Banner

By G.A.Ponsonby

A Scottish Labour politician has used the deaths of 96 people in the Hillsborough disaster to launch an attack on Scottish First Minister Alex Salmond.

Labour MSP Michael McMahon published a photograph of Mr Salmond standing alongside media mogul Rupert Murdoch with a caption that read “Remember the 96 Mr Salmond”.

The ‘96’ is a reference to the 96 people who died in 1989 during an FA Cup semi-final match between Liverpool and Nottingham Forest.

Mr Murdoch’s Sun newspaper notoriously blamed Liverpool fans for causing the deaths of the victims and claimed that some fans had pickpocketed the dead and dying.

McMahon posted the image and message ten days ago, on the same day that secret files were published indicating a police and establishment cover-up in relation to events on the day of the tragedy. 

The South Yorkshire police force was accused by an independent report of blaming innocent fans for the disaster, and has now voluntarily referred itself to the Independent Police Complaints Commission for investigation.

The use of the revelations by the Scottish Labour MSP in order to attack Mr Salmond comes despite his own party courting Rupert Murdoch for well over a decade following the Hillsborough events.  It also follows UK leader Ed Miliband’s decision to actively promote the Sun newspaper after his own election as UK Labour leader.

The use of the Hillsborough deaths by the Labour MSP is not the first time he has sought to make political capital out of human tragedy.  Newsnet Scotland can reveal that Michael McMahon has also sought to use the shooting of innocent schoolchildren in Norway in order to attack the Scottish government.

Last month the MSP for Uddingston and Bellshill posted a tweet claiming that Scottish Justice Minister Kenny MacAskill would not have jailed Norwegian mass murderer Anders Breivik, despite Breivik having been convicted of killing 77 people.

In a tweet, McMahon claimed that Breivik would have been given only a “few hundred hours community service” by the SNP Minister.

In 2011, Breivik murdered a total of 77 people.  Sixty nine people, mostly teenagers, were shot dead by the lone fanatic at an island summer camp after a bomb planted by Breivik had exploded in Oslo, killing eight others.

The tweets by McMahon will increase pressure on Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont, who has been accused of losing her grip on Scottish politicians after reports confirmed two senior officials were to leave their Scottish based posts as a result of party infighting. 

Ms Lamont, who replaced former Scottish Labour leader Iain Gray after last year’s disastrous Scottish election campaign, was given authority over all Scottish Labour politicians, including MPs, MSPs and councillors.

There are now certain to be calls for Mr McMahon to be disciplined over his use of two murderous atrocities in order to attack the SNP.

Comments  

# Early Ball 2012-09-23 23:12
Can you imagine if a SNP activist said something like this about a unionist politician. The MSM would be all over this story like a rash.

If he is not disciplined for this then it must be condoned by Lamont.

# redcliffe 2012-09-23 23:14
Will the Daily Record mention this, I very much doubt it, or for that matter the new Gardham fish wrapper…………

# bodun 2012-09-24 01:04
But BBC Scotlandshire is every bit as bad:

bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk/…/…

# oldnat 2012-09-24 01:58
If you can’t see the difference between a satirical site, which states clearly that it is totally biased, and an elected representative who is supposed to represent all his constituents – them, poor you.

# .Scot 2012-09-24 11:34
Ouch! I too had difficulty in telling the ridiculous BBCbigots news coverage from the real thing on BBCscotlandshir    e. I am adding BBCScotlandshir    e to my news folder right beside BBC. More power to this site exposing the fact that the BBC has a written constitutional duty to treat democracy outbreaks in Scotland as Insurrection & Sedition.

# Jamieson 2012-09-24 12:54
I’m not so sure about bbc.scotlandshire. They seem to me to be more like the trolls who pretend to be supporters but are constantly writing damaging posts. That article and the last one I read while ‘satirical’ is at times much more derogatory than stuff the MSM publishes about AS

# Dundonian West 2012-09-24 13:26
mmm.Interesting comment Jamieson. Wise not to take everything at face value.
Here is their stated raison d’etre–

bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk/…/…

In future I’ll proceed with caution—but not too much!

# Jamieson 2012-09-24 14:08
Quote:
Here is their stated raison d’etre–

Anyone can write stuff like that to justify there ‘position’ but the proof of their intent is what is actually written. The latest offering is a definite slur on Alex Salmond notwithstanding that it is meant to be satirical. And it’s a bit funny that while the LibDems and Labour are attacked, there are no attacks on the Tories. “bbc scotlandshire” is the sort of thing the London Tory boys on the Economist and Spectator would get up to and the web site is (expensively?)very well set up and polished too. And it seems to be too well written and thought out to be the work of one person. CAN ANYONE ON THIS SITE SAY WHO IS THE AUTHOR(S)AND THEIR CREDENTIALS?
Further it is a bit strange that the BBC has not made any move to have the site taken down. Why? Is it because they see it like I do? As being a good thing for the anti-Independence camp?

# Marian 2012-09-24 16:52
Labour are clearly in desperate straits when one of their MSP’s stoops to such a depraved level as McMahon has done and it is absolutely incredible that Labour hasn’t censured him and distanced itself from the remarks by now. I sure hope this isn’t a taster for things to come

Does anyone here know who is behind “News Scotlandshire” and can assure us without a shadow of a doubt that it isn’t a dirty tricks double double cross the purpose of which is to give the unionists something else to cast aspersions on the supporters of independence with?

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-09-23 23:14
Ms Lamont was not available for comment …..

So we have had Lamont’s Trident views kicked into the long grass by a New Labour Scottish MP trying to be smart and now this.

The list of ‘ma only comment is, well, er nae comment’ from Ms Lamont is getting indicative of a leader out of their comfort zone. You would have thought she would made some form of token protest over Davidson’s treatment of Isobel Fraser given the Fraser’s New Labour connections. Then there is Glasgow Labour’s cosying up to the Orange Order which she was silent on.

In fact, apart from her stream of damp squibs at FMQ’s, Lamont is clearly seen but not heard by the John Smith House Murphy / Russell Brown apparatchiks which was in fact what her pal McKenna in the Gruniad was whining about the other week.

Johann would appear to be yet another New Labour toom tabard as New Labour’s Scottish regional leader.

# Clydebuilt 2012-09-23 23:18
Unionists are grabbing at every event and trying to turn them in to sticks with which to beat the SNP. No matter how ridiculous or sick.

The day after Andy Murray won in NY Marcus Gardham (ex daily record) had a front page devoted to using Murray’s success as an oportunity to demand money fron the Scottish Government for more sport facilities. and to create the illusion that the Scottish Government are failing in their sport initiatives.

# WRH2 2012-09-23 23:20
Quote “The tweets by McMahon will increase pressure on Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont, who has been accused of losing her grip on Scottish politicians after reports confirmed two senior officials were to leave their Scottish based posts as a result of party infighting”.
Losing her grip! I think “Scottish” Labour are collectively losing their grip on reality!

# bringiton 2012-09-23 23:20
Yesterday should have made it more than clear to the London centric politicians that Alex Salmond is not a one man band.
Their tactics of attacking AS as an individual show how threadbare their policy cupboard is.
No policies,No aspiration and No hope from these career politicians.

# .Scot 2012-09-23 23:25
This ranks right up there alongside daft Labour Leadership contender Tom Harris’ edited movie of the fall of Hitler to portray the First Minister as the fuhrer & the Government as the SS Nazis. If offence were a real crime he would be in prison.

There is no depth to which the rudderless party haemorrhaging supporters will not stoop to.

There is no point in seeking a response from the pretended leader of the northern branch of New Labour as she is unable to speak to any member of the press or public on matters regarding the Labour party, Labour party members or Labour Party policy.

Nuclear power plants & Trident renewal are but only a few of her refusals to comment or formulate an individual policy.

# peter,aberdeenshire 2012-09-23 23:33
Labour what are they like eh? James Kelly’s pathetic appearance on The Big Debate, this muppet’s offering but according to the Sunday Post Lamont aka you know who is taking control of the fictional Scottish Labour Party. The paper really has gone downhill since appointing Martin and his cohort McDonnell.

# RTP 2012-09-24 00:04
# peter,aberdeens  hire
I must agree with you regards the Sunday Post in the last few weeks we have had a lot of SNP bashing from them,Mr Gunn seems to be the only fair one of them all it would not surprise me if he was told to go.Maybe it is habit I get the post as it was always my folks paper and I just carried it on and I’m over seventy now.I will give it a few more weeks but then the Broon’s and Oor Wullie will be history.

# peter,aberdeenshire 2012-09-24 00:13
I agree it is mostly habit that keeps me buying it but even that is being tested. I actually wrote to D.C. Thomson to express my concerns but as yet have heard nothing. It is sad to see such an iconic paper being reduced to a sad bitter rag.

# govanite 2012-09-24 00:19
Kelly was impressively brilliant – probably the most incisive mind in Lamont’s party. She should make more use of him. It would be wise if she pushed him to the front in the referendum campaign.
Nationalists should beware his intellect.

# Early Ball 2012-09-23 23:42
Looking at his twitter timeline he would appear to be obsessed with Alex Salmond.

I suspect he is not alone amongst his Red Tory colleagues in having that trait.

# Fungus 2012-09-23 23:47
It’s fear. They know their time is coming.

# deepthroat 2012-09-23 23:53
Even within the rough and tumble of inter-party ‘debate’ there is a need for a standard of decency. When that line is crossed it says more about the accuser than it does about the subject of this out of control wrath.

# oldnat 2012-09-23 23:58
Another of McMahon’s tweets

Michael McMahon ‏@M_McMahon_MSP 
Today -120th Anniversary of Keir Hardie, elected as MP for West Ham South.Proud to be Labour MSP for his birthplace, Legbrannock,Lan  arkshire

Somehow, I can’t see Keir Hardie being anything but sickened that such a low life would be representing his birthplace.

# govanite 2012-09-24 00:11
Remember the children of Iraq next time you stick yer snout in the trough McMahon.

# cynicalHighlander 2012-09-24 00:26
Labour Party Getting More Bizarre – Lamont Remains Silent: vasi.org.uk/…/…

Quote:
While strange things continue to happen within the Labour party in Scotland, the leader of Scottish Labour, Johann Lamont continues to remain silent leading to speculation that she is simply unable to control her party.

# scottish_skier 2012-09-24 08:50
One of these leaders was elected under a PR-type electoral system; something generally the norm in modern democratic countries.

The other leads a government elected under the FPTP system favoured by dictatorships keen to give an appearance of democracy such as Zimbabwe, Yemen and the United Kingdom.

# Dcanmore 2012-09-24 00:26
There is definitely a desperation about Labour these days, acting as if they have the God given right to be in power somewhere in these isles. It’s obvious now that they can’t bear to be out of political office and it is hurting them bad. There is no guarantee that they will be back at no.10 in 2015 and they know it. That’s why Milliband said that the return to power for Labour begins in Scotland, because somehow, they still see the SNP as nothing more than a protest vote and the flock shall return to them.

The longer that Labour is out the more we will see Labour implode because they are getting nowhere fast under current policy and are totally bereft of ideas and vision. A party that spent a considerable time in power tends to go through a period of infighting and chaos before it can be an electable opposition once again.

With Labour MSPs and MPs behaving like this the more desperate Labour is becoming and Lamont’s silence over most issues I think speaks volumes of the situation in Labour. However, no complacency, it’s obvious that Labour will travel to new depths in trite point scoring. They don’t understand, and indeed the MSM too, that the Scottish electorate are moving on and actions by McMahon et al in Scottish Labour will only be a detriment to themselves. Next year we will see a further reduction in labour support and a further 8-10% loss in newspaper circulations. The unionists are on a slippery slope to oblivion.

# Displaced Patriot 2012-09-24 00:42
Despite everyone’s outrage Lamont will not say a word ,the so called MSM media will not say a word.
The smears and the innuendo will continue constantly.
Political correctness subsumes everything else …….is there another way to gain respect and to get Westminster”s attention ……??? Let us ask McGuiness .or Archbishop Makarios ,perhaps George Washington . they all made Westminster listen ,yet we Scots allow the MSM media to rubbish us every day ,without so much as a whimper …….

# Jiggsbro 2012-09-24 02:00
I think you’ll find that McGuinness, Makarios and Washington had slightly more substantial grievances than poor press coverage.

# oldnat 2012-09-24 02:19
Agreed – but the debate about the degree of Scottish autonomy that would be best isn’t about “grievance”. It’s about determining the best system of governance for a nation.

The American colonists didn’t have a “media” in the current sense of the term, but the papers and pamphleteers that they had, were locally controlled and not dancing to a media tune dominated by the establishment.

I understand that the Greek Cypriot press weren’t exactly “London compliant” either.

At the same time, Displaced Patriot’s claim that “we Scots allow the MSM media to rubbish us every day ,without so much as a whimper” seems a bit odd, when posted on a site that does a helluva lot more than “whimper”!

# Jamieson 2012-09-24 13:49
To Displaced Patriot
I am not sure what to make of this post. And I have a suspicion the writer is a plant by the YES men trying to stir up trouble. He seems to me to be implying that some sort of force should be used since all the names he mentions did that. We must be very careful as this could be a new tack by some in the Bitter Together mob to try to discredit the YES people.

# Adrian B 2012-09-24 00:59
Labour especially in Scotland need to get comfortable with the idea that they are not going to be in power either north or south of the border for at least 10-15 years.

Until they realise that, they cannot move on, regroup and sort themselves out. They are supposed to be the opposition in Scotland, but they are not behaving like they are. In Westminster they have the same policies as the ConLib coalition, so offer no change for voters in England. Don’t really know the state of the Labour party in Wales, so I cannot comment.

I was listening to Radio Scotland on Saturday morning and one of the journalists that was commenting claimed (sometime between 9.15 and 9.45 from memory, if anyone wants to listen to it again) that he was actually happy about the state of labour in Scotland as it gave him something to write about – he actually stated that was keeping him in a job!

He went on to make the point that Johann Lamont had made a promise around the time she was elected to sort out what additional powers the Scottish Government should get through devolution. Something that she has failed to comment on like so many other things.

# brh206 2012-09-24 10:37
I would not write of Labour any time soon, to do so would be ill advised. Labour are backed by the same machine which backs the Tories and Liberal parties now, added to that certain Unions who do not reflect their membership but slovingly back labour.

There needs to be someone in the MSM to break ranks and back change for a ripple effect to happen, sadly I just don’t see any MSM outlets taking the plunge no matter what the facts tell them. The people who own the news are served via the UK and an independent Scotland is not in their best interests.

I would say the best strategy is to try and keep the pressure on labour in Scotland, and hope that they continue to be as useless as they are right now. I hope they keep Lamont and Murphy etc as they are good for the YES campaign.

# davemsc 2012-09-24 10:58
I was of the understanding that Lamont thought that the Scottish Parliament had enough (or perhaps even too many) powers when she was elected.

# Macart 2012-09-24 08:11
McMahon – Isn’t he the numpty who used a constituency question op. to attack the FM a couple of months back? I seem to remember the FM tearing him a new one and sitting him on his rude erse at the time.

So basically no personal axe to grind at all for McMahon eh? These personal attacks couldn’t be anything to do with the very public humiliation he brought upon himself could it?

# Roll_On_2011 2012-09-24 08:13
In a tweet, McMahon claimed that Breivik would have been given only a “few hundred hours community service” by the SNP Minister.

In 2011, Breivik murdered a total of 77 people. Sixty nine people, mostly teenagers, were shot dead by the lone fanatic at an island summer camp after a bomb planted by Breivik had exploded in Oslo, killing eight others.

It’s a tad ironic that McMahon uses the 69 butchered youths at the summer camp in which he uses to launch his vile attack against the SNP. I don’t think he realises just who the youths were, or that he doesn’t give a monkey:

Workers’ Youth League (Norway)

The Workers’ Youth League, or AUF) is Norway’s largest political youth organization and is affiliated with the Norwegian Labour Party.

en.wikipedia.org/…/…

I also note that he cannot even spell ‘Breivik’ correctly… what a low-life numpty he is.

Meanwhile back at the NuLabour regional branch in Scotland, the Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont was unavailable for comment.

Roll_On_2014 – For a better Scotland.

# Jim Johnston 2012-09-24 08:33
McMahon is using the bodies of 96 Liverpool fans as a political football.

Imbicile doesnt begin to describe him.

Many in his own party will be as disgusted as Liverpool supporters and decent people everywhere by McMahon’s shameful behavior.

# Mark MacLachlan 2012-09-24 08:43
Shakespeare predicts the dawning of the age of Lamont.

scotlandsaysyes.com/…/…

# Breeks 2012-09-24 08:49
Johann Lamont missed the meteor shower at the weekend too. You’ve guessed it, – she was unavailable for comets.

Michael McMahon MSP for Uddingston and Bellshill.

Now one of the above is bad joke, the other is a sick joke. But can you spot the difference?

# loveme2times 2012-09-24 09:07
Maybe somebody should post this link onto a liverpool fc site, anyone a member of footymad?

This guy is a complete idiot and it is correct if it was the other way round it would be front page news and the first story on mis-reporting Scotland and most likely the phone in on Call Kay with an E.

# Roll_On_2011 2012-09-24 09:18
In reply to McMahon:

Remember the 96 Mr Straw

independent.co.uk/…/…

# Jimbo 2012-09-24 10:03
McMahon is a sick minded man. Anyone twisted enough to take pleasure in abusing the grief of the families of the dead from this disaster purely for petty political point scoring is not fit to hold office.

Was McMahon remembering the 96 during all the years that he and his Political Party revelled in the coverage and support they received from Murdoch?

# dave1297 2012-09-24 10:20
Macart, you are spot on. If I remember rightly this McMahon character was highlighting job loses in his constituency. All fair and what you would expect from a good hard working local MSP. Except this Calamity from Uddingston infered that the FM had personally intervened in the Sir David Murray tax case to HMRC and he should be as proactive for the people of Scotland, not just his “friends”. Total chancer, the stereotypical monkey in a red rosette. Hopefully his constituents see him for what he is and McMahon is voted out at the next available opportunity.

# cjmjr 2012-09-24 10:33
guardian.co.uk/…/… A List of Murdochs meetings with all parties…

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-09-24 10:37
Maybe New Labour’s Scottish Region’s slogan should be:

“This is the age of the Drain … ”

( An old BR advertising slogan for the younger among us)

# scottish_skier 2012-09-24 11:31
What a sick thing to do/say. To think this is an elected member of parliament. We should be ashamed to have this man in the Holyrood chamber. We can only be thankful that the electorate rightly chose once more not to elect the Labour party in May 11.

# Dundonian West 2012-09-24 11:39
Johann Lamont —-the ball is firmly in her court.
If she cannot act on this,I despair for the common human decency of Labour in Scotland—MPs and MSPs.

# johnnypict 2012-09-24 16:30
Lamont needs to bin McMahon or take his side…either way she’s not going to be in a good place! ‘No comment’ wont cut it this time JL.

# Arraniki 2012-09-24 11:45
I cannot recall who said it originally but these days it seems absolutely spot on.

“The party of fear, smear and desparation –
Labour in Scotland.”

# scottish_skier 2012-09-24 12:05
Let’s have a wee sum up of Labours current position….

– Increasingly deluded/desperate behaviour
– Sickening comments such as that from Michael McMahon
– Impotent in the constitutional debate with likely Scottish/UK gov pact being made behind closed doors (to remove Scots MPs from Westminster in 2015, helping a Tory win)
– Boundary changes could make life much harder even if Scotland is still in the UK in 2015
– Electorate more confident in Dave as PM material over Ed
– In-fighting between rival groups in Scotland (MSPs vs MPs it seems)
– Stories of how ‘not available for comment’ Johann Lamont has sorted it all out/united the party in Scotland in newspapers
– Knocking doors to find only 2-2.5 in 10 support the status quo, probably not too happy about the Tory in tow, and asking what more powers will be devolved if they say ‘no’ in 2014
– Unable apparently to gather enough people for a pro-union rally and worried if they do, the orange order and BNP will likely turn up
– Unable to wave the union flag with any vigour due to its negative connotations for many in Scotland
– Labour for independence marching through the streets of Edinburgh
– Popular Labour MSP (Chisholm) and ex-leader (Henry McLeish) calling for devo max/FFA

I can’t help but feel something is going to happen big style in Scottish Labour very soon. That something is likely going to be a big, open split.

After all, it is not MSPs which will necessarily lose out with what is going to happen in 2014, but MPs. Could we see a pro-devo max/independence split soon, led by MSPs? If that happens, the referendum result will be a foregone conclusion.

# weegie38 2012-09-24 13:50
Quoting scottish_skier: 
I can’t help but feel something is going to happen big style in Scottish Labour very soon. That something is likely going to be a big, open split.

Sorry mate, can’t ever see that happening.

The Labour Party in Scotland is built on patronage, tugging the forelock to those in power above you, saying the right things, and generally keeping your head down. People with a capacity for independent thought need not apply, and generally don’t. It is gradually being hollowed out just now, the same process which the Scottish Tories went through in the late 80s and 90s.

You won’t get any hint of a split until the situation is desperate, as we saw with the Scots Tories last year.

# scottish_skier 2012-09-24 16:36
I’m just of the opinion that the situation is more desperate than it might appear, for various reasons. We shall see.

# proudscot 2012-09-24 12:16
McMahon also used FMQs some months back to try to accuse the First Minister and the SNP Government, of outsourcing to China the order for the steel for the new Forth crossing, having allegedly ignored a bid from Dalzell Steel in his constituency.

The First Minister immediately demolished McMahon’s claim, by answering that not only did Dalzell Steel produce steel plate, which was unsuitable for the Forth crossing, but also that no such bid had been tendered or received, as alleged by McMahon.

Lamont also tried repeating this claim that work was being outsourced to China, at the expense of Scottish jobs. She was similarly slapped down by the First Minister. McMahon would do well to copy his leaderine’s current example and become permanently unavailable for comment.

# RTP 2012-09-24 12:37
All true what you say and only last week after the Budget we had MacIntosh saying the same thing about the steel and jobs to China on TV and nobody picked him up on it.

# proudscot 2012-09-24 16:34
Quoting RTP:
All true what you say and only last week after the Budget we had MacIntosh saying the same thing about the steel and jobs to China on TV and nobody picked him up on it.

Quite right RTP, I heard MacIntosh’s comment, I think it was on Newsnicht. The reason he wasn’t challenged, was because he slipped it in right at the end of the programme, when the debate between the panellists was over and they were out of time. As George Foulkes would say, “He did it deliberately!”

# Bill C 2012-09-24 12:22
To try and political point score on tragedy is below the politics of the gutter. It indicates just how desperate Labour in Scotland have become. You can almost smell the fear from Labour politicans as they see the union dissolving day by day.

# Robabody 2012-09-24 13:59
A vile comment from a reprehensible character…….his constituents must be embarrassed, even if his party and its leader are not.

# bigbuachaille 2012-09-24 14:09
McMahon has been roundly and justly criticized on social network sites today.
Now it’s time to consider the LabourforIndy contribution to the rally and to the arguments for indyref.
The World of Joan has a few thoughts which should help persuade more Labour voters to get aboard the pro-indy movement. joanannemac.tumblr.com/…/…

# Indy_Scot 2012-09-24 14:50
Clearly Labour is a very bitter party. They are probably at the point they will do or say anything now.

Unfortunately for Labour, “One often meets his destiny on the road he takes to avoid it.”

# Galen10 2012-09-24 14:58
Slightly O/T, but didn’t Vince Cable just announce a policy on a new bank from the satirical show “The Thick of It”?

I’ve heard of life imitating art…. but haven’t seen it so aptly demonstrated before ;-p

# mackdee 2012-09-24 15:36
O/T
telegraph.co.uk/…/…

“Pro-separatist Referendum” ……is that what we are calling it now?
Anyway,It looks like its gonna be a straight yes/no affair ….Salmond is playing a blinder.

# rhymer 2012-09-24 15:46
Another sleazy Labour attempt to associate
A. Salmond with negative news.

These people are disgusting.

# Roll_On_2011 2012-09-24 15:53
OT

High street retailer JJB Sports calls in the administrators: 

independent.co.uk/…/…

Must be a George Osborne by-product for the Lympics legacy.

# johnnypict 2012-09-24 15:59
I have to say that following the passing of the likes of John Smith and Donald Dewer, Labour have gone downhill dramatically in terms of political vision. McMahon and Lamont et al are a joke. There is no gain to be made trying to associate a person to an event that they have no part in. It doesn’t even make sense. This is not modern democratic Scottish politics…it’s a childish slagging match.

Why don’t these people offer logical arguement? Is it because they don’t have one and have to resort to borderline slander to win any favour?

If anyone votes for these people, regardless of their current political colours, then they are as mad as McMahon and Lamont.

The introduction of one T. Blair has tolled a death nell for Labour in Scotland. It’s only a matter of time before people see through the negativity.

Really disappointed in politicians when the stoop to this kind of rhetoric.

# Diabloandco 2012-09-24 16:02
Perhaps the chap needs a wee reminder of just how cosy Labour leader and Murdoch were ,
from the Guardian never knowingly anti Labour,

“A newly disclosed Downing Street memo has revealed how Tony Blair helped Rupert Murdoch overcome an official investigation which was jeopardising one of his big investments. It shows that Blair, while prime minister, immediately ordered his top officials to help the tycoon who was frustrated that a potentially lucrative scheme was being blocked by a long-running European commission investigation. “

Money talks – especially to Blair .

# cjmjr 2012-09-24 16:17
Alex Salmonds first meeting with Rupert Murdoch was 04/04/2008 it was a breakfast meeting and long after the Hillsborough tragedy. Shame on the Labour party for using these tragic deaths as a political tool….

# cjmjr 2012-09-24 16:34
Youtube Tory Blair meeting Col. Gaddafi in Libya…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sVrtMojEjs0

# velofello 2012-09-24 16:46
A ministry for Truth and Reconciliation would face an impossible task with Scottish labour:
McMahon as discussed above.
Macintosh with his twice stated distortion on Newsnight over buying steel from China for the new Forth bridge.
Baillie and ferrying punters to Holyrood over hospital blankets.
Lamont, apology over rape victim allegation in the pending basket.
In mitigation constructive comments and proposals by Labour at Holyrood would be tabled to the Ministry for T and R

# pmcrek 2012-09-24 18:26
I’m utterly disgusted by this, for over 20 years the people of Liverpool have been fighting for justice for those who died all amidst Government, Police and Legal coverups.

Constantly opposed by a hostile political establishment and a hostile press, responsible for printing scurrilous lies amounting to some of the worst bile ever to appear in the UK mainstream media designed to target the families and friends of those bereaved by this tragedy.

So here we are, twenty years on and one week after the truth is finally and publically admited and politicians begin using the dead that they spent the past 20 years ignoring to score political points.

# Bob Kingdom of Fife 2012-09-24 18:45
when a ‘ slab ‘ msp resorts to this kind of attack on our First Minister then i know we have them rattled and in dis-array,not be long now before some of their ‘ slab ‘ mouth-pieces goes over the ‘ edge ‘, then we will have them.

# Jamieson 2012-09-24 19:03
Further to my posts above about bbcscotlandshir      e. I have now read all the articles shown currently on its site. And that convinces me that bbcscotlandshir      e is a black ops operation against Independence masquerading as a ‘satirical’ web site. Even if it isn’t such a beast, the sort of stuff it publishes does NOT help the Independence cause, based on the old adage… it doesn’t matter what flavour of shit you throw some will stick. Not one of the articles criticises or has a real go at Cameron’s Tories but ALL of them criticise and denigrate the SNP, Alex Salmond, Scots and Scotland in a very derogatory way. Many of the comments are similar to those made by uneducated and ill-informed English commenters who frequent the Telegraph, Daily Mail, Guardian and Scotsman comments pages. The articles are often very critical of a few Labour and Liberal MPs, but that would fit in with the right wing Tory antipathy to the Coalition and trying to demean the Labour Party in Scotland and England.
Other things about bbcscotlandshir      e that I am not happy about are:- the site is too, too professional. There is big money behind it, what with the layout, the quality of the pictures embedded in the web pages, the standard of the writing and the overall professionalism suggests it is produced by some Tory Group in England using paid journalists from existing media .
Finally, nowhere on the site is it possible to fathom out who might be behind the web site. There is no claim to editorship, no writers mentioned and no credits given. In real life the writers on a site like this would be wanting bylines, names and credits.

# Jiggsbro 2012-09-24 20:07
You do understand that any satire of BBC Scotland will have satirical articles satirically critical of the SNP, because that’s what’s there to be satirised?

And that what might have been a ‘highly professional’ website a few years ago could, these days, have been produced by a reasonably talented 10 year old with a smartphone?

# Jamieson 2012-09-24 23:37
You seem to be a bit naive. I would think if a web site was satirising the BBC it would be satirically writing up the news which the BBC doesn’t print. Not constant derogatory attacks on the SNP and Alex Salmond. The BBC might criticise Alex Salmond and his Government but it doesn’t constantly insult him.
Maybe you and your friend tartanfever are behind it? Anyway it is easy to settle the matter. ALL WE NEED TO KNOW IS WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR IT? LET THEM STEP UP.

# Jiggsbro 2012-09-24 23:50
I seem a little naive? You think BBC Scotlandshire is a sophisticated Tory plot and you think I seem a little naive? I’m guessing you have your own definition of ‘naive’, as you seem to for ‘satire’.

A website satirising the BBC would not satirically write up the news the BBC doesn’t. Because that wouldn’t satirise the BBC. It would satirise what the BBC isn’t. To satirise the BBC, you do what the BBC does. Satirically.

The BBC attacks the SNP and Alex Salmond. BBC Scotlandshire satirises that. By attacking the SNP and Alex Salmond, satirically.

Maybe me and the other user – tartanfever – who is a total stranger to me are behind it. Satirically. Maybe we’re undercover Tories, even though ‘being a Tory’ is about the only thing that would stop me getting under the covers with someone. Or maybe you’re satirising the sort of chippy, paranoid nationalist that has made the Newsnet comments section so embarrassing for those of us hoping to convert the undecided. Or maybe not.

There is, of course, an easier way to settle the matter. You could find out what ‘satire’ means, recognise that parody and exaggeration are two of the principal tools of satire, recognise that BBC Scotlandshire parodies and exaggerates BBC Scotland and then just move on to checking for Unionists under your bed.

EDIT: Just moved on and read your later, even more bizarre, post. You seriously think finding the phrase ‘BBC Scotlandshire’ elsewhere means the same person was behind both pages? I’m afraid that when it comes to the internet, you certainly are naive.

And a quick ‘whois’ reveals the registered name of the domain owner. They’ve registered their address as Pacific Quay (satirically!) but the name suggests they’re a Newsnet contributor. He can identify himself to you if he so chooses. But maybe he’s a Tory double agent. Unless that’s what he wants the Tories to think and he’s actually a LibDem mole. And yes, you’re being satirised.

# tartanfever 2012-09-24 20:45
Blimey, and who’s to say you’re not ‘black ops’ Jamieson ? For all we know you could be a fifth columnist !

It’s just daft pointing the finger like this – the next thing is we’ll all be looking at each other in a shifty manner. It’s a poke at the BBC, nothing more. The vast majority of the population don’t know about the website’s existence and never will. I doubt this website will make any difference on the outcome of the referendum, so I wouldn’t worry.

Some of the articles are funnier than others granted, but this is a personal website, it’s not connected to the ‘Yes’ campaign and it’s certainly nothing to do with the SNP.

Goodness, if we’re going to worked up like this over a funny website with two years still to go then I’d worry about the state of us in the month leading up to the vote.

And you can always find out who owns the domain name of the website with a 30 second google search.

# Kinghob 2012-09-24 22:42
Doesn’t matter if the bbc scotlandshire site continuously attacks the SNP and never mentions miliband and cameron and the other clowns of politics as this is art imitating life regardless of who put it up.

Reading the real thing looks the same last time i looked and that ain’t very often.

The Labour clown printing pictures of Alex Salmond and blaming him in some manner for Hillsborough is the lowest of the low and typical of the thick and ignorant since labour loved murdoch and still do) people we have on this planet.

Slainte

# davemsc 2012-09-24 22:57
BBC Scotlandshire is a spoof website whose aim is to expose the BBC’s anti-SNP/independence bias, so it seems you’ve missed the point.

# Jamieson 2012-09-24 23:22
Jiggsboro and Tartan Fever
Come off it. Most of the stuff on bbcscotlandshir      e is not ‘satire’. It is insults and derogatory stuff aimed at the SNP to discredit Alex Salmond. That is the current favoured tactic of the Bitter Together crowd.
I am not naive and I know reverse propaganda when I see it. I see it regularly on many comments sites. Maybe if you lot on here visited elsewhere on occasion you’d learn to recognise it too.
I don’t find the bbcscotlandshir      e web site funny.
Oh and here’s a very early example of the people behind it bbcscotlandshir      e is mentioned near the bottom of the page.
yisavowel.blogspot.co.uk/
And Tartan Fever Quote:
And you can always find out who owns the domain name of the website with a 30 second google search
I’ve tried and can’t. Maybe you could and let us all know.

# Adrian B 2012-09-25 01:01
Jamieson
Had a look at the Y is a vowel blog.
The last blog post is from April 2007. BBC Scotlandshire has been mentioned many times on these very pages over the last 18 months or so by various NNS commentators. Just because someone used the word in a blog five and a half years ago does not mean that they put the spoof site up a couple of weeks ago.

It was NNS that had a story on BBC Scotlandshire on the 18th of September that led many to visit the new site:
newsnetscotland.com/…/…

Try going to the news from Glasgow and news from Edinburgh sections. You will see that the web address remains unchanged but you will either be viewing a spoof Scotsman or herald site.

“ALL WE NEED TO KNOW IS WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR IT? LET THEM STEP UP.” – As whoever has set up this site is using BBC logo without permission – I say that because why would the BBC give permission for a site like this? I somehow doubt that someone will step forward to publicly claim it as their work. Better Together were recently caught using the BBC logo on their site without permission.

“Most of the stuff on bbcscotlandshir    e is not ‘satire’. It is insults and derogatory stuff aimed at the SNP to discredit Alex Salmond. That is the current favoured tactic of the Bitter Together crowd.” – you can’t see any irony in your own link ?

“I don’t find the bbcscotlandshir    e web site funny.” – fine, if it’s not funny to you and it winds you up then leave it alone, but please accept that some people enjoy reading it for a laugh. Some people see it as being a spoof site and treat it accordingly.

From the top of the ‘home’ page:

“Bringing you ludicrous, spurious and ill-concieved Scottish stories from Atlantic Quay.
Any similarity to other terminally biased national broadcasters is entirely unfortunate.”

The following is from the bottom of the page on the website:

“This site contains news items which are often ridiculous, generally ficticious, entirely ill-informed and simultaneously biased in favour of the status quo and against
the Scottish National Party, the Scottish Government and Scottish Independence in particular. Any similarity with other national broadcasters is entirely unfortunate.”

The last line of each and every story:

“Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont was unavailable for comment.”

“Comments (0)

Comments are currently banned on BBC Scotlandshire News pages.

It’s OUR job to tell YOU what to think – NOT the other way around.”

Lastly a small snipet from the ‘why o why’ link and the ‘what is all this rubbish?’ link

“We are not attempting to fool anyone into believing our satirical articles are true, hence the subtle, (and sometimes obvious) clues on each page, making it clear that this is a spoof site. The fact that some readers have mistaken those stories for actual news items only serves to emphasise the danger of bias within the national broadcaster. Some people, apparently, will believe anything they read.”

# Training Day 2012-09-24 23:24
BBC Scotlandshire could not have written the script for tonight’s Newsnight Scotland. An utterly disgraceful distortion of the truth.

First, they (Glen Campbell) opened the item on ‘Labour voters for independence’ with the speculation that this group might ‘breathe life’ into the independence campaign (as if the Yes campaign were already moribund). Second, the reporter at the march claimed that the display of a Union Jack showed the limits of ‘who was welcome’ at Saturday’s event, the reporter omitting to mention that three teenage neds from a quasi-fascist organisation were the ones displaying the banner. And third, the reporter claimed the SNP are ‘keen’ to see a question on devo-max on the ballot paper as an ‘insurance policy’, an assertion utterly without foundation in fact.

Never mind BBC Scotlandshire, the disgraceful mendacity of the real BBC Scotland is the true sick joke.

# Breeks 2012-09-25 09:08
Just my own quick slant on BBC Scotlandshire, my own opinion is some of the satire is a bit laboured, and creates the agenda rather than lampoon the BBC’s agenda, which is where I think Jamieson has a point.
When there is an issue of flagrant bias, such as the contrived booing of the FM, then Boogate was right there, on the mark and on the money, and I’m still chuckling as I type.
My advice to BBC Scotlandshire, (and they’ve absolutely no need to listen to me), is to keep it reactive to the sins of others, particularly the BBC. I’d rather see one episode a month which slaughters and demolishes a blatant unionist impropriety than a daily prescription of storys which can sometimes read like they’re hard work to write.
This is just my own personal opinion, but BBC Scotlandshire is a brilliant concept, and I’d like to see it properly feared by Unionists and the BBC for it’s cutting satire. Please don’t water down the impact by feeling obliged to produce a new story every day.

Less is more, if it cuts, its cuts deeper.

# Jamieson 2012-09-25 13:16
Wow! What an attack particularly from Jiggsboro and Adrian B. And I’m supposed to be the paranoid one? The number of points made by them are too numerous to answer individually. And we have the ludicrous gobbledegook from Jiggsboro where he disappears up his own fundament.

Quote:
A website satirising the BBC would not satirically write up the news the BBC doesn’t. Because that wouldn’t satirise the BBC. It would satirise what the BBC isn’t. To satirise the BBC, you do what the BBC does. Satirically

And who the hell does he think he’s talking to? I don’t need a lesson in satire from him. My definition of satire is “A novel, play, entertainment, etc, in which topical issues, folly or evil are held up to scorn by means of ridicule and irony and the use of these means to create such an effect”. On those accounts bbcscotlandshir          e fails the test of satirising the BBC. The person and people it DOES satirise are Alex Salmond and the Independence supporters.

To Adrian B It is a bit odd that the term bbcscotlandshir          e should appear on the clearly very right wing Tory “Y is a vowel” blog back in 2007. A blog which used very similar satire and derogatory language as bbcscotlandshir          e.to attack the Labour Party, the SNP and Scots at the time. Read the anti-Scottish bits and you will see they are very similar to what is produced by bbcscotlandshir          e. And the latter is is still attacking Labour and the SNP and Scots in the blog. Anybody can put up the type of fatuous statements you quote on their blog. They are meaningless except maybe to fool those who would read it into thinking it is supportive of their cause. It is the actual content which is important and shows the real truth of their intent.
If this bbcscotlandshir          e blog IS produced by someone who contributes regularly on NewsNet Scotland then let him/them admit it, otherwise I’m off.

# Adrian B 2012-09-25 13:51
Jamieson,

My reply was not meant as an attack. I was trying to highlight why I think you are wrong assuming that the BBC Scotlandshire site has anything to do with anyone outside the Independence movement. Clearly I have failed. You are free to think as you wish.

The quality of the writing and the writing styles are poles apart between the two items. In fact even the satire is different.

And this one is different again:

www.private-eye.co.uk/…/

You are looking for reverse psychology, where it doesn’t exist. The articles are written in the style of the attacking that labour give for a reason. many see the BBC as being complicit in acting as a labour mouth piece, hence why it is written in the way it is. Understand? – Genuine Question.

# Jamieson 2012-09-25 14:02
Adrian B
Another genuine question for you. Do you still believe it is satirising the BBC? I don’t. The first one I read did up to a point but since then the articles have changed to satirise and denigrate AS, Scots, Labour Party and Independentists  . And don’t feed me anymore psychbabble in reply. You obviously haven’t read the articles I referred to on “Y is a vowel”. They are nearly identical to those on bbcscotlandshir  e.

# Adrian B 2012-09-25 15:48
Do you still believe it is satirising the BBC?

Yes, I do, but not just the BBC, it satirises the ‘Better Together’ lot very well too. I have full confidence and conviction in Scotland becoming an Independent Nation and people. It is easier to do this if you don’t become enraged at the wording used against any cause that you have. By adopting words like ‘separatist’ instead of ‘Independence’ and using them in the same type of context as BBC Scodlandshire, you start to mock your opponents by using their own language. It’s a hugely powerful medium.

I don’t. The first one I read did up to a point but since then the articles have changed to satirise and denigrate AS, Scots, Labour Party and Independentists

Actually, you need to read these articles again. Everything and everyone is painted satirically on both sides of the Indy campaign. Some of the descriptions are hilarious and work better with the pictures along side them.

You obviously haven’t read the articles I referred to on “Y is a vowel”

I read two or three. Many are nothing more than a paragraph or two long and appear to have been written by someone in their early twenties. There is NO comparison to the writing style, intellect, satire or wit of the writers. The BBC Scotlandshire site has a vast amount of more detailed satire to take in by comparison.

They are nearly identical to those on bbcscotlandshir  e.

No, I completely disagree. ‘Y is a vowel’ is a wee boy’s (at heart) attempt at playing a grown ups game. He fails miserably in my eyes. I Might not write satire, but it wouldn’t take much to surpass his efforts. Anyway he has clearly long given up and found girls as he hasn’t been back for over 5 years now.

# Jiggsbro 2012-09-25 17:54
Quoting Jamieson:
And who the hell does he think he’s talking to? I don’t need a lesson in satire from him.

Evidently, you need a lesson on satire from somebody, because at the moment, I appear to be talking to someone whose knowledge of the genre is restricted to the dictionary definition he quotes but who is unable to recognise that what he denies is satire still fits the definition he quotes.

The BBC can’t be satirised by writing an article praising the SNP or an entirely positive article about Saturday’s march. Because that doesn’t hold them up to scorn, much less use ridicule or irony. BBC Scotlandshire does use ridicule and irony, by using parody and exaggeration as well as more direct methods, and so does hold the BBC up to scorn. Your effort does not. BBC Scotlandshire is satire. Your effort is not. It’s not funny, it doesn’t hold the BBC up to scorn or ridicule, it doesn’t use parody, exaggeration, irony, ridicule, burlesque, analogy or any other of the common tools of satire. It’s simply not satirical. BBC Scotlandshire does and is.

# Jamieson 2012-09-25 19:03
Jiggsboro
There is little point debating with you any further because you are stuck in a rut with your own ideas of what constitutes satire and unwilling to take on board others’ views (maybe you are one of the authors) and unable to see that as far as the general reader is concerned the subjects of the satire or whatever they think it is in bbcscotlandshir      e are Alex Salmond, the SNP, Scots, the LibDems and the Labour Party. (Funny that the Tories are never attacked.) And it can’t be very good satire when many people reading it don’t realise that it is supposed to be satire! In the days when Spitting Image was made no-one was in any doubt that they were looking at satire and who it was aimed at. Only those in the ‘know’ like some people on this site who think the BBC is unfairly biased in its reporting of Independence will make the big leap to think it is aimed at the BBC. And by the way satire is simple to understand although you seem to have trouble understanding that there are many different types. My example is one such.
Finally, if I were a Bitter Together Tory I’d be very happy with bbcscotlandshir      e. And that says it all as far as I’m concerned.

To Adrian B
The figures I quoted in my little ‘satirical’ exercise bear no relation to the truth and are exaggerated as per bbcscotlandshir      e’s numerous disclaimers.
And not in a million years would the BBC print the stuff I wrote. It would either ignore the event or downplay everything.

# Jiggsbro 2012-09-25 19:42
You don’t have a different ‘view’ on what satire is. You simply don’t understand what satire is. You’re entitled to your own opinion – you’re either amused by BBC Scotlandshire or you’re not – but you’re not entitled to your own facts. The fact is, it’s satire and your effort isn’t. There wasn’t a scrap of satire in your piece. It was simply an unfunny attempt at parody of something which does not exist.

The Tories are attacked on BBC Scotlandshire. That’s another fact that you’re not entitled to your own ‘view’ about. I easily found two articles in which Cameron is lampooned. I would imagine they don’t feature often simply because they have little relevance to Scottish politics.

If you believe satire can’t be good if many people don’t recognise it as satire, then you really do have no understanding of what satire is. The best satire is almost indistinguishab  le from the real thing, which is what gives it its effectiveness.

I have no idea what a Better Together Tory would think of BBC Scotlandshire. In my experience, they have limited critical intellect and a stunted sense of humour, so I imagine they’d either think it was real and be outraged by some of the content or they’d think it wasn’t satire at all and be outraged by some of the content. Hmmm…perhaps it’s you who’s the secret Tory?

You are correct, however, that the BBC wouldn’t print the stuff you wrote. Either as satire or as reportage. You see, I’m not unwilling to take on board your views. I take them on board and then throw back the ones that are demonstrably wrong. You don’t understand satire. Sorry, but there it is. You’re not entitled to your own restricted definition of what satire is, nor to demand that all satire restrict itself to your limited understanding of the genre, nor to demand that other people take on board your limited definition. There’s a lot more to it than the crude burlesque of Spitting Image. It’s a very broad genre. Broad as it is, it doesn’t, however, include your piece and, inshallah, it never will.

# Jamieson 2012-09-25 15:20
And here is my version of part of a satirical post by bbcscotlandshir  e which DOES satirise the BBC instead of insulting Scots. It is satire because the BBC would never publish an article praising the Independentists like that. Which would you prefer?
INDEPENDENCE SUPPORTERS HAVE A GREAT DAY IN THE SUN

Dozens of very well-behaved Nationalists caused very little trouble in the capital today even though 20,000 of them took part in a very peaceful and orderly march in support of Scottish Independence.
Shoppers and tourists alike were stunned into silence as the Nationalists many in fancy dress, sporting Alex Salmond masks or wielding the blue and white ‘saltire’, wended their way into Princes Street gardens where, for several hours, they danced in front of their leaders and listened to the witty and interesting speeches made from the platform. Alex Salmond came in for the loudest cheers of the day when he stood up to speak.
During the march some Unionists from Morningside who had never seen a Separatist before, said they were very impressed by the cordial atmosphere surrounding the marchers some even going as far as to say, “maybe there’s something in this Independence after all. I must look into it.”
“Chief Constable of Lothian and Borders Police, Sir Robert Peel KGT OBE CBE BBC, said the parade had disrupted the entire centre of Edinburgh. “But it was all so peaceful and cheerful and happy just like a huge family outing that no one seemed to mind. The shoppers and tourists joined in the fun. And I suppose that was to be expected because there were many, many families with children amongst the marchers.”
“My officers had a fine day in the glorious sunshine helping marchers to safely get into position and many of the police listened intently to the speeches. There was only one incident in the park right at the start which could have turned nasty, when about ten half drunk neds waving Union Jacks and wearing hoodies tried to raise a large Union Flag at the rear of the crowd. But one Nationalist marcher confronted them, and my men afraid of a breakout of violence from what clearly looked like British National Party supporters stepped in and led them all away…….

# Adrian B 2012-09-25 16:04
Only two neds with butchers aprons were there. Not 10

What you have written is exactly what we get from the BBC. Only you have done Scottish Nationalist good, British nationalist bad.

What we get from Brian Taylor is Johann Lamont angel, SNP bad

That is not satire, it’s nothing more than bias and it doesn’t help our cause no matter how much you enjoy it.

bbc.co.uk/…/…

# Adrian B 2012-09-25 16:42
And here is my version of part of a satirical post by bbcscotlandshir  e which DOES satirise the BBC instead of insulting Scots. It is satire because the BBC would never publish an article praising the Independentists like that. Which would you prefer?

I would prefer the BBC to impartial and balanced in it’s reporting of news in Scotland in particular.

Where did you get the 20,000 figure from? The organisers count was 9,500.

I see the indy side needs no true facts, we can claim what ever we want as it will go unchallenged and simply be taken as gospel?

# Keep UTG 2012-09-25 17:28
Wooosh!

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments