Banner

General

By Martin Kelly

The Scottish National Party has revealed that they plan to submit a Freedom of Information request to the UK Government in order to reveal the extent Labour party online submissions played in the UK Government’s referendum consultation.

In a statement issued today [Friday] the SNP’s Westminster leader Angus Robertson said that he would be submitting Freedom of Information requests and tabling a series of Parliamentary Questions to find out how many responses were submitted via Labour’s website with amended wording and with the pre-set text.

The demands for transparency follow the revelation that over a quarter – 740 out of the 2,857 – responses to the UK Government’s referendum consultation contained the identical text from the Labour Party website, however the total number from the site has yet to emerge.

On BBC Good Morning Scotland yesterday, Scottish Secretary Michael Moore said that the 740 responses are “the same as the Labour Party text on their website”.

The admission from Mr Moore followed a statement from the Scotland Office that revealed over two hundred submissions to the UK Government consultation were either duplicates or were anonymous.

Describing the Westminster led process as “discredited”, Mr Robertson said:

“It is high time Michael Moore came clean. He is trying to dictate the terms and timing of Scotland’s referendum from Westminster, on the basis of a discredited consultation and a Labour block vote.

“We only know that over a quarter of the responses to the UK Government consultation were the identical text from the Labour Party website because it was dragged out of Michael Moore during a BBC interview – nowhere does this information appear in the Scotland Office report.

“But how many more came from Labour’s website, with slightly amended wording?”

Mr Robertson repeated calls for an independent analysis of the results from the final report claiming that without scrutiny “it isn’t worth the paper it is written on”.

Mr Robertson made clear that the form used by Labour was not the issue and indeed his party encouraged such participation. However the senior SNP MP insisted that the process had to be subject to robust independent scrutiny if integrity was to be established.

He said:

“The SNP encourage such participation in consultations by political parties and other organisations and individuals, that is not the issue. The issue is that we need to know the full detail of the Scotland Office consultation submissions, and how many in total came from Labour’s website, given that they have clearly swamped the puny number of overall responses. The consultation needs to be independently analysed, properly detailed and broken down by categories.”

Mr Robertson cited the Scottish Government’s own pledge to have their consultation independently analysed and labelled Michael Moore’s rejection of similar scrutiny “a disgrace”.

He added:

“The reality is that the anti-independence parties are in cahoots to try to dictate the terms and timing of Scotland’s referendum from Westminster – they have been partially exposed, and I am now submitting a series of FOI requests and parliamentary questions to find out the real extent of Labour’s swamping of the Tory/Lib Dem consultation.”

An under pressure Michael Moore refused to appear on Newsnight Scotland on Wednesday evening to answer questions on his Government’s consultation.

Newsnet Scotland contacted the Scotland Office on Tuesday and again on Thursday with our own questions relating to the consultation. However to date we have received no reply.

Comments  

# Jiggsbro 2012-04-05 19:47
We also haven’t been told how many came from people in Scotland (and note that people outside Scotland who chose to use the Scottish Labour website form would effectively hide their location, so we may have no idea where those 700+ responses originated).

# Astonished 2012-04-05 19:49
To keep this from being reported I assume our state broadcaster would be very ,very,very grateful if someone found a pregnant panda…… preferrably up a tree on a unicycle.

I predict that this will be glossed over or not reported by the BBC.

# PrideoftheClyde 2012-04-05 19:59
The BBC have already made their minds up that the UK consultation is totally legit and the Scottish consultation is flawed. Doubt that will change.

‘Most back single Scots question’ is the headline the BBC continue to run with in their article on the UK consultation. I wonder what the headline will be when the Scottish consultation results are released.

# Juteman 2012-04-05 20:01
[/Mr Robertson made clear that the form used by Labour was not the issue and indeed his party encouraged such participationb] 
I think this is an important statement. He is protecting the SNP position.

# Jediirnbru 2012-04-05 20:23
Aye but I also would suspect he’s also had a wee shufty at the SG submissions and there can’t be too many coming from the SNP site, definitely not in the percentages coming from the labour site for the UK Consultation! He’s no daft. He is leading them to comment on that so that he can then pull out exactly how tiny the number is. Baiting them. It’s brilliant to watch, yet they fall for it every time!!!

# balbeggie 2012-04-05 20:39
Lesley Riddoch’s comment piece in the Guardian

guardian.co.uk/…/…

# Hirta 2012-04-05 20:39
Quote:
On BBC Good Morning Scotland yesterday, Scottish Secretary Michael Moore said that the 740 responses are “the same as the Labour Party text on their website”.

Therefore, why haven’t the BBC followed up on this and actually do what they are supposed to do – provide a story.

Ah, silly me ^

# Cuphook 2012-04-05 21:09
I know some people used the Labour Party proforma but changed the wording to a pro-independence submission. It would be interesting if they submitted a FOI request to see if their views had been received by Westminster.

# tartanpigsy 2012-04-06 03:19
I did this, giggling as I went, and today I did receive an email from, I think the Scotland Office thanking me for my submission, so we can only suppose that Labour allowed me to tinker with their great uber plan to wreck the consultation process.

# peter,aberdeenshire 2012-04-05 21:11
I heard the interview with Moore, what a slimy little weasel this guy is, the man who called for the abolition of the post of Scottish secretary, but then again why be surprised as the Lib Dems have sold out every single shred of principle and decency they ever had to get a sniff of power.
Independence will be all the sweeter when it comes in spite of the unionist smears and negativity, all aided and abetted by the state broadcaster.

# Angus 2012-04-05 21:36
I dont think Moore will be under any pressure.
The Brit media will see to that.
Though this article by Lesley Riddoch seems spot on!
guardian.co.uk/…/…

# Hirta 2012-04-05 21:49
Yes, that article is indeed spot on.

Imagine Brian Taylor at the BBC writing something like that, ie the truth and no spin.

# Marga B 2012-04-05 22:04
Riddoch is indeed an asset.

# Marga B 2012-04-05 22:14
OT again, I’m afraid, but are people happy that “Scotland’s ex-top civil servant” Sir John Elvidge (Global Infrstructure Partners) may be in line to head Edinburgh Airport? Is he a goody? It sounds a bit strange to me but then what would I know.

www.ianfraser.org/…/

# tartanfever 2012-04-05 22:33
Marga, at present I’m just very pleased that Sir Angus Grossart and his bid with The Carlyle Group has fallen through. That I would not have liked to see happen.

# Hirta 2012-04-05 22:37
With independence, Edinburgh airport, indeed all airports in Scotland, will be a beehive of activity with aircraft arriving/departing from foreign country / destinations whom are interested in our new free country – it just needs the right people in charge and free of ANY Westminster shackles..

# wisnaeme 2012-04-05 22:56
#tartanfever…..ah Sir Angus Grossart, that well know member of the Speculative Debating Society of Edinburgh. Now there’s an organisation that’s worth looking into.

# Hing em high 2012-04-05 23:30
The Brit MSM wont put any pressure on him. If the Pro Independnce cause does manage to get through to him then Cameron will give him a sweetie and tell him to go sit in a corner and be quiet. If he utters so much as one “but!” then Cameron will sneer at him “Do you want that Knighthood or not Mikey?! Now be a good toady and shut up!”

# Islegard 2012-04-05 23:56
O/T if anyone is interested the deficit figures for 2011-2012 have been released. With all the cuts in place London only overspent their budget and added £124.6 billion to the national debt. Scotland was in deficit in the region of £6.4 billion. If you do the sums this means Scotland is being asked to pay towards Englands deficit of £118.2 billion and debt of £5.5 trillion. England has been in deficit for the last 9 years Scotland only the last 2 years. The deficit figures can be viewed here:-

ons.gov.uk/…/…

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-04-06 00:32
O/T The Scotsman’s poll on whether the independence referendum should be brought forward from 2014 had jumped over the past 24 hours from 61% No’s to 45%

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-04-06 00:53
at 00.50 hours it was 6230 votes for YES (57 %) and climbing by the minute…someone needs to look into this !

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-04-06 01:14
Yes Votes
0.56h 6455
0.57h 6598
01:00h 6749
01:01 reset to 0% 0%
01:03h 6904
01:04h 6948
01:05h 7000
01:06h 7108
01:07h 7141
01:08h 7171
01:09h 7195 – these are votes in favour of bringing forward the 2014 referendum date.

I cannot believe I am witnessing this blatent rigging of a newspaper poll !!!!

# Barontorc 2012-04-06 01:26
kendo – life’s too short – dinnae waste yer time looking at the North Britisher!

It’s rubbish, we know it and they know it.

# Vincent McDee 2012-04-06 01:33
You took it from my keyboard, Barontorc.

Early today it surprised me there have been no changes in the last few days and I wondered about how long it would take till they’d do something about it.

But I wasn’t expecting them counting how many readers they lose per minute.

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-04-06 01:42
I know what you mean, but in this instance I am witnessing it right before my eyes… 01.15 Yes votes 7542 and I monitored it every minute to 01:38 where the yes votes have increased to 8812 incredible, unbelievable and thoroughly disheartening.

2000 + votes in less than an hour…

# bipod 2012-04-06 01:46
link to the poll? I would like to see it for myself.

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-04-06 01:54
Quoting bipod:
link to the poll? I would like to see it for myself.

www.scotsman.com/news/politics

you will see it near the top right corner… refresh the page every minute or so and watch the votes rise… pls confirm if you do 🙂

# bipod 2012-04-06 02:01
yup, the yes vote has gone up by atleast 400 votes since i started viewing it 5 or so minutes ago.

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-04-06 02:15
4000 votes in 1 hour…. they must be desperate

# Diabloandco 2012-04-06 08:34
Just went for a peek = I didn’t think the Scotsman had that many readers.

I seem to remember that particular paper was ” fun oot” adding its own comments to skew debate, looks like they are doing it again.

Didnt they have a nice wee poll but wouldn’t divulge the results ?

# PrideoftheClyde 2012-04-06 03:05
Taking your count of 8812 votes at 01:38 and my count of 11,607 votes for yes at 02:48. That is 2795 votes over 70 minutes or 39.92 per minute or 1.33 votes every 2 seconds. Bear in mind that the count now seems to have stopped at 11,607 so the rate was probably higher.

So, when you don’t like what the people say, programme a votebot to say what it is you want the people to.

Sorry if my calculations are wrong, it is very late and I have had beer. Not alot, but enough.

# McHaggis 2012-04-06 10:10
Yup, no question these additional votes came from a bot.

Its bad enough their comments sections are completely infested by unionist sockpuppets (roughly 6 unemployed individuals posting under many usernames), and now this!

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-04-06 11:29
at 0.56hours it stood at ‘Yes’ (bring it forward) 6455 votes

I stopped monitoring at 02.04 hrs and that number had increased to 10,170 ‘Yes’

If a ‘national’ newspaper can manipulate the ‘news’ in such a fashion, I honestly dispair.

# Holebender 2012-04-06 12:41
Quoting kendomacaroonba  r:
2000 + votes in less than an hour…

…and that hour was one when most people in Scotland were in their beds!

# Robert Louis 2012-04-06 07:29
Wow. Looks like a fiddle to me.

# Exile 2012-04-06 16:55
NNS has an article on this elsewhere on this site.

# pete_w 2012-04-06 01:16
Still climbing; at 1:15am it is 7542 (61%) for Yes.

# Mark MacLachlan 2012-04-06 12:29
Sterling work Kendo.

The excuses from @KennyFarq Kenny Farquharson deputy editor of Scotland on Sunday so far include:

1. Er, how about a less paranoid explanation: a big chunk of our web readership is US diaspora, in diff time zone.

2. Viewed from a real newsroom and not
the Evil Unionist Nervecentre of your imaginings, your claim is ludicrous.

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-04-06 16:26
I have minute by minute votes registered from 0.56hours to 02.04 hours.

The guy cannot justify this as a ‘blip’ caused by US posters

# Willow 2012-04-06 01:10
Hi,

Sorry to be O/T

Re the Scotsman poll @ 1.05am 7000
yes,no @ 4757.

I have been watching it go up since about 12.45. No change to the no vote.

# clochoderic 2012-04-06 02:29
Good spot, Kendo just checked it and it has leapt to 70% in favour of an earlier referendum.

I also noticed that the option to vote seems to be closed.

I voted in this poll ages ago and it was running roughly 60 / 40 in favour of 2014 until just now. Funny, that, eh?

# PrideoftheClyde 2012-04-06 03:16
Conveniently, it has stopped just about where the UK consultaion claims support for an early referendum is at. Funnily enough, it has more in common with the UK consultation as it is completely unreliable and rigged by unionists.

# tartanpigsy 2012-04-06 03:32
Independence poll

Friday, 6 April 2012
Should the independence referendum be brought forward from 2014?

Yes
11608 (71%)

No
4780 (29%)

Time 03:30

But they did let me vote, awfie good of them

So they added 5000 (THOUSAND) votes over the day,

Do you think they’ve been to Glenrothes 😉

# gus1940 2012-04-06 09:54
Should this obvious rigging of the poll not be reported to The PCC?

# Mei 2012-04-06 10:27
The count is 12064 now

# Adrian B 2012-04-06 11:06
More people have voted in this poll than actually buy the Hootsman.

Most of the votes having been completed at a very late hour of the night.

If you add up all the activists and supporters of the SNP, you have a figure of around 22,000 – 25,000 people.

If you add up all the politicly active Unionists you would be lucky to hit more than 10,000 I would think.

The Westminster consultation gets in the region of 2,800 (figure rounded up)

The Scottish consultation receives around 12,000 votes.

Does the Hootsman really believe that anyone will give this poll any credit?

Scots are a canny bunch, and can see through this. It is quite fitting that many voters already have an increased awareness to much of what is going on in the media.

Scotland is maturing as a country and this childish behaviour is being seen for what it is.

Seen in the round Scotland as a country and people are moving towards the bright light of a more content nation. As a people we want more of this enlightenment in all areas of our lives, we understand it takes months, even years to pull all together, but people realise it is happening.

# Mei 2012-04-06 12:56
12812 now, how do you turn this Bot off

# Mei 2012-04-06 12:57
12911, It’s stopped, they’ve popped out to the pub.

# proudscot 2012-04-06 13:06
Quoting tartanpigsy:
Independence poll

Friday, 6 April 2012

Yes
11608 (71%)

No
4780 (29%)

Time 03:30

But they did let me vote, awfie good of them

So they added 5000 (THOUSAND) votes over the day,

Do you think they’ve been to Glenrothes 😉

Maybe the North British Person newsrag did indeed take their cue for this sham poll from the Glenrothes shambles, and wheeled out the entire zombie cast from the excellent US horror/drama The Walking Dead to vote!

# PrideoftheClyde 2012-04-06 09:11
I think someone mentioned it on this site the other day (it was somewhere anyway). The Scotchman was running the consultation story claiming that over 70% of people favoured an early referendum. However, it was a bit embarrassing to have an online poll set up by the newspaper claiming the complete opposite right next to it.

# brh206 2012-04-06 08:57
I would be more concerned that there were so few respondents to their consultation. I also agree that demographics should be put out where possible, age, location etc but not gender as that is not relevant to this debate. In the main though the debate is not about the timing as the Scottish Government would be foolish to bring it forward, we have had hundreds of years of lies so 1000 days of trying to get the truth out isn’t a big deal unless you fear the result as people become educated. No the debate is do we have one or two questions. I initially thought two but actually the more I think about it and the more I see the anti-independence campaign one is fine. I think the Fibdems/Torries will be in meltdown by 2014 anyway and the Liebour Party is going to have to destroy it’self and start again if it is to have any hope of gaining any significant ground in any part of the UK. I now know people who are starting to question every headline on the BBC and in the media as it is just not their experience day to day in Scotland anymore. What they hear is that the SNP is the devil it’self but what they see is a party trying it’s best to represent Scotland and it’s way of life. I think May will be very interesting, if the SNP do very well then fear will really kick in as will the negative propoganda, if the other parties even break even then the propoganda will go down a different route and will be more about SNP failure. We can all see what is coming and just need to be prepared for it. Either way the SNP have to stick to their timescale. A wee side question though if someone could answer for me, in May how will it influence the vote if you only vote for one candidate and not number your preference right down the list. I actually don’t like multi-member wards and transferrable vote. I would much prefer a pr system locally. But if everyone just voted for their first choice would a political party have a better chance of gaining control of a local authority.

# Aucheorn 2012-04-06 09:24
Vote SNP 1 2 3 then Green, DO NOT vote for Unionist parties.

At a local bye election last year an SNP candidate who was leading on the first, second and third count was beaten on the fourth and final count by “2nd” preferences.

# Holebender 2012-04-06 12:51
But those must have been non-SNP second preferences as the SNP candidate’s votes would not have been redistributed at that stage.

You’re not obliged to vote for anyone you don’t want to vote for, and I will only be voting SNP (unless there are any independents I feel are worthy of my lower preferences). I have no idea how such a voting pattern may influence the outcome.

# J Wil 2012-04-06 09:30
Just the other day the pundits were saying that company shareholders do not like bad publicity which damages the reputation of the companies they invest in. These remarks were being said in relation to the email hacking carried out for Sky News. Would it be any different for the shareholders of the Scotsman if their paper if being shown to be involved in news manipulation which can damage their reputation? Do they even know that this newspaper is up to these sorts of activities?

# Juteman 2012-04-06 09:40
I think most Scotsman shareholders will be quite happy with what the paper is doing.

# J Wil 2012-04-06 10:33
The cannot be very happy with the share value and loss of circulation. They would want to know why it’s so low.

# Juteman 2012-04-06 11:17
I think most Scotsman investors view their stake as a Unionist donation. Much like a donation to the Tory party.

# McHaggis 2012-04-06 09:44
I can confirm 1 contribution to the uk consultation came directly from the labour website from me. Suitably amended of course.

# Dougthedug 2012-04-06 10:19
Quoting McHaggis:
I can confirm 1 contribution to the uk consultation came directly from the labour website from me. Suitably amended of course.

McHaggis,
an interesting little snippet from the code in the Labour referendum consultation form on their website.

www.scottishlabour.org.uk/…/

They are not sending responses to the UK consultation anymore as it has finished but there are still two email addresses in the html code.

<input type=”hidden” name=”RecipientsAddre  sses” value=”referendum@scot  land.gsi.gov.uk haveyoursay@lab  our.org.uk” />

From this code snippet it would appear that Labour are monitoring all responses to the consultation going through their website by sending a copy to an email address they own. It would seem they are retaining personal data in an unauthorised manner not in keeping with the Data Protection Act.

In other words they’ve now got your email address and any other personal details you put in your submission.

I’d suggest a word with the Data Commissioner as that is a clear breach of the Data Protection Act.

# UpSpake 2012-04-06 10:02
Hirta. Not with the absurd APD they won’t. Scotland independent should abolish this ludricous tax for nothing. No benifit to the climate the only benificiary is the Treasury and we all know where that is – yes, in London.
I will fly nowhere until this crazy tax is abolished.

# Mei 2012-04-06 10:24
If you want to fly from Edinburgh to Japan it is a lot cheaper to go via Paris rather than via London Heathrow.

# Robert Louis 2012-04-06 12:05
If you fly BA, to say, JFK, but make your starting airport say Amsterdam, then a biz class return is a lot less. It does mean a separate journey to Amsterdam, but it can save thousands of pounds on biz class tickets with BA.

To prove this, I’ve just checked the latest cheapest biz class prices to fly to JFK in biz class with BA, out on 1st May, back on 5th May. From Amsterdam via LHR in biz, the cheapest fare is 2470 Euros. To JFK in biz class starting in Edinburgh via LHR, the price is 4000.60 pounds. Same LHR to JFK flights, just connecting from AMS instead of EDI.

Not sure if the difference is all due to APD though.

# Mei 2012-04-06 14:11
The moral of the story is – boycott London airports.

# RTP 2012-04-06 10:32
Moore marvels at Invergordon firm’s polished performance

THE success of an Easter Ross firm has been hailed as the way to go by the Secretary of State for Scotland.

He seemed to keep this visit very quiet and the head office is in America.
Kirker Enterprises, Inc
55 East 6th Street
Paterson, New Jersey 07524
USA

I wonder if they pay corporation tax in UK??

# whitburnsfinest 2012-04-06 11:25
As of just now, the scotsman results are:

Yes – 12072 (71%)
No – 4896 (29%)

# rhymer 2012-04-06 12:38
Wow!
Looks like the total of supposed responses to their crooked poll
exceeds the number of people who actually buy the paper.

I wonder, does the Beano have higher circulation figures
than the Scotsman newspaper ?

# gopher3 2012-04-06 13:01
Now 12911(72%) on the pole.

# Adrian B 2012-04-06 13:27
The Scotsman have their own political agenda.

Over the past few weeks we are seeing stories such as this (Unionist POV) coming out late in the week and running over the weekend, before dying away at the start of the following week.

This time next week we are going to see another story/stories running along the lines of SNP doing the wrong thing policy wise and Scots want the Status Quo.

No one in Scotland is falling for this noise however.

2014 is getting closer, Westminster still have to give the nod to the legality of the referendum (in their eyes) which doesn’t look like happening any time soon, in which case it shows that they are not in any real hurry either.

The Scottish people would rather have information rather than all this political bluster and noise that acts only as a minor distraction.

# UpSpake 2012-04-06 13:28
One thing which must remain crystal clear is that the UK government nor any of their agencies and that includes the BBC can in any way interfere with the chosen will of the Scots people to presue their desire, as articulated by their chosen representatives  , the majority SNP administration, in their persuit of self-determination. They must step back and allow the Scots to decide how, and when they will enact their referendum. It is 100% the call of the Scots government here and absolutely no-one else.
The international community are aware of what is going on as far as the Council of Europe and the OSCE is concerned. If this interference continues, this time its up to the Scots government to petition the UN to halt UK activities.

# Adrian B 2012-04-06 13:47
Absolutely correct UpSpake. I think that there will be much talking going on with the international community, keeping people informed and bringing them along, rather than the Scots Government choosing to to go directly to the UN using official channels. Such action could be seen at this point as causing trouble with Westminster and may sour the relationship. Nothing to be gained yet by doing so. 2014 is still a long time away in politics. They are keeping their powder dry.

# exel 2012-04-06 13:59
Quoting Adrian B:
Absolutely correct UpSpake. I think that there will be much talking going on with the international community, keeping people informed and bringing them along, rather than the Scots Government choosing to to go directly to the UN using official channels. Such action could be seen at this point as causing trouble with Westminster and may sour the relationship. Nothing to be gained yet by doing so. 2014 is still a long time away in politics. They are keeping their powder dry.

Only problem is all the party political “Urinating” may turn it into “A damp squib”.

# Adrian B 2012-04-06 14:33
exel, this is part and parcel of the spin that all parties work with. It is hard to get the absolute truth out at all times – some parties try harder than others at this. Seems to me that some parties just put out bluster, spin, lies and misinformation at all times.

The result a few years from now may seem like a damp squid looking back after 2014. There will be other news stories in the next few weeks that may over shadow the results of this, however the long term goal will not change until after 2014. In this context it is only a small part of the process to the long term goal, yet to be achieved.

# exel 2012-04-06 13:41
“In a statement issued today [Friday] the SNP’s Westminster leader Angus Robertson said that he would be submitting Freedom of Information requests and tabling a series of Parliamentary Questions to find out how many responses were submitted via Labour’s website with amended wording and with the pre-set text.”

Why does the SNP not stop digging a hole they are already in over their heads?

This party political “Urinating Contest” has gone far enough.

# tartanfever 2012-04-06 13:57
Digging what hole exel ?

# Jim1320 2012-04-06 13:58
It was Labour that opened this can of worms over the Scottish Government consultation process, purely as a piece of party political anti-Nat bashing. There can hardly be any complaints if it comes back and bites them on the arse.

# Barontorc 2012-04-06 13:52
exel – it’s a case of “you show me yours and I’ll show you mine”.

Why not stop criticising absolutely everything coming from the SNP – has it not sunk in that nobody’s actually caring what you think.

# exel 2012-04-06 14:06
Barontorc 2012-04-06 13:52
exel – it’s a case of “you show me yours and I’ll show you mine”.

Why not stop criticising absolutely everything coming from the SNP – has it not sunk in that nobody’s actually caring what you think.

Does that mean I do not have the right to say what I think?

# Jim1320 2012-04-06 14:24
I took it as a plea to be a little bit less negative but negativity is the primary Unionist argument so I appreciate that this would be like tying one hand behind your back. For the record, I like the negativity as it is much easier to counter 🙂

# Adrian B 2012-04-06 14:24
Angus Robertson clearly believes that getting the facts out on the poorly responded to Westminster consultation will give some distance to the Scottish consultation which runs through to next month before the results will be published.

You can bet good money that the facts will be better organised and shown from the Scottish consultation when it does get published.

exel, you do have the right to post what you think, they may not agree, but at least we can discuss points here.

# Exile 2012-04-06 17:15
I think it was more in the manner of friendly advice that you’re wasting your energy.

# Roll_On_2011 2012-04-06 14:23
OT

Panda apart this is a good summation of Labour’s position by Steve Bell in the Guardian:

guardian.co.uk/…/…

# Barbazenzero 2012-04-06 14:53
Agreed.

Also interested to see the 2nd comment re Carwyn Jones, who “is already making noises about how whatever happens after Scots Independence will require a new constitution and new relationships not just with Wales and Northern Ireland but the English regions“.

If true, it would seem that the Labour Party have at least (or perhaps only) one senior member with the ability to think, unlike “Scottish” Labour, it would appear.

If Sion is around, I’d be interested in his views on that gentleman. Any prospect of him becoming their leader when Milly minor resigns, for example?

# Roll_On_2011 2012-04-06 15:30
Aye Browndov

Watford will also become even more prominent, expecially if London gets DevoMax!

I have also read, Daily Record if I remember correctly, that Scottish Inependence could have repercussions as far away as Australia.

# Barbazenzero 2012-04-06 19:34
Yes, I could imagine Watford becoming the Northern bastion of the new Kingdom of M25shire Poundland outside the EEA and a border trading post with the Kingdom of Mercia (within the EEA and Schengen).

I’d guess they’ll be governed by the successors of UKIP, who’ll clearly need a new name for themselves. Poundland Peoples’ Party?

Reading and Guildford would provide similar bastions against the hordes of the great unwashed from Wessex.

# Hing em high 2012-04-06 18:58
Brilliant!

# Corm 2012-04-06 14:31
Evil cyber unionists and their underhanded tricks!

# Mei 2012-04-06 14:53
I’ve sent the following email to the Scotsman

to reception@scots  man.com

copy

Good Afternoon,

Please do something about the fiddling of your online poll

Independence poll

Friday, 6 April 2012

Yes
12932 (72%)

No
5115 (28%)

The 9000 votes added to this poll in the last 14 hours indicates that someone at the Scotman or an outside Bot

is manipulating the voting figures.

Please inform me that if I want to take this further I should contact the Press Complaints Commission

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-04-06 16:34
The No vote has increased to 9000 a 100% increase in a few hours. tragic

# J Wil 2012-04-06 16:51
The paper has missed April 1 by a few days.

Still, they are always playing catchup.

# Marga B 2012-04-06 16:52
You possibly won’t get very far. The Editor is on the Commission, I think representing the regional press ;))

# balgayboy 2012-04-06 15:10
Oh well need to stop buying the The Hootsmon s***e and stop reading the The Hootsmon s***e online..simples! not a big decision surely after all the majority of the Scottish population read the Sun or the DR so that’s the people we need to work on, it maybe difficult but not impossible, remember May 2011, and roll on 2014

# Adrian B 2012-04-06 16:53
This Hootsmans rigged poll is now an article on NNS.

newsnetscotland.com/…/…

# Marga B 2012-04-06 16:54
OT but looking forward to the elections – here’s a pretty good comment on the Steve Bell (panda) cartoon in the Guardian (credit to TimMiddleton):

“In today’s commercialised world, there is a case for having next month’s elections formally sponsored by Rentokil. Every time a tory or quisling seat is lost , a little onscreen graphic could appear. Possibly Nye Bevan holding an aerosol can…”

# Adrian B 2012-04-06 17:04
I am also looking forward to the election coverage after the polls close. Taking friday off work and will watch coverage online and on TV.

Should be a great night, with a number of highlights and much entertainment value

# Barbazenzero 2012-04-06 19:14
Agreed. One of those rare times when BBC political coverage will really be worth watching, especially if Ms Magnusson is on duty,

# Rannoch 2012-04-06 17:15
At 5:10 PM – The Scotsman – Independence poll

Yes 12965 (54%)

No 11085 (46%)

# balbeggie 2012-04-06 22:25
o/t

Uncertainty? What Uncertainty – from the US of A

traveldailynews.com/…/…

# Diabloandco 2012-04-07 08:49
Fantastic! I’m glad I clicked that!

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments