no, in fact these three are the talent aspiring to govern Scotland.
One has difficulty reading her script, and worse, difficulty in comprehending what she has been told to say: Another’s weapon of choice is faux indignation and arm waiving. And the third looks lost.

# GrassyKnollington 2012-03-30 10:17
I was interested watching Action Krankie Davidson at FMQ yesterday as I realised that she conducts herself like an over enthusiastic sixth year at an amateur dramatic performance.

She was obviously loving being the centre of attention for those precious few minutes.

Johann Lamont’s innumerate contributions on numeracy where she demanded to know what had happened to the 16 hours per day of P.E and the 4 *nursery teachers for every child in Scotland that the SNP had pledged was comedy gold.

* in common with Johann Lamont I may have got these figures embarrassingly wrong (slumps down into seat looking angry and slightly bewildered )

# MAcandroid 2012-03-30 13:09
Krankie Davidson seems a bit too pleased with herself for my liking.

# J Wil 2012-03-30 10:04
Labour should be dubbed the Tea Party
and Lamont the tea lady. With apologies to tea ladies everywhere.

# Vincent McDee 2012-03-30 10:35
Did not know “tea lady” could become an oximoron in the adequate circumstances.

Live to learn.

# J Wil 2012-03-30 11:33
You must be recallng the old saying, “She’s no lady she’s my wife.”

# Fungus 2012-03-30 18:47
You know they could get a good thing going there to help the redundancy payment to all the councillors in May. Fudd could make the sandwiches and Johann the tea and flog them in the chamber at half time.

# alba1320 2012-03-30 10:30
I’m going to listen to the Brian Taylor Debate today on R. Scotland. I wonder if the the disgraceful behaviour of the liebore MPs re. abstaining on the tax cut for the rich will be mentioned. I wonder if anyone will raise the disgraceful news blackout of this story carried out by the BBC et al will be mentioned too. Somehow I doubt it.

Re. the Times top 100 I see camoron is on it but not getting too many votes. It is also interesting to note that millibore is not there. So much for his charisam and personality!!!

# MajorBloodnok 2012-03-30 16:08
Apparently on Question Time last night (29 March) Douglas Alexander had a go about the 45% tax rate and was slapped down by one of the Tories on the panel asking why then had Labour not voted against it last week? So someone’s noticed at least.

By the way, Salmond on 74% and Cameroon on 45% at last count on Time website – I think you can vote more than once if you like…

“Ye’ll huv had yer tea!”

# Peter A Bell 2012-03-30 10:40
No apologies for posting this here or anywhere. Alex Salmond definitely deserves to make the Time 100 list. Help make it happen by voting for him. ti.me/H2Fgxh

# Jiggsbro 2012-03-30 15:43
You can also vote against Cameron (or even for him, if you’re that way inclined): time.com/…/…

# X_Sticks 2012-03-30 10:51
As for the tea-bag scandal, how long will it be before the unionists start questioning the SNPs involvement with the late Edwin Morgan? After all, he must have been after something for leaving them all that money!

How much lower can they sink? They really are becoming an embarrassment!

# Legerwood 2012-03-30 12:51
I have to admit X-Sticks that I was wondering how long it would be before Labour tried to drag Edwin Morgan into the fray.

Labour’s petted lip approach since they lost the election is tiresome in the extreme and is on full view in this latest incident.

# Dundonian West 2012-03-30 11:24
Scottish Labour have an almost pathological hatred of the SNP ever since Winnie Ewing won the Hamilton by-election in 1967,and it hasn’t abated since then.
What did Winnie do to infuriate Labour?
She won a by-election for the SNP in a Labour stronghold,ther  eby defying Labour’s ‘Divine Right to Rule’ in Scotland.
Send them packing—-that’s what I say,and the sooner the better.

# velofello 2012-03-30 11:29
i suppose Labour were motivated to raise the alarm over tea bags due them judging others by Labour standards.
What next,news of a Labour sponsored seance to seek out Edwin Morgan?

# theycantbeserious 2012-03-30 11:52
AS now 69.5%!

Tea and Independence….sounds familiar….could be a good omen!!

# rhymer 2012-03-30 12:53
On Nick’s BBC site re George Galloway there are quite a few people say he was elected because people were fed up with Labour, Tories an Libdems and he was the only alternative.

We are luck up here in Scotland as we have a MUCH BETTER alternative with the SNP and a Scottish Government that looks after the people ‘s interests and aspirations.

# Dundonian West 2012-03-30 14:07
In Scotland we know there is a better way.
Be off with the lot of them and their ‘out of reality’ Westminster HEADQUARTERS.

# Rafiki 2012-03-30 13:02
Re the teabag story; the complaint was apparently lodged by Paul Martin MSP.

His faither is Lord Martin of Bishopbriggs – I seem to recall something about expenses, not teabags but taxis?

# X_Sticks 2012-03-30 13:20
Aye, “Gorbals Mick” (Baron Martin of Springburn) was well know for his expenses, and his missus too! She didn’t like walking, so “taxied” everywhere. He stood in the way of any reform of MPs expenses.

I’m sure Paul has had some coaching in “the game” from his illustrious dad!

# Robabody 2012-03-30 20:09
Inverted commas missing from “illustrious” X_sticks? 😀

# proudscot 2012-03-30 13:55
Quoting Rafiki:
Re the teabag story; the complaint was apparently lodged by Paul Martin MSP.

His faither is Lord Martin of Bishopbriggs – I seem to recall something about expenses, not teabags but taxis?

Was there not also an allegation that he was found to have been claiming for mortgage repayments, although the said mortgage had been paid off years before?

# daveniz 2012-03-30 13:46
Quoting Briggs:
Vote for Eck!

time.com/…/…

David Cameron is on it too click on
view all scroll down and make sure he
is not on the list its currently 52.6% no
way!

# GrassyKnollington 2012-03-30 13:50
RevStu sums up biscuitgate.

wingsland.podgamer.com/…/

# Dundonian West 2012-03-30 14:02
He doesn’t GET IT! Milliband.”I think this was to do with local factors that were particular to the constituency and we have got to understand those lessons”.
BBC on-line re Bradford West.
LOCAL FACTORS?—-get real,your head’s in the clouds.
Go,and take your culpable Labour Shadow Cabinet with you,most of whom were in government as our economy went down the tubes.
Darling and Brown had the decency to take a back seat when booted out,but you lot WERE THERE AS WELL!
Ruined us,and left an open goal for the Tories with LIB/Dems to do whatever they wish to us.
Just go please,and don’t come back—–the lot of you.

# rhymer 2012-03-30 14:19
Anything on the LabourHame site regarding George Galloway’s win?
Silly question I know.
No doubt Ed will spout the “We are disappointed but we have learned lessons” sort of response. They will never learn.

(I bet Ed’s brother is getting warmed up ready to replace him
when he resigns in the near future)

# Jiggsbro 2012-03-30 15:30
Today they’ll be ‘learning lessons’. And then tomorrow it’ll be time to stop apologising and get on with their core mission of ‘taking voters for granted’.

# alicmurray 2012-03-30 15:11
Interesting article about online activism.

newstatesman.com/…/…

# clootie 2012-03-30 16:34
alicmurray

Great article – thanks for the link.

# RaboRuglen 2012-03-31 09:03
Hi alic,

I lost interest in 38 degrees when they refused to consider investigating the BBC for its bias against Independence and the SNP. Apparently they asked members of the “Scottish” Labour and Unionist parties if this was the case and got the answer “no”. Immediate loss of interest in the case, and I lost interest in them.

They still pester me with emails which I long ago classed as “junk”

A completely English-centric organisation.

Regards,

# alicmurray 2012-03-31 11:34
RaboRuglen

Good to know, thanks.

# Mako 2012-03-30 15:57
I will be taking a load of Scottish Blend to the Glasgow count in May.

# Puskas 2012-03-30 16:22

# Hing em high 2012-03-30 16:31
One for the lawyers here, Can the Weirs not take legal action over this?

74.29 last time I looked!

# Islegard 2012-03-30 19:00
If you had £160 million and you’re sitting on your yacht in the Med having cocktails. Would you care?

# km 2012-03-30 20:26
Just voted for Alex. 74.69 now.

# mato21 2012-03-30 16:36
O/T

Along with our Welsh friends we will be helping to pay for a new sewerage system down south

walesonline.co.uk/…/…

# clootie 2012-03-30 17:00
We all contribute to the pot. However England has an unrestricted/undefined spend budget. We (the too wee,too stupid and unwashed) can have a percentage of that spending providing we can uncover it – sounds fair.

# Hing em high 2012-03-30 17:06
They are gambling that we are “too incompetent” to find it?

# Fungus 2012-03-30 20:11
Am I being stupid here..I thought English water and sewerage was privatised. So why am I paying for it?

# millie 2012-03-30 18:38
Just come on the site, so I don’t know if Miliband’s ‘meeting’s list’ has already been mentioned. (see below).

bbc.co.uk/…/…

# Angry_Weegie 2012-03-30 19:03

# Legerwood 2012-03-30 19:21
O/T but it would seem that privatisation of the NHS down south is gathering pace from this story in the Telegraph.

telegraph.co.uk/…/…

# D_A_N 2012-03-30 19:51
o/t but if anybody’s bored I made a wee picture dedicated to our two favourite unionists. dl.dropbox.com/…/…

# lumilumi 2012-03-30 20:39
Thanks, D_A_N for the laugh! 😀

# D_A_N 2012-03-30 21:02
glad you liked it bud 🙂

# Hing em high 2012-03-30 20:01
OT

I am now cheered at the thought that Labour has now also lost control of Midlothian Council following another deselection defection.

My caffeine laced bevvy will tatse good tonight!

# lumilumi 2012-03-30 20:36
I’m sceptical.

Deselected GCC Labour councillors set up their own “Glasgow First” outfit but some of them have already said they’ll vote with Labour in the Council. Same in a couple of other council areas.

Seems like a cynical attempt by failed career politicians to hang on to their cosy life, and help the ailing party (Labour) at the same time.

They’ll do anything, I repeat, anything, to thwart the SNP.

# Islegard 2012-03-30 20:51
Wow That’s an amazing coincidence! This seems to be happening all over just in time for the election!

# lumilumi 2012-03-30 21:07
How can the electorate be warned about this cynical ploy? The MSM won’t touch it, and many will just vote for the familiar name is he/she ‘isn’t Labour anymore’…

They (Labour + new affiliates) have a sly cunning about them, have to give them that.

# lumilumi 2012-03-30 20:52
Oh, and as to the Weirs.

I feel sorry for them that Labour and other unionists have dragged them into this, I’m sure they never wanted it.

They’re long-time supporters/members of the SNP and wanted to give a tiny part of their new weath to a cause close to their heart. To be compared with callous, cynical, self-seeking, greedy, tax-dodging businessmen after their own good… These decent, ordinary folk don’t deserve such a comparison.

Note to any SNP politician/activist: always carry your own teabags and biccies, otherwise you’ll be accused of corruption by the unionists.

# gfaetheblock 2012-03-30 21:04
I am a bit confused by this story and it’s focus.

Cameron invites folks who give him loads of money to Downing St.

Salmond invites folks who give him loads of money to Bute Hse.

The story is Labour’s press releases?

Should parties and referendums not be publicly funded, to prevent specialist interest millionaires distorting campaigns?

# roboftheburnawn 2012-03-30 21:12
gftb- Will make it clearer to save any further confusion –

Cameron invites folk to Downing St in return for loads of money.

Salmon invites folk to Bute House to say thanks for loads of money.

Simples- ” squeak “

# lumilumi 2012-03-30 21:25
I do not think that political parties should be publicly funded because that would ossify the party political situation.

In Finland all parties who manage to get an MP in parliament (usually around 6-8 parties) get some public funding, based on the number of MPs, so it’s discriminatory against the smaller parties.

The rationale behind using taxpayers’ money to fund political parties is that democracy needs several parties. But the taxpayers are increasingly unhappy about this. Why should they fund career politicians’ lifestyles and major party campaigns?

Parties also raise money of their own, and there have been some grubby deals. The whole system is being called into question.

# Islegard 2012-03-31 00:28
Would it be better if they removed the political parties rights to raise funds outside of public funding do you think?

# Islegard 2012-03-30 23:18
gae I’ve noticed you are easily confused. Can’t you tell the difference? I believe you can and don’t care.

# gfaetheblock 2012-03-30 23:40
I can, I am just looking for some balance.

Politicians entertain and ego stroke donors, irrespective of if they are unions, business leaders, lib dem fraudsters or lottery winners.

Public funding would allow politicians to focus on politics and governing, rather than rattling the charity tin.

# Islegard 2012-03-30 23:43
I agree with what you say. However I disagree in respect to comparing lottery winners to dodgy dealing, unions, business leaders and lib dem fraudsters. However you are correct it should all be capped and above board.

# gfaetheblock 2012-03-31 00:04
The lottery winner is the least self serving and following his heart, the rest are following their pockets, it would be good to remove all of this from politics.

Either that, or we go American….

# Islegard 2012-03-31 00:30
I would imagine the lottery winner isn’t self serving at all. They will live the rest of their lives free from politics and can gain nothing from donating. If they were truly self serving they would donate to no one.

# RandomScot 2012-03-31 00:07
You seem to be deliverately confounding secret behind closed doors deals by Tories and Labour and what the SNP did

Alex Salmond didn’t have a secret deal. He announced to all and sundry that he saw about the win and contacted the Weirs

He couldn’t have been more upfront about it

And what did the Weirs donate for?

A referendum on Independence that they, as SNP members support

no policy papers being written for parties by private companies and astro-turf groups as happened with ConDems and Labour

# baycitytroller 2012-03-30 21:30
O/T

Does anyone have a link to the article (I think it was on NNS) about BBC Scotland editing footage of Alex Salmond shaking his head to make it look like this was in response to John Swinney?

# millie 2012-03-31 00:00

# baycitytroller 2012-03-31 00:20
Many thanks – wasn’t sure if it was on this site or somewhere else – would never have thought of looking at that article. Now, off to start a fight (verbal only of course). 🙂

# jinglyjangly 2012-03-30 22:06
On channel four , the report on the Bradford by election stated that Milliband was told at 22.30 hrs ie 30 minutes after the polls closed to get the helicopter organised for the victory parade the next day. Now that tells me a lot about the labour organisation I thought it was only in Scotland that they were a disorganised rabble . But this suggest that they are as disorganised in Rukland. I know SNP guys who can tell accurately how a ballot is going by the initial checking of the papers even before the count starts!!!!
Ive voted about an hour ago it was at
75% for, Cameron was in negative terrority

# daveniz 2012-03-30 22:19
bbc talking about George galloway and his respect party then they showed what they think about the SNP by saying people voted for the respect party as a fringe party much like Scotland for the SNP as a protest to the 3 major parties! biased and clueless bbc!

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments